Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Springfield Uk

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > St Albans > Springfield Uk Reviews

CLOSED: Springfield Uk
Old Parkbury Lane
St Albans
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this campsite at this location has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches, although the venue itself is still going with weddings, outdoor experiences, festivals etc. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Tonyol 2 reviews from this member

 Well just wicked. had lovely time. thanks to the owners, Made sure was always ok asking if we want tea / coffee every morning

Very looked after grounds

Will be going back very soon

Thanks 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has now reopened and once again offers camping pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julie Heather 3 reviews from this member

 Gosh. A lot has changed since the last time we visited! I thought it was a very good campsite before but now its even better!

The landscape is really maturing - grass still looks like a golf course though. Still scared to put a peg into it just in case I damage the grounds!

The staff have changed but all are still very friendly and extremely helpful. On arrival We were shown around the campsite and facilities, we were allowed to choose our own pitch and finally, all our camping gear was transported via a golf buggy to the pitch.

There is a new shower block currently being built, however the current showers were in a large glass building housing a swimming pool. I understand from the staff that once the new shower block is built, the glass building will open as a coffee house.

We met the owner who came to book us in and as he saw my husband struggling with our new tent helped to assist with putting this up. Never seen that at a campsite!

There's lots of land for the kids to run around and play. We especially loved the open firepit areas.

We tried the archery on the Saturday and this is the most fun we have had as a family for ages. Would highly recommend this - it's not a normal boring archery in a field - this was some training in a field followed by a woodland course where you shoot at animal shaped targets.

The rubbish was cleared every few hours and the toilets were very clean. As the camspite was busy, on occasions we did have to wait a couple of times, however this was not much of a problem.

We were placed in the section with parents with young kids, we were warned not to camp too close to the firepit areas as these areas could be noisy at night time should we retire early - we ignored the advise and regretted this - however when we spoke to the owner the following day, his staff helped to move our tent to a quiter area.

I really can't say a bad thing about this site - yes, there's a bit of noise from the motorway but, you get used to this and after a few minutes, don't even notice it anymore. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daniel-J 2 reviews from this member

 One word - amazing!

Its a bit of an adventure trying to find the place - admittedly that was our fault. Initially, when we first phoned, we were told to download the map from the campsites website - and we didn't!

On arrival, we were met by the owner who showed us the facilities and camping area. Initially, I wont lie, I was a bit disappointed that we couldn't park our cars next to the tents however after the explanation from the owner, it does make sense as kids play around on the campsite grounds and safety was the main priority. Talking about the grounds, these were very very well kept - it was more like a golf course then a campsite. (5 out of 5 stars for the grounds)

A member of staff helped move all our camping gear from the car park to the campsite with the use of the campsites golf buggy. (5 stars for this - first time ever). Apparently they do this for everyone.

The toilet block has three toilets and a sink to wash hands. It was very clean, every time we used it - bearing in mind it was raining heavily on the first night, you would have thought it would have been wet, muddy and filthy, but it was the total opposite. Behind the block, there's a very large metal trough where we could wash our plates. It could do with having hot water here, however, it wasn't a big problem as there was washing up liquid and a scrub provided. The owner is looking at putting something here that offers hot water.

The pricing is based on tent sizes and not the number of people - as we all had 6 man tents with 5 to 6 people sharing, it worked out really cheap at around £7. 00 each per night. Normally where its been based on people, I found its cost around £10 per person per night and that's around Kent and Devon! Taking into account this is London, we found it was really reasonably priced for the location.

The tents were all spread out - meaning there was lots of space to run around and play games and we weren't on top of each other. We later found out that the owner doesn't allow too many tents at any one time meaning everyone attending has the feeling of space and freedom. There's so many great things I could say here, but moving on.

Something I've never experienced before is how organised this campsite is - what I mean by this is, the campsite is split into four sections. At one end of the site, was where parents with young kids were placed, then further on, it was parents with teenagers, then a section for adults that wish to go to bed early and finally pour section. Adults that wish to enjoy sitting around the fire until whenever.

The bins were regularly emptied throughout the day.

The following day, we all (40 adults) opted for the campsites evening BBQ offer and everyone including the vegies amongst us really enjoyed it. For the BBQ, there was Greek feta salad, burgers, veterinarian fajitas, freshly made tuna pasta and freshly made garlic bread - so tasty and very filling, and, all for only £10. 00 each!

Some of our more adventurous bunch (including myself) tried out the archery that was on offer - Really well run, good instruction and teaching, very safety conscious and easily the most enjoyable half day activity, especially the woodland part of the course. (5 out of 5 stars for this)

In a nutshell - fantastic campsite, a bit basic as it doesn't have a club house - but that's not what we were after. We could go to Butlins if that's what we wanted! This is an amazing site and embodies what camping is all about. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Npattni 1 review from this member

 This was our first ever camping trip for a group of friends - be it the wrong time of year!

Josh who runs the campsite, was excellent, he called us on the morning and informed us that a GAzebo we had hired had been put up and a fire already started for us.

On arrival, they went out of their way to help us and ensure we had a good stay - even helped pitch our tents!

The facilities are great, modern and clean.

We took advantage of the archery which is professionally taught and great fun for adults and children. Highly reccomended.

Will certainly return. (in warmer weather). 


Date of Visit: September 2015  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 We couldn't find this site at first just from the Sat Nav and we ended up in the middle of the industrial estate, but upon reading the directions on the listing on here it all made complete sense and we found the site with no problem.

We could not track the owner down at first, but he was on site and when we met him he was friendly and chatty and advised where we could pitch and how much it was.

The field is huge, about 5 acres and very well kept and he said we could pitch anywhere and if we wanted to use one of the three prepared fire pit areas then we could and he supplied wood for this too, although there are petrol stations just round the corner where you can purchase this too.

The field is fairly flat with gentle slopes, and not enough to cause any problems. My biggest issue was not being allowed to take the car on the field and unload / reload, as he said it would churn up the grass and I had to leave it in the car park beyond view and very annoying as it took quite a few trips to unload. He lent us a barrow when we were going home, so made it a bit easier. There is masses of space on the field and plenty for kids to run around and play games.

There is no electric and this is a tent only site.

The toilet block, located next to the house, was a small shed with just three toilets, one sink with cold water tap only, one washing up sink with cold water only and a drinking water tap, attached to the washing up sink. As mentioned there was no hot water and no showers available, but handwash was provided. The toilets were usable and certainly not the worst I have used, but not the best. Simply making the toilet doors go all the way to the floor would be a huge improvement and stop people easily being able to see in.

As others have said the location is 15 minutes from the M25 and half an hour from St Albans City centre and Watford Town centre. There are a few nice pubs nearby and the Moor Mill is the closest which is just a few minutes in the car. There are major supermarkets in both St Albans and Watford with Radlett being home to essential shopping and boutique type places.

There is walking and cycling in the area with lots of footpaths etc.

Being very close to the M25 the noise was constant, but to be fair as it was constant it was a drone that blended in and before long I didn't even notice it.

The site is quite expensive at £20 for two of us in a two berth tent. This is on a par with other sites that offer full facilities, proper toilet and showers etc. So I would suggest either build a spanking new facilities block and keep charging £20 per 2-berth tent, or keep the site as it is, which is fine, but charge a realistic rate for wild camping without decent facilities, say £5 per adult.

Overall this is a chilled out site where you can have a roaring fire and enjoy a camping weekend with friends with plenty of space to play and I would return if in the area again for a one-nighter. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susannah J 2 reviews from this member

 This was a wonderful campsite, but many problems that weren't addressed.

The park itself was gorgeous, with lots of room for children to run around in. However it was the most expensive campsite that I have ever stayed in, and it was definitely not worth the money. I felt that the owner was trying to squeeze as much money as possible from his customers. There were only 3 toilets for a really busy campsite, in the same room as the only sink, so brushing teeth was a bit of an unpleasant experience, especially as the toilet doors were only half size, so you could see everyone's knees (and pants!). The showers were not very good, despite claims on their website, there were only 2 showers separated by a flimsy, removable curtain, leaving you quite exposed. There was no hot water for washing up, and no soap in the toilet the whole weekend. Archery was offered, but at £15 a child, it was really expensive. It was a shame, as the place was great, but until these problems are addressed, I couldn't return. The owner was VERY defensive to any constructive criticism. In other areas he was very helpful, and had friendly. The site has the potential to be really good! However, if he charges premium rates, he MUST deliver a better service. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RussellBrand 1 review from this member

 The best way to explain a campsite such as this is by saying: it has everything you’d want from a campsite. Having read the previous reviews, this was the main reason our group visited Springfield Park.

The grounds are kept ‘tip top’, the toilets and showers are great and kept very clean, the staff are extremely helpful, and both the archery and shooting activities are something you certainly don’t want to miss.

The fact there’s three communal firepits was no problem for our group, bearing in mind, nowadays, very few campsites allow fires at all. In the evening as we struggled with starting a fire, one of the staff who saw we were struggling helped kick it off.

This campsite is located only five minute’s drive from the M25 and the M1, outside the main road is the old St Albans Road leading to straight into London (most people know this as Edgware Road) and there’s also train links at Radlett station which takes you straight into Kings Cross. So… the very dull drum of the M25 really was not a problem for anyone in our group. Taking into account we opted for this campsite based on its location, we cant really moan about the dull drum of the motorway!

Radlett, a small, pretty village, is only a short five minute drive away and has various shops ranging from the Tesco express, Budgens etc. 10 minute's drive in the opposite direction is St Albans, where there's everything ranging from the big Sainsbury's, Waitrose to the great big Malls.

We loved the fact it was a ‘tents only’ campsite and we couldn’t believe how on arrival the staff not only showed us around first, but then they helped us move all our belongings over to the camping grounds using their golf buggy. The litter was constantly collected throughout our stay and the breakfast the campsite offers was brought out to our tents at 9. 00am with a cup of tea/coffee. Not only was that a nice touch, but the breakfast was amazingly yummy.

Anyway, it was the best campsite we’ve stayed at, and have NEVER know anyone that goes this far out of their way to help and make sure everyone (not just our group, but everyone that was camping at the campsite) is okay. Would highly recommend this campsite, . Its fantastic, great place for young children as it is very private, safe and clean.

We will definitely be visiting again and again and again. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heidihi 3 reviews from this member

 Nice, peaceful little camp for a couple of nights away. Owner was welcoming and friendly. There were only a couple of other families camping when we were there and we enjoyed an evening by the communal fire and use of the owner's barbeque.

The shower situation was a little strange (curtained area in corner of 'doggy hydropool' building with lots of glass: not sure if we could lock the sliding doors?) but I did enjoy a good long shower. Would not be keen on repeating it during busier times though. :o

A little odd that I've read some complaining of the noise. I found it very quiet considering where it's located! (though we did have a bit of a 'mare finding it! lol) 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1774 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement