Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Balloch O Dee Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Balloch O Dee Campsite > Reviews

Balloch O Dee Campsite
Kirkcowan
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 0ET
Tel: 07551070270  or  01671830708
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 caravans 40 tents plus indoor accommodation
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 43 Reviews
                10/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: AndyBullivent 1 review from this member

 I'm ashamed to say that this is the first time I've left a review of this wonderful place, despite coming here for years.

The place is wonderful and welcoming and beautiful.

The facilities are amazing and it's ideal for families. It welcomes campers, caravans and RV's as well as having several reasonably priced solid accommodation options.

They have a couple of cook houses for folks who don't have their own cooking equipment, all you need is to put a pound or two into the honesty box for gas!

The owners are incredibly helpful and welcoming, and my family are likely to be coming here for many years to come. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sold av 4 reviews from this member

 You will hate this place ( smelly toilets, loud biker groups fighting all night, drug taking and raves till 4am ! shocking. Do not go here!

Hope that's put you all off🤣🤣🤣

Now that's put all of the skimmers off I have to say what a great site. Fantastic area lots to do lovely relaxed atmosphere.

Facilities are fantastic toilets are very tasteful and a reflection on the obvious thought that's gone into this site, showers hot and never busy as site quiet. Wildlife all around and just far enough away from civilisation to feel remote.

Reminded me of South skye. Communal facilities like fire pits and places to sit were great for campers like us though the only, and I mean the only, thing I would ask is that fire pits are marked as when you drive off the path you could end up in one. My son loved it and enjoyed chicken ranching so we could get the car into the site.

Only downside for him was no WiFi ( oh what a shame 🤣) he loved building a fire every night and being in charge of keeping it going. Worth the trip just for the clear sky night show just amazing stars, milky way, shooting stars.

Next time we will try the activities at the three lochs which weren't on when we were there but it's close to the site. We did manage 3 days fishing in some lovely lochs next time bikes and boots.

Newton stewart is a short drive away for anything you need the tea shop upstairs just beside sainsbury does lovely coffee and cakes

Shame it's so good as it'll surely be busy but we will return ASAP. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cathysue 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday. Excellent campsite with good facilities and the most glamorous campsite toilets we've ever come across.

Owners are friendly and happy to offer good advice on places to go. The site is large with plenty of room if you just turn up, though electric hook ups are limited, so if you want one it's worth booking ahead.

The showers were good, though they drain out under the door so there is no dry floor when you are getting dressed. There is a shower curtain to divide the cubicle (and keep your things dry)and a basket and hooks for your belongings.

We also used the Camp kitchen to relax in the sofas and charge our phones/watches and chat with other campers.

The site is quite isolated (😁) and the dawn chorus is amazing. We went there to go walking in Glen Trool and up The Merrick. Newton Stewart is about 8 miles away and has a Sainsbury's, Aldi and Co-op/Spar. We had some lovely cakes at the Bridgend Pantry in Newton Stewart. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Steve1197 2 reviews from this member

 A very relaxed site that has lots of evidence of thoughtful management.

Friendly and diligent owners who have made everything look unique.

Individual decor in the loos for example! But there are also communal shelters with fire pits and sofas if the weather isnít cooperative.

There are 2 showers that give plenty of hot water but the site was quiet during my stay so not a lot of demand.

If mountain biking or walking is your thing, visit Glentrool and Kirroughtree brilliant days out. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Rgilbe 1 review from this member

 Perfect beautiful site, scenery was spectacular very nice & quiet also,

Facilitates were nice & clean & hot showers.

Will definitely use it again thank you 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Siebellis 24 reviews from this member

 Perfect Christmas. Stayed here for Christmas in our camper. Weather was amazing for this time of year. Facilities good.

Situated in the middle of nowhere 45 mins walk to the nearest village with a pub, which was very friendly.

Highly recommend this site we will be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: OurTraceyLove 3 reviews from this member

 We made a point of being right on the edge of the site facing away from most others, our choice, which put us quite a way from the car.

Next the the facilities block there was a handy summerhouse type building containing a microwave, kettle and fridge freezer, the 2 arm chairs and a coffee table gives you the option to have a sneeky charge up of tech if required.

Showers Ok, toilets OK although ALL toilet paper and hand towel's were empty at 7. 30-8am ish. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Suemki 2 reviews from this member

 A wonderfully spacious open site with lovely touches like fresh flowers in the quirkily painted washrooms.

It got busy at the weekend with a large group but not unpleasantly so. Jamie is a great host.

As a solo traveller, price per pitch doesn't work well for me! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Erinha 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site.

Owner was super friendly and helpful, gave us a little tour of the site when we arrived so we knew where everything was.

Toilets/ changing area/ showers were immaculate and beautifully decorated.

Will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kirstsw 56 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. Stunning views and quirky covered camping areas if you need to cook undercover or just sit and chill with a fire.

Facilities were well kept and the owner very welcoming.

We would definitely stay again 
via mobile


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Balloch O Dee Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Balloch O Dee Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Balloch O Dee Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newton Stewart      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44981 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement