Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Osmington Hill Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Weymouth > Osmington Hill Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Osmington Hill Farm Certificated Site
Osmington
Weymouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 6EE
Tel: 01305 833137
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   Wild Swimming 5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ian247fish 4 reviews from this member

What a lovely little site, Quiet, Close to everywhere in the area, you are a bit exposed and it can be windy, and the field is gently sloping, but the pitches are huge so you can park as you see fit,

Clean showers if a little bit tight [about 18in from tray to door]but free and hot tv sig can be hit or miss but we used freesat could have been our Ariel,

Pub was nice and a chippy 2 mins away lovely walks towards the bay

All in all we had a great time would definitely recommend this site, and we will be back next year.

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracey11478yp 1 review from this member

Very peaceful and relaxing and very clean. Showers were proper ones and not push button.

Owners helpful when we booked.

Pub within walking distance. Visiting again in September.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Percyveer 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here last year and again this year. Unfortunately we wont be returning.

The pitching itself is good, with a lot of space between units.

What lets this site down is the size of the toilets, the showers and the siting of the 2 water points. The 2 wc's in the mens are so small, that if you are sitting down, you bash your head on the door when you stand up. The 2 showers are also so small that there is no room to dry and dress unless you stand in the shower tray, or leave the door open.

Then if someone enters to use the wc, you have to shut the door so they can get in the toilet. Also, there is no separate wash basin, just a very small vanity sink in the wc. There is no hand drying facility, I took it that you had to use the toilet roll remnant that was left.

All in all very disappointing. If the owners had given more thought about this facility it would be a very good campsite. The water points are not very well sited in that if you are at the top of the field, you have a long walk to the tap.

The second tap is close to the other tap. Obviously costing played a part here.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eshardy 12 reviews from this member

This site was easy to find as its on the main road in the village, but the site is set back from the road so didn't hear any traffic.

Its a large field with the pitches spaced out around the edge, with electric hook up. The showers and toilets were clean and modern, and free to use.

The owner was friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Reillyfamily 2 reviews from this member

A clean basic campsite well located for Weymouth, Dorchester and the Jurassic coast.

Friendly owners, the site is well run (toilets and showers cleaned, grass cut etc. )

There was plenty of room between units and open space to play games etc.

The EHUs were reliable and the showers were consistently hot, there is also a small indoor washing up area as well as two standpipes, a chemical disposal point and a rubbish bin.

Overall a hard campsite to fault

PS peg your tent out well as it gets quite windy!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hayes2603 4 reviews from this member

We've just spent 3 glorious days at this site. The weather was sunny and warm - which always help.

We were able to pick our pitch from a choice of 3. All were gently sloping, but not so much to cause any issue.

It's the best CL site we've so far stayed at. The facilities are just as required; 2 toilets and 2 showers for ladies. The men's also had 2 of each. These were kept clean and presentable. The water point was easily accessible.

For 20/night with EHU, we will definitely be returning.

The site is well located for local walking, beaches and both Doechester and Weymouth. Bonus. It's walking distance to a pub and icecream shop.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Purplechinny 6 reviews from this member

Pleasant site with grass pithches. Field is slightly sloping.

Pitched allocated on arrival. Owner lives off site and there is no resident warden, but this did not cause us any problems, we were advised beforehand to phone the owner once we arrived at the site, on arriving we did this and were told the number of our pitch and she arrived at the site within 5 minutes of us phoning her, for a further chat. This then seemed to be the pattern when other people arrived.

The site is very simple, a grass field with EH and toilet facilities, the facilities block was well kept - showers, toilets and an indoor washing up area.

We were sited in the top corner of the field, the field is quite high up and a little exposed, it was extremely windy during the time we were there and this did cause us problems with the awning, but it was extreme weather and I am sure this would not be a regular problem.

It is a short and pleasant walk into Osmington, we used the pub a couple of times and the farm shop too.

A short drive to the park and ride for Weymouth, we used this service several times, it was very reasonably priced, easy and reliable to use.

Lots to do in the area, but Lulworth Cove is a must, outstandingly beautiful. If you want to visit the deserted WW2 village at Tyneham check the opening dates first as access if restricted by the MOD as it is within their bombing range. From memory I think it is open most weekends, but weekdays are only open mainly in school holidays/bank holidays.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ladaman123 1 review from this member

We had great time but the weather was a very very wet.

The facilities were clean & well kept with 2 showers & 2 toilets for ladies & the same for gents which for the small site was good, also a nice washing up area which was under cover but the showers was a bit small ( I could not get dress in the showers have to take up a toilet with the small kids ).

Could do with a washer machine or a dryer.

The site was very good.

The bus service need up dating to get anywhere with out the car

I hope to go back next year

The road need a good footpath to the shops ( co op )

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Churzen 3 reviews from this member

We spent an enjoyable week on this site and found it to be a good base for exploring the surrounding area with good walks and easy access to Weymouth using the park and Ride. Shops are within easy reach and Craigs dairy do indeed have great cakes! The site itself is gently sloping, if you want level ask for pitch 9, 10, 11 or 12. The toilet and shower facilities are compact but the showers are lovely and powerful and there is one wash-up sink. The owners do not live on site but Wendy proved to be very helpful and I did not have a problem with 'phoning on arrival to be shown to my pitch, which was nice and big. I do not feel the site was exclusive, as CS sites should be and it certainly has more than 5 pitches but all in all a nice place to stay.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobbybongo 5 reviews from this member

The campsite is literally just a field, albeit in a very picturesque area, opposite the famous white horse on the hill side, which provided a couple of fantastic sunsets during our visit. We tended to find it was quite windy, and would recommend the use of a wind break.

Pitches are generous in size, some may require blocks to level.

The toilet block was very clean, but no hand towel or paper towels were provided for drying your hands. The showers were hot, clean and powerful. We often use the vans facilities, but when the showers are this good, it seemed daft not to use them.

The washing up facilities were located in the same area, and there were a few leaflets providing a small amount of local info, but all very basic.

Wi-fi was 15 for a week - signal was variable.

There was a walk down the side of the site that goes over the brow of the hill giving a fantastic view over to Weymouth & Portland, but it was very overgrown & a few people said they would've used it more had it been cut back.

There were no shops within walking distance, but a pub 5mins walk away and Craig's Dairy 10mins walk away, which served ice cream, cream teas etc and sold a few items such as milk, bacon. We can recommend the cream tea!

There was a Co-Op & a Spar less than 5 mins drive away.

We saw the owner once, to collect the fee, not over friendly, some people like it that way - I prefer to know they are around keeping an eye on things.

Overall we found the site to be very basic, but a great location for exploring Dorset.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Weymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3817 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019