Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wareham Forest Tourist Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wareham > Wareham Forest Tourist Park Reviews

Wareham Forest Tourist Park
North Trigon
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 7NZ
Tel: 01929 551393
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 163 Reviews
                9/10 from 163 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  163 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 37 reviews from this member

The site is very well presented, and huge !

We opted for a fully serviced pitch - in hindsight this was a mistake - given the number of sited caravans, the only available serviced touring pitches were at the very top end of the site, quite a walk away from the facilities blocks, both of which were located at the entrance to the site. I don't mind a walk, but it seemed common place to get in the car and drive to the loo ! We then realised the chemical disposal point was also in the facilities block - again our caravanning neighbours used the car.

There is a small off lead dog field although it was rather full of large holes so had to be careful where the dogs ran around.

If we were to return, opting for a standard pitch might be a better option as the site does not appear to be geared up for Motorhome use.

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

It snowed while I was here which made for a different experience, but this was probably one of the better sites to be at in the snow. The pitches and track were all gravel which helped with slipping and the toilet block was well heated and showers warm.

To add to the wintry feel the site is surrounded by large pine trees, so you could quite easily have believed you were in Scandinavia or Russia and Wareham Forest is a great spot to walk in and cycle, although not this time.

The wardens were very friendly and the site was not expensive. The only slight negative is the overlong and elaborate check in process and an overemphasis on the rules, although they didn't enforce them all anyway.

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Dubdogs 141 reviews from this member

Stopped here for a snowy weekend in February. The greeting on reception was friendly and the shop had a decent stock considering the time of year.

The gravel pitches were large and level. The facilities block was kept clean and warm. The situation is nice in amongst the trees and the direct access in to Wareham Forest was great for taking the dogs for a good long walk.

Due to the large size and range of family facilities, this isnít the kind of site Iíd visit in the peak season, but for a quite weekend out of season, it was just what we wanted.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pendywooley 19 reviews from this member

Well organised site and pitches. The dog walks through woods very pleasant. Toilet block was a bit tired. Staff very helpful and friendly. For a site this big it's a shame there is no adult only area, on booking in they seemed surprised to be asked.

Don't know if I would return as the real bugbear was the deep gravel roads around the site, very hard to walk on for me and the dogs. I wasn't the only one walking on edges of grass pitches to avoid the gravel.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Norfolk Tourer 1 review from this member

I rang on the off chance of getting a pitch for the night as I hadn't pre booked anywhere. The lady who answered the phone couldn't have been more helpful, in fact, the whole reception team greeted me and my dog Ralph like long lost friends. They made a fuss of us both and ensured the pitch chosen suited our needs exactly.

The facilities were excellent and very clean. The team there really seemed to care about the site and it shows.

We had a lovely peaceful night on the edge of the forest and I enquired if I might extend my departure time so we could go for a walk in the wonderful Wareham forest (of course, as helpful as they are this was no problem).

Will definitely be back someday. I get the feeling this is a popular site in high season but due to the layout, location and size of the pitches there should be no problem finding a little peace and quiet among the trees.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Areejelmaazi 1 review from this member

I stayed here for two nights and would definitely stay again. The staff were very helpful in multiple ways (returning items I'd forgotten and discussing the best place to set up my tent). The site was very clean with good WC facilities. They even had washing machines and an iron (for a small fee). I like a foresty feel when I camp and I had plenty of forest to choose from. However there are grass areas as well. Overall I was very happy with my camping experience.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Middyuk 1 review from this member

This is the second time we have stayed at wareham, this time for 14 nights, and we love it here. The pitches are large and well equipped, the shower blocks are fantastic, the swimming pool is lovely and the staff are very friendly. We have already booked for next year. There are some downsides which I know people like to hear:

1) although swimming pool states no dogs people were allowed to bring them in to the poolside and grass which we don't like. Theres hardly any 'dog-free' areas nowadays

2) on the dog theme - there was the usual dog mess when walking in the woods both on site and off which is a sure-fire way to ruin a walk or cycle ride

3)single people using the family wash rooms when families need them

4) the kids park is lovely but could be bigger with more for smaller children

5) it is pricey

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tinytina 17 reviews from this member

Just spent 14 nights at this site, it truly is an amazing place, We have been visiting camp sites for many many years and this is by far the cleanest we have ever been to.

The site is spotless, it doesn't matter what time of the day or night that you attend the shower and toilet blocks they are always spotlessly clean and always has hot water, the swimming pool is clean and nice and warm, the whole site does not have a single thing out of place and has a lot of staff on site day and night.

The site is in the middle of the forest and you tend to have no internet or phone signal so if you can`t live without your phone it may not be the site for you (I loved the fact that no one could get hold of me).

The site is well sited to visit the surrounding areas (The Tank Museum and Monkey World just down the road).

If you want something to do on an evening pay a visit to the cinema in Dorchester, 2. 50 a ticket (3. 50 a ticket on a Saturday and Sunday).

All in all this site and all its staff is a major gem.

If I was to find one fault (if you can call it a fault) it would be that the two toilet blocks are either side of the shop, one of them could do with being the other end of the campsite.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Zoylander 1 review from this member

Stayed in a Pennine Pathfinder with family of 4 with 2 children aged 10 and 6 on a grass pitch with electric.

The outstanding quality of this site are the staff under the leadership of the owner Tony. This site has the best customer service of any site I have visited to date. When dealing with people and nature things often don't go as planned! We were supposed to visit last year but due to bereavement couldn't make it but Tony was very fair with how he dealt with us. During our stay it was extremely wet and again we felt very well looked after even though we were a bit damp on the grass pitch. If this could be a problem for you I would recommend a hardstanding.

The pool is great and the surrounding forest is stunning.

Would highly recommend this site.

We liked:

-Customer Service.

-Countryside.

-No clubhouse/bar, this site is about the outdoor experience.

-The pool was heated and was warm enough that getting in wasn't a shock.

-The takeaway vans.

-The facilities are clean and the wife liked the full length mirrors and plenty of hooks.

-Shop reasonably priced and stocked.

-Any inappropriate behaviour on the site was nipped in the bud.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vee4 Gaz 5 reviews from this member

We picked this site because of the previous reviews left by others and boy were they correct.

The site is fantastic, lovely and clean where ever you went. Pitches were numbered and in rows with stone roads for access. The pitch we had was one with EHU so the size was good with enough room for our large tent, trailer and a car. Due to great weather, we were able to set up a windbreak to make an outside kitchen area so room was not an issue. Other areas on the site without EHU would allow the tents to be pitched amongst the trees or out in the open on grass.

The toilet and shower blocks were always clean and tidy with very powerful and hot showers. There were loads of hooks in the cubicles and on the outside so you always had somewhere to hang your towel. Wish more campsites were like this. In the same blocks were dishwashing sinks which all came with a plastic dryer to put all the wet dishes in, another nice touch. There were also washing machines for clothing available.

The swimming pool was heated with benches dotted around the grass area and a welcome cool off in the very hot weather we enjoyed during our stay. We were allowed to bring the dog into the pool as long as we kept him to one side and on a lead which was fair enough.

The staff were very helpful and very pleasant, booking in was a doddle and hassle free. The on-site shop was small but very well stocked with most things you could want food and drink wise and general camping spares from a 12V television to a tent peg.

We have a small dog so the woodland walks were great and very informative with small boards dotted about with information on the various trees and wildlife to look out for. There was also a dog wash for those dirty paws which again is a great addition for people who have pets in tow. One thing we missed was a hook to tie the dog up outside the toilet block but itís a miner thing. Next to the dog wash was also a bike wash so again great for cyclists.

Children had plenty to do whether in the swimming pool, forest areas or on the fantastic looking play area with climbing frame.

All in all, a lovely site with lots to offer both young and old. Iím sure we will be back.

Previous     163 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Wareham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5800 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019