Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oakfield Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Oakfield Farm
Chalvington Road
Golden Cross
Hailsham
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN27 3ST
Tel: 07779 980127
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: End Of April If Dry, To End Of August

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coaterj 2 reviews from this member

I pitched up with my brand new four man tent only to find that the lightest gust was already blowing it inwards. Whilst I waited for my partner to arrive the site owner kindly offered to locate a spare tent and ten minutes later she had 'loaned' me, FOC, two tents! They got us through the first night and I was able to secure something far more suitable for the remaining two nights but her help was hugely appreciated and above and beyond what would be expected.

Lovely setting, spacious, fairly basic facilities but this is camping at its best not glamping so what do you expect?!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kattorbell 1 review from this member

What a brilliant weekend at Oakfield, we return every year to the beautiful countryside, good clean facilities and June’s amazing hospitality. When the weather turned and we were in need with a young baby, June was absolutely amazing. We thank you from the bottom of our heart for a fantastic and memorable end of season camp. See you next year

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: N1wm 1 review from this member

Had another great break at Oakfield. So relaxed family friendly and the host June is great very helpful - especially when the weather turned! facilities very clean and lovely to be able to have a campfire. We will be back

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 2cojones 1 review from this member

A well-run friendly campsite. June, the owner, was very welcoming and clearly likes to offer a personal experience. Amazing location, large plots so does not feel crowded in the least, even a snack kiosk selling a variety of things. Will definitely stay again in better weather.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emily Towns 1 review from this member

We enjoyed a stay in our tent in the 'adult's only' section of this campsite - very refreshing to get an adult's only option and get some peace and quiet. We were situated in a nice field and there was plenty space around the tent for spreading out and having a fire. The facilities were clean and the showers a good temperature. There was a handy snacks van on site to get a nice cold or hot drink (without whipping our cooker out). June was very friendly and attentive. The location was good from an access point of view and access to local pubs and restaurants. One thing I would say is that the traffic from the A22 is quite loud at night so take earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Many thanks for an enjoyable stay. We will be back. Emily.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AnnieCastro 1 review from this member

Fantastic camp site. Really friendly and good toilet and shower facilities. Close to various beaches and kids entertainment via car. Nicely sized and spaced tent pitches. Highly recommended and good value for money.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ReddingDarling 3 reviews from this member

Lovely bank holiday weekend here. Its traditional basic camping. I love that there were no caravans or motorhomes allowed. Really gorgeous green countryside. We stayed in the adults only 'pond area'. It neighbours a horse paddock. There is a yurt in the field (hired at £80 per night). There were 3 other two-man tents in the same field. They were sold out, and yet there was plenty of room, glad the owners didn't cram more people in, I felt they really do put campers first. Not really any flying insects (was worried with a pond being few meters away). Clean flush toilets short walk away. Owner named June, was fabulous! So friendly and accommodating. For an extra £5 we got a wood box, which was perfect. We were also allowed to have a campfire on the ground, this is rare, but was lovely. Only gripes were there were a lot of holes from rabbits or similar in our field, this made the ground fairly uneven, glad children weren't allowed to run around in that area. And you could here some of the far off traffic early in the morning. We didn't do much in the surrounding area except for a walk around Arlington Reservoir. Great site. I would recommend to others.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rolfefamilycampers 3 reviews from this member

The site is a field in a working farm, it is a basic campsite so if you're looking for mod cons, manicured grass, entertainment and tarmac roadways this us not for you, there are 2 loos and a shower both of which were very clean and always had loo roll, the shower was great and lovely and warm. The pitches are extremely generous, even if the site was full you would have loads of room.

You can pick up free range eggs and fresh milk with an honesty box for payments and the owner will deliver a big wheelbarrow full of logs for your campfire for only a fiver. Our daughter loved milking pansy the cow as well.

The setting is amazing with loads to do and see, the owner, June was so friendly and couldn't have been anymore helpful, we loved it and will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BethanAndJon 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a last minute weekend break to Oakfield at Golden Cross Farm. This a lovely site, just a field really on a working farm, with basic (clean) facilities. It was great to be able to have a camp fire, and to try milking Pansy the cow - beautiful girl!

There is some noise from the A22, but you wouldn't hear it over conversation.

The owners are very accommodating, and really make an effort to ensure that you have a happy stay.

The Six Bells at Chiddingly was excellent. The BP garage was useful for emergency purchases!

A lovely relaxed site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crystaltipps1234 3 reviews from this member

Stumbled across this site after a pit stop at a local site which we didn't like the look of. A beautiful little site, good size pitches, 2 toilets and a lovely shower. Both very clean. No facility for cleaning dishes but we boiled a kettle and used a bowl which was just as easy. Very friendly staff, the children loved learning about milking cows and being able to have campfire. Lovely that there are no cars allowed on site other than to load and unload, makes it extremely safe for the children to ride bikes around. Delicious local produce available. My only vice, however it would not stop me going back is the cost. £8 per adult plus £5 per child makes it quite expensive for us especially without the facilities.

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2941 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019