Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Golden Cap Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Bridport > Golden Cap Holiday Park Reviews

Golden Cap Holiday Park
Seatown
Chideock
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6JX
Tel: 01308 422139
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 108
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sarah87343dzr 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean park near to beach.

Due to the coronavirus I felt the shop didnít offer much food. No frozen bbq food or fresh veg etc.

There is a lovely pub at the beach which you can walk to from the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracy4107647loh 1 review from this member

 Great site, very clean and friendly.

Good shower block and generous pitches.

Very close to unspoilt shingle beach and Anchor Pub on the front.

We will visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Robin91 22 reviews from this member

 Don't believe all what you read about this site. Yes the views are great, the walking is great ( if you're up to it ), clean site.

Buts that about it. It is a very cramped site when busy, everyone is close. Most of the caravan pitches are bad, , , sloping and more sloping.

If you get arrive on a Sunday, like we did, then you will get a bad pitch and your money at £25 a night mid season, is wasted. There is not enough room. NO LIKEY. Will not not be back. And yes the approach is a nightmare !

And the beach is gravel and the pub is very very expensive. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gibsoneerja 13 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite in a very picturesque location. As others have said, the main drawback is the access road which is both single track and steep in places - be prepared for some tight squeezes and tricky reversing!

The local area is fantastic. The site has direct access to the South West Coast Path in both directions and the beach is (literally) a stone's throw from the camp entrance. The Anchor Inn which overlooks the beach is well worth a visit.

The village of Chideock is about a 15 minute walk inland along a bridleway where you can pick up regular bus services to Lyme Regis, Bridport, Weymouth, Axminster etc. It also has a couple of very nice pubs and a general store - handy for bits and pieces if you don't want to drive to the nearest supermarket, which is Morrisons in Bridport.

Facilities are clean and well-kept, the site shop is well-stocked if a little pricey and the service is very friendly. They do takeaway pizzas and, in high season, a fish and chip van is there between 5 p. M. And 6 p. M. On Saturday.

Some of the grass pitches do seem to have a shingle / hardcore base layer which you will hit with most regular length tent pegs - I was glad we had chucked our box of rock pegs in the bag as they were very useful.

As others have commented, pitches are large but they are also tightly-packed in some areas so you may have to be either a) tolerant or b) sociable - ideally a bit of both.

Overall, highly recommended and would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Teriash 1 review from this member

 A 7 day holiday of two parts, we arrived on Saturday 7th July to a busy but lovely friendly site. Lovely location and plenty of walks all around including a nice walk to West Bay via Eype. Nice beach just past entrance to the site, complete with pub and lovely kiosk selling lovely ice creams including dog ice cream which Charlie loved. For the first 5 days we thought what a lovely site everything we needed including nice toilets etc and we had many a long stroll and found the pubs in Chideock, lovely after a stroll along the bridle path to them.

We did however think that although the pitches were overall large enough the non pitch space was not large enough. Sure enough on Thursday the families started to arrive and our pitch became a playground and as our dog although tethered on a short lead on his pitch he was distressed enough for us to become prisoners in our own tent for the remaining 2 nights of our stay. We were not the only ones! I have no problem with kids and know it's a family site but do not expect to have kids playing around my tent continuously, one comment from a family heard was ' well it's a family site what do you expect'. I expect consideration which is not too much to ask. I feel the layout of the pitches partly to blame also the lapse monitoring of their own rules by the campsite, for instance dogs always on leads well sign posted, but we were in the minority who followed it. If you strive to be a family site provide play areas to offer an alternative to others tents. Above all parents consider others!.

Would I visit again after 5 days a definite yes in the end a big no.

Ash 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WHeaps 7 reviews from this member

 We do not usually stay at holiday parks, but this proved to be a very pleasant place to stay. We did not book in advance, but turned up unannounced. The friendly reception staff were happy to let us drive round and look at facilities before deciding to stay. Location is brilliant for coastal walks, and the campsite shop well stocked. Together with the excellent pub on the beach it is easy to spend a weekend here and never need to drive.

The camping field was surprisingly quiet and did not feel like it was on a mobile home site. There were good level hardstandings, but we chose a grass pitch, most of which were on slight slopes. Our own chocks were sufficient, but the site provided plenty of additional blocks for those who needed them.

