Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pigeons Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough > Pigeons Farm Reviews

CLOSED: Pigeons Farm
Wisbech Road
Thorney
Peterborough
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Swerve 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed for three days.

Recommend to families with younger children as they would love the farm.

Good cafe on site.

Good base for Peterborough and area.

Tried Village pub but not impressed, a bit like walking into scene from deliverance - every one stares and not made to feel welcome.

Another pub/restaurant about 1. 5miles called the Dog in a Doublet by the river towards Whittlesey was great though, has a little petting garden and food was very good and dog friendly.

Free showers, dog walking off site not so good although plenty of walks to use.

If needed to be in area would stay again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyham648 9 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet site, road can be a little noisy sometimes, Good pub in village, pitch in field next to the animals farm, basic amenities, Peterborough not far away. Wisbech half an hour or so drive. Would recommend for families. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Morzy 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely little place, great showers are free (usually have to pay 50p per shower, so adds up if there for a week. ) we were only ones there during the week so had the field to ourselves, perfect for the dogs :) allows dogs so always a bonus (if there not welcome we don't go)

There were 2 taps, 1 for washing clothes, and the other outside for plates but neither had hot water supply. Adjacent field had playground (as part of the farm) didn't go into farm, but went shopping in Peterborough and wisbech (with no beach) and traveled to both skegness and hunstanton as these were closest beaches. Lawn could have done with a cut before arrival as a little long. Good value for money, would defo return if wanted to explore that area more. Close to main road so could hear a lot of traffic at night 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mumoffive 17 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights and found the people very friendly and helpful.

The field was a little muddy but well kept. And reasonably level at the pitches. Plenty of Space for our Motorhome and awning.

The toilet/shower block was cold with no heater working and the light in the entrance did not work. The laundry sink only has cold water but the basins in the toilet area had hot water. Only a single shower which we didn't try as it was too cold.

The washing up sink is outside and was under a timber shelter, the surround was filthy but the sink and draining board clean enough but again only cold water. Carrying a bowl of hot water from the toilet area was a nuisance but not difficult.

The farm was delightful and the play area a delight. All staff were very friendly.

Will definitely go again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ali-oh73 8 reviews from this member

 We chose this site after finding it on this website and reading about its facilities and previous reviews. And it didn't disappoint! We booked 3 pitches for tents, 1 having EHU and we were all positioned together which was essential for evening time having 4 very young children between all 3 tents.

Pitches were nice and flat, plenty of grass and lots of space, we were able to park our cars to the sides of our tents.

Facilities were basic but as we would expect for a farm/campsite, 1 pot wash section supplying sponge and soap but we always have our own. Cold water only but not a problem when you have soap! Ladies had 3 toilets and wash sinks (not sure about the gents but I assume they were the same) and 1 disability loo. Between the ladies and gents is 1 shower, we didn't find this a problem at all and between 5 adults, 4 children as well as other campers, we never had to queue over a 3 day period. The shower was lovely and hot with constant hot water being available and a small changing area next to the shower. There was also a laundry wash basin infront of the shower.

We paid pitch fees that included farm entry and this was for the full duration of our stay (2 nights/3 days) so it was superb value for money!

The farm itself was excellent with the kids loving being able to hold a guinea pig, tickle rabbits and watch the newborn piglets. There were all the usual farm animals as well to keep them entertained but the star has to be the peacock. Yes he can be quite vocal at times but our kids loved him, especially when he was 'displaying' his stunning feathers. The tractor ride was a lovely treat too, only £1 per person with under 3's free.

The playground has to be one of the best playgrounds I've come across so far, climbing frames with slides, swings, rockers, sandpit, tyre swings, playhouses, a large selection of mini tractors and cycling toys so no-one misses a turn and a huge jumping pillow which was fantastic for the kids as well as a zip wire. All surrounded by sand so perfect for little feet and falls. There are lots of picnic tables and seats for watching the kids but you may find yourself joining in rather than watching. There is also an indoor play barn with a hay bale and slide, more mini tractors, climbing frames and indoor picnic area.

There is a lovely tearoom / cafe / shop / gift shop on site that sells some gorgeous clothes for kids as well as any forgotten essentials. The food was superb, we decided to have breakfast on the morning we left and we could not fault it, the quality was as you would hope for from a farm!

The owner was very welcoming, full of useful information and couldn't do enough for us and I think it was 'Bob' (who drove the tractor), a lovely gentleman who always said hello and had a bit of banter with you.

My only gripe about this site would be the location as it is slightly set back from the road and the traffic noise couldn't be ignored but it certainly didn't stop us from having a superb weekend at a superb campsite & farm. Our kids didn't notice it so we weren't bothered by it.

I would recommend this site to anyone but especially if you have children of any age. Our kids were all crying when it was time to leave, however, we will be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lisa.72 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Pigeons Farm for 3 nights last weekend. The owners were very friendly and helpful and obviously love what they do. We did not take the farm pass option with our pitch fee but our 8 yr old daughter found more than enough to do in the playground to keep her amused from morning till night. The camping field is a nice size and our pitch was level. Their were about 7 others staying too, mostly tents but the field felt plenty big enough although if we had an awning it may have made it a bit tight to fit the car in too but as the field was not huge the car could have been parked out the way but still close enough to get to easily. There is a nice shop and tearoom/café on the farm with everything we needed for the weekend. There is only one shower which is unisex but if you chose your time wisely this was not a problem and it was a lovely power shower with loads of hot water, didn't use the toilets but they looked perfectly fine. We would definitely return again and have already recommended to friends. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chegre 3 reviews from this member

 Pigeons Farm is a small site. The electric hookups were fine and the supply constant / didn't trip at all. The double pitches were a bit snug for our tents so we had to park the cars in front which wasn't ideal when it got busy. The playground was great for the kids and they really enjoyed the time they spent on the farm. It's lovely how the owners let the children hold and pet the animals - from piglets to baby guinea pigs and collect the eggs. The children liked being able to play on the playground after everyone else had gone home.

The road is a bit noisy at times and there was a peacock that was pretty vocal in the early hours but this didn't cause us a problem. I thought the facilities were the most basic of anywhere we've stayed. There was no hot water at the one washing up sink, the one shower was fine but it was a struggle to close the door and have room to swing a cat, and there was no hot water in the ladies toilets so it was pretty impossible to keep the kids clean. The toilets are shared with visitors to the farm so I didn't think they were that clean either. We included farm entry on our fees but that made them equivalent to what we pay for C&C Club Sites where the facilities are immaculate.

Although we had a great time as a group with 3 families, I probably wouldn't go again because of the lack of hot water which made it poor value for money and too much of a hassle washing up for a big group and keeping the kids vaguely clean! However, if you've got a caravan or motor home or just want a stopover this would probably matter less to you. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Picky camper 3 reviews from this member

 Back from our second lovely visit to Pigeons Farm. The site is amazing for children, there is a big playground, bouncy pillow, daily animal feeds and petting barn.

The field is good, it's only small (15 pitches)'but well drained with electric hook up.

This is exactly the kind of site we love small relaxed, run by people with passion and enthusiasm for what they do. If you like being able to chill out, camp freely rather than be lined up like drones, this the place for you. Your kids will have a blast, making camps, feeding baby animals, endless opportunities to play and hide.

There is a toilet block, that were always clean, one shower which is electric and the water piping hot.

The only negative we can come up with is the washing up station doesn't have a hot water tap but your camping, boil a kettle and do it in the field!.

There is a cafe on site with a shop and we can recommend the lattes.

The owners are helpful, friendly, and available if needed.

We had a lovely time and we are already planning our next visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsNoviceCamper 10 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a last minute 2 night break at Pigeons Farm. The recent bad weather must have caused others to change their plans as we had the whole campsite to ourselves!

The camping field was flat and well drained with free range chickens and guinea fowl wandering up to say hello. The toilet and shower unit were clean and presentable, as was the dishes sink. There was electric hook up but we didn't use it.

We spent one day on the farm, and my 6 year old particularly enjoyed the small animal petting barn. I think she held every fluffy rabbit she could, whereas I was taken with the baby guinea pigs.

Another highlight was the egg collecting. Bob, the owner, managed to keep a very long line of children in check to collect the eggs with no breakages!

The playground, with jumping pillow, was a great hit, and although the pillow was deflated, we were able to use the playground after the farm had shut to its day visitors.

The indoor hay stack proved popular too.

The owners were very friendly and helpful.

We hardly strayed from the site other than to get fish and chips from the nearby village, and to pop to the supermarket.

We are hoping to return, as it's a lovely farm, good campsite and very welcoming. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4062 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement