Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Langley Hall Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Newbury > The Langley Hall Inn Reviews

CLOSED: The Langley Hall Inn
Old Oxford Road
Beedon
Newbury
Berkshire   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 21 Reviews
                6/10 from 21 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

We have been advised that as of the time of writing, this pub is now closed. Apparently its doors shut on 28th February 2014 when it ceased trading, and its future is uncertain. If you happen to know anything regarding this, or whether the site has reopened, please contact us to let us know.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JulesV 4 reviews from this member

We arrived on a wet and windy Friday night and indeed the site does look a little unloved in such circumstances but for us this is not a problem. We pitched quickly, our electric cable was just long enough and we were soon cosy inside with a glass of wine. There is a very tame chicken who pays a visit every time the 'van door is open, I'm not so sure she'll be keen when we have our dogs with us next time.

We spent the evening in the pub; we received a very genuine welcome from not just the landlord but the locals too. The food was really great and portion sizes would satisfy the hungriest fella.

The site facilities could indeed do with a bit of a tidy up, the bathroom door was swollen so I couldn't close it when I went for my shower! good job I'm not shy :-) but the shower was beautifully hot which is all that really matters at the end of the day.

There was some evidence of the pub dog 'enjoying the site' which would be a flippin' nuisance if you discovered this in the dark and walked straight into your caravan so carry a torch just in case.

We'll be heading back to this site, not because it was perfectly immaculate but because the welcome made up for any shortcomings. 20 a night is perhaps a bit high considering the current condition of the site.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Parkandride 6 reviews from this member

My review accords with the earlier ones by HET1 & Oconn5140. The camping is set in an field area adjoining the pub`s beer garden.

The paddock had 5 vans, some or all of which, were stored/ belonged to men working locally.

The tap, toilet, chemical disposal & shower (1 of each), were located in an outbuilding at the back of the pub. Basic ok, but dirty and neglected for 20 a night I can do without. The village is called World`s End I should have known better.

The electric tripped off in the toilet facility, luckily having just finished in the electric shower.

The wi-fi code supplied didn`t work. The pub didn`t have any beer, only lager, and the prices must have been London prices.

Positives: hot water, pleasant staff

Newbury, a few miles down the road, was a nice place to visit.

Definitely will not be coming back.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JamesLyndaStewart 12 reviews from this member

Friendly laid back owner, and as a previous review said, quirky locals.

There is a common across the road for walking dogs, and they are very dog friendly. Their dogs do roam around, but it is their garden after all! we ran over a massive poo as we arrived, so it wasn't the best start.

After seeing the reviews about 'food to die for', we were really looking forward to eating there. However, we only had one meal, which to be honest could have been better, but they had slept in, so possibly didn't have time to prepare. It probably is the worst meal we've ever paid for, and it wasn't cheap.

My husband used the shower/toilet facilities, which were basic, and only one person could use the facility at one time.

Another negative? We ran out of wine, there are no shops around within walking distance that we could find, and the pub sold us two bottles of wine for 25. Having said that, it was very nice wine, but we wouldn't normally pay that anywhere.

In all honesty, we did feel a bit ripped off, not the best stay, but we made it a good night anyway.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HET1 3 reviews from this member

This site is convenient for attractions eg Highclere but vastly overpriced at 20 per night. The site is attached to a pub where we had a lovely meal but it needs maintenance. Hook up cables trail across the field, the toilet/ shower room is dirty( I only used the toilet once) and generally the place needs some TLC (tender loving care). Would I go again. NO

Child friendliness not tested. If owners spend a little time cleaning and maintaining then it would be a good little site

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: HEATHERJENTO 3 reviews from this member

Wonderful little site. Very obliging landlord, nothing was too much trouble especially as one of the wires was loose on my hook up lead. Mark very kindly took it apart and mended it for me, very reassuring when you are a lady on your own with a young daughter. Lovely welcome on arrival. Pub food was first class and I even had it delivered to my camper as I did not want to leave my dog. Lovely private beer garden. Very handy for the Newbury showground less than 5 minutes away, here you can have electric. Would definitely recommend and that comes from a caravan site owner myself so I am very critical when need to be. Lovely area. Will definitely be returning when I am in the area next year.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: LILYLOU 1 review from this member

Booked this campsite, after reading good reviews, to break our journey down to south coast for wedding. It's a small site with a couple of caravans parked but no occupants the night we were there. Hosts were friendly and accommodating, prepared a meal to fulfil my husband's special dietary requirements whilst I enjoyed superb fish and chips. Shower/toilet block was ok but not the best we've seen. The problem we had was with the incessant, loud noise from the traffic on the A34 throughout the night, neither of us could sleep and I was walking the dogs in the large field opposite at 6am, consequently we did not look our best at the wedding! We would not stay here again for that reason.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adamcraigscott 38 reviews from this member

1st the pluses nice little site beside a pub/restaurant fantastic host and staff, dog friendly, quirky locals and meals to die for. Langley wood across the road ideal for the dogs. But unfortunately the campsite is a little bit unloved a few jobs seemed to have been started and not finished ie the toilet shower room was dirty with unfinished decorating not very inviting I used my own facilities. In the future there is going to be a small shop as there isn't anything nearby.

Would I come again probably due to the hospitality that was shown to us and hopefully the owner gets his act together and finishes those jobs. Could be a perfect site.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oconn5140 2 reviews from this member

Read all the reviews on site, all positive however we are very disappointed. When we booked in we were shocked at 40 for two nights, we weren't shown around. We pitched our tent whilst trying to avoid a dog that was roaming all over the site.

Once pitched my partner went to wash up, she returned straight away. The state of the wash area and toilet was filthy, I have served in Afghanistan and the toilets had a better aroma to them. There was cleaning fluid and clothes laid around its a shame they weren't used.

The shower was warm but was covered in dirt and stunk. The toilet area was over run by flies and the bins where overflowed. We found dog mess in many areas of the site.

The whole experience was very poor and I won't recommend the site.

Expensive, dirty and the customer did not come first, the money did.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rikita74 7 reviews from this member

We booked this site after reading positive reviews on this website. What a let down! The moment we arrived we felt like moving on. What looked liked at least 4 workers caravans appear to be parked long time, so very tight to manoeuvre on entry & exit. The area was muddy and uneven. The edges had been recently strimmed but all the debris (grass & nettles) were left laying around so it all got walked into the van. Popped into the pub to settle up and have a drink. Shocked to be charged 20 per night. Not made to feel particularly welcome. Toilets backed up every time you flushed and the shower was anything but inviting. No Wi-Fi. No shops / amenities nearby. Quite a bit of road noise. The whole place had an air of being unloved. When you think of the quality you get at a CC / CC&C site for 5 a night less, I can't see how they can charge what they do. We had booked to return here on our return journey, but we've cancelled. Will not be returning.

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3941 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019