Facilities were more than adequate in size, modern, clean and well maintained, though hot water supplies were a little intermittent, especially for dish washing.

Our main gripe was the canned music in the facilities, which was unnecessary and at odds with an otherwise peaceful site.

Overall a good place to stay if you are happy to tackle the very narrow entrance lane (no problem in a small campervan or car, but I would imagine more challenging in a big vehicle, and this was evidenced by the much larger number of camper vans compared to motor homes than we normally see). We would stay again. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JandB 15 reviews from this member

 We visited this site on the last week before they closed in November. The location is in the tiny village of Seatown right next to the beach. It has to be said that the Ĺ mile road down to the village and site entrance, is only wide enough for one vehicle with a few passing places and some of these passing places are barely wide enough for 2 cars to pass each other. Caravans and motorhomes might have problems meeting vehicles coming the other way. We didn't meet anything, but at popular times the pub on the beach (The Anchor) and the beach car park can get busy and so therefore will the narrow lane. Having said that it is worth the effort, it's a lovely beach and right on the coastal path for walks in each direction with fantastic views. The pub has one of the best locations we've ever been to for sitting outside and admiring the ocean and jurrasic coast.

The campsite is pretty big with a mixture of static caravans, gravel, grass and hardstanding pitches, plus large areas for tents. It was quiet when we were there but the facilities were kept clean and tidy although the tiles and grouting could do with sprucing up in the showers. Be aware that most of the gravel and grass pitches are sloping and if being level is important to you then some leveling blocks or equipment will be necessary. There are concrete blocks provided however should you need them. The views from most of the site are stunning and there is a well stocked shop and helpful staff, one who is certainly worthy of mention and that's Ian. Ian is one of those guys who seems to do everything on site, a cheerful guy no matter what happens. He spent a good half an hour with a tractor and muscle power manipulating a very large motorhome off a muddy field. He is without doubt an asset to the site.

The aforementioned pub on the beach a few yards from the site entrance is worth walking to to enjoy a drink or a meal. If the weather is kind enough to be able to sit outside, you'll enjoy the view across the ocean and along the beautiful coast. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Jeff bakewell 1 review from this member

 My mate and I do a lot of sea fishing, so use the site solely as a base to sleep and sometimes eat. As mentioned in other reviews don't blink gong into the village or you miss the turn, and the lane is narrow with a few TIGHT passing places. The site itself was perfect for us as the beach is 5 mins max. The tent area is right at the back of the site, which means a long walk to the loo's, showers wash up facility's, so if you need the loo get going. All staff were friendly and helpful when asked, All the facility's were very clean and looked like someone took pride in their work. The shop though well stocked was not cheaply priced more a touch on the high side. As stated by others a lot of the pitches are on slight to moderate slopes, I think you need to book well in advance to get a real flat one, but most are well spaced with electric hookups, a big bonus for us using a slow cooker. They could do with getting the field next door as it looked a lot flatter and would be a lot better for trailer tents Etc even if it meant a longer walk. We enjoyed our 4 nights there and would not hesitate to return, Next time I'v bought a trailer tent. Best wishes JEFF Bakewell 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juliehaha 5 reviews from this member

 Just had a wonderful holiday, here, again, and will be going back next year too. No complaints at all. Toilets and showers are well looked after. All pitches seem to be on a slope, so you need to plan which way you sleep. Short walk to the beach for kayaking, which we did and swimming, also a rock pool to go crabbing. There is a pub down on the beach, but we always go to the George up on the top road and joined in with their quiz, we were made very welcome. The site people are always about doing one thing or another, so keeping an eye on the place. The stars, when they make an appearance are amazing. We went to visit WDLH other site too and crashed their quiz too, lol again, a lovely site, with more facilities if you have children. We just love the quieter site of Golden Cap. The view at the top of the hill is not to be missed, once your up there. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kwakmanuk 1 review from this member

 Nice clean site but please put on the details you have to get to it down a one track road, we met 12 cars and ended up scratching the side of our van trying to get passed. If you met another caravan or delivery truck you would be there for your stay stuck in the lane, nice shop, clean toilets, beach stoney. Nice site but won't be going back due to the access road. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Golden Cap Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Golden Cap Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Golden Cap Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


227 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement