Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Marnham Lake Fishing And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > High Marnham > Marnham Lake Fishing And Camping Reviews

Marnham Lake Fishing And Camping
Unnamed Road
High Marnham
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG23 6SQ
Tel: 07747 020564
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 17 Reviews
                10/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. We don't have showers. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: SST5ZP 1 review from this member

 Very friendly owners Terry & Jan made us very welcome. Terry is a fisherman himself and takes great pride in this doughnut shaped lake. It has a good stock of fish. Carp to 20lbs, bream, roach and pike all caught whilst we where there.

This site is perfect if you want good fishing with peace and quiet.

The facilities are though basic are adequate. If taking small children we would advise constant supervision.

That said it is a jem and we will definitely be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentingbob 1 review from this member

 FISHING WAS AMAZING, Campsite is basic but a lovely place to stop. Owners are very friendly. I will be coming back. There is wildlife allover the site. I even saw a family of kingfishers. Everyone should try this site out. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hannahbingham86 1 review from this member

 This is our second visit returning from last year. Canít recommend more highly! The owners are absolutely lovely and welcoming. Even on a gorgeously sunny bank holiday the site is not too busy, plenty of space to set up our tent. The site is lovely and quiet apart from all the amazing wildlife! Rooks are noisy in the morning so no need for an alarm clock but plenty of time for sleep as they quiet down after sunset. We have seen bats and a water snake this time and could hear owls hunting in the woods behind. Fishing is ace last time we came I caught my first fish! Our go to camping spot when we want a quiet retreat. We will be back next year! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jamesfh 5 reviews from this member

 Very nice rural location. Peace and quiet with good fishing. Local pub the Brownlow arms is OK and attracts a lot of other campers from their campsite. Can get a bit busy.

Marnham Lakes is very much a different campsite, lots of open space if you want privacy. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: G8chk 1 review from this member

 Just spent a very pleasant weekend with our club at this site.

Very quiet and peaceful, just what we wanted.

Owners very friendly offered lots of information easy walk to the local pub where we enjoyed a very good meal.

Lots of room.

We will definitely be back.

Only for the hardier types though.

NO ELECTRIC HOOKUP but we did not need it.

NO SHOWER BLOCK, again we did not need it.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LeCow 1 review from this member

 Took my 4year old boy here for his first fishing experience, and to spend some quality time just me and him. This was also my first ever fishing trip! The owner (Terry) really went out of his way to show me the way, setting up my line and showing me the basics. A couple of hours later we caught a fish! The site itself is extremely peaceful, surrounded by fields. Toilets etc all clean and tidy. There's a pub just up the road, and the river Trent also nearby. If it's friendliness, peace and quiet you want then go here. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vixtwo 1 review from this member

 We've stayed at this site several times over the past few months and have always found it to be quiet, unspoilt and friendly. The owners are extremely welcoming and the site is an idyllic escape from busy lives. We regularly spot a huge variety of wildlife in this lovely place, from bats to hedgehogs, buzzards to the most stunning owl who regularly hunts in the grasses nearby.

We absolutely love this place with its well stocked fishing lake and rural charm. If you're looking for a busy site with shower blocks, modern toilets, electric hook ups and shop, DON'T come here. If you're looking for basic facilities, with an element of being 'back to nature' then this is the place. The toilets are always clean and serviced, which is we're rating it 10 for this. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gildo 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from 4 days holiday at marnham lake. This was our 5th visit so far this year. All the family love it here. Lots of open countryside for our granddaughter to play. Really good fishing for the men of the family and peace and quiet and lovely views for the mums and nans. The site is always clean and the owners are the nicest people you could meet. There is always wildlife around we saw the white owl rabbits hares and a hedgehog. Cannot wait to go back soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lmmamm 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely August bank holiday weekend on this site. The fishing was enjoyed by my son and husband and they caught plenty of fish! Although the site is very basic it has all that is needed for a weekend. Couple of points though, the washing up sink only gives out cold water so we didn't use it and it's not under a cover so if it's raining you get wet!

The grass has a lot of sharp stingers in and they had very sharp thorns. I think the price is fantastic, I was surprised that it was only £8 per night although it does attract a different sort of family camper.

The area is nice and quiet and asda is about a 20 min drive. There are plenty of walks in the surrounding area which we would like to see more of next time

The couple that own the site are very welcoming and made our stay really enjoyable. They were always there to help. Thank you both for a lovely stay 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dfawatts 2 reviews from this member

 We had a fabulous stay at this simple and charming site. On arrival, we were met by Terry who gave us a good recommendation to the Brownlowe Arms pub where we went for dinner. The food was excellent and so was the beer.

The facilities are basic, just a couple of toilets and fresh water taps (no showers), but clean and fitted to a high standard.

We used the campsite as a base to cycle to Lincoln along the disused rail-track and then back by Dunham Bridge. All the roads and lanes in the area seem quiet as long as you avoid th A57.

If you want simplicity and peace and quiet then this is a great spot. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Marnham Lake Fishing And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Marnham Lake Fishing And Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Marnham Lake Fishing And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near High Marnham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6415 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement