Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Poplars Farm Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Poplars Farm Site
Hulland Ward
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3ED
Tel: 01335 370347
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Vans, tents and 2 glamping pods
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Binbob 2 reviews from this member

A group of 3 vans visited for the weekend to celebrate a birthday. We had a very warm welcome and was shown to our pitch in driving sleet/snow. The three of us were pitched together slightly away from the other 2 vans. All pitches are hard standing with electric. Our pitch was nearest the road and we weren't bothered by road noise at all.

The facilities are in 2 portacabins, these were clean and well maintained although cold (well it was snowing for our visit!)

Dogs are welcome and can be walked around 2 of the fields, although there is plenty of other walks in the area.

We walked to the nearest pub for lunch which is about 10 mins along the road or 3 miles if you take the 'scenic route' (not recommended).

Carsington water is nearby with its visitors centre and cafe.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Frogsie 12 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site and what a find! The owner, Pete was very welcoming and showed us the facilities. The site is a working farm. The facilities were clean and warm; three toilets and two showers, washing machine and tumble dryer. We had a choice of pitch; which was level once we used our chocks. Dog walking is allowed in two of the farms fields, but don't let them off as there are pigs in pens in both fields.

There are great views from all pitches. The main road did not keep us awake at night or cause us a problem during the day.

Nearby is a local pub, the Black Horse, which we walked to within 10 minutes. The landlady was welcoming, especially with our two dogs. She got them a water bowl which was a nice touch.

About a 15 minute walk away is a garage/local shop which sells newspapers and most basic provisions.

We will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 17 reviews from this member

This site is fantastic, great views and great hosts. We had pitch 5 close to the road, which was not as bad as I thought it would be. Was allowed to turn van on pitch for best view.

Toilets showers are 5tar with washer dryer if needed.

Close to Ashbourne, Carsington water, with great views from the site.

Cannot fault it at all, will be going back as only 18 miles from us.

Great hard standing pitches.

Ray & Dawn.

Ilkeston Derbyshire

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bonnie84 16 reviews from this member

A lovely little site, with very friendly couple, lovely walks and views from the site, facilities very clean and adequate, the only downside was getting out of the side road to the site, back onto the a517 a bit of a fast road and blind coming out, we walked to the pub about 10min walk had a lovely meal there. We would love to visit again soon and go to more places in the Derbyshire dales, a lovely touch with wild flower meadows and lovely bird song.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheBaldings 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at this very peaceful site in May 2015 and will definitely return. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

The facilities are always very clean and there is a useful light on the shower block that shows when it's in use.

We walked to the Nags Head further down the road for Sunday dinner and were very pleased with the meal there.

The road isn't that busy and traffic noise wasn't an issue for us at all during our stay. Now on our list of sites to return to!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sanmar 5 reviews from this member

We have stayed on this lovely little site twice now.

Sarah and Peter are lovely, friendly people and both times we have visited we have been made to feel very welcome.

The views over the surrounding countryside are beautiful and the site is very peaceful. I suppose you can hear occasional traffic from the road but you would have to listen for it and it was never a problem to us.

There is a lovely big field where we could let our two big dogs off for a run and they loved it.

The shower and toilets were spotlessly clean and the shower is new this year. Also, a light outside the shower block comes on when the shower is in use which is very useful. Although there is only one shower and the site was full when we were there, we never had to wait.

All in all, a lovely little site without too many rules and regulations and just so relaxing.

We live fairly locally and the two pubs within walking distance serve really good food so we will be making this a regular visit in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 86 reviews from this member

Spent four nights over the Bank Holiday. A very pleasant Adult only CS with views over a buttercup meadow to rolling countryside. Site is conveniently situated for Ashbourne, Derby, Wirksworth, Belper and Matlock. Bus stop to Ashbourne, Derby & Belper just outside site, although services not that frequent.

Five narrow hard pitches in fan shape, plus some grass pitches for tents. Hook-ups are only 10 amp - so beware of over-loading. Could limit winter visits. 14 a night about right.

Village has one general store/post office/filling station, but Belper can provide anything not locally available. Two pubs in village - Black Horse is struggling and uninviting; Nags Head staff abrupt and had attitude problem. Had good meal at The Tiger at Turnditch - 2 miles to east of site on main road.

Site has portacabin (not new) with two loos and one shower (unisex). Lock on first loo does not work - caused embarrassment a couple of times. If someone is in shower, external water tap can be a problem. Kept clean and supplied though. Elsan point separate. Could do with a wash-up sink.

Tried local walking to Millington Green - next hamlet. Of six paths, all were either overgrown, obscured or obliterated. Visited Carsington Water - a bracing walk from the lower car park to the visitor centre. Enjoyed Wirksworth carnival; a small town that still shows a sense of community.

Definitely a site for a short break; will return. But does need some attention to details.

Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Poacher9599 8 reviews from this member

A very warm welcome greeted us on arrival. We had a choice of the 5 available hardstanding pitches.

The grass on the site was a little muddy but the owner provided some temporary matting to attempt to avoid the mud - but with a very excitable 14month old German Shepherd it was a lost cause.

Lovely walks from the site to Carsington across some of the muddiest fields I've seen for a long time.

Two clean toilets and an efficient, hot shower facilities were good. Two good pubs within walking distance.

All in all a good site - with some drier weather it would have been fab.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Blodwyn Pig 1 review from this member

A gem of a site in a great location for touring the Peak District.

Hard standing pitch just the right size for Hattie our RV but I think we are almost about the limit (9. 60 metres) the pitch could accommodate. Manoeuvring on the site fairly easy but had all the pitches been full it could have been interesting.

Stunning views over the countryside and at 14. 00 a night including electric hook up great value.

Adequate facilities, nice warm and roomy shower.

All in all a very, very nice site with very welcoming owners.

We will return.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Lonewolf 7 reviews from this member

Just had a lovely weekend at Poplars Farm in our Pennine Pathfinder.

Nice site, friendly owners, incredible views - couldn't go wrong (despite Mother Natures best efforts).

14 a night with EHU is great value and the facilities are basic (not as basic as some we've seen!) but fine.

Had a meal at the Black Horse Inn just up the road. Friendly place and they don't like to send you away hungry!

Ran into a few locals as we wandered around and they all made us feel welcome.

We'll definitely be back.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3156 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.1016