Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Poplars Farm Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Poplars Farm Site > Reviews

Poplars Farm Site
Hulland Ward
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3ED
Tel: 01335 370347  or  07867664801
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Vans, tents and 3 glamping pods
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Storeman_uk 10 reviews from this member

 First time out camping for a couple of years and also the first time using our trailer tent so we chose a site not too far from home. Poplars Farm ticked all the boxes on paper but in reality managed to exceed my high expectations.

To start with, on arrival the owners Sara and Peter were welcoming and friendly and gave some good local advice on places to visit.

The site is very large and because they limit the number of pitches there is no need for a massive toilet / shower block. Granted there are only two toilets (one with a washbasin), two further washbasins and one shower but with 6 occupied pitches we did not have to queue to use any of the facilities.

The pods were also in use but they have separate utilities to the pitch facilities. The utilities and washing up sink both had an abundance of hot water.

Due to the mostly very wet weather we have had over the past several months, the owners weren't really able to mow the fields but that resulted in looking out on to very pleasant wildflower meadows. Wide swathes of the fields had been flattened around the perimeters of the fields to be used as dog walks without having to go out onto roads without footpaths.

Many people have complained about road noise and yes there is some. Motorcyclists are the worst offender as most of them like to open the throttle at any sign of a straight road but it does die down in the evening. Our pitch was closest to the road and even under canvas we were not disturbed by traffic during the night.

Electric is charged on the amount you use rather than with prepaid cards or a nightly fixed sum which means you only pay for what you use. We use an three way fridge plugged into the mains, a 12 volt system powered from the hookup for lighting and charging as well as a small mains fan heater.

This cost £2. 40p for three nights whereas in the past and without the heater and lighting we have paid £5 a night and this was before the extortionate price hikes for energy. Taking this into account along with the cheapest nightly rates out of all the sites we have booked this year makes this site very good value for money.

The Black Horse menu is very enticing but unfortunately, on Sunday when we wanted to 'eat out' we discovered that they do not serve food on Sunday evenings so we drove into Ashbourne for a meal.

Crassington Water is well worth a visit. There are several trails to follow and if you are brave enough, you can take the approx. 7. 5 mile path around the reservoir.

Bakewell is always a must visit for us as it is a pleasant walk for us and our dog along the bank of the river through the park and we both really like the real Bakewell Puddings.

We will return as it is close enough for us to use on weekends and is is a quiet site. 


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: J+JJ 25 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights purposely to meet up with friends who stayed there also.

Hard standing pitch with metered electric (only used 75p worth!) so costing very reasonable as £20 pn.

Toilets & showers kept very clean. Bus stop directly outside campsite, unfortunately didnít use public transport as didnít leave the site due to very wet weather!

Did walk up to nearby pub, Black Horse where we enjoyed a very nice meal.

Thank you for a pleasant stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Sazzle70 2 reviews from this member

 A really nice quiet site, amenities good and clean. Views of the countryside are amazing.

Well placed to be able to venture out into the countryside for walks and carsington water is really close by (well worth a visit - the paddle boards are great fun!)

Definitely recommend a stay here! The owners are really welcoming and friendly.

Very reasonably priced and paying for the electric for exactly what you use doesn't add much on. This weekend was really chilly so had an electric fire plugged in whenever we were in the tent, but it didn't add much on at all. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Coggles 3 reviews from this member

 We found this site to be a bit of a mix of positives and negatives and didnít quite warm to it as others have done. Positives first - it is on top of a hill and has great views of the surrounding countryside.

Facilities were nice and clean. Owners were pleasant and there was metered electric which is a bonus. We used a travel electric kettle and charged our devices which only came to about 30p for the whole stay!

Negatives now - it was very windy on top of the hill and the site seemed to prioritise views over providing shelter. Great views if youíre in a caravan etc but the constant battering of the wind started to wear a bit thin. I read some reviews that mentioned it was gusty so requested to be sited on the pitch that was described as sheltered - it was anything but!

Facilities were clean as mentioned but there were just 2 toilets and 1 shower (all unisex). So had to wait once or twice for the toilets at busy times in the morning. It is on adjacent A road and there is a lot of road noise - again less bother for the caravans than tenters. The road into the village is rather fast so the walk to the pub is a bit dicey as there is no pavement or verge.

Price was £20 without electric which I thought was a tiny bit pricey for a basic site.

In summary, I think this is a very good site for vans who can get out of the wind, enjoy the view and have the benefit of their own facilities. Not so much for tents. 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Jcjbears 13 reviews from this member

 My daughter and I returned here for 4 nights having stayed here in 2021.

Both times, we enjoyed the friendly welcome from Sara and the quiet, adults only, relaxed nature of the site with well spaced out pitches and clean facilities (2 toilets, one with it's own hand basin, 2 other hand basins and one very good shower: all unisex).

The washing up area had hot water and was under cover. The view across the valley and the sunsets - weather permitting! - are wonderful.

The location is great for exploring The Peak District and the Black Horse pub is a pleasant walk, if you take a slight detour using the quieter roads (straight across the crossroads on leaving the site, then turn right) serving excellent meals.

There is also another pub and a lovely farm shop in the village.

Our only reasons for not giving 10* are the noise from the adjacent A517, which is constant throughout the day, from early in the morning and into the evening, although it does quieten down overnight, and the fact that the non-EHU pitches are rather exposed to the wind. The latter ensures fantastic views but can be a problem in inclement weather!

Pitches are allocated, so we couldn't choose a more sheltered spot further from the road. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: St.bernard 11 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely stay using one of the three pods they have. Nice and comfortable they are too. Walked around Carsington Water.

Visited Buxton, Belper, Matlock and Bakewell. All within a half hour drive away.

Love this site. Owners Sara and Peter extremely helpful.

Facilities at the site are exceptionally clean as was the site.

I will be back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mario snr 17 reviews from this member

 Very good stay, helpful and friendly family, clean and tidy site, with some good facilities with showers and toilets.

Minor road noise and very useful for touring around good local pub with very nice meals.

With the way things have gone they have had to put in electricity meters on each pitch which is a shame, but I think that this is the way-things going now unfortunately.

More than happy to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mickrr 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely stay here. The owners are so helpful and very friendly. The facilities are good and kept very clean.

The site is open and the nearby wind turbines about 4 miles away are a bit of a giveaway that it can be breezy at times (they are not very visible so certainly don't make an eyesore) Nearby is Carsington Water - I nearly cycled there but ran out of time. Worth a cycle around.

The site is about midway between Belper and Ashbourne - both pleasant towns and good shopping - Sainsbury's, Aldi and Morrisons and at Ashbourne there starts the Tissington trail for a cycle on an old railway line so gentle gradients.

Went to nearby pub The Black Horse and had a good meal. It's about a quarter of a mile away but on a fast road so be careful if you walk there.

There is a small convenience store in the local pub half a mile away.

All in all, a good site in a good place with a good outlook over the local countryside. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Deb Pearson 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weeks stay at Poplars Farm, loved this camp site!

Very peaceful and well set out,

Facilities very clean and wonderful owners.

Pub within walking distance and plenty of places to visit in the area in under half an hour.

Can highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Edandelaine 10 reviews from this member

 Had a great stay, owners very friendly and helpful.

Dog walking great.

Our only preference would have been separate facilities for gents and ladies.

We will be back soon. 
via mobile


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Poplars Farm Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Poplars Farm Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Poplars Farm Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3343 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement