Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Borve Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Barra > Borve Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Borve Caravan And Camping Site
Borve
Isle Of Barra
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS9 5XR
Tel: 01871 810878
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 18
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 79 Reviews
                10/10 from 79 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Anna DC 2 reviews from this member

 Very clean, tidy hospitable site with an amazing outlook over the sea.

Facilities are excellent; very clean -

Thanks Allan for your help on site ( & Donald re the booking). 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Cherylclarke 1 review from this member

 Great small campsite with great facilities.

Donald was helpful on the phone when booking and Alan very welcoming, and even let us use his milk to prevent us having to buy some for 1 night.

Close to ferry port with nice view.

Sandy beach only 10 minute walk away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Susanfeb 3 reviews from this member

 Site had just reopened after "Lockdown"- It's a lovely well kept small site.

Facilities immaculate, with modern showers. The kitchen showers and toilets were regularly cleaned. (Brilliant job Allan)!

Very windy on left, more sheltered on right.

Great first or last stops before ferry at castlebay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jane3821 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fabulous x

Highly recommend x x

Stormy and windy on the front but marvellous situation to explore the island x

Perfect for bike riding too x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Whitec15369mrm 1 review from this member

 Perfect location right by the sea with beautiful sea views.

Lovely gentleman and very close to the ferry terminal about five minutes a away.

The site is spotlessly clean. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Allans9494crt 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite, very peaceful with views of the ocean,

Facilities were small but adequate for the size of site and spotlessly clean

Definitely be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carllindley 4 reviews from this member

 Arriving off the ferry the owner met us to show us to our place which was lucky as it was busy.

Only planned to stay two nights but stayed four instead.

Good clean facilities regularly cleaned with lots of little extras ie tea, coffee, cooking bits. Cost for a two man tent was 18 per night.

Right on the coast the only issue is the road but this is never too busy to cause a problem. Local shops 3 miles away. Brilliant beaches 10 minute walk if its not raining. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hek132 6 reviews from this member

 We where given a friendly welcome when we arrived and directed to a nice flat area to pitch our tent

Reasonably priced at 18 per night but this covers using all the facilities on site

Nearby cabin & information area with clean showers, toilets and small kitchen & sink etc with microwave, washing machine, tumble dryer & wi if area. Lovely views all around, nice clean well kept site

We hired bikes and they where delivered and picked up at our tent

Would recommend this site 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: NEJane 25 reviews from this member

 From arriving at this site, all of our expectations were exceeded regarding the fabulous setting. Donald had given us a perfect pitch and, on seeing, both of our Christian names on the yellow marker board, added that personal touch and made us feel special, from the onset.

This really is 'A drop dead gorgeous' spot to camp. We didn't have the best of weather but even the tumultous grey sea added its own raging beauty, in comparison to the, more, tranquil blue sea, on the day when we did get sunshine.

Being walkers we found a good route to walk, direct from the site and, when using our pushbikes, we had a short 2 mile journey, down to castlebay to see our ferry terminal, for our pending departure to Oban and to visit the 'castle on the isle. '

Donald, who owns the site, really is the perfect host. I very much doubt there will be very little that man wouldn't do for guests, if the need was there. We were rewarded by lovely facilities (albeit small), free wifi (bag your space, below the router!) and, virtually, everything being provided for his guests, from crockery to washing up liquid.

I only wish certain guests would respect the mans hard work more and leave places, clean and tidy. Often I went into the ladies and water was everywhere, around the two handbasins. The kitchen wasn't always left clean and tidy either, bearing in mind, we ALL had to use the same small area. Respect costs nothing.

I would highly recommend this site to anyone who loves being next to the sea and enjoys wild, beautiful areas.

I will certainly be back, with or without my grown up son. But I suspect he'll be with me too as he loved it as much as I did. Well done Donald, you're a star! 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gonnate 14 reviews from this member

 Inspirationally beautiful setting, extremely friendly welcome from Donald, the owner (and local postie, we're told), who wrote names on yellow boards for reserved pitches, which was nice.

Tiny but lovely facilities block, nice showers, immaculately clean. Useful provision of washing and drying machines in kitchen, well stocked with implements.

Our only regret is that we didn't have much longer there.

And Barra may be small, but it has a great deal going for it. The legendary Cafe Kisimul fully justified its reputation. We weren't expecting a brilliant Punjabi restaurant in the Western Isles!

The advice earlier in these reviews about approaching from the south when towing is useful. The site is signed, but still not obvious as the little slip road disappears off down between road and coast, too.

We did easily make the switchback turn to the north when leaving, but with a long caravan it could be challenging. 
via mobile


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Borve Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Borve Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Borve Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Barra      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4760 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement