Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Southleigh House Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Herstmonceux > Southleigh House Camping Reviews

CLOSED: Southleigh House Camping
Southleigh House
Gingers Green
Herstmonceux
East Sussex   (Browse area)



Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

We have been advised by the owners that this campsite is now closed.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whiskywhiskymac 11 reviews from this member

I love this camp site; if you want peace and quiet come here. Well away from the main road and surrounded by trees you couldn’t ask for a more delightful spot, with plenty of walks directly from the field.

There are lots of friendly animals – llamas, horses, sheep, goats, chickens, geese, pigs (who are happy to eat your non-meat food scraps) … not to mention the wild birds that visit the field.

There is only one chemical toilet; whilst a composting toilet would be great, because the site is only really used in the July and August I can fully understand that the owners do not wish to make this investment. For camper vans and caravans there is a chemical disposal point.

We experienced an incredible series of thunderstorms and heavy rain during our stay and Karen the owner thoughtfully contacted us to check that we were safe and well.

An absolute bargain and the eggs from the hens are delicious too.

They also have a couple of self-catering houses that are also delightful if camping isn’t your thing – check out www. Southleighhouseholidays. Co. Uk for details.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cherloc26 1 review from this member

If you want a basic, child-friendly camping experience, this is the site for you.

We were very fortunate that we had the field to ourselves the few days we were there. (Heaven!)

This trip included our two daughters aged 13 and 5 and our little dog.

There was a very clean portable loo and cold taps near the entrance of the field.

The animals mentioned by other campers were delightful and kept our girls occupied the majority of the time. Our youngest would happily go off to visit them by herself. The girls were never bored.

The ability to have campfires was an adventure in itself.

The location is fantastic for visiting places of interest and local amenities nearby.

We even bought some of the owners free range eggs, which were delicious.

We all agreed this was the most enjoyable and relaxing camping holiday we have ever had.

I can't praise the owners enough. They are a genuinely nice family and Karen Wells did us a 'favour' that was wonderfully kind and generous.

The icing on the cake is the cost. Value for money is an understatement.

I have told all my friends about this site, so I doubt we will get the whole field to ourselves again!

Great site, lovely family, excellent value, highly recommended for nature loving campers.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Miss_ellie 3 reviews from this member

I have read the review left above and feel compelled to respond. We have been staying at this site for three years, infact it is our old tent in the photo on this site. We always stay with our two young children and often bring other kids along. We were staying on the campsite on the weekend as the reviewers and I have to comment that they did not appear at all terrified by the incident, infact we even helped them to move their tent, but they waited all the next day to do so. We have previously camped next to the bridal way, and the only noise has ever been the sound of horses and dog walkers.

The fact that the reviewers didn't even wake up (we heard lots of shouting and yelling) but didn't find the damage until the next morning. We heard from the other side of the field, so I simply cannot understand how they did not wake up. As owner states, if they had been that terrified, then surely they would have packed up and gone straight away. Their tent did have a hole, but was not ruined as stated.

There is no denying that it was a very unfortunate but isolated incident, but we would not hesitate to go and stay there again. Our kids love the freedom of the field and a treat to feed the animals. Karen and her husband have always been very welcoming, helpful and friendly.

The facilities are very basic but if you enjoy real camping in a beautiful and in our experiences very safe environment I cannot recommend it enough.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HozandDan 2 reviews from this member

We hate to have to say this but feel a responsibility to warn other campers especially those with kids, Do not Pitch near the bridle way. It is active during the night and frequented by youths.

Unfortunately some local yobs find it amusing to throw stones, Large enough to actually go through the side of tents in the middle of the night

Our tent was attacked while we were sleeping not only did an expensive tent get ruined we also spent the next few nights sleeping in terror. Not to mention the fact somebody could have been really hurt as it was thrown with such force.

This was a Beautiful sight, amazing location everything else about this site was fantastic

Basic facilities toilet and tap only, Real campfires, lovely animals.

Such a terrible shame it is really unfair to the owners as they have made a real effort to create a proper camping experience, That said we would not wish our experience here on anybody else

I would love to give this 10/10 but this was my girlfriends first camping trip and she is now terrified to go again.

Management response: As the owner of this site I feel I must respond to the previous review. Yes, the reviewers tent had a stone thrown at it during the night which made a hole and entered the tent BUT the incident failed to wake them so it was hardly 'attacked' as stated. The said bridleway is not active during the night or frequented by youths at all. This was a totally isolated incident which occurred (I later found out) most likely following a party in the nearby village as several incidents happened that night, (peoples hanging baskets being trashed was one). It is the first such incident in the 3 years in which our site has opened.

Other people staying on the site that night heard shouting but it wasn't til the morning that the reviewers were aware that anything had happened to their tent. I went to see them and they showed me the hole, which had already been patched up. They had moved to another area but then spent another two nights 'sleeping in terror' which again I feel a little strange. After paying just £10 a night wouldn't you just go home if you were that scared? And had they said they felt like that at the time, I would have refunded the £20.

Obviously this is not the sort of thing anyone wants to experience but I feel their review gives a totally incorrect reflection of our site and felt I had to comment. The site is a 20 minute walk from the nearest village and up a small lane, with very few houses so is very quiet and the bridleway is used mainly by horse riders and dog walkers but not as a cut through as has been implied.

Karen Wells

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ajbailey 7 reviews from this member

Just back from 2 nights with 4 friends, what a little gem!

For those that like basic wild camping its fantastic, small field 1 portable loo & 2 cold water taps surrounded by fields with fowl, pigs etc very quiet about 7-8 tents this weekend, so quiet & rural even the rain didn't bother us or dampen the open fire!

Owners really friendly popped round for a chat while walking their dogs, very welcoming and not a huge site so very peaceful and a great break from city life,

Plenty of places to walk/visit nearby, no local pubs within short walking distance so bring your own food unless you want to drive,

Cant wait for next visit.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skidandziggy 1 review from this member

We chose this site as we wanted to be able to have campfires and discovered a little gem. The children loved feeding the pigs and horses, and toasting marshmallows so much that there is no need for clubs and playparks. A chance to get back to basics and enjoy nature.

Owners were friendly and helpful. Lovely and peaceful site, with the sounds of the farm animals and woodpeckers during the day and the owls at night.

You could pitch where you liked, although its preferred if you can re-use spots where previous campfires have been sited. Wood is available from a little shed for £4 a bag, and you could help yourself to kindling. Bricks were also supplied if you wanted them, and there was a wheelbarrow for you to wheel it all back to your pitch.

Portable toilets were clean and well stocked at all times with plenty of loo paper and antibac gel. (There is a disposal point if you prefer to use your own loo). The field is fairly level and we had no problems finding a nice flat spot.

Eastbourne was only about 20 minutes away and Herstmonceaux castle about 10 minutes. Nearest pub was about 5 minutes by car.

This is a lovely site, and ideal for those wanting the basics to do some 'proper' camping. We normally camp in a folding camper but wanted to cook over an open fire and enjoyed this as much if not more than our usual 'glamping'. While we wish every success to this new site we also hope that it remains the quiet little gem that it is. We will definitely return next season.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Frankie9 12 reviews from this member

This is a lovely, sheltered, grassy field situated well away from the road with just a cold tap, disposal point and (very clean) portaloo with loo rolls and alcohol cleanser provided.

You choose your own pitch and the friendly owner comes to have a chat and collect the money (only £10 per tent)in the early evening.

Although shops and pubs are only a short drive away there are none within easy walking distance so bring your own beer and breakfast.

This site is in an ideal position for a walking weekend on the South Downs and very close to the children's attraction, Drusillas Park.

If you enjoy 'back to basics' camping then this site is ideal.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7424 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019