Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ball Hill Farm

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Taunton > Ball Hill Farm > Reviews

Ball Hill Farm
Rock Hill
Wrantage
Taunton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA3 6DN
Tel: 07900 023912  or  01823490460
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 4
Open: 03/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Zackeray14 1 review from this member

 Simple site with beautiful views from the hillside, day and night. One step from wild camping, utterly peaceful with only a few sheep for company.

Timís help before arrival was friendly and efficient.

Had a great meal and drinks at the Bell Inn which is exactly 15 mins walk. Donít bother with the Far Canal pub though. Rude and unfriendly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Reikipagan 3 reviews from this member

 This site is special, only 1 tent allowed during this time which makes it even more amazing.

You have your pick of anywhere in this site but be warned you can only park at the gate and then you have to carry EVERYTHING up a pretty steep hill. It is worth it though for the views, the peace and quiet.

One compost loo and a stand pipe for water and thatís it.

Tim was very welcoming and told us to call anytime if we need anything but after that you wouldnít know he was there which is perfect for us we really just wanted to be people free for a couple of days.

You are asked to antibac anything you touch ie gate, compost loo etc

The far Canal pub serves lovely food and many gins 🙃. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: MICandLIV 1 review from this member

 We stayed in the lovely gipsy caravan with our 4 year old son (and our dog too:), and it was one of these times in life when you feel you got to the best place you could get to.

It is hard to explain how pleasant and comfy the Caravan was, although there is no electricity it still felt like home. Just pack a bag with a bit of clothes and get there, you will find anything else you need, plus a super nice and helpful host family.

The fun doesn't end with the caravan cause once you step out you get to a little magical orchard, with rabbits, sheep, a fire place, a breathtaking view and amazing apples we couldn't stop eating. Sorry Tim ;) so thank you for an unforgettable weekend! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sunnyweathercampers 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed 2 nights over the spring bank holiday and despite being a long weekend there were just two other groups. The view is amazing and sitting looking down over the countryside it felt like we were on top of the world.

Its a fair way from car to site up a steep hill, toilet facilities are basic, standpipe for water a steep climb away, sites are quite exposed so a bit breezy. But we thought it well worth it to be in such a beautiful place enjoying our own camp fire and having it all to ourselves. Owner very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend (to those who like their camping back to nature) and would happily go again ourselves.

We had our 2 yr old with us and she really enjoyed wandering around and saying hello to the grazing sheep. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bowerbird 3 reviews from this member

 This site is really quite a find. It is not your usual sort of camping with all mod cons and would not appeal to many as it is bordering on wild camping, and you have to be prepared to carry water some distance. However, the negatives are far outweighed by the positives and my husband and I have found it a delightful place to camp.

The campsite is in an ancient cider orchard on a hillside. The owner of the site was very helpful and friendly and showed us around the orchard looking at possible pitches for our rather large tent. We decided on a flat area, a kind of rather large ledge, sheltered from the worst of the wind with fabulous views over half of Somerset. We watched red kites soaring overhead and rabbits scampering off in all directions on the ground. There is also a small flock of ewes and their lambs grazing in the orchard which made an appearance from time to time munching their way through the grass. We had a campfire on several evenings using wood from winter prunings left around the apple trees.

There is plenty to do in the area. Curry Mallet is a two minute car ride away with a shop/cafe and a good pub, The Bell, which has an excellent Friday night offer of a steak dinner with all the trimmings and a drink at £20 for two people, but you will need to book. North Curry, a little further away has an excellent well stocked shop. The Willow and Wetlands centre is well worth a visit and has a really nice cafe. Somerton is a very attractive little town with a Craft Gallery, large antique/bric-a-brac shop and a supermarket to rival Waitrose plus a butchers shop. The Somerset Museum in Taunton is fabulous (I don't normally say that about museums) and it too has a nice cafe. Near Mulchelney, as well as the Abbey (NT), there is the John Leach Pottery. Many of the villages and small towns around were putting on festivals and events so it is worth checking with the Tourism Office in Taunton to find out what is going on.

We have already been back to this site again this year and I am certain we will return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Nigelharrison 1 review from this member

 We have just stayed in Nicky and Tim's wonderful gypsy caravan near Taunton.

Situated on the hill in the middle of an ancient apple orchard, away from the farm and seccluded amonsst the trees. Very romantic, warm and cosy with the wood burner.

Indian wall hangings, bigger than a normal gypsy caravan, comfortable double bed and you wake up to a fantastic view in the middle of the apple orchard.

Nicky and Tim and friendly and helpful. Perfect for romantics who want something different! Nigel and Judith Harrison 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ball Hill Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ball Hill Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ball Hill Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Taunton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3925 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement