Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Fletchers Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Great Ayton > Fletchers Farm Reviews

Fletchers Farm
Little Ayton
Great Ayton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
TS9 6HZ
Tel: 01642 723846
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Railca 1 review from this member

 Had a great time there

Will go again one day thank you

Friendly staff and great for the whole family to go and stay there

We have a great time there, met a lot of people and made some good friends 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Phill1 1 review from this member

 This was our first time on this site and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We had a very spacious pitch with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside.

The owner checked that we were all set up on our arrival but after that never bothered us.

The location is ideal for sightseeing the many places of interest in the area and very close to Great Ayton station for trips to Whitby and North York Moors.

We fully intend to revisit this site in the future 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Julesmorris 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed during the Yorkshire Monsoon.

Only hardstanding was the spine road, but we were the only visitors so we parked on it.

Site shares facilities (3 wcs, 2 good showers) with a very busy farm restaurant / farm shop.

£20 per night. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pablo Gerard 1 review from this member

 Likes. Great view of the Cleveland Hills and Captain Cooks monument. Easy access to Great Ayton, shops etc. And station. Good cafe on site offering filling breakfast. Working farm with lambs, piglets and geese nearby so good for kids to learn a bit about animal rearing. Big field for children to play in and safe as not near busy car traffic. Great location to set off on walks and rides.

Dislikes. Not enough attention to the campers needs. The priorities for this farmer seem to be his cafe and his animals. Once we had paid our money we never saw him again. There was litter on site that remained for the whole week which showed nobody had checked the field.

The toilet facilities are clean but insufficient to cope with heavy use by campers as the customers at the cafe also use the facilities and there's are lots of them during the day. The doors of showers and toilets are ill fitting and stick and jam so you could literally get stuck in the lavatory, especially the disabled loo.

The field is not kept up and the grass is too long with lots of mole hills. There is EHU but no hard standing and in wet weather with long grass the place will get pretty muddy. The lane running past the site is a main thoroughfare for walkers and local dog walkers, cyclists and riders, particularly as the cafe is a magnet for local people.

Fortunately there were not a lot of other campers when we were there even though it was half term. But there would be long queues for the facilities if the big field filled with tent campers. The washing up provision was pretty grotty, a single sink in among nettles, definitely not good enough. And the chemical loo Is an improvised rusty old drum with a rubber hose attached to a tap. At twenty quid a night with the above shortcomings the price was a bit steep. I would not camp here again. 


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trudy and Keith 4 reviews from this member

 We visited in February during very fine weather however the grass was extremely long and we sank as soon as we went on the field and were stuck. The next motorhome to arrive did the same, luckily they had a four wheel vehicle also which pulled us both out. This is not an all year round site, no hard standing.

We also had a group of campers next to us who lit an extremely large fire in the pit very near one of the motorhomes and was very worrying and much too large a fire and the smoke was awful.

The farmer did not bother with the site at all, other campers cleaned up when the fire lighters left leaving rubbish in the morning.

However the views are amazing and Great Ayton is lovely and their café is superb. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: John B. 11 reviews from this member

 A lovely site in a lovely location. Manicured grass, spotless loo & showers with a little stream gurgling away in front of the van, who could ask for more.

There is no dump point for motorhome waste water, no real problem, we usually improvise!

The approach lane from Great Ayton needs treating with care but is well worth the effort.

Great Ayton is a thriving little metropolis providing everything for the discerning camper. Pie shop to die for & Suggit's ice creams are a real treat.

You are very much in Captain Cook territory here, his school room just down the road & his monument visible from the site.

We will surely be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glet42 2 reviews from this member

 Just had the 1 night at this campsite. The site was expensive for a stop over. £20 per night and £15 for a fire pit, plus £20 deposit. The toilet and shower block were clean and tidy. Washing up area was cold water only and enough for a basic camp.

The farmer was a nice chap. The noise of the train wasn't expected at the top of the tent field only 200 metres away. Good site for a family trip but not really for me.

Won't be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CW52 26 reviews from this member

 2 of us stayed here few nights and having read other reviews before I went, was little disappointed. There is a field for caravans and one further away for camping.

The large new barn/coffee shop is really lovely, but not cheap, large breakfast £8. Piece of cake was £4.

The toilets/2 showers are also in there, but there is another entrance for those camping/ caravanning. They are a walk from camping field. When I visited the showers there was a bucket of very dirty water and mop to clean the shower, and the shower wasn't too clean from someone else. Each shower is in separate room,

The pot wash is poor to be honest. Its in the field, next to waste water and bins, with a small wooden open structure with 1 sink and cold water. Pity it hadn't been in the new building too

The grass could have done with being cut when we were there.

Farm animals for children to see, and small play areas, fresh milk, nice touch.

Not sure if we will visit again 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ALanaghan 1 review from this member

 If you want your young children to have a great natural camping experience you couldn't get much better. There are 3 play areas that aren't busy and easy to keep an eye on the children while they are playing. For older children there's plenty of space to play football, volley ball and basket ball.

Not forgetting the chance for the children to be near to some farm animals.

The shower and toilet facilities were possibly the best I have been in a campsite however the 2 showers could really do with hooks to hang clothes on.

The pitches were mostly flat but some with a bit of a slope to them. If you don't want to be woken by very noisy owls I would suggest that you pitch next to the fence rather than under the trees.

The cafe is very clean, modern and food is good.

The only down side for me was that the grass really needed a cut. It looked very untidy and covered a few holes. Shame as I think this is a hidden gem if not for this one point.

The views were outstanding and some lovely walks and a very pleasant village near by. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Busymikey 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this site on the basis of the previous reviews not expecting too much. What a massive surprise in store for me. A barn has been converted providing 2 family shower room (big enough to take the entire family) separate ladies and gents toilets. Additionally, the conversion houses a excellent cafe, providing hot food - Sunday Roasts - cakes and best of all - beer and wines - licence only until 20:30, but then only a short 15 minute walk into the local village and the pub. I had a really relaxed time here, there is a lake within 5 minutes walk from the site stocked with brown & rainbow trout - all catch and release, permit from the site owners - £10 per day. The owners are so friendly and helpful, willing to help you out and provide excellent local knowledge. I am going back again and again and again - recommended to my family and friends.  


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fletchers Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fletchers Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fletchers Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Ayton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2093 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December