Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Walkmill Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Walkmill Campsite
Nr Guyzance
Warkworth
Alnwick
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE65 9AJ
Tel: 01665 710155  or  07929882472
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 9 touring / 10 tents
Open: April To End September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Seniorsx2 6 reviews from this member

A beautiful site in the heart of the countryside, quiet and peaceful. Large spacious pitches. There is a converted static caravan which houses a large bathroom with bath, shower and toilet and a separate toilet in the caravan. There is use of the kitchen and lounge area for campers which is an added bonus. Two further toilets outside all of which are unisex, another separate shower would help waiting times and better locks please on the outdoor loos!. Unfortunately there is a stench pipe at the gate to the camping field and our caravan pitch was in 'smelling distance' which made it impossible to sit outside our caravan. The tent pitches are at the far end of the field so the pipe wouldn't be a problem for tents. If the pitch wasn't used or the pipe could be moved the problem could possibly be resolved.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janpeyton 13 reviews from this member

The site is tucked away well into the countryside. The pitches are fairly spacious and are split between two fields one for tents and one with hook-ups. There was nobody to meet us but another couple advised that they had been told to choose a pitch and the owner would see us later, which she did.

There was no access to the river, which we hadn't realised and as with previous reviews we had to agree the toilet and washing facilities were lacking. You were asked to remove your shoes when entering the static caravan which housed a toilet, and shower and bath. However the carpet was damp and this felt uncomfortable. There are 2 further outdoor toilets in little huts that worked well with lights inside that helped but I don't think the toilet / shower facilities were enough for those camping.

It was a peaceful & tranquil site that I think needs better facilities.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angelaz 10 reviews from this member

I have been here several times and it is always peaceful and welcoming. There is no shop but the mobile home with comfortable sitting room complete with radio, video-player and tea making facilities makes up for that. There is a BATH as well a shower. Phones can be charged. Love this place!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 25 reviews from this member

We arrived by bicycle down the steep slope to the site, so steep we felt safest to get off and push.

No one was on site to welcome us and we didn't see any sign of anyone in charge during our stay. We found a space by the river which was quiet, but did suffer from an early sunset given its at the bottom of a valley.

I found out in the instructions for the site that no one is allowed near the river or in it as the rights are owned by an angling club. So don't book this expecting the kids to be able to play in the water.

Other have described the caravan lounge/kitchen/washing facility. The additional toilets had gel hand sanitisers, but people were using the loos and then hand washing in the same sink people were using for washing up and food preparation, which isn't ideal.

I was up early enough to get to use the shower, but could not get the hot water to be anything more than warmish, the controls being somewhat confusing. I suspect a pressure issue. The bath (with dinosaurs for the kids) had been proving popular the night before.

If you are thinking of going into Warkworth for food as we did, the route via the ford does have a footbridge, but we had to get off the bikes, take shoes off and paddle through the water. The height changes from river side to where the roads are means the route to the site the long way round is just as easy as you trade miles for hills.

Yes I'd stay again, but I would echo the comments that it needs more than one shower and wash basins in the loos.

(Note: My low score for customer service is because I didn't see anyone to experience anything. I cannot not give a score and as there's no not applicable rating. )

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Theresa C 5 reviews from this member

We had a tent and a campervan booked as 2 separate units although requested to be together – we were told this would be no problem. On arrival the owner was very nice and helpful. We were told they had made a mess of the bookings and that we would either have to go on one pitch together (4 man tent and a campervan), or that we would have to move after the 2nd night of our 3 night stay (and I don’t mean move one pitch over). We opted to go on one pitch as the pitches were large, however we were offered no discount. We were advised she had already asked others to move, so couldn’t ask them again – so this was not a one off.

The site is split into 2 areas, one at the top of the field / hill next to the facilities and reasonably flat, the other down a field / hill, the grass was fairly long with only the bit you pitch your tent / park up on cut, therefore your feet were always soaking. The walk over to the toilets / dish washing facilities was long and although they were clean, there was only one sink to wash your dishes in and one shower (which was in a bathroom complete with toilet, bath, sink etc – although you had no time to use the facilities as there were always people waiting). There was another very small toilet and sink. All of these are in a static caravan and you were requested to take all shoes (including flip flops) off at the door – meaning there was a trip hazard of several pairs of boots / shoes every time lying around the front door area as well as people queuing (from 6am – 10. 30pm). There is a further 2 toilets in 2 separate wooden huts next to the static caravan but neither had hand washing facilities – is this legal!?

There were approx. Just under 80-100 people there during our stay.

The site is tucked away in the countryside beside a river (although no access down to the river, but plenty of midgies, especially down the hill) so is a very quiet place, but you need to drive to the local shop or anywhere else you go.

The directions on their website sound as though the next bit (train crossing, farm turning etc) is just round the corner, but it’s not – it’s a ½ mile or so on, so don’t do what we did and think you are on the wrong road – you possibly aren’t!

It was a nice site and the owner was pleasant, but with a bit more thought and better facilities (especially down in the field area) it would have been much better.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vantango 11 reviews from this member

Beautiful site. Wonderfully friendly welcome. We stayed for one night. Pitches are a really good size. The shower/toilet is the only let down -as mentioned - the bathroom of a static caravan. The carpeted room contains a traditional suite with shower/bath & toilet. When we stayed the site was quiet but we still had to queue in the morning & evening for showers. If the site was full, I think it would be unbearable. Although there are 3 additional toilets, the facilities are no where near adequate for the site. Also, if someone runs the tap in the kitchen, the water pressure in the shower drops. It's such a shame because this is the only fault.

We had a slow stroll into the town, which took just over an hour. It's a pleasant walk with a fantastic meal in the Masons Arms waiting.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wulster 17 reviews from this member

Totally agree with the comment of the other two reviews posted in May 2017. We stayed here for a couple of nigh during late May. We followed the directions provided and found the site no bother. Accessed through the country roads, then down the track to the site. Really remote and quiet, but still relatively close to Warkworth and Amble. When we arrived, were met by Claire, nice friendly welcome. Were shown to our pitch on the touring area next to the house. A nice bit. There is also a large camping area down by the river. Don’t think there is any EHU there. A pretty relaxing couple of days and met some really nice people on site. The facilities are interesting. A static caravan is used and has a shower room, with bath and toilet and a separate toilet room. Kitchen area as well as a sitting area with a TV. There are also a couple of separate toilets within wooden huts at side of the caravan. I think the facilities in the static caravan are predominately for the use of tent campers / wild campers, but we used them, although could be an issue if the site is really busy. All in all the facilities worked well. Claire was always about, if you needed to ask anything. The walk into Warkworth is about 1. 5 (ish) miles through the nearby static caravan site and crossing the river. Should take 30 – 40 minutes. A nice walk and certainly enjoyed by our dog. Warkworth is quite small, but really nice and has a very good Castle to visit. We also walked down to Amble, which is another 25 – 30 minutes. A good path at the side of the road. Also, the beach at Warkworth is nice. Certainly when the tide is out, you can walk a good distance in both directions. There is a car park for the beach, but you can also walk from the village. I really liked the location of this site and as the weather was really good, that was an additional bonus.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Custard15 14 reviews from this member

What a lovely site! Shhh.

Tents get the best treatment (along with small vans happy to go off grid), with spacious riverside pitches, and maybe nocturnal sheepy neighbours. Oh, and you'll have owls to serenade your nights too. What bliss.

Caravans and campervan wanting to hook up stay nearer to the house, again with plenty of personal all space.

The static caravan for facilities is inspired, especially for those camping old style. Smallest site we've visited where you can bath your kids when they're cold and wet. Any whip up hot choc or quick food in the microwave.

Being away from bright lights, down a long stone track keeps the more demanding clientele away. For that reason, there isn't a problem accessing loos / shower, your fellow campers will be appreciative of the facilities and considerate of others wanting to use them. Well worth putting an extra pound in the honesty box.

It's a lovely walk down to Warkworth, which is well worth a few hours of your time, then you can carry on out to Amble using off-road routes.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Davegrainger 2 reviews from this member

Great peaceful Darling Buds of May hideaway site.

Google maps accurate to the door from the A1

Nestled in a bend on the river Coquet with a large area for pitches.

Picturesque walk into Warkworth through a wood and onto a path following the river then across a bridge into town (via the Castle if you like) Masons Arms pub in town for good beer and food. Just been refurbished and streets ahead of dull competition.

Owner very helpful and friendly (went out of her way to call and advise that gates might be shut for livestock)

Facilities unique and more than adequate, even has a bath ! My partner loved it.

Seems very popular, relaxing and idyllic setting.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lexiec 13 reviews from this member

Walkmill had a lovely friendly vibe. We visited in August so it was peak time. There were 3 distinct areas - the top field by the farmhouse (caravans and campervans with hook up), a bottom field of tents and the circle field with only four tents or campervans. Although the site was busy, each area is quite distinct and there is loads of extra space in the field for running around, walking the dog, flying a kite etc.

At first we felt the facilities were a bit limited (one one shower / bathroom for the whole campsite - and that room also contained one of the 4 loos and 2 basins). But everyone staying on the campsite was very considerate, nobody was in a rush and it's no problem to have a shower at quieter times. My teenage son was delighted to find a chair, table, socket and mobile phone signal in the mobile home!

Warkworth and Amble are attractive little towns with lots of independent shops and good places to eat. We had a stand-up paddle boarding lesson on the River Coquet with Jon at Northside Surf School, which the whole family thoroughly enjoyed. We had our bikes and cycled in to Warkworth over the footbridge one day - it would be quite a long walk, but an easy bike ride. The beaches are all fabulous in Northumberland, so much quieter than Cornwall or Deven and a lot easier and cheaper to park. We would thoroughly recommend Northumberland as a destination and Walkmill as a really lovely place to stay.

Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2550 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019