Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Balloch O Dee Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Balloch O Dee Campsite Reviews

Balloch O Dee Campsite
Kirkcowan
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 0ET
Tel: 07551070270  or  01671830708
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 caravans 40 tents plus indoor accommodation
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: 3narf 9 reviews from this member

What a great site; views, location, facilities and welcome all superb.

But, oh God, the midges! Much as I'd love to say I'll go back, I couldn't, ever.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wiggydiggypoo 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights to explore the 7 Stanes MTB trails nearby and this site is ideally located for that. Its got a large field to pick your pitch, and decent facilities (4 toilets/2 showers).

Numerous firepits are available if you like and the owner is quite relaxed about pitching up first then coming to find him. I enjoyed the isolation of this site and at night it is in a dark skies area so on a clear night the sky is beautiful.

Locally there isn't anything so no night down the pub (unless you drive/get driven!) but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Also quick thumbs up for Kirkcowan Cycles in Newton Stewart, my bike broke and they fixed it quickly and for a reasonable price.

N/a from me for kids as I don't have any!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 247 reviews from this member

A great site if you like quirky and back to nature. Don't bother if you want regimented rows and club type hardstandings. The facilities are lovely, kept very clean. The horses which roam the site are no problem, they don't attack! they will come to the caravan door for an apple.

The single track road from the A75 to the site is no problem, there are plenty of passing places and a good view of the road ahead. It's quite a way from anywhere of course, Newton Stewart has Sainsburys and Aldi next to each other near the river and 2 garages.

The site is the second property after the second cattle grid, don't turn into the first by mistake (yes, we did as someone mentioned that they couldn't see a sign, but there is one now).

A site to recommend as a stop over before the ferry or for a few days. £20 per night which we thought was worth it.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EllieBee 3 reviews from this member

We stumbled upon this site as the signage wasn't terribly clear from the road. We were greeted by numerous barking dogs. However, don't be put off! If you like very squeaky clean c&c club type sites then this may not be the place for you. It has character and we liked that.

A big attraction for us were the animals on site. Free-range chickens, dogs and ponies! The chickens were quite noisy at times, but interesting nevertheless. The dogs loved to bark at cars coming onto site (even the postie!) but they were very friendly - our children fell in love with one of the West highland White terriers who loved her morning tummy rub!

The ponies were wonderful. Very free-range - they roamed the site, occasionally coming very close to the tents (don't leave your rubbish bags outside!) and my children loved them. The site owners were very helpful and allowed the children to groom and pamper the ponies in the Ranch block - a big hit!

There were around 4 loos, 2 of which were in HUGE rooms, almost too big just for loos! Nicely presented with characterful touches. A separate block accommodated the other loo/s + showers - again, not a c&c club presentation, but very characterful.

Camping was set out across 2 fields, the smaller one being closest to the loos/showers.

Great campfire facilities and wood to buy on site for £5 a bag. We took a day trip to Portpatrick and the coast.

We enjoyed staying here and the kids are keen to return to pester the ponies again!

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Celtic1 13 reviews from this member

We arrived at this beautiful site. On a very windy day. And would not have been able to put up our tent (because of the wind factor), had it not been for the owners and some of their helpers.

This is a beautiful. Laid back. Well thought out site, in a wonderful location. Offering fantastic wild views.

Loads of free range animals, turkeys. Ponies. Chickens. Ducks. And dogs. All of which are very friendly. Although the turkeys can be a bit temperamental.

I have never been in such a dog friendly site and so long as your dog is animal friendly. You do not need to put it on a lead. It is however dogs that have caused me to mark this campsite down. The owners numerous dogs wonder around. And there did seem to be quite a lot of dog mess. Three freshly laid ones outside out tent. And quite a bit. Near the washing up/toilet area. Really unpleasant.

The showers are the best I have ever used. With loads of free, hot water. There is however. No way of regulating the water temperature. There are 2 showers and 2 toilets. All of which are unisex. 2 Washing up sinks are also located inside the shower/toilet block as well as 2 outside.

The site is very child friendly, with a trampoline in the big field, which proved very popular with the children. Children are encouraged to interact positively with the animals and if they find any duck or chicken eggs. They are allowed to keep them.

Amazing dark sky at night. And we got a clear view of several constellations. One planet and the Milky way. Absolutely wonderful!

The nearest shops are in Newton Stewart. Which is 15 minutes drive away. Where you can find both a Sainsburys and an Aldis.

This is a lovely campsite in a lovely area. Just need to watch out for dog mess.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roux 1 review from this member

Visited balloch o dee campsite in October 2014, we were the only people on site due to the weather. This campsite is a credit to the owners, the toilet block/showers were extremely clean and lit at night by candles.

Due to the weather we had to take our tent down in the dark, James offered us the round house to sleep in that evening which was extremely kind of him he had lit the fire and candles so the room was warm.

We cannot thank you enough for a great weekend and would not hesitate to return either camping or to stay in the wonderful roundhouse.

If you are looking for a campsite to chill out on, then this is the place.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TearDrop Camper 1 review from this member

How refreshing, instead of the usual 'camp here, don't do this, don't do that, . ' I received a simple 'Welcome to Balloch o Dee, find a spot you like and get yourself settled in' as I pulled into the yard.

A real farm atmosphere with chickens, turkeys, ducks, dogs and horses all wandering around along with a few free range campers.

Toilets/Showers are always clean even though they can be quite busy at times, showers were hot at any time of day and there isn't the dreaded 'closed from 11-12 for cleaning'.

The views are outstanding, I challenge anyone to get bored of waking up to the view of the fells and the distant mountains. Sunrises and Moonrises over the fells have to be seen.

The owners are friendly and helpful, they give you all the privacy you need but are never far away should you need some help or information. They have perfected the fine art of not having a load of rules, but still ensuring everyone's needs are respected - no rules, just a few 'guidelines for harmonious living.

Not sure about the surrounding area - I managed to spend all my time on site apart from an odd trip to the shops. Nearest shop is about 4 miles away in Kircowan, nearest supermarket is 8 miles. You wouldn't want your peace and quiet shattered by nearby shops anyway.

This site has just become my de-stressing hideaway. Kids running around having a great time, I can let my dog roam free (now that he's chilled out about poultry) so long as I clean up any deposits he leaves, and a quiet beer around the campfire in the evening. PERFECT!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alan-2001 1 review from this member

First things first: This site might not be for you. If you prefer the regimentation of a CCC site, where the warden literally paces out the 6 metres between units, everyone lines up in perfect rows, and you are constantly inundated with signs telling you what you're NOT allowed to do, then you might not like it at Balloch O'Dee.

For the rest of us, however, I think this is as close to a perfect camping experience as you can get.

After our warm welcome, we pitched exactly where we felt like, with a fantastic view, nowhere near anyone else, with a nice firepit & barbecue right in front of the tent. It was extremely gratifying to be treated like responsible adults, trusted not to burn down the entire camp site.

Firewood is available to purchase on site, at a reasonable £5 per bag. Apparently you can forage for wood in the adjacent forest too.

As mentioned in many other reviews, the toilet block facilities are exceptionally fitted out and spotlessly clean. There is a book exchange in there too. Head torches are a must for any nocturnal visits because there is no electric lighting - the block is lit by candles at night, which really adds to the cosy atmosphere. Water was hot & plentiful when I used the shower, but as there are only 2 toilet cubicles & 2 showers, there can sometimes be a queue at peak times in the morning.

If you're camping, I would strongly advise taking a full contingent of rock pegs with you (as I always do). Perhaps we were unlucky, but the ground under our pitch was extremely rocky.

Ponies, dogs, ducks, turkeys and countless chickens roam free on the site, and if you're lucky you can help yourself to free range eggs in the morning. There are also fenced-in areas and hutches full of cute rabbits for the kids (and grown-up kids) to play with.

If you're thinking of staying at this site, make sure you read the 'Camp Ethos' section on their website before you go.

All in all, we had a perfect weekend and are looking forward to returning, whether it's in our tent or in one of the bothies. Massively recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sonjabuk 4 reviews from this member

A lovely homely and friendly site. Very child friendly, in fact very people friendly.

Rules? What rules? Basically you can pitch where you want on the the two fields. One field has EHU and the other does not.

Horse and birds roam free, you may find they come inside your unit for a visit!

The overall site cleanliness is excellent, toilet block is cleaned daily. It is lit at night by candles and fairy lights - very cosy.

Highly recommend if you want a chilled out, relaxed time away from it all. Not for you if you want pubs, on site entertainment - you make your own. The stars at night are amazing on a clear night, bring either binoculars or telescope.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Laws69 2 reviews from this member

When you arrive at Balloch O Dee you are greeted with a hand painted sign which reads 'Pull in pitch up and chill out'

This sums up the site, on arrival you are not bombarded with a list of rules and you can pitch up where you wish. There is plenty of space and the owners don't over fill the site.

There are numerous fire pits and BBQ's both stone and portable which we took full advantage of.

The site is a lovely location with open views of the hills, fell side and woodland. Pony's and chickens freely roam round the site and the owners offer free pony rides for kids. There are also petting pens with rabbits.

The facilities are great, the toilet block is candle lit at night and there are many nice touches which show the owners really care.

It would be an advantage to be self sufficient as the nearest shop was twenty minutes away as Newton Stewart, here you find an Aldi and Sainsbury amongst others.

We stayed four nights with a 6 and 10 year old boys who loved the site, there is no playground but plenty of space to roam and use their imaginations, though they did enjoy the trampoline.

The surrounding coastal is stunning and Finlay's ice cream farm at Gatehouse of Fleet is worth a trip and the adventure playground was a real treat for the kids.

In summary Balloch O Dee is what camping is all about, stunning scenery, peace and quiet, freedom and good company. Nobody abused the lack of rules and the owners ethos is spot on. This was the best camping trip we have had, even the weather was fantastic. Can't wait to return.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3589 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019