Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Borve Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Barra > Borve Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Borve Caravan And Camping Site
Borve
Isle Of Barra
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS9 5XR
Tel: 01871 810878
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 18
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 72 Reviews
                10/10 from 72 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hek132 6 reviews from this member

We where given a friendly welcome when we arrived and directed to a nice flat area to pitch our tent

Reasonably priced at £18 per night but this covers using all the facilities on site

Nearby cabin & information area with clean showers, toilets and small kitchen & sink etc with microwave, washing machine, tumble dryer & wi if area. Lovely views all around, nice clean well kept site

We hired bikes and they where delivered and picked up at our tent

Would recommend this site

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: NEJane 25 reviews from this member

From arriving at this site, all of our expectations were exceeded regarding the fabulous setting. Donald had given us a perfect pitch and, on seeing, both of our Christian names on the yellow marker board, added that personal touch and made us feel special, from the onset.

This really is 'A drop dead gorgeous' spot to camp. We didn't have the best of weather but even the tumultous grey sea added its own raging beauty, in comparison to the, more, tranquil blue sea, on the day when we did get sunshine.

Being walkers we found a good route to walk, direct from the site and, when using our pushbikes, we had a short 2 mile journey, down to castlebay to see our ferry terminal, for our pending departure to Oban and to visit the 'castle on the isle. '

Donald, who owns the site, really is the perfect host. I very much doubt there will be very little that man wouldn't do for guests, if the need was there. We were rewarded by lovely facilities (albeit small), free wifi (bag your space, below the router!) and, virtually, everything being provided for his guests, from crockery to washing up liquid. I only wish certain guests would respect the mans hard work more and leave places, clean and tidy. Often I went into the ladies and water was everywhere, around the two handbasins. The kitchen wasn't always left clean and tidy either, bearing in mind, we ALL had to use the same small area. Respect costs nothing. I would highly recommend this site to anyone who loves being next to the sea and enjoys wild, beautiful areas.

I will certainly be back, with or without my grown up son. But I suspect he'll be with me too as he loved it as much as I did. Well done Donald, you're a star!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gonnate 14 reviews from this member

Inspirationally beautiful setting, extremely friendly welcome from Donald, the owner (and local postie, we're told), who wrote names on yellow boards for reserved pitches, which was nice. Tiny but lovely facilities block, nice showers, immaculately clean. Useful provision of washing and drying machines in kitchen, well stocked with implements.

Our only regret is that we didn't have much longer there.

And Barra may be small, but it has a great deal going for it. The legendary Cafe Kisimul fully justified its reputation. We weren't expecting a brilliant Punjabi restaurant in the Western Isles!

The advice earlier in these reviews about approaching from the south when towing is useful. The site is signed, but still not obvious as the little slip road disappears off down between road and coast, too. We did easily make the switchback turn to the north when leaving, but with a long caravan it could be challenging.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cavarno 1 review from this member

We were recommended Donald's campsite by friends who were here 5 years ago and we were not disappointed. We arrived off the ferry at the same time as others and although the site was full and we were not booked, we were offered a spot on verge which was more than adequate and even had a hook up.

The facilities are somewhat quirky but very satisfactory. We were offered a proper pitch the second night which we decided to accept.

This site is only 2. 5 miles from castlebay and next to some fantastic beaches.
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nao1 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night, arriving without a booking. The site is right on the coast with amazing views out to sea. We chose it for easy access to the ferry (as ours had moved to 4am!)

Facilities are clean with showers, toilets and a little kitchen with washing machine, sink and microwave. They fit arrived later, he was very friendly. There us free WiFi in the main building, we could just about pick this up from the van. The site was £15 per night which was pretty good.

The site is quite exposed so we were woken by the wind in the night, however it was October! I wouldn't want to be there in a storm. However the exposed sea views meant we were able to sit in the van and watch 3 seals playing in the water - pretty amazing!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dlgb 10 reviews from this member

Location - close for ferry 2 miles from Castlebay and good place to explore all Barra and Vatersay - nestled between road and rocky seashore. Could be exposed in strong westerlies

Good views.

Facilities good and clean. Showers electric good power, display of temperature and no extra charge. Well organised - prebooked and pitch well marked on arrival, even good solid wooden ramps available for slightly sloping site allocated to us.

Proprietor very helpful and all site well organised. Grey water disposal unique!

Priced at £20 per night good value include EHU

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jat059 2 reviews from this member

This is a great campsite with great views and lovely beaches nearby. Very tidy and run by the local postie who is a super friendly guy. Would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet and peaceful site.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: London Viv 17 reviews from this member

Absolutely fabulous! This is a cracking site, run by a friendly and helpful chap who is also the local postie. Almost all the pitches all have brilliant views over the sea, and are pretty level.

The washrooms are pristine and the showers roomy with plenty of hooks for your things and folding chairs to use if you need them. There is a free hairdryer in the ladies. There is utility room with washer, sink and drainer, microwave and, I think, kettle and fridge, and a tumble dryer beside the ladies washrooms.

There is free WiFi if you are sited by the washrooms, but there are two stools in the vestibule of the washrooms where anyone can sit to use the WiFi if it doesnít reach your unit.

I really canít speak too highly of this place!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tinwheeler 6 reviews from this member

Borve was the last of our Hebridean sites and another that we booked by phone a few days ahead.

We arrived from the north of the island where we'd stopped on disembarking from the ferry to view the airport with its runway on the beach. Beware, if you approach the site from the north, as a sharp hairpin turn is needed to enter the site. Itís far better to approach from the Castlebay direction even if it means passing the site, turning and doubling back.

The site is long and narrow and some pitches require levelling ramps which the owner has thoughtfully made and provided. EHU is available. The facility block is another one which is superb with an excellent disabled room. Wi-fi is available in the vicinity of the block. A strange system exists for motorhomes to discharge grey water which involves using a hose feeding into something that looks like a toilet pan. Itís purpose made for the job but just a little odd. The chemical disposal point is separate from this - they are not for sharing.

Barra is an island of contrasts with huge beaches to the north and a more rugged landscape in the south. Fantastic sunsets can be seen from the site. The town of Castlebay is about 15 mins drive away.

Another site that Iíd love to return to.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hynes1 13 reviews from this member

Great little site with dramatic views.

Owner Donald was so helpful. We turned up in a small tent without a booking and he made sure we got on. Lovely clean amenity block. Mini kitchen was a lifesaver.

Great location for cycle stop and close for a ride out to varsaray which isnít to be missed.

Highly recommend.

Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4412 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019