Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Creake Meadows Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Creake Meadows Certificated Site
The Bungalow
The Common
Fakenham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR21 9JA
Tel: 01328 823656
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5
Open: April To December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nomadyane 6 reviews from this member

I needed a site near the Pilgrimage village of Walsingham for just one night, and Creake Meadows was ideal. Booking by phone was easy and a pleasure and on arrival I was made very welcome. What a lovely little site. Pitches well spaced out - and the facilities. Well they could not be faulted. Two proper shower rooms, each with excellent shower, basin and toilet. (Plenty for the size of site. )They were immaculately clean and equipped with soap and towels at the basins. In the same block was a utility room - again well equipped, including washing machine, toaster and microwave - and again very clean and tidy. There was a good small shop and information point - again up=to-date and tidy.

Several friendly rescued battery hens were freely ranging on the site and there was a small flcok of sheep in the next field.

Points against? The road was surprising busy for a minor B road during the day, but was quiet at night. The steps to the washroom and utility room were steep - not suitable for anyone with limited mobility.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peckedhen1 3 reviews from this member

This site is CS camping at its best. It was immaculately clean with everything we could possibly need thoughtfully provided. OS Maps, local walks books, home made cakes, food in fridge and freezer all run on an honesty system. A room to wash up which included cutlery, crockery, a microwave, toaster and lots more. The grass was like someones lawn, grass cuttings collected, pegs went in easily and despite some heavy rain seemed to drain well. Road and aircraft noise is the only downside, far outweighed by all the positives this site has. Close to beaches and lots of lovely walks. We shall return.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Katebull 4 reviews from this member

Wow. What a gem of a camp site.

Does exactly what it says on the website in bucketfuls and more

Flat level spacious pitches with own water and tv point

And each pitch has a picnic table with parasol. Lovely

Well stocked info room with freezers full of homemade food. Fresh eggs etc and honesty box

Lovely spacious washrooms with toilet hand basin and large proper shower cubicle with loads of hot water. Honesty box for shower

Nice washing up room with washing machine

Lovely dog walks for miles at the back of the site along footpaths

Only drawback is the site is on a surprisingly busy B road but you do get used to the road noise

Which is more noticeable during the week

Handy location for north norfolk attractions

Will be returning

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Setter50 21 reviews from this member

Can't really add more to what's already been said. This is everything a CS/CL should be and more! We had the place to ourselves for the first two nights, just the chickens and Whinny the horse for company! Nice open, level pitching area, water, EHU and TV point to the pitch. 2 fully equipped shower rooms, paid for by honesty box, also a washing up area and washing machine & tumble drier for those who need them. Very comprehensive information room with a good 'shop', all the basics plus some home made goodies and again all paid for by honesty box. A Roman road runs directly up behind the site, ideal for the dogs' first and last walk of the day.

Only (very slight) downside is the location next to a surprisingly busy B road, but not enough noise to worry about and will almost certainly be screened when the trees that have been recently planted mature.

Lots of places to visit in the area - 5 days really wasn't enough - still that makes for an excellent excuse to return, only when the weather's a bit warmer hopefully!

Could go on, but it'd all be very very good!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rutland Belle 12 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site. The pitches are flat and very generous. We were able to park our 26' van side on and still had plenty of room for the car and picnic table. There are tables and parasols for each pitch and they can be moved to wherever you want them. Dan and Tracey are a lovely couple and very willing to help if needed. The goodies in the fridge and freezer were much appreciated, especially the ice cream as we were there in a heatwave. The bathrooms and laundry are kept clean and tidy and there are little personal touches which make them feel very homely rather than stark and commercial. The water supply is shared between two pitches, so take a double connector if you have one.

There is a quiet lane at the back of the site for walking the dog and we used one of the day kennels for our dog when we spent the day in Norwich.

We were lucky enough to see a male Hen Harrier over the fields at the back of the site and Oyster Catchers in the paddock behind the caravan.

The road is busy, but not bad enough to spoil a lovely week's holiday. The RAF are near neighbours, but only flew in the area on one day. Otherwise, except for the occasional fly past, all was quiet.

Fakenham has a very good market on Thursdays and there is a Farmers Market at Creake Abbey. Details of events are posted on a chalk board near the bathrooms.

I expect this site to become even more popular in the future. We will certainly be going back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sleeper17 4 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip, so we were a little apprehensive, absolutely no need. We arrived and were suitably impressed with the small friendly feel, after a short chat to the owners about rules for the site (BBQ's and Firepits etc) and the use of facilities, we were allocated pitch number 4, it was a huge area complete with electric hookup, drinking water and tv point.

The meadow was surprisingly flat with a few undulations but nothing to bother about. Grass was mown twice in the 5 days we stayed and clippings removed.

The information point had a leaflet on almost everything, places to visit, to restaurants and local takeaways. Homemade jams, marmalades and cards are available to purchase, a freezer stocked with homemade goodies (you must sample the apple pie) and bread which, is available for your use also, a fridge stocked with eggs, bacon and more goodies as well as a tumble drier if it rains!

The toilet block was a large wooden out building about two feet off the ground with two steps up to it. There were two 'bathrooms' each has a toilet, vanity unit sink, shower and heated towel rail. Bathmats, hand towels and handwash were provided, as well as a chair and hooks for clothing, only one small thing was overlooked, a shelf above the sink would be a handy addition for those who wear spectacles!

The utility room was the opposite side to the 'bathrooms' and had a microwave, toaster, kettle and washing machine. A sink for washing up, brush, mop and dustpan were also present, with a small amount of extras in the cupboards. A washing line complete with pegs came in very handy for drying and airing off blankets and towels.

There is a waste chemical and dirty water disposal point, recycling and general waste area, which is emptied numerous times daily.

The site owners are animal lovers and keep a variety of pets,

There are 2 kennels which are available for hire if you require. The chickens are free to roam as they please and on arrival you will be advised NOT to feed ANY of their animals, with genuine reasons for this request!

There are plenty of places to visit and on a blackboard, the owners write what's on nearby such as local markets etc.

For those interested in wildlife, there are numerous reserves dotted about the area such as Sculthorpe Hawk and Owl Trust, this is located less than 10 minutes away and is well worth a visit. There is a track around the back of the site that goes on for miles through farmland and is a good walk for those who take dogs.

Brewery's and distilleries for those of us partial to a tipple are also not too far away.

All in all this is a very quiet, very clean and very friendly site, and we will definitely be arranging a second visit.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MicknSho 2 reviews from this member

Excellent!

The site is on a strangely busy B road, which at night can distract you from a decent night's sleep - unless, like my wife, you have ear plugs!

But we are in a tent, it would be more soundproofed in a van.

However, that is the only downside.

Everything else, and I mean everything, is perfect.

Friendly owners.

Superb shower blocks.

Fresh water on pitch.

Internet connection available.

Information hut.

Washing facilities available.

Easy access to towns and sights.

And all for a fantastic price.

If you like small and friendly, you'll adore this site.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lesleyheather 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from 5 nights at this lovely site. Very attractive well kept site with new shower block. Water supply on pitch. Freeview tv aerial supplied. Lovely friendly owners who upkeep the site well.

Information hut with places to go and recommendations to eat, a fridge and freezer stocked with home made cakes, ice creams and freshly laid eggs.

Handy for visiting lots of places will have to go back again.

Amazing value at£12 night including electric.

Shower is extra with a honesty jar to put your money in, but it is a lovely big bathroom in a pine cabin with lots of little luxuries.

Only downside it is next to a road but that didn't bother us it was quiet at night only thing we heard was the owl.

Thank you for making us so welcome, see you next year.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mewatson 2 reviews from this member

Nice flat well drained site, easy dog walk straight from back of site, toilet shower block which looked very clean, we did not use as have all our own facilities in van. No shop but a fridge and freezer in info hut with bread, milk, plus other goodies, money in a honesty jar. We had a meal in the Ostrich Pub in village which was very convenient only 10 min bike ride, there are plenty of quite lanes to bike on we went to Holkham Hall, and Walsingham as only there for 3 nights, will need to go back as many other places to see. Only grumble a lot of road noise and noise from yard just behind where we parked did detract slightly.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Naughty40 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site, clean and the owners were very welcoming.

We had Pitch 1 next to the chickens and Jakey the very old horse - it was a pleasure to sit and enjoy the chickens!

Home made apple pie is to die for, and there's a whole selection of cakes and pies in the freezer for you to enjoy.

We walked the dog walking circuit (we had not dog) and its a very enjoyable stroll out.

Showers and toilets were being fitted the week after we left, and will be a great addition.

For £10 a night including electric, you really cannot go wrong. Its a great location for teh North Norfolk Coast.

We at twice at the Hungry horse pub near Morrisons, its amazing value for money with 2 for 1 on every night and every main meal. Huge portions too.

We will be back!

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2541 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019