Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Walkmill Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Alnwick > Walkmill Campsite Reviews

Walkmill Campsite
Nr Guyzance
Warkworth
Alnwick
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE65 9AJ
Tel: 01665 710155  or  07929882472
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 9 touring / 10 tents
Open: April To October (depending On Ground Conditions)

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sarahd112083nmj 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location tucked in the bend of the river.

A very quiet and peaceful vibe, plenty of space and Nick and Caroline are exceptionally capable, friendly and helpful hosts.

The peace was much appreciated also kingfishers darting were a highlight. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Custard15 18 reviews from this member

 As a returning campervan, we booked direct with the site on the day overnight 'unlocking' of England was confirmed as we could not think of a nicer place to down our first nights away since March.

Check in was efficient and reassuring. Great Covid-secure measures in place. Loads of anti-viral sprays and gels available, one way routes and distanced queuing. Not that you'll queue much here.

The site itself looks stunning this year, with pathways down into the meadow to the well spaced riverside tent pitches.

Walkworth village, a comfortable and quiet walk away is opening up, as is Amble harbour, a little further away, but still an easy walk.

It's no wonder that pitches here have quickly filled for the summer, but an Autumn trip looks very attractive! 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Brian j 2 reviews from this member

 No wifi no tv. Ok if you want to get away from it all alas not for me.

But Warkworth is definitely worth a visit plenty of restaurants and bars.

The castle is worth a visit lovely views towards amble 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs dundee 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to the site. The owners are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The site is situated in a beautiful area very remote and tranquil and all the pitches are spacious, especially the ones in the tent field and the facilities are kept spotlessly clean.

It is a great site for people who enjoy the countryside and are looking for a slightly wild experience but with all mod-cons on hand.

We will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Seniorsx2 7 reviews from this member

 A beautiful site in the heart of the countryside, quiet and peaceful. Large spacious pitches. There is a converted static caravan which houses a large bathroom with bath, shower and toilet and a separate toilet in the caravan.

There is use of the kitchen and lounge area for campers which is an added bonus. Two further toilets outside all of which are unisex, another separate shower would help waiting times and better locks please on the outdoor loos!

Unfortunately there is a stench pipe at the gate to the camping field and our caravan pitch was in 'smelling distance' which made it impossible to sit outside our caravan.

The tent pitches are at the far end of the field so the pipe wouldn't be a problem for tents. If the pitch wasn't used or the pipe could be moved the problem could possibly be resolved. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janpeyton 13 reviews from this member

 The site is tucked away well into the countryside. The pitches are fairly spacious and are split between two fields one for tents and one with hook-ups. There was nobody to meet us but another couple advised that they had been told to choose a pitch and the owner would see us later, which she did.

There was no access to the river, which we hadn't realised and as with previous reviews we had to agree the toilet and washing facilities were lacking. You were asked to remove your shoes when entering the static caravan which housed a toilet, and shower and bath. However the carpet was damp and this felt uncomfortable. There are 2 further outdoor toilets in little huts that worked well with lights inside that helped but I don't think the toilet / shower facilities were enough for those camping.

It was a peaceful & tranquil site that I think needs better facilities. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angelaz 10 reviews from this member

 I have been here several times and it is always peaceful and welcoming. There is no shop but the mobile home with comfortable sitting room complete with radio, video-player and tea making facilities makes up for that.

There is a BATH as well a shower. Phones can be charged. Love this place! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 30 reviews from this member

 We arrived by bicycle down the steep slope to the site, so steep we felt safest to get off and push.

No one was on site to welcome us and we didn't see any sign of anyone in charge during our stay. We found a space by the river which was quiet, but did suffer from an early sunset given its at the bottom of a valley.

I found out in the instructions for the site that no one is allowed near the river or in it as the rights are owned by an angling club. So don't book this expecting the kids to be able to play in the water.

Other have described the caravan lounge/kitchen/washing facility. The additional toilets had gel hand sanitisers, but people were using the loos and then hand washing in the same sink people were using for washing up and food preparation, which isn't ideal.

I was up early enough to get to use the shower, but could not get the hot water to be anything more than warmish, the controls being somewhat confusing. I suspect a pressure issue. The bath (with dinosaurs for the kids) had been proving popular the night before.

If you are thinking of going into Warkworth for food as we did, the route via the ford does have a footbridge, but we had to get off the bikes, take shoes off and paddle through the water. The height changes from river side to where the roads are means the route to the site the long way round is just as easy as you trade miles for hills.

Yes I'd stay again, but I would echo the comments that it needs more than one shower and wash basins in the loos.

(Note: My low score for customer service is because I didn't see anyone to experience anything. I cannot not give a score and as there's no not applicable rating. ) 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Theresa C 7 reviews from this member

 We had a tent and a campervan booked as 2 separate units although requested to be together – we were told this would be no problem. On arrival the owner was very nice and helpful. We were told they had made a mess of the bookings and that we would either have to go on one pitch together (4 man tent and a campervan), or that we would have to move after the 2nd night of our 3 night stay (and I don’t mean move one pitch over).

We opted to go on one pitch as the pitches were large, however we were offered no discount. We were advised she had already asked others to move, so couldn’t ask them again – so this was not a one off.

The site is split into 2 areas, one at the top of the field / hill next to the facilities and reasonably flat, the other down a field / hill, the grass was fairly long with only the bit you pitch your tent / park up on cut, therefore your feet were always soaking.

The walk over to the toilets / dish washing facilities was long and although they were clean, there was only one sink to wash your dishes in and one shower (which was in a bathroom complete with toilet, bath, sink etc – although you had no time to use the facilities as there were always people waiting).

There was another very small toilet and sink. All of these are in a static caravan and you were requested to take all shoes (including flip flops) off at the door – meaning there was a trip hazard of several pairs of boots / shoes every time lying around the front door area as well as people queuing (from 6am – 10. 30pm). There is a further 2 toilets in 2 separate wooden huts next to the static caravan but neither had hand washing facilities – is this legal!?

There were approx. Just under 80-100 people there during our stay.

The site is tucked away in the countryside beside a river (although no access down to the river, but plenty of midgies, especially down the hill) so is a very quiet place, but you need to drive to the local shop or anywhere else you go.

The directions on their website sound as though the next bit (train crossing, farm turning etc) is just round the corner, but it’s not – it’s a ½ mile or so on, so don’t do what we did and think you are on the wrong road – you possibly aren’t!

It was a nice site and the owner was pleasant, but with a bit more thought and better facilities (especially down in the field area) it would have been much better. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vantango 11 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site. Wonderfully friendly welcome. We stayed for one night. Pitches are a really good size. The shower/toilet is the only let down -as mentioned - the bathroom of a static caravan. The carpeted room contains a traditional suite with shower/bath & toilet.

When we stayed the site was quiet but we still had to queue in the morning & evening for showers. If the site was full, I think it would be unbearable. Although there are 3 additional toilets, the facilities are no where near adequate for the site. Also, if someone runs the tap in the kitchen, the water pressure in the shower drops. It's such a shame because this is the only fault.

We had a slow stroll into the town, which took just over an hour. It's a pleasant walk with a fantastic meal in the Masons Arms waiting. 


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Walkmill Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Walkmill Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Walkmill Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alnwick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5258 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement