Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Secret Campsite Beech Estate

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Battle > The Secret Campsite Beech Estate Reviews

The Secret Campsite Beech Estate
Beech Estate
Near Netherfield
Battle
East Sussex   (Browse area)

Tel: 01273 980218
    Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: April To October Inclusive

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 18 Reviews
                10/10 from 18 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CScoggins 7 reviews from this member

Just arrived back from an excellent 3-night break at Beech Estate with my son. The site was one of the best I've stayed on, and I've camped for around 40 years, man and boy :)

Pitching a tent in one of many separate glades in a large woodland full of wildlife meant you are not camping right on top of other groups, and made the place feel very peaceful even on a full Bank Holiday weekend - a huge bonus compared to many other sites. The wardens are extremely friendly and helpful and the site has excellent and very clean facilities (the bucket showers are a great experience; every home should have one!). Waking up to the woodland dawn chorus each morning was fantastic (although we slept in a little later than 4am!) and being able to do all our cooking on an open fire and have a camp fire each evening was a real plus.

Oh, and if you get the chance to order some lamb burgers from the wardens, don't miss out; they are delicious!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Uktrucker 1 review from this member

Loved this place, off grid and back to nature.

Camped here with my grandson the first week of April, site was not busy, we stayed in one of the far and away pitches.

The toilet block with showers and flushing toilets was clean and of an acceptable standard.

Compost toilets were also clean, not able to comment on the bucket showers as the weather was not quite right for showering outside.

Plenty to do for kids and so very safe as no cars allowed on the site. As your in the middle of a wood/countryside there are lots that the little ones can do from climbing trees to making dens and acres of land in which to walk and explore.

Near to historic sites and the coast so there is plenty to do for days out.

We enjoyed out time here and would consider returning during the summer months.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smatty 1 review from this member

Stayed overnight with 5 year old son. Beautiful setting, it's a lovely part of Sussex. Pitch was in own clearing in woods and was distant enough from other pitches to feel like we had the wood to ourselves. Campsite is laid out to give a choice of remote pitches and areas for more communal camping.

The wardens were very friendly, good-humoured and helpful. Decent sized bags of logs for sale and free maps of local walks. The choice of composting toilets/bucket showers or 'normal' toilets/showers was good, particular as I failed to convince son of merits of the eco-friendly version. A fabulous and memorable introduction to wild(ish) camping.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rosierat 1 review from this member

We have tried and tested a host of campsites around the UK for our annual group camping trip and have settled on Eco Camp on the Beechwood Estate as our number 1 location and returned in August for the 3rd year in a row - once again we had a truly wonderful stay.

For our group of families with kids ranging from 2 to 15 years old, this really is the perfect spot - a beautiful private meadow in a clearing in the forest with it's own tap and composting toilet and wonderful warm bucket showers only a short stroll away. It feels totally safe and secluded, almost as if we were the only group on the site and delivered everything you could want from a campsite. We enjoyed 5 days of glorious weather, cosy campfires, splendid communal cooking, meteor showers, woodland wanderings, family games and hanging in hammocks - the perfect antidote to busy London living. We can't wait to return next year.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blennerh 1 review from this member

Having had one of those weeks you don’t want to have and having packed my daughter off with her dad and with a little me time on my hands, I wanted to get away for a night, by myself in a place where I wouldn’t feel like a weird Billy-no-mates, which incidentally I am not, as I have lots of lovely friends. I just wanted some alone time, somewhere beautiful. The angels answered my prayers in the form of EcoCampUK @ Beech Estate.

A sad and unfortunate accident had left the B2096 closed, which was fortunate for me as I got to come in the back way with Loz, the warden, who came to find me. The beauty was stunning and breath taking. To be privy to such beauty leaves me feeling very privileged. I can only describe it as pools of bluebells amongst the woods – something I had heard of but never experienced. Anyway, we reached my pitch, where I deposited my belongings and followed Loz to pick up my wood, that I had pre-ordered. Here I met Theresa (warden and wife to Loz). Loz was greeted by George, the cutest and tamest baby lamb you ever saw (Loz and Theresa are hand rearing him). I pitched the tent, got the fire going and cooked up a lovely Korma. Heaven. Each fire pit comes with a wire grill that you place over the fire, which makes cooking easy. I spent the evening, sat by the fire enjoying the tranquillity of my pitch. Each pitch is situated in its own glade, with a wood chipped path that leads you into it. Your neighbours have their own glades, separated by lots of trees – you know they are there, but their presence doesn’t intrude on your solitude – if that’s what you want. Wood chipped paths run alongside your pitch, but again not too close. You really do feel like you have your own bit of the woodland.

I slept so well. I was awakened at 4. 30am by a loud noise. It was the morning dawn chorus. It was beautiful, I drifted back of to sleep again. When I woke again I had breakfast and got the fire going for morning chai. I marvelled at how lucky I was to be in such a beautiful and amazing place. Whilst I was day dreaming, Theresa (the warden) came and offered me a lift to pick up my car – which was a relief – I knew where I had left it, but didn’t have a clue how to get there. ☺. I tried the bucket shower. They are a fantastic contraption and having tried it, I now believe every home should have one – just make sure that you have washed out all of the soap before your bucket runs out. I think the bucket showers would be a great hit with the kids.

Time to pack up and head back to reality. I will be back with my daughter asap. I also am thinking I would love to come with other friends and family, who I know would love this place. Thanks to EcoCampUK, George, Loz, Theresa and Hugh for giving me such a lovely place that I can escape to. This place really has something to offer everyone. Xxx

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jen Mac 1 review from this member

This was the first time camping with our 2 boys, age 1 and 4 and we were looking for something as close to free camping as possible. We used both the compost toilets and the bucket showers with ease, though there are inside showers and toilets if needed. The site was amazing, our pitch was huge, there was so much safe space for the boys to run around without cars or pets allowed on site, it made the time for everyone totally relaxing. Mornings building the fire up to cook bacon and eggs, the days making dens in the woods amongst the blue bells and the nights looking at the stars around a roaring fire! Just perfect.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: OccasionalReview 1 review from this member

We camped at Eco Camp last year with our neighbours and their children so there were 8 of us with two family tents and two 2-man tents. We needed a large enough pitch for eating, BBQ, etc. And they had no problem accommodating us.

The location was peaceful and beautiful - just what you want for camping. The facilities were very good, you can use the modern showers and toilets if you would like to but both the outdoor shower and compost toilets actually work better than we thought. The wardens were very helpful and the wood you can buy there are dry and good for the open fire. The fire pit was great and we had the best campfire!

All in all we absolutely loved it and we have already booked to go back again this year!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gekko 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here as a party of 2 adults with our own tent in August.

When we arrived, we went in search of the wardens and were met by a welcoming committee. The owner greeted us and then introduced us to the 2 wardens who showed us to our pitch. The pitches are mainly in fairly secluded enclaves and the site is set within something like 2, 000 acres of woodland. It definitely feels remote and there's no phone connectivity other than in the carpark (and even then this is dependent on your provider - I got no service with EE until I got onto the main road near Battle - this is a bonus IMO).

There are pitches to suit various group combos. We had a pitch that fitted just one tent, but there were others that housed 2 or 3 tents. There are also pre-pitched yurts for hire.

Campfires are encouraged and we purchased logs on site. However, when they are delivered, they are left outside so were slightly damp the second night as it had rained. You'll need to bring kindling and firelighters, although they did have some charcoal for sale. Firepits are built in to the pitch rather than off the ground and all come with grill trivets - something that's worth mentioning here as not all do and many websites fail to be specific on whether they are provided. This means you are all set up for a BBQ.

The toilets are drop loos and were definitely a bit smelly. Otherwise, they were perfectly functional and equipped with loo roll. There's also a sink outside the toilet and you are encouraged to use their Ecover soap as it's better for the environment. Washing up sinks are provided, again with Ecover washing up liquid. There are two bucket showers, but I have to say that the novelty wore off very quickly. Firstly, they only have a small pipe feeding the site so the bucket took an age to fill. After which, it was difficult for 1 person to hoist it up. I count myself as being relatively strong, but I really struggled to keep the bucket hoisted up whilst I wound the rope round the hook. This is because of the 45 degree angle you need to hold the rope at. It was fine hoisting it, but the minute I tried to move the rope toward the hook it started to slip. The second day, it was easier as my partner and I went in together so she held the rope taut at one end whilst I hooked it on. It's probably easier if you only half fill the bucket and shower very quickly! Anyway, fear not as there is also a regular toilet and shower block (albeit with a trickle of water from the shower) if you start to lose the will to live.

There is excellent walking directly from the site, mostly through woods. You can walk to 2 pubs and the wardens will provide maps to guide you. There's also good walking in the surrounding countryside and if you have need of towns, Battle is on your doorstep and is a picturesque and historic place to visit.

If you are interested in astronomy, it's quite a dark site and we were able to make out a number of constellations. We had the added bonus of seeing the ISS pass over on the second night, swiftly followed by a shooting star.

There's no parking by your pitch, so you need to use the wheelbarrows to transport your stuff. This is fine if you can grab one of the larger barrows (which means you'll probably move your belongings in 2-3 trips), but these were at a premium on the Sunday morning when everyone was striking camp. Definitely more barrows needed! Fortunately, one man was so desperate for our barrow that he offered to cart our second load back to the car for us :-).

The site has a policy of no music and has a quiet curfew at night. This was never a problem, unlike some sites where curfews are not enforced. The wardens live on site so I doubt they'd tolerate any disruption. During the day, there were kids playing and there appeared to be some sort of treasure hunt on the Saturday morning. All the kids were well-behaved though (we find it's normally the adults who are the problem anyway, hence the need for music policies and late night curfews).

I'd definitely recommend this site and will probably return next year. It's the most expensive we've stayed at, but you are buying privacy, darkness at night and good walks from the site. It's also only 90 mins from where I live so great for a weekend trip from London. As such, it was full of London escapees and had a very 'middle-class professional' vibe to it.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richardhall100 1 review from this member

We have stayed here for the past 3 years and always found the place magical and so peaceful. The pitch sizes are huge which really makes a massive difference when we want to escape the rat-race of London - the last thing you want is to be stuck next to another camper so close you can hear every word they say which happens a lot at other campsites. The surrounding woods are fantastic and the kids love the freedom and all the space. There are a couple of great pubs nearby as well which always helps!

There is nothing better than sitting round a roaring fire in beautiful woodland surroundings with no traffic noise - BLISS!

The facilities are everything you need and the wardens Loz and Theresa are really friendly and helpful. Literally cannot fault this place and have already booked up our 2016 camping.

Well done guys!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Moonkayuk 1 review from this member

A friend and I have just had a splendid weekend here 'Hammock camping' (even with the horrendous storm on Friday night) as we are fairly new to this style of camping (have been Tent camping for 10+years) we wanted to try it out a few times in a more organised area (facilities, easy access to car etc)until we knew what we were doing. Trying to find a campsite that has all this, but still gives you enough space so you feel in the wilds is no mean feat, especially as most places are now booked out.

After emailing Hugh (owner) to se eif this was allowed, he promptly replied and said this was no problem, and a warden would be on hand to point me in the right area to go. Upon arrival the first thing that struck me was the sheer size of the area you can walk around (huge lush mixed forest areas with a few bell tents and pitches scattered amongst the main area at the to of the hill, all these were spaced out, with tons of room (and trees) between each area, giving you privacy).

We were met by a super friendly Theresa(warden), who, even though it was lashing it down. Spent the time walking me around the site and pointing out possible areas suitable to put a hammock and tarp up. We decided (after much deliberation) on a great little spot in the woods just off one of the tracks, 100m from a small compost toilet, which are very effective. Pitched (hitched?) up and got dinner on the go. Next day we woke up and went for a walk to the nearest village pub, the Netherfield arms for a pint and a ploughman's(friendly landlord and landlady, even after we left a load of mud on the carpet). This walk took us through the heart of the forest a good 4 miles walk there and back. If you love a good nature walk, this is the place for you. Thousands of butterflies everywhere, buzzards, Deer, rabbits, and we even found some small muddy banks with Common lizards on them. Back at camp we were then able to wander up the hill and try out the eco friendly bucket showers. I was totally sceptical about these but thought I would give them a go, and was pleasantly surprised. Very hot water, and they last long enough to have a proper shower. There is a standard shower and flushing toilets for the less adventurous, in a block near the car park, but whilst in Rome and all that. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable weekend, despite the weather. It felt like we were wild camping, but had back up facilities within a short walk. I will be coming back with the hammock and tarp (I recommend this style as we were totally sheltered from the storm, but could still see everything going on around us, and woke up to the sunrise in the forest) I will also be coming back with a tent and the other half. One note, Phone reception is utterly awful (non-existent) down away from the main area and even then it was intermittent. To me this was utterly brilliant, as I couldn't be contacted at all, after all that's half the fun of wild camping. This totally suits the ethos of this site 'off grid camping'. If sadly, you are unable to survive without social media etc. Then you probably should look somewhere else (but you would be a fool to do so)

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1809 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019