Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wareham Forest Tourist Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wareham > Wareham Forest Tourist Park Reviews

Wareham Forest Tourist Park
North Trigon
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 7NZ
Tel: 01929 551393
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 169 Reviews
                9/10 from 169 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  169 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 71 reviews from this member

 It has been many years now since we last visited Wareham Forest Tourist Park so we were interested to see how the site had changed. We stayed for eight nights and unfortunately experienced really bad weather, however we still had an enjoyable time and found the site to be as good as ever.

The site is divided into two halves. One half is mostly seasonal pitches with a small number of touring pitches at the back while the other side is exclusively for touring. We were on one of the small number of pitches at the back of the seasonal side of the site and due to the horrendous weather, most of the seasonal pitches were not being used, therefore our side of the site was extremely quiet which suited us very well. While we were there, there was heavy rain at some point on most of the days and after a heavy downpour, there were large puddles everywhere, however they did seem to drain away relatively quickly, it was only during very prolonged spells of rain that we ended up paddling through puddles for a longer period of time.

The location of this site for us is perfect as you can walk straight from the site into Wareham Forest and then head off in all different directions. However, this may not suit some people, as to go anywhere else other than the forest you really need to take a car. However within a 15 minute drive there are so many lovely places to visit. We spent most of the time around Studland and Swanage enjoying the lovely walks along the coastal path. Interestingly this little section of coastline seemed to miss the majority of the rain which fell just a few miles inland.

For the first part of our time there, it was before the 17th of May change in COVID regulations and therefore only toilets were open, not the showers, however from the 17th of May the showers opened as well and although we never used them, everything seemed to be spotlessly clean.

The site has a reasonably well stocked shop selling basic food items and quite a selection of bits and pieces that you might need for camping/caravanning and have forgotten to bring with you such as tent pegs and toilet chemicals and suchlike! There is also a swimming pool that is only open in high season which looked nice from the outside.

We really enjoyed our holiday and will definitely return to this site but we did have a couple of minor issues about the site that people need to be aware of.

1. This holiday we were on our own but sometimes, we take my mum with us and she is a wheelchair user. This site would be completely unsuitable for wheelchair users as all of the roadways are deep gravel rather than tarmac and therefore pushing a wheelchair would be virtually impossible.

2. The site has two toilet blocks both of which have many cubicles and some family bathrooms which would appear to be sufficient for the site, however both toilet blocks are at the front of the site (one on each side) and if you are pitched at the back of the site it is a long long walk. Many of the people pitched near us ended up taking their cars to the toilet block! This wasnít a big deal for us, but again, for someone with mobility issues the distance to the toilet block might be a concern.

3. The site has 2 chemical toilet Elsan emptying points, one in each of the toilet blocks, so again if youíre pitched at the back of the site, itís a long way to go to empty the toilet. Additionally, because of the deep gravel roadways, it is extremely difficult to pull your toilet cassette on wheels behind you. Again, this resulted in many people using their cars to take the toilet cassette for emptying. It would be so much better if the site had installed an Elsan point down at the back of the site.

None of these things spoiled our holiday for us, we had a great time despite the weather and will definitely return to the site but I think itís important for people to be aware of some of the shortcomings as different things matter to different people. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helena James 1 review from this member

 On our arrival we were 2 hours early but that was not a problem they gave us our pitch straight away.

The Sit was very clean and tidy and the staff was very help full and friendly.

I found that the out side food outlets coming into the site is a good idea, the food from the out lets looked really good but, we did not try them but, next time we stay here we will try them.

I will return to this site. Mr & Mrs James 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kev47 1 review from this member

 Camped here for four nights ( no electric ) the site is spotlessly clean throughout, bins were emptied daily, toilets and showers all kept clean.

We didnít camp amongst the trees, but preferred to camp in the open, the pitches were flat with good drainage, the shop was well stocked but very expensive ( a bag of ice in wareham was 99p, on-site shop £1.70 )

Didnít get the chance to use the outdoor pool, but it looked popular, a different takeaway van

Came each evening ranging from fish and chips to pizzas.

No freezing off ice packs was available due to covid

Only downside was where we camped it was a long walk to the toilets/showers and washing up,

Overall it Is a good clean safe site although quite expensive. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Barry666 1 review from this member

 Very lovely site, quiet, clean and helpful with some beautiful walks.

Good location to the surrounding area, beaches, historic moments and not too far from the main roads. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Russadub 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful well kept site. Friendly staff, and luckily for us the swimming pool was still open. Great walks too straight from the pitch.

Popped into Wareham, looked around the market.

Will definitely be returning, and as it's open all year round will bring our welly boots, 😄 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 51 reviews from this member

 We were given 2 free nights by Lady Bailey Caravans when we picked up our new caravan. We liked the look of the site so we booked another 4 nights.

Very nice park within the forest with plenty of walks amongst the trees for the dog.

Toilet block kept very clean. Not massive but we never had to queue.

Small shop at reception for essentials but Sainsburys and Co-op in nearby Wareham as is very nice Fish and Chip shop which we can whole heartedly recommend.

The only downside for us the heavily stoned roadways which produced large amounts of dust as it was very dry in July and it was quite hard for our little dog to walk on. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 49 reviews from this member

 The site is very well presented, and huge !

We opted for a fully serviced pitch - in hindsight this was a mistake - given the number of sited caravans, the only available serviced touring pitches were at the very top end of the site, quite a walk away from the facilities blocks, both of which were located at the entrance to the site. I don't mind a walk, but it seemed common place to get in the car and drive to the loo ! We then realised the chemical disposal point was also in the facilities block - again our caravanning neighbours used the car.

There is a small off lead dog field although it was rather full of large holes so had to be careful where the dogs ran around.

If we were to return, opting for a standard pitch might be a better option as the site does not appear to be geared up for Motorhome use. 


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 It snowed while I was here which made for a different experience, but this was probably one of the better sites to be at in the snow. The pitches and track were all gravel which helped with slipping and the toilet block was well heated and showers warm.

To add to the wintry feel the site is surrounded by large pine trees, so you could quite easily have believed you were in Scandinavia or Russia and Wareham Forest is a great spot to walk in and cycle, although not this time.

The wardens were very friendly and the site was not expensive. The only slight negative is the overlong and elaborate check in process and an overemphasis on the rules, although they didn't enforce them all anyway. 


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for a snowy weekend in February. The greeting on reception was friendly and the shop had a decent stock considering the time of year.

The gravel pitches were large and level. The facilities block was kept clean and warm. The situation is nice in amongst the trees and the direct access in to Wareham Forest was great for taking the dogs for a good long walk.

Due to the large size and range of family facilities, this isnít the kind of site Iíd visit in the peak season, but for a quite weekend out of season, it was just what we wanted. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pendywooley 23 reviews from this member

 Well organised site and pitches. The dog walks through woods very pleasant. Toilet block was a bit tired. Staff very helpful and friendly. For a site this big it's a shame there is no adult only area, on booking in they seemed surprised to be asked.

Don't know if I would return as the real bugbear was the deep gravel roads around the site, very hard to walk on for me and the dogs. I wasn't the only one walking on edges of grass pitches to avoid the gravel. 


Previous     169 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wareham Forest Tourist Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wareham Forest Tourist Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wareham Forest Tourist Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wareham Forest Tourist Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wareham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2892 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement