Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lookout Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wareham > Lookout Holiday Park Reviews

Lookout Holiday Park
Corfe Road
Stoborough
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 5AZ
Tel: 01929 552546
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Travellingjacks 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely and quiet site. Clean and warm showers with ample toilets and space.

We visited in term time so school holidays could affect this.

Games room was out of action which was disappointing.

Stayed in pod, had all our basic needs but could have done with an extra dust around and maintenance, cobwebs inside, and door latch needed a nack to close it.

Would stay again, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PollyPalmer 3 reviews from this member

 Just had a lovely weekend a the Lookout, nice site fairly quiet. Not over run with children even though its the school holidays.

The pitches were large & well spaced out. Plenty of room for a camper van with awning, 4 adults plus an extra car. The highlight of the weekend was the friendly deer that came out the woods morning & evening, that we could hand feed after gaining her trust.

Clean toilets & showers with plenty of hot water. You need a torch it get's very dark at night & there's not a lot of lighting around the park. But you get amazing views of the stars at night.

There's a really nice play area/ equipment for children & plenty of room for them to ride their bikes around. We booked because of its closeness to Monkey World & Durdle Door but will certainly be returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Zumerzet Lass 11 reviews from this member

 Just back from 2 great days at The Lookout.

What a fantastic site. !

Clean, clean, clean.

Quiet site even with some kiddies enjoying themselves.

The people in reception were very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Shop was very well stocked and prices were not extortionate. Also sold Hot Food. !

Pitches were well looked after, tidy and neat.

Vehicles parked alongside unit.

Good entrance off road, well signed.

We will most certainly be back again before too long.

A mile or two down the road is a Steam train going into Swanage. If steam is not your thing there is an alternate choice of a Diesel engine. On the platform is a refreshment room. Go in and sample the truly wonderful homemade cakes baked by the lady serving in there.

Fantastic value at 15. 00 per night including electricity.  


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: RICHARD1969 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived on Sunday at about 4. 30pm and as stated there was a note on the reception door telling us which pitch to use. The toilet were always kept clean with hot water on tap and powerful showers also. The on site shop is well stocked and serves

Hot takeaway food. There are a few good eat outs that are close by which serve good quality food for a reasonable price. The site on a whole is good for kids with a decent play area with a small football pitch and on the evening it is peaceful.

The only downside was that a group of caravanners decided to descend on the site and cause mayhem for those already there, it only takes a few to spoil it for the rest. Unfortunately there was no one on reception on the Sunday to complain to, this had to be done on the Monday by phone. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Funmummy 4 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from 3 nights camping on this site. The site is very nice with very, very clean toilets and showers and lots of hot water. I'm a bit fussy about toilets, etc but was more than happy with the facilities. We were using the 'less glamorous' toilet block which some other reviewers have mentioned but felt no need to venture up the field to the posh ones! We were camping in B field which is next to a busy road. This didn't bother anyone else in our party apart from me and in any case, on our second night, the torrential rain drowned out the road noise!

The children's play area was large and well situated and could be seen from the camping area which was great. We didn't visit the shop or reception but my husband did have to call the emergency number early on Wednesday morning as there was no hot water. Within 10 minutes, someone had arrived to sort it out. That's good service for you.

We would definitely stay here again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mariarix 1 review from this member

 We have just got back from 2 very pleasant days spent camping at the Lookout Caravan Park just outside Wareham.

We were warmly welcomed at Reception by a friendly knowledgeable lady. Checkin took no more than 5 minutes and then we were directed to our pitch.

The pitch was non serviced and overlooked the brilliant play area. Perfect for giving our 7 year old a little bit of freedom.

The pitch was level and dry and more than big enough for our 5m 6 berth tent and our car too.

The toilet/shower facilities were clean and the free showers were a very pleasant surprise, as was the fact that the water always ran hot! I was very surprised to learn that we were using the 'worst' toilets and that the others in the next field were far superior (I didn't go the extra distance to check them out)

My husband did all the washing up so the facilities must be good, otherwise he would have passed on these duties to me!

The Shop was very well stocked as I think it passes as the village shop too, and not too pricey. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JKDowns 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from a lovely holiday down in Wareham on the Lookout and have to say it was one of the best sites I have stayed on with my family.

The kids loved the large play area and football pitch, and with the games room providing some inside distraction as well. The toilet facilities were always cleaned to an exceptional standard every day and the showers are the best I have ever experienced on a touring park.

The staff were equally helpful and knowledgeable of the local area and to top it all the weather was fantastic!

I have booked to go again at the end of August and am looking forward to returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Megan101 1 review from this member

 We were very disappointed with this site. Grass had not been mown for weeks. We where there for a week and never saw a mower.

Our pitch was waterlogged and smelt of fowl water. Campsite was over crowded.

There was some static touring vans that where unkempt.

Toilets ok but needed more than the once a day they where cleaned due to the many campers on site. One day no water in mens toilet and one day no paper in ladies.

The only good thing was the shop open till late at night and well stocked. Would I recommend this site. Sorry no I wouldn't 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandragof 2 reviews from this member

 Here for 7 Days,two tents with children.Had visited the site earlier in the year to view. First impression was a good clean open site.

The facilities were kept very clean and never had to wait to use.

However some of the static tourer vans in Field 'b' could have benefited from a little attention, like grass cutting around them, which did detract from the overall tidiness. Also very crammed in.

Arrived on Saturday, pitch allocated via post, was already occupied and we were told just to use next two pitches. Not a problem for us but the caravans opposite were using the space as car park!

Saturday night was very noisy up until about 12.30am, however other nights noise did settle at about 10pm.

Overall Fair but would not use site again 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wetducks 1 review from this member

 Arrived at lookout early and managed to get straight onto pitch. We were asked if we had been here before and when we said no but we have been to Harrow Wood (sister site) the lady at reception said it was a bit different here!

Drove around to pitch passed other campers packed in like sardines! (it was half term) We have never been to such a crowded site before so it was quite a shock. Pitch just wide enough for our 6 berth tunnel tent and VW van.

Neighbours very close and because of this it lacked privacy, especially in evenings when conversations were overheard. (but to be fair we are used to camping around the edge of an open field and not back to back)

Shower blocks near us ok but larger block only another 50 m away and this was much nicer as didn't have to go round back to get in. 3 showers in each with door then curtain dividing shower space in half and fold down bench to put stuff on, hook on door and shower gel crate on wall. Very easy to use on own or with kids.

Lots of sinks and toilets - never queued once while there. Only seem to clean once a day (noon)

Permanent campers - grass growing under wheels and paving installed around tent! They did seem to respect the place though - and shooed away the annoying kids that kept skidding bikes around the tents after dusk and were being generally annoying.

Laundry room so can rinse out beach stuff.

Road very very noisy all night - lower field backs straight onto A road. But easy access to most place locally.

Any gluten free campers: Went to local pizza place in Wareham for gluten free pizza for my daughter. Make sure ask for pizza well cooked. Don't go for gluten free fish in the place in wool though. They advertise gluten free but had to stop

That was a drive over for nothing.

The pub on the right as you head towards Wareham (turn right out of campsite) did really nice food. (something Head or Arms) (rubbish at names but it is the first pub you get to on the right and it has a garden to eat out in and food was yummy!)

Great day out at Tyneham. See the old village and walk to beautiful beach. Distinctive by the lack of crowds we found at Swanage and Studland (too busy for us) 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lookout Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lookout Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Lookout Holiday Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wareham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5746 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement