Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Golden Cap Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Golden Cap Holiday Park
Seatown
Chideock
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6JX
Tel: 01308 422139
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 108
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 82 Reviews
                9/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gibsoneerja 13 reviews from this member

A lovely campsite in a very picturesque location. As others have said, the main drawback is the access road which is both single track and steep in places - be prepared for some tight squeezes and tricky reversing!

The local area is fantastic. The site has direct access to the South West Coast Path in both directions and the beach is (literally) a stone's throw from the camp entrance. The Anchor Inn which overlooks the beach is well worth a visit.

The village of Chideock is about a 15 minute walk inland along a bridleway where you can pick up regular bus services to Lyme Regis, Bridport, Weymouth, Axminster etc. It also has a couple of very nice pubs and a general store - handy for bits and pieces if you don't want to drive to the nearest supermarket, which is Morrisons in Bridport.

Facilities are clean and well-kept, the site shop is well-stocked if a little pricey and the service is very friendly. They do takeaway pizzas and, in high season, a fish and chip van is there between 5 p. M. And 6 p. M. On Saturday.

Some of the grass pitches do seem to have a shingle / hardcore base layer which you will hit with most regular length tent pegs - I was glad we had chucked our box of rock pegs in the bag as they were very useful.

As others have commented, pitches are large but they are also tightly-packed in some areas so you may have to be either a) tolerant or b) sociable - ideally a bit of both.

Overall, highly recommended and would definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Teriash 1 review from this member

A 7 day holiday of two parts, we arrived on Saturday 7th July to a busy but lovely friendly site. Lovely location and plenty of walks all around including a nice walk to West Bay via Eype. Nice beach just past entrance to the site, complete with pub and lovely kiosk selling lovely ice creams including dog ice cream which Charlie loved. For the first 5 days we thought what a lovely site everything we needed including nice toilets etc and we had many a long stroll and found the pubs in Chideock, lovely after a stroll along the bridle path to them.

We did however think that although the pitches were overall large enough the non pitch space was not large enough. Sure enough on Thursday the families started to arrive and our pitch became a playground and as our dog although tethered on a short lead on his pitch he was distressed enough for us to become prisoners in our own tent for the remaining 2 nights of our stay. We were not the only ones! I have no problem with kids and know it's a family site but do not expect to have kids playing around my tent continuously, one comment from a family heard was ' well it's a family site what do you expect'. I expect consideration which is not too much to ask. I feel the layout of the pitches partly to blame also the lapse monitoring of their own rules by the campsite, for instance dogs always on leads well sign posted, but we were in the minority who followed it. If you strive to be a family site provide play areas to offer an alternative to others tents. Above all parents consider others!.

Would I visit again after 5 days a definite yes in the end a big no.

Ash

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: WHeaps 7 reviews from this member

We do not usually stay at holiday parks, but this proved to be a very pleasant place to stay. We did not book in advance, but turned up unannounced. The friendly reception staff were happy to let us drive round and look at facilities before deciding to stay. Location is brilliant for coastal walks, and the campsite shop well stocked. Together with the excellent pub on the beach it is easy to spend a weekend here and never need to drive.

The camping field was surprisingly quiet and did not feel like it was on a mobile home site. There were good level hardstandings, but we chose a grass pitch, most of which were on slight slopes. Our own chocks were sufficient, but the site provided plenty of additional blocks for those who needed them.

Facilities were more than adequate in size, modern, clean and well maintained, though hot water supplies were a little intermittent, especially for dish washing.

Our main gripe was the canned music in the facilities, which was unnecessary and at odds with an otherwise peaceful site.

Overall a good place to stay if you are happy to tackle the very narrow entrance lane (no problem in a small campervan or car, but I would imagine more challenging in a big vehicle, and this was evidenced by the much larger number of camper vans compared to motor homes than we normally see). We would stay again.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JandB 15 reviews from this member

We visited this site on the last week before they closed in November. The location is in the tiny village of Seatown right next to the beach. It has to be said that the mile road down to the village and site entrance, is only wide enough for one vehicle with a few passing places and some of these passing places are barely wide enough for 2 cars to pass each other. Caravans and motorhomes might have problems meeting vehicles coming the other way. We didn't meet anything, but at popular times the pub on the beach (The Anchor) and the beach car park can get busy and so therefore will the narrow lane. Having said that it is worth the effort, it's a lovely beach and right on the coastal path for walks in each direction with fantastic views. The pub has one of the best locations we've ever been to for sitting outside and admiring the ocean and jurrasic coast.

The campsite is pretty big with a mixture of static caravans, gravel, grass and hardstanding pitches, plus large areas for tents. It was quiet when we were there but the facilities were kept clean and tidy although the tiles and grouting could do with sprucing up in the showers. Be aware that most of the gravel and grass pitches are sloping and if being level is important to you then some leveling blocks or equipment will be necessary. There are concrete blocks provided however should you need them. The views from most of the site are stunning and there is a well stocked shop and helpful staff, one who is certainly worthy of mention and that's Ian. Ian is one of those guys who seems to do everything on site, a cheerful guy no matter what happens. He spent a good half an hour with a tractor and muscle power manipulating a very large motorhome off a muddy field. He is without doubt an asset to the site.

The aforementioned pub on the beach a few yards from the site entrance is worth walking to to enjoy a drink or a meal. If the weather is kind enough to be able to sit outside, you'll enjoy the view across the ocean and along the beautiful coast.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jeff bakewell 1 review from this member

My mate and I do a lot of sea fishing, so use the site solely as a base to sleep and sometimes eat. As mentioned in other reviews don't blink gong into the village or you miss the turn, and the lane is narrow with a few TIGHT passing places. The site itself was perfect for us as the beach is 5 mins max. The tent area is right at the back of the site, which means a long walk to the loo's, showers wash up facility's, so if you need the loo get going. All staff were friendly and helpful when asked, All the facility's were very clean and looked like someone took pride in their work. The shop though well stocked was not cheaply priced more a touch on the high side. As stated by others a lot of the pitches are on slight to moderate slopes, I think you need to book well in advance to get a real flat one, but most are well spaced with electric hookups, a big bonus for us using a slow cooker. They could do with getting the field next door as it looked a lot flatter and would be a lot better for trailer tents Etc even if it meant a longer walk. We enjoyed our 4 nights there and would not hesitate to return, Next time I'v bought a trailer tent. Best wishes JEFF Bakewell

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juliehaha 4 reviews from this member

Just had a wonderful holiday, here, again, and will be going back next year too. No complaints at all. Toilets and showers are well looked after. All pitches seem to be on a slope, so you need to plan which way you sleep. Short walk to the beach for kayaking, which we did and swimming, also a rock pool to go crabbing. There is a pub down on the beach, but we always go to the George up on the top road and joined in with their quiz, we were made very welcome. The site people are always about doing one thing or another, so keeping an eye on the place. The stars, when they make an appearance are amazing. We went to visit WDLH other site too and crashed their quiz too, lol again, a lovely site, with more facilities if you have children. We just love the quieter site of Golden Cap. The view at the top of the hill is not to be missed, once your up there.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kwakmanuk 1 review from this member

Nice clean site but please put on the details you have to get to it down a one track road, we met 12 cars and ended up scratching the side of our van trying to get passed. If you met another caravan or delivery truck you would be there for your stay stuck in the lane, nice shop, clean toilets, beach stoney. Nice site but won't be going back due to the access road.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juliehaha 4 reviews from this member

LOVE IT and GOING BACK. Very friendly staff. Shop well stocked and good prices too. They make Pizzas to order, very nice and lots of toppings, well worth the money. We stayed 7 nights. That wasn't long enough. Pitches are a bit sloped, but big areas. The road to the site is quite narrow, So take care if your are towing, and the pitches for caravans are mostly all on a slope. But the staff will help you out in getting your caravan level, so do ask for help. We watched many a domestic over the pitching of caravans until the park staff came and helped. Lovely dog walking area set aside. Beach is just a short walk with a pub there too. The bridle way out of the park is a nice walk to the George Inn, that is dog friendly and the food very good. The walks over the hills are amazing. Morrisons supermarket not far away in Bridport. Toilets and shower were very clean and warm. Fish and chip van visits the site on a Saturday night. We had friends staying in a caravan and some stayed in the Pods at the same time. The caravans are really nice. There are park staff about all the time, even going around the site in the evening. *****

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stainless22 3 reviews from this member

The weather had been poor for a week or more up until the day of arrival some of the site was waterlogged, was given a number of pitches to choose from on a dryer part of the site. Reception staff friendly and helpful

Walking around the site all pitches are on some degree of slope that could make it uncomfortable - the bigger the tent the worse that would be. A lot of motor homes and caravans pitched and up on quite high chocks/blocks to level.

We did find a pitch that worked for us but not 100% ideal, that said we had plenty of room but did occupy two pitches, 3 if you count the car parked, I did book for a Jumbo pitch 8x6 but I acknowledge some of the pitches were not available due to the waterlogging.

Facilities were clean and of a high standard, the shop was adequate for the basics, short stroll to the beach and several other walks directly from the campsite.

Was relatively quiet when we visited despite the available spaces being occupied.

Lots of things to see and do in the immediate area.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kim1967 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weekend at this campsite in our trailer tent. The road down to the campsite is a bit narrow but there are lots of passing places.

The site was fabulous as are the views. The lady in the reception was very helpful and informative. The shop looked well stocked. We could choose our own pitch so we chose one that had a view of the sea. The site was very clean and well maintained. The toilets were clean and the showers were lovely and hot.

The walk to the beach is literally two minutes. There is access to the coastal path from the beach. We walked to West Bay which was 3. 5 miles but be warned that they are some very steep hills to climb. The pub on the beach, The Anchor, was very good. The food isn't cheap but the quality was very good. The pub was extremely busy and getting a table was a bit of a struggle but it was worth the wait.

We will definitely be returning.

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


709 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019