Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandyholme Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Dorchester > Sandyholme Holiday Park > Reviews

Sandyholme Holiday Park
Moreton Road
Owermoigne
Dorchester
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT2 8HZ
Tel: 01308 426947  or  01308 426947
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 105
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: CamperAT 2 reviews from this member

 The site was spacious, toilets clean and reception was friendly, lovely position.

However the booking system does NOT cater for touring as it asks for minimum of 3 nights! And it was very expensive for a small solo tent.

The tent and van touring pitches were almost empty in this otherwise very busy period. I was advised that I could stay 1 night if I turn up and take a chance on availability, so nearly didn't bother, yet it was empty! you need to change your approach! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Weshaw 1 review from this member

 Great little site, really impressed

Good clean toilet & shower block,

I would recommend

Friendly staff

Close to places visit,

Just eat deliver to which is helpful if you arrive late and canít be bothered to cook.

We would return here definitely 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chalwi 1 review from this member

 A well appointed campsite in a good location with lots of space and level pitches.

The wash block was immaculate and there was lots of hot water.

Friendly staff. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kjuliandy 5 reviews from this member

 Fantastic little site, mainly statics and seasonal but everyone so friendly. If you want piece and quiet this is definitely the place to come. Toilets and showers very clean and although there was a problem with the boiler while we were there it was quickly sorted out also the biggest bonus was the showers didn't have those stupid press buttons. There are some lovely walks on the site and I was told that there are often Deer in the meadow. Nice touch was the pizza and chicken van coming to the site on Saturday evening as after a long journey and then putting our unit up we really didn't feel like driving approx 10 miles into weymouth to get something to eat. The wardens was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Arpcrew 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 13 nights when visiting Dorset for the 1st time. Warm welcome from wardens on arrival given choice of pitch. Really nice site made up seasonal, static, touring caravans, motor homes and tents. Site was not very busy which was great as it was very peaceful. Nice children's play park and play field. Duck pond was really interesting. Walked round the tent field, saw deer and a squirrel. Toilets and wash up area was cleaned daily and kept to a good standard. Shower cubicles were a great size with space to keep your clothes dry. Laundry facilities were good. There is a shop on site and a games room which we didn't use. Great location for visiting the area which has so much to offer for all ages. We will definitely return to this great area and would stay at this site again. If you want a great site with no on site entertainment/bar then this is a good choice. Got an excellent deal as staying for more than 7 nights which did have us apprehensive but there was no need to worry it was a good deal as the site suited us. Wardens always very friendly. Only small niggle would be for the closer on the door into the toilet block to be fixed as late at night and early morning I could here it bang shows how peaceful site was. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Teamdevons 1 review from this member

 This was our second ever camping trip and upon arrival found that reception was closed even though the booking time was from 3pm and it was 3. 15. We had to ring an emergency number to find anyone we could speak to. At first glance it all looked great the serviced field looked worn and damp but appeared to be OK. So we pitched up. The toilets I will say are very good, clean and well maintained with plenty of hot water. It rained a lot when we were there and soon realised that the field does not drain well. Eventually left a day early when returning from a day out found the tent surrounded by a goon inch of water. The only other thing that we could say is the serviced pitch is surrounded by static homes and some people in these forget just how much can be heard in a tent at night. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Glossy 3 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite for all age groups staff where very helpful and welcoming.

We loved the area and will be back again in the future.

The facilities and toilets where well maintained.

Very easy access to attractions outside of the campsite and the staff where very helpful to guide us in the right directions and best places to go with the kids.

The children loved the play area and wildlife in the pound, they certainly are looking forward to coming again.

Unfortunately we didn't stay the whole 5 nights as planned but will look forward to visiting again. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 38 reviews from this member

 This site has ambience, there is lots of bird song, trees, a small river and a wildlife pond.

The members of staff I dealt with were very friendly and helpful. Although we had no need of them there is a games room, a decent size playground and a 5 aside pitch. The facilities were all there and worked well, although not new. Plenty of hot water, no extra payment for showers. We would go again. We enjoyed our stay.

The surroundings are rural and typical of the area. The coast is an easy drive.

Possible downsides. The main site is mostly permanent or seasonal pitches, the number of touring pitches, flat, with hook up, are relatively few. There is a large camping field which, if full, would surely stretch the facilities a bit. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobandnicky 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 3 nights during the school summer hols and overall, really liked it.

Our three children (aged 5, 8 and 9) enjoyed playing in the play area, which is located at the front of the site. There is a games room attached to the reception building, which has a pool table, several games machines and television, ideal for wet days! The showers and toilets were fairly clean (not sparkling, but not the dirtiest I've used!), well maintained and warm. They also have some cubicles with washbasins and mirrors. The showers themselves were not particularly powerful, but hot and sufficient for getting clean!

We had an electric pitch in the touring area which is between two areas of static caravans. The pitch we were on was spacious, plenty of room for our caravan, awning, car parked at the side. The touring area was around 2/3rds full but I can imagine the pitches feel a little less spacious if they are all being used.

If you don't need an electric hook-up there are two huge fields at the back of the site, with plenty of room for football, etc.

Sandyholme is in a very peaceful area, no road noise whatsoever, which was lovely. It's well placed for exploring Purbeck, Weymouth and Dorchester. There are no shops within walking distance, so be prepared to drive. The shop on site stocks essentials - bread, tea bags, wine, etc! The nearest takeaways are in Wool, around 5 miles away - chinese takeaway and a fish & chip shop - both tested and highly recommended :)

Unfortunately, the weather was not on our side, so we cut short our visit following over 24 hours of torrential rain. However, even after that much rain the site was not waterlogged and it drained away really well. The wardens were very friendly and helpful.

Would we go back? Yes. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Northernfish 3 reviews from this member

 We had booked a Hook Up pitch and was told that there was only 3 or so 'sockets' so would be required to hire a extension lead and trail it round other peoples tents/motorhomes/vans etc in order for it to reach our spot.

Also when we looked at the allocated pitch it was very small and on the corner which meant roads on two sides of the tent, not ideal with young children. Thankfully whilst waiting for the pitch to become free we noticed the meadow field and it was lovely, loads of space for the kids to run around and people were able to pitch as close or as far away from others as they wanted. This was ideal for what we wanted albeit with the electricity we had paid for.

The shower block was a walk away (especially in the pitch black) but were clean if not a bit under maintained. The shop was basic but well stocked. Kids loved the football pitch and playground as well as the pool table and table tennis. I really cant say what niggled me about it but I don't think I will be returning 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandyholme Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandyholme Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sandyholme Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dorchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2864 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement