Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chantry Farm

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > Pyecombe Street > Chantry Farm > Reviews

Chantry Farm
Wolstonbury Hill
Pyecombe Street
West Sussex   (Browse area)
BN45 7EE
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Cath4p 1 review from this member

 Lovely site and very eco-friendly. Plenty of space and you can have a campfire.

Bring earplugs for a good night's sleep because it's very close to the A23 dual carriageway.

If you're using public transport, bear in mind that the 17 bus from Brighton does NOT stop at Pyecombe Saddlery so you need to get the 273 and walk a fair bit or get a taxi from Hassocks station. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Helen0 1 review from this member

 Lovely! Amazing location with easily accessible walks on the downs.

Great that you can have your own fire pit and buy wood from Beki- keeps you toasty during British evenings.

Kids could run around free safely.

Beki was a great host.

Loos are clean, shower system is super. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: JaM07 1 review from this member

 We camped at this site with a friend last weekend and had a lovely time. The campsite is fine. An added bonus is that they allow campfires and there is plenty of space to camp. There are a few things to note though

You will charged separately for parking - 5 per night per vehicle (yes really!) and you cannot camp next to your tent. The campsite has two trolleys to take your baggage and tents to the site which is not far away but there are only 2 trolleys so you might want to take your own if it's a busy weekend. I am not sure why they can't cut down the shrub blocking the camping field from vehicles as there was plenty of space there to take your car onto the field.

Also there are no showers - just basic and quirky washing buckets/boilers. And also you can hear the noise from the A23 which didn't bother us but don't expect total peace. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Brandenbourger 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful four days weekend in a shephard hut, it was very cosy, and we enjoyed the whole space we had to our disposition ( including the toilets ).

We had a great weather so it was a real pleasure to visit the places the owner advised us to see, the backcountry as the city itself.

The five of us felt very well in the chantry farm due to the very welcoming owner. We recommend this guest farm to everyone and we thank Beky a lot for the great stay we had, it will be a pleasure to come back  


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Rob hall 1 review from this member

 I have had the pleasure of staying at chantry farm for the first time recently in one of the two Shepard huts on site. The hut is situated in its own private paddock with the most outstanding views on all sides. This site gives you the chance to reconnect with nature at its most beautiful and do it in comfort.

The hut itself was spacious with quiet possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in with a wood burner for if you get cold (not needed thanks to three glorious days of sunshine), gas hobs for kettle and cooking and a fire pit outside for a perfect evening of watching the sun set and gazing at the stars which are highly visible and quiet frankly stunning.

Also included in the hut are a mini fridge as well as usb points to charge your phone/iPad as well as solar powered electric lighting. The compost loo was a revelation clean and smell free which was a pleasant surprise. The 'shower' gives you that feeling of proper camping without the aches and pains usually associated with a night under canvass.

I was lucky to have the site to myself for the three nights I was there but even if it had been full there really wouldn't have been any issue with feeling like you still had your privacy. Beki the owner is one of the most inspirational women I have ever had the privilege of meeting and could not have been more accommodating or helpful during my stay.

It was a pleasure to converse with someone who is so passionate and knowledgeable about the land and its history as well as being so eager to share her beautiful part of the world with as many people as possible. Nearby is a local farm shop as well as 24hr garage within 5 minutes and although I didn't get the chance to stop in the local pub comes highly recommended.

I honestly cannot praise this site enough and would have no hesitation in recommending it for your stay. A genuinely rare chance to reconnect with what matters and just be yourself.

I have come away feeling relaxed, refreshed and ready to face life again head on.

My most heartfelt thanks to beki for opening up her world and sharing with me for a few days and I can't wait to get back in the not to distant future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susiemiller 1 review from this member

 Had a fantastic weekend at Chantry farm. Was slightly concerned before heading there about it being a rustic campsite- no running hot water and green loo. But it turned out to be best campsite I've been to.

The green loo is far better than most campsite toilets- it didn't smell at all. There is hot water and cold water to fill a bucket up with to take to the 'shower' with- again thoroughly enjoyed this experience.

There is so much space around each tent patch that it felt secluded and you weren't disturbed by your neighbours. We got the bus into brighton (number 17 comes once an hour from down the road) but it was only 20 in a taxi on the way back.

Also visited the lovely town of Lewes for lunch and a mooch around the flea market. Would recommend to any one that enjoys camping. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claireya 1 review from this member

 Visited with husband and 14 month old daughter from London over the bank holiday. Despite torrential rain we still had a wonderful time and would thoroughly recommend this location.

Each site has enough space so it feels quite private and the other campers there were all extremely friendly yet respectful of each other's space.

The compost loo was a marvel. We were the nearest site - but it was so clean and lovely, that wasn't a problem. We hiked to the top of the hill for fantastic 360 degree views over the downs and our towards the sea. The owner and manager was on site most of the time (otherwise manned by delightful volunteers) and could not have been friendlier and more welcoming.

We hired the gas rings for the nights we were there which made cooking a breeze. This place is kept beautifully, just wild enough to let the wild flowers bloom, but neatly maintained to make it easy to move around and set up camp. Location was perfect for heading to Lewes, Brighton or Arundel castle. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marc B 1 review from this member

 Have just returned after spending three wonderful days staying at the fantastically situated Chantry Farm. It is exactly what we wanted and we all really enjoyed the experience.

The site is nestled at the foot of Westonbury Hill on the South Downs and a short walk up the hill from the campsite takes you right to the heart of the spectacular South Downs. We were lucky in that we had three days of unbroken sunshine, with the added bonus of two magnificent sunsets, but even on a cloudy day I reckon the area would be equally as enjoyable.

In terms of camp facilities there is a very spacious field which allows campers to have ample distance between pitches. There are 'rustic' shower facilities but we all sampled and enjoyed the chance to ablute. Hot water is available to wash up with and there is also a ready supply of fresh water, almost straight from the bore hole! It's a site that's probably not for all, but if you are after back to basic camping, to get away from it all and get back in touch with nature, then Chantry Farm is the place to go. We hope to go back soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Corlis XYZ 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed at Chantry for one night as part of a small trip around the south east, so saw plenty of other campsites in the region. This was easily the best. As others have mentioned, the location is great - literally situated on the hillside of the South Downs, with stunning views. The A23 can be heard but the constant hum is little more than a reminder of how pleasant your current surroundings are.

I was lucky enough to have the site to myself, but even if I hadn't, it would have been pleasant. It's a small site so you'll never be overwhelmed. Facilities were basic, but for me were more in the spirit of camping than hired out cabins. Compost toilet was in a charming wooden cabin, and the 'pour-over' shower unit tucked away in the functional farm building - out of site of the main camping field but only a stone's throw away.

The owner and her partner were really friendly when I arrived exhausted on my bicycle. As a cyclist it felt like a rare treat not to be treated like a bit of a weirdo on arrival! It's nice to find a campsite that is keen on welcoming walkers and cyclists rather than the big camper van contingent. They were full of knowledge about the site, its history, and the local area. It's clearly more than just a field for people to camp in. Obviously there are plenty of walking routes in the area and a 10 minute walk to the top of the hill will give you a truly fantastic view of the rest of Sussex.

I really look forward to staying here again! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scooper1986 1 review from this member

 I stayed at Chantry Campsite this September and had the most wonderful weekend at Chantry. Upon arrival the owner was welcoming and very helpful. The site is spacious and we had a good 25 metres between us and the other pitches. There was ample space for a fire and the Eco toilet and washing facilities were well maintained and managed.

The site is ideal for those who wish to rise early and walk the short distance onto the downs for sunrise (it was stunning) and is a perfect site for those who want to get away from larger commercial sites. I will be coming back to stay next summer!

On top of the regular service the owner Beki was also very kind to help us with our bags when leaving the site. A real pleasure to have stayed at Chantry. Personal service was exemplary and I recommend the site strongly. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Chantry Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chantry Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Chantry Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pyecombe Street      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Sussex 18/05 to 19/05

Endless activities for you and your dog to enjoy plus weekend camping - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2588 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement