Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Inwood A Camping Unplugged Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Basingstoke > Inwood A Camping Unplugged Site Reviews

Inwood A Camping Unplugged Site
Inwood Copse
Farleigh Road
Farleigh Wallop
Basingstoke
Hampshire   (Browse area)
RG25 2HP
Tel: 07720290229
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 25 May To 30 July

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
                9/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Kes Green 1 review from this member

 I've stayed at this site a few times now, as it's close to home and my friends like it. The open-air showers and composting toilets have sadly disappeared (presumably C-19 regulations). The new ablution blocks are clean and the flushing toilets are great. The showers were terrible though - one spurt and a few dribbles. It took me about fifty button-presses to get vaguely clean.

Some friends turned up first, to our 'reserved' spot, which was already occupied. They were told to go to another area, where they had to argue with someone else who wanted to camp there. They tried to explain that there would be another six tents, but the other campers pitched there anyway, creating a bad atmosphere. The campsite owner hadn't bothered to put up any "Reserved" signs, so this was inevitable.

The site was sloping, muddy (cars had to be pushed) and littered with rubbish (including empty shotgun cartridges and clay pigeon remnants) as well as several canine excretions. We did all manage to squeeze in, but we shouldn't have to do the owner's work for them (especially at 95 for a couple for three nights).

We might give this one a miss next time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suffolk Trev 5 reviews from this member

 We had a great stay here. We chose the big field as previous reviews had recommended it as camping full on in the woods is a bit dark for us. Arriving mid week gave us a great choice of pitch. We looked right down the valley. The noise from the M3 is negligible, and the sound of the helicopters passing overhead was great. We knew what to expect in terms of facilities. Good showers and toilets up by the reception. Our grandson Nicholas said the long drop was scary, although I found it fine. Both our grandsons went on the bushcraft course and thoroughly enjoyed it. We also had a great walk around the entire site. All in all 10 out of 10. That's three camping unplugged sites done now 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jo13bi 2 reviews from this member

 We decided to try this site because it was local and last minute and absolutely loved it.

You can choose to camp in the open grass areas or park your car at the edge of one of the tracks and carry your kit into the woods, which with 2 sons is what we chose to do.

The eco toilets were a bit 'strange' but they had a portacabin with lovely clean toilets.

Although only a short way in the woods, with our car in sight we felt alone apart from the occasional noise of children playing (sometime our own, building a den which they loved). Having a fire and cooking breakfast on the fire was great.

As a wooded area, even though close to Basingstoke and near a motorway, there was very little light pollution, you need a touch but on a clear night I imagine it would be great for star gazing.

They also charge per person, not per tent, so my husband slept outside under a tarp, while the kids and are were in the tent. If you want basic, natural, fun, great for kids camping this is the place. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sarahhennessy 2 reviews from this member

 We have just stayed at this site again with a big group. We go here every year and I can say that it is one of my favourite campsites by far. The changes that have been made are outstanding, especially the new showers by the top field. This feels like a back to basic campsite with a few better than home comforts thrown in. I would highly recommend this site to anyone who is looking for a laid back, friendly atmosphere. We have never had a bad experience. The guys who run it are really accommodating if you want to go in a particular area and there are lots of out of the way pitches for that feeling of being away from it all. Oh, and the added bonus of being 3 miles away from home obviously helps! Good job guys! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Victoria Debae 2 reviews from this member

 Scorching weekend over the summer solstice, arriving Thursday-Sunday with group of 8 adults. First 'Camping Unplugged' site visit - so impressed!

Me and a girlfriend arrived in a taxi, to a warm and entertaining welcome by Nick (owner). He wasn't sure how to retrieve the booking/his laptop wasn't paying-ball, so he just said 'come back later and we'll sort it out'! Love it! Relaxed vibe, trust, community, fun. He drove our kit to the big field, in his old golden Merc, as we trekked behind.

Being car-free (living in central London), the Ocado driver arrived and dumped our goods off at reception - just as we were wondering 'where is 'Dave' in our 'red-cabbage van'?' a couple of handsome young men arrived on the field - 'Did you order Ocado?' - popping their boot to find they'd driven it up to us! What super stars.

Gradually the other six members of our group arrived over Thursday evening through to Friday late evening. Lots of fun and sun and sky and camp fires and hikes to the local pub. Site did not feel busy at all, even though there must've been at least 20-25 other pitches occupied on the big field (and more in the woods) - perfect sense of having company, but no one disturbed anyone else.

Facilities were VERY good. They advertise 'long-drop loos', so this gives you an idea of what level to expect before you get there - but they also have porta-cabin loos and showers, hot washing up station, gorgeous HOT outdoor showers, loo roll, recycling, and a little shop.

Site staff and owner Nick were all so friendly and cool. Other campers were the same.

DOWNSIDE - Location of the Porta-loos, rubbish and washing up station is a million miles (10 min walk) away from the big field. (Long drops and outdoor showers are on the big field; 30 sec walk). Slight hum of the M3 motorway can be heard from the big field.

UPSIDES - Chilled out, friendly, trusting atmosphere; HOT OUTDOOR SHOWERS; loo roll; camp fires; the view from the big field; few rules; great first experience of Camping Unplugged. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Apca 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a blissful bank holiday getaway at Inwood. I booked at the last minute as soon as I was sure the forecast was good and chose Inwood as it's only 35 mins from home, so no BH traffic woes. Friends had been before and recommended it, and we weren't disappointed.

The 'reception' area down the track on arrival looked a bit of a mess - owner's caravan and piles of wood, generator shed, portacabins etc but I was welcomed warmly, and soon understood the nature of the place - and had no more reservations. (I spoke to the chap at the end of our stay who was just putting finishing touches to a new log cabin reception which will be much nicer than the shed, and he is planning to screen off some of the other unsightly stuff too)

We picked up a bag of wood and packs of marshmallows and headed through the woods to the Big Field. We chose to camping the field rather than woods as weather was good but not warm so wanted to make best of sun and it was obviously shady & cool in the woods. The pitches in the woods looked amazing though so we'll try that next time. You could be on your own completely without even seeing neighbours there's so much space) The view from the Big Field took us by surprise, far reaching over the hills. There were only 3 other families on the whole field. Loads of space and relatively level at the top of the field, with fire pits spaced out so no-one would pitch too close. 2 taps & 2 perfectly usable (not smelly) composting loos (though my girls, 8 & 12 found them scary in the dark!) 10 min walk (or 2 mins in car) back to lovely clean poratloos and showers by reception not a problem. Could have heated water and washed up at tent but chose to drive down to reception - not an issue - and lovely hot water on tap. ) Only downside of field was a bit of motorway noise (you can't see roads or anything else!) - but you couldn't hear it in the woods, and I got used to it. )

We spent 3 days exploring the whole site, admiring bluebells and wild flowers, finding swings and picking spots to picnic and there were still tracks we didn't go down!

Took us a while to get camp fire going as logs were a bit damp but a quick nip to nearby Sainsbury's garage for firelighters and kindling sorted that for 2nd night. (Apparently you're not allowed to collect kindling in woods, but he didn't actually tell us that)

We can't wait to go back and walked round identifying spots we'd like to try next time! Can't recommend the site enough, though would like to keep it a secret! So close to home but it felt like being a million miles from anywhere! It'll be a 10/10 when they've improved the arrival area. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moxdog1 1 review from this member

 Visited inwoods for two days and yes the heavens opened but we still had a great time.

At first site we thought omg what's this, but then we spoke to the men and they explained where we go etc and it's great you can go any where and pitch.

My kids loved the real fires and this was why I choose this place.

We pitched near a portal loo that was very clean.

We dint try the showers and main loos as we were roughing it.

The water tap dint work near us, so that was a pain having to drive to get water.

Men were lovely and helpful

Will defo go again and try different parts to pitch next time.

Would be good with a group of tents. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GillianG1 3 reviews from this member

 Have visited this site on numerous occasions and have never been let down even in the rain.

Bruce looked after our wood needs and the composting toilets close to various fields were great. The Shower and toilet blocks were very clean.

Our children have a magical time here and vanish the moment the get out of the car and don't reappear until they need fed :-)

Great site to get to from London and ideal for long weekends. Good facilities nearby including an excellent pub that you can walk to and an Asda for supplies and Go Outdoors for emergency tent needs. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: St.bernard 9 reviews from this member

 Took the grandsons back to basic camping for the week-end. They thoroughly enjoyed it. Fantastic views from the top meadow. Lovely to see people camping among the trees. Well run site. Excellent toilet and shower facilities by the reception area. Others are compost toilets, surprised how clean and un smelly they were. Brought back happy memories from our own childhood. Well done to the team over the week -end. Will certainly be back next year, especially for the bush craft sessions. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Indiekid007 1 review from this member

 I visited Inwood as a party of 3 and we had the most fantastic time. Some people have made negative comments about the reception but we found it perfect. The guy was informative and very welcoming and gave us some good recommended pictures.

As it was only three of us we decided to steer clear of the family areas and go camping under the woods. We collected the fire wood (bargain for a fiver) and within 10 minutes found the perfect spot.

The campsite is really back to basics but the toilets were impeccably clean, the grounds well kept and even the compost toilets were clean.

We visited the pub on the Saturday night at 6 and found that all the tables were booked but the garden is perfect and the food was very good. The walk is a good 40 minutes but was a perfect evening so we loved the fresh air.

I cannot recommend this place enough, we are not seasoned campers but the back to basics approach was nothing to worry about. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Inwood A Camping Unplugged Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Inwood A Camping Unplugged Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Inwood A Camping Unplugged Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Basingstoke      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4228 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement