Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Osea Lesire Park ( Formerly Meadows Camping And Touring )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Maldon > Osea Lesire Park ( Formerly Meadows Camping And Touring ) Reviews

Osea Lesire Park ( Formerly Meadows Camping And Touring )
Osea Leisure
Goldhanger Road
Maldon
Essex   (Browse area)
CM9 4SA
Tel: 01621 854695
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/06/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/06/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 15 Reviews
                7/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Phil Massey 1 review from this member

 We have camped extensively through Europe.

This campsite is well, below the sort of standard found in the uk and Europe. Facilities were not clean. Gypsie travellers were allowed. Management didnít care as long as they got their money. This campsite should be shut down by authorities 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Leelovescamping 5 reviews from this member

 With first time campers on board (14 months and 6yrs old) I decided to book this site as it wasn't to far from home.

Found the site to be exceptionally good. Toilets and showers where clean and in a good condition with plenty of hot running water. Facilities where inspected 5 times a day.

Camping field had a small lodge with a freezer for guests to use and well as tea, coffee, cold drinks and ice cream vending machines.

The main children's play area was also very well equipped.

Nice short walk to the river Blackwater and a fantastic cafe.

Have already re booked for October 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michael Phillips 3 reviews from this member

 WE returned to Osea after visiting and refusing to stay at the nearby Tollesbury Marina Camp which was offering very poor camping facilities: we were glad we came back to Osea, which was well cared for with excellent new shower, toilet and wash up facilities and a friendly welcoming camp steward (Andy)able to deal with all booking and payment arrangements when office was closed.

A short walk took one to the banks of the River Blackwater at Colliers Reach with a breakwater running for miles in either direction.

Good site, nice people. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ljamfam 33 reviews from this member

 Osea is a small site which is part of a larger static site called Osea Leisure. Over the last two years it has been developed to include camping pods, bell tents, shepherd huts and safari tents leaving the tourers as a second thought.

Although the season has only just started they have not ensured the chemical disposal point was clear of brambles, my husband had to clear it before he could empty our toilet. There was no running water available to rinse the cassette out.

Our son was told by the warden to just empty his grey water down the drain for the drinking water. This then ran straight into the ditch behind.

Although we were expected to keep our dog on a lead (no problem with that) the warden did not think this rule allowed to him and his dog was running about outside.

Toilets were clean and tidy but needed some form of outside lights for those trying to find them in the dark.

Pub has very restricted hours and very little choice on the menu for those wanting to eat in the evening

Overall at £30 a night in March for very little in the way of facilities I donít think we will be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vodkachaser 3 reviews from this member

 We won't be staying at this site again.

Its a nice looking site, layout seems fine and the 'meadow' is quite nice the way they have mowed around it to create the camping field. What let it down for us was the layout of the EHU pitches. The cars are parked opposite the pitch which means you are pitched close to the person next to you which creates extra noise at night as people are pitched right next to you.

Whilst we were there 2 group bookings where next to us, 1 group for the first half of the week and another for the second. Both noisy, both with dogs running round off the lead and no wardens walking round and checking. We where not notified about the group bookings which would have been nice as we would have requested pitches elsewhere.

As the for the toilet block, its as if they have tried but totally failed. They just don't get cleaned regularly enough for such a busy site. They get cleaned twice a day and its not done properly, so it always feels dirty. For example the urinals in the gents stunk the whole week and clearly just had cleaning liquid poured over instead of being scrubbed, there where splashes all over the mirrors all week so they clearly where not being cleaned properly and there clumps of hair and fluff around the sink suggestion use of dirty cleaning cloths, so you certainly wouldn't want to fill a sink with water and have a shave. The sink proximity to the urinals also isn't pleasant and the seats on both toilets in the gents where loose and sliding around and even though I complained didn't get fixed.

As for the showers they are push button operation and the water stays on for 10 seconds in all the shows, 2 in the gents and 3 in the ladys. Also the spray pattern is a large circle so for young children they can literally stand in the middle and not get wet which means the whole shower cubical and your clothes get soaked. The floor squeegee mop was also broken so you couldn't wipe the water away and that was broken when we arrive and wasn't fixed during the week.

I really think the owners need to spend a couple of days camping here and using the facilities themselves, it could be so much better but is let down by poor cleaning, poor maintenance of the facilities and a lack of checks on cleaners. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Speedyedey 1 review from this member

 My wife and I stayed here and it was absolutely delighted.

All utilities were clean and tidy and the site is spotless. We can't wait to come again. Fishing just across the road. Sea front and beach literally just 2 minute walk. A site shop is the only thing this site lacks but the town is a mile down the road.

All the staff are friendly. Family week away. Priceless. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Apairofoldcampers 6 reviews from this member

 Lots of road traffic noise from our pitch EHU17 which was in the 1st field on the left as you go in. Also the road to osea island runs through the camp so lots of coming and going.

Only three female showers for the whole large site!

We arrived early but the site soon filled up. With the lack of wardens, The Gazebo's and car parking seating laid out, soon filled up the middle of the field leaving little or no space for children to play.

The beach is nice and it has a good sea wall path.

We would not return to this site again 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nosaj 2 reviews from this member

 Overall very enjoyable first stay at Osea. We had three days of wonderful weather so this probably aided our enjoyment.

Site is situated very close to Heybridge and Maldon so plenty of pubs, shops supermarkets a short drive away. You could walk it but bear in mind they are approx 2km away as the crow flies. The site is on the river blackwater with view across to Osea Island, Heybridge and Maldon. It is very picturesque but please do not expect white sandy beaches. The site is level, well tended and clean. There is a washing up unit with 2 sinks. The gents consisted of 2 showers, 3 sinks, 2 toilet cubicles and 3 urinals. All facilities were kept very clean throughout our stay. Never had a problem with availability at all and I would guess that it would have to be extreme demand to cause a queue as there were quite a few units pitched whilst we were there.

I am going to have to be extremely picky to point out anything bad but on arrival we were told to go through the gates and pitch anywhere on the right where there is short grass. We initially tried to pitch in the field that contained the playground this is a very large field and had short grass. We were told that we couldn't pitch there after we had almost pitched our tent. We were not advised of this on arrival and perhaps a sign could be added to the one that is already there advising of the same. As this was our first visit to the site we had no way of knowing.

We paid £20 per night for a non EHU pitch as we are fairly new to all this not sure if this is a positive or negative.

Cannot comment on the clubhouse, shop or cafe as we did not use them not for any particular reason we just didn't get round to it.

Overall would recommend and definitely revisit. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stan on tour 48 reviews from this member

 This site is very much geared towards its static customers and owners. We stayed here for two nights whilst touring and this was a stop over between East Anglia and Kent. Most other tourers and campers were local and making the most a sunny weekend.

There is plenty of space so great for kids and dog walking both the cafe and bar on site were great with an outdoor decking area to watch the sun go down.

We had a lovely walk and lunch at Heybridge basin along the sea wall. It is possible to walk to shops in Heybridge, turn right at the bridle path in Heybridge but it is over an hours walk.

The facilities for tourers were inadequate to cope with the numbers. We could only find one water tap a long walk from where we pitched and the toilets and shower soon became dirty running out of toilet role etc. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SierraKilo 5 reviews from this member

 Very good site. Level with short grass, clean modern toilet facilities. Quite well protected from the wind, remember Essex is pretty flat ! Good value and convenient for Maldon and nearby villages. Walk to Heybridge basin (start of the Chelmer Navigation Canal ) Chequers Pub at Goldhanger is a real gem ! 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Osea Lesire Park ( Formerly Meadows Camping And Touring ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Osea Lesire Park ( Formerly Meadows Camping And Touring )?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Osea Lesire Park ( Formerly Meadows Camping And Touring ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maldon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3221 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder