Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Mount Pleasant Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

Mount Pleasant Park
Matchams Lane
Hurn
Christchurch
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH23 6AW
Tel: 01202 475474
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Seasonal Only
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 4/10 from 22 Reviews
                4/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samstevenson 10 reviews from this member

Booked online as a last minute. Arrived and it was terrible. Statics set up as a community with cats, dogs and children roaming around. Was so disappointed that I asked for my money back and thankfully was able to move on before even pitching up. K

Good location but as another member has said it did not feel like a touring site but an encampment.

Management response: Webmaster note: As of May 2018 we have been advised that this caravan park is no longer offering touring or camping pitches. Seasonal pitches only for now. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Allsorts37 1 review from this member

This site has new owners, and is definitely on the up, still the closest to bournemouth and very friendly, the managers will really make a big diference, we had tried to book in the next campsite, that was unkempt, really enjoyed our stay what a come back well done guys

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mboffice 2 reviews from this member

Disappointed as we do not consider this site any longer to be a touring park as there were a number of effectively static vans with personal items within fenced areas and the awnings had obviously been up a very long time.

Although it can be said to be a personal opinion, we found the noise from the planes to be too loud and affected TV reception every time one flew over.

21 per night was expensive for what you got. Whilst convenient for Bournemouth and the staff were very nice and helpful, we would not return here.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Scrapster 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site after deciding on a last minute trip to the South Coast. It was pricey at 22 per night for two people.

The pitches are small and as a result awnings have to be booked in advance and gazebos are banned altogether as the fire brigade have told them that this makes the gaps too small between the pitches. The pitches are not well kept and slightly scruffy.

There is a basic toilet and shower block which is very clean. However you have to buy tokens for the shower and hairdryer. You also have to buy tokens for the foot shower outside. You need 50p coins for the bath and a fellow camper said it takes about 3.50 for a bath. The shower is supposed to last 7 minutes but my friends lasted 5 minutes. My shower was a drizzle that I couldn't wash my hair in.

The site is at the back of Bournemouth International airport and there are flights at night that sound so near you think they are going to land on the camper. The staff in the shop were friendly. It was easy to get to Bournemouth and Christchurch.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CathW23 1 review from this member

After advertising FREE hot water, what they actually mean is you buy 20p tokens for the showers. Their website also doesn't mention aircraft noise or night flights. As this site is located right at the end of the runway large aircraft coming in to land are just above tree level and very loud, even more so at 1.30am! Large aircraft land about half a dozen times during the day and night.

The site is cramped, so privacy is not an option. On the good side, the toilet block we had has been recently updated and was very nice. A large amount of the campers were residents.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lily555Pink 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at Mount Pleasant a couple of years ago, things may have improved!
The noise from the airport was infuriating, if you are a light sleeper, I wouldn't recommend it, this aside we were in the area for the Red Arrows display in Bournemouth and we had our very own private display! Impressive!
The pitch was OK, no flooding as it rained, sheltered, shop staff and warden friendly and helpful. Showers were pretty nasty, water drains into 1, nasties around your toes, not that clean. I would recommend the showers in the caravan field, i.e not the ones near the laundry room, they are nicer. We discovered on our second night after trying to light our BBQ in the rain, the chinese in Christchurch deliver free of charge, menus in the shop!
If you have pets, beware, we found broken glass on our pitch that punctured our airbed twice, the campsite owner was particularly unhelpful over this and did not compensate us for having to purchase another. I would think twice about coming here again.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thebig1 1 review from this member

A super site, very close to Christchurch & Bournemouth with all their attractions and the New Forest. As others have mentioned, the site is between the main dual carriage way and the airport. The noise however is minimal with no flights after 10pm usually and generally infrequent through the day.

The facilities are clean and ample and the staff very helpful and proud of their site. Security is second to none, with both the wardens and the owners living on site. Taxis can be booked to travel into town at special set rates as walking is not really an option for most.

An idea for a great day of adventure is to visit the local dry ski slope, which is just 1/2 a mile up the road or Bournemouth for families.

We love the place that much, that we have just taken up a seasonal pitch at Mount Pleasant.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: John Thompson 1 review from this member

First impressions were good, with a well planned reception, horribly efficient reception staff (Almost brusque, but always polite and evilly quick!)

The site, once we pitched up, was as good as it looked too, with well tended greenery, a good Dog walk, and peaceful atmosphere.

Bournemouth, as lovely as ever, is around 7 miles along fast roads, and the Airport, judging by the close proximity of the occasional Jet, is under a mile away.


Overall, a very likable place, well run and in a nice spot.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ScottnVix 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 4 day break at this campsite.

As virgin campers, we weren't sure what to expect but we were very impressed and will definitely be returning again soon.

On arrival, the staff were polite and quickly showed us to our pitch. We were at the bottom of the hill, and even though it rained for 2 days we never experienced any flooding.

Yes, the road noise is apparent and yes, the airplanes were noisy but both things become part of the furniture after a few hours. In fact, its pretty amazing seeing some of the private and charter jets coming in to land only a few hundred feet above your head!

Toilets and shower block were immaculate at all times - and the showers provide free hot water. There were even two power points in the ladies shower block so I was able to straighten my hair, which was my one big fear about going camping!

The shop, although small, was very well stocked and the staff were always friendly and helpful.

The security barriers provide reassurance and we felt more than comfortable leaving our tent on a day to go out.

The campsite in general was very clean and tidy - there seemed to be a lot of people who actually lived at the site on a permanent basis and the effort they put into their 'gardens' made the whole site seem very homely.

At 30 for three nights in a 4 berth tent, it was excellent value for money - we couldn't have asked for a better first time camping experience.

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gorjulin 4 reviews from this member

If, like me and my wife and many people, you enjoy the peace and quiet of camping, then this is not the site for you, or us again for that matter !
We chose this site for it's close proximity to Christchurch and for that reason we thought we could put up with a bit of road and aircraft noise.

The site staff are very friendly and helpful, the warden and barrier system helps you feel as safe as you can feel when camping. It would appear that the cafe service has gone , because we were not told about it when we arrived.

The shower block was nice and clean , however, the showers themselves left a lot to desire in their efficiency and drainage. The water temperature being difficult to regulate and the lack of water pressure meant having to have your nose pressed up to the wall to get under the stream! But the worst thing was that all 4 showers drain into the one drain-hole , so ,and I know this sounds gross! but it's true, if someone "further up the line " spits, snots and/or pees in their shower, YES ! IT HAPPENS !, then it ends up mingling in-between your little tootsies ! Not very desirable.

We also felt the actual look of the site was not very nice. There are a lot of very dirty, unkempt caravans everywhere, and everyone is pitched too close to each other, packed in like sardines. No wonder it is full of wind breakers between each pitch, just to afford a little privacy.

But what is not , I feel , made plain in other reviews is just how close to the airport this site is , nobody states that the planes land in what is actually the field across the road from the site entrance! and that the landing strip lights (the guidance ones that the planes and helicopters fly directly over) are 30 yards away from your tent.
So picture the scene , a Boeing 737 , yes , a 737, not just your one seater chipmunk, is virtually over your head 200 feet up, now imagine the sound , beleive me you can't it's 20 times what you can imagine !, now pretend it is 05:45 hours or 00:45 hours, and there you have it !
That's what the aircraft noise is like.

Add to that the incessant noise of the fast major dual carriage way,only over the wall, which in itself is quite loud, and each car and lorry can distinctly be heard at all times of the day and night.

Overall, the site is well situated for Bournemouth, Christchurch and the new forest all by car, has lovely staff, is cramped, has not much grass and is very, very noisy

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2494 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019