Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - North Rhinns Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer > North Rhinns Camping Reviews

North Rhinns Camping
Glengyre Cottage
Near Leswalt
Stranraer
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG9 0RG
Tel: 01776 853630  or  07809 649244
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 11
Open: 30th March To 5th October 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 24 Reviews
                10/10 from 24 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chelle25 4 reviews from this member

We loved this campsite. Although it is more suited if you want to just get away and chill. Would really recommend for a family unless you were going to be out and about all day.

Set in a quiet rural location with plenty of room between pitches. There is a small walk on the land itself to stretch your legs after dinner if you wish. We loved the fact that they had fire pits for you to use and also sold firewood if you needed it.

Toilets/showers were immaculate and shower rooms were very spacious. Hosts were welcoming and thoughful. The utility block along with showers had washing up facilities and info. Loved there little library where you could borrow a book for during your stay, plenty of good information about the area, including phone numbers for local activities and businesses.

You do need a car to get to and from site and the local town has what you need but is small. Would need to travel for most activities.

Price was reasonable and nothing was a bother for hosts.

Would defo go back for a relaxing few days break.

They have a pitch on entering especially for disabled access and shower rooms accomodate for this too which I think is great.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gardenerguy 1 review from this member

Having been visiting here when I can since 2014 this is without doubt my favourite campsite. A quiet place to come to relax and recharge one's batteries, something that it never fails to deliver. That this is the case is down to the owners Rob and Kath who have developed the place from nothing into their evident pride and joy. Each visit has seen new, carefully thought out improvements, be they new pitches, trees or additional shelterbelt planting. The constant has been the high standard to which the site is maintained and the owners resolve not to maximise income by cramming as many units in as possible.

Facilities are always extremely clean - that grass cuttings may wander into the toilet/ shower/ washing up building on occasion is not a gripe: remember to wipe your boots on the mats outside, that's what they're there for. The site is never muddy and, should it rain, there's a shelter to cook in. Fire pits at every secluded pitch are a nice touch, as is the wheelbarrow to help transport your gear. The camping pod is tempting and just the job should the weather turn bad, but in my experience the climate - the west end of Galloway is similar to that of Cornwall due to the Gulf Stream - has meant that I've been able resist the pod's lure even when visiting in mid October.

Despite the feeling of being away from it all, Stranraer with a good Morrison's, Tesco, Argos etc is but a short drive away, and even nearer is the well stocked store in Leswalt - do give it some of your custom.

What is all around is beautiful scenery and wildlife. A highlight of the most recent visit was being able to sit in my girlfriend's car and watch a goldcrest searching for food in the channel twixt windscreen and bonnet one foot away. You may also see ravens, buzzards and, if you're lucky, barn owl and badger. As for the coastal walks, they are to die for. There is an information pack in the toilet block to help you, but every walk and beach seems to be equally great.

It is so difficult to single out and recommend places and things to do, but, if push comes to shove, you should really try to visit Logan Gardens, the Mull of Galloway, Portpatrick with its harbour side fish and chip van, and, a bit further afield, Isle of Whithorn and its Steampacket Inn. The ferry to Belfast from Cairnryan is ridiculously cheap for foot passengers. And you can whale watch from the top deck.

What is certain is that you will never tick all this glorious area's boxes in one trip - I've realised I'm still scratching the surface after five - and that this is the perfect site to use as a base. If you want quiet, 'proper' camping with owners that really care about its upkeep and the welfare of those that visit then look no further. A true gem.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peacey 1 review from this member

We happened across this delight of a place after doing a search on here for a campsite around The Mull of Galloway after spending a week on the Isle of Mull mountain biking. We wanted to continue our cycling holiday around the area for a few days and found the owner a very pleasant lady full of all local information for us to make our visit to the area even better.

The campsite is beautiful and the facilities are spotlessly clean. It has a real wild camping type feel to it with pitches tucked away in the trees giving you a little privacy. A real gem of a place.

Andy & John

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bizzielizzieuk 11 reviews from this member

We are just on our way home after 7-wonderful nights at North Rhinns. I can only echo the previous reviews. Excellent pitches, reliable EHU, free hot shower (walk in wet room), 2-loos with washbasins. Lashings of hot water in loos and pot - wash. All facilities in a clean and modern building. Friendly hosts who will offer advice on where to go and what to do. Fire pits on most pitches and the owners provide big bags of logs with kindling and firefighters at £5 per bag. Very little road noise and we were on pitch number 2 next to the gate. Lulled to sleep at night by the birds, wood pigeons, sheep and lambs, cows and calves, and the resident barn-owl. 5-minute drive to the shop in Leswalt that is like an aladdins cave and manned by two lovely ladies. Can recommend the packs of Gypsy Cream biscuits that are made locally. 10-minute drive to Stranraer, a lovely little town with an eclectic mix of shops.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Michael2011 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at this lovely site for 5 nights with my girlfriend and 2 dogs.

Owners were very friendly and gave good advice on local areas to visit, eating places, walks etc

Campsite is very well kept, plots are secluded and very peaceful, toilets and showers were spotless

Come home feeling relaxed with 2 very tired dogs!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bizzielizzieuk 11 reviews from this member

We are just on our way home after 7-wonderful nights at North Rhinns. I can only echo the previous reviews. Excellent pitches, reliable EHU, free hot shower (walk in wet room), 2-loos with washbasins. Lashings of hot water in loos and pot - wash. All facilities in a clean and modern building. Friendly hosts who will offer advice on where to go and what to do. Fire pits on most pitches and the owners provide big bags of logs with kindling and firefighters at £5 per bag. Very little road noise and we were on pitch number 2 next to the gate. Lulled to sleep at night by the birds, wood pigeons, sheep and lambs, cows and calves, and the resident barn-owl. 5-minute drive to the shop in Leswalt that is like an aladdins cave and manned by two lovely ladies. Can recommend the packs of Gypsy Cream biscuits that are made locally. 10-minute drive to Stranraer, a lovely little town with an eclectic mix of shops.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fishstirburn 1 review from this member

One of my favourite campsites in one of my favourite areas. The site is small (10 pitches total) which for me is a bonus. Well sheltered from the wind, nicely planted with trees and shrubs. The pitches are generously sized, well spaced and private. This doesn't stop you from meeting link minded folk though.

Your hosts, Kath and Richard have gone to great lengths to ensure every need is catered for. The wash room and toilets are kept spotlessly clean. Even though there is only one shower I never needed to queue. Hot and powerful enough. The wash area is indoors and usually has a good supply of cloths, sponges and washing up liquid. There is a covered cooking area for bad weather.

Most pitches have a dedicated fire pit and logs / fire lighting kits are available at £6 for a large bag. Our bag kept us going for 2 nights.

Kath and Richard are both lovely people, they make the site a joy to stay at.

We have stayed twice with the first time being colder and windier and the second bright and sunny, both times we found the site comfortable, the perfect base for exploring the Rhinns.

If you're a walker or have a sense of adventure you'll find plenty to do outside in the local area. Lots of hidden beaches and coves, the lighthouse at The Mull of Galloway is a good visit, great to climb. Stranraer is close by for shops etc and Portpatrick is worth a visit for the walks and pubs / eateries.

My kids 12, 8 and 6 enjoyed both visits and were lucky to find friends on both occasions.

We'll definitely return.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chelle25 4 reviews from this member

Just back from a 3 night stay at this site. If you are looking for quiet, relaxing place this fits the bill. Site owners could not have been more helpful, facilities were immaculately clean and tidy with plenty of information on the local area. Pitches are well spaced with option of a campfire at designated points on pitches.

Would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bordercaz 28 reviews from this member

This is truly a little gem of a site and I will certainly return if in the area again. The site owners are campers themselves and this clearly shows in all the little details such as the towels, soap, etc provided in the washrooms, the water bowl and tie up lead for your dog outside the building and many other things that not all campsites think to provide. It was all very clean and everything worked as it should. There are two large rooms with toilets and washbasins and one large wetroom with free hot shower, all wheelchair accessible. Washing up sinks with teatowels and liquid. Fridge/freezer for campers use. Book exchange and folders with details of local attractions, restaurants, walks, places to visit. Price was a very reasonable £9 per person and £2 for EHU, per night, and they didn't charge for the dog - who enjoyed his walks around the edge of the site on the designated dogwalk. The owners were very welcoming and helpful with advice on good walks etc. The site is well situated for exploring all the peninsular. There are three pitches with hardstandings for campervans and all pitches are sheltered. N. B. Caravans are not accepted and there isn't room for large motorhomes either.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NDJB 4 reviews from this member

Arrived to the site and received a very warm welcome and made us feel at home. Facilities very clean and spacious. Perhaps could do with an extra shower as I would imagine when it is busy there would be a queue. The site itself is a little gem for peace and quiet and the pitches are well apart. Stranraer not too far away to get all you’re shopping and there is convenience store is Leswalt. Plenty of places to visit in the area but the Mull of Galloway and the Galloway Forest are a must. Would back to the site if we were to visit the area again and thanks to Rob and Kathy for their hospitality and their help especially when the weather got bad.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Stranraer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5366 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019