Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Ilton Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Kingsbridge > Ilton Farm Campsite Reviews

Ilton Farm Campsite
Malborough
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 3BZ
Tel: 01548 843635  or  07974242329
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Spudle 2 reviews from this member

 We wanted to visit Salcombe and Hope Cove by E bicycles and this site was situated perfectly between the two places. The site is off of the main Salcombe Road down a steep narrow lane (ok for our Autotrail and Electric bikes).

There are 2 flat hard standing pitches available both with electric/water and several grass pitches, also an excellent toilet/shower/laundry block.

The site has views over fields to the estuaries and small villages and at the top of the lane there is a super farm shop with cafe. The Blue Whale named we presume because of its blue coloured building.

£17 a night included electric and WiFi, good value. We would have given 10/10 had the entrance in /out not been so steep, and as we could not see anything for children our score reflects this too. 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Patric33162eeh 1 review from this member

 What a fabulous site,

Jon the owner was so helpful and friendly,

Fabulous country and estuary views down to Salcombe,

Shower block excellent & spotlessly clean,

No childrenís play area but that suits us as we have no children,

Ideal for going into Salcombe where there are nice shops, lovely pubs & excellent restaurants (recommend the Crab Shed),

Local bus stop at top of lane,

Malborough & Kingsbridge not far by car with local shops & pubs with good eating too.

We intend booking for next year & canít wait to go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: My4423chummy 2 reviews from this member

 An excellent campsite overall.

A group of us stayed with our pre-war cars, bringing motorhomes and trailers. There was loads of space on the pitches for everything.

Itís a fair walk to the facilities from the main camping field, but worth it for the truly stunning views - we were also very lucky with the weather! The facilities themselves were spotless.

From the site, you can walk into the village (itís about a mile or so), where thereís a garage/shop for supplies and at least one pub that does good food.

One of our group was taken ill and hospitalised while we were there, and the owners couldnít have been more helpful with allowing some people to stay longer and helping to move his motorhome so that his wife was nearer to the others. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AndyandSara 3 reviews from this member

 Gem of a campsite.

Brand new facilities which are clean and have all you need including free showers and indoor washing up facilities.

I was impressed by the safe charging points which we didn't need to use due to the fact the weather was scorching and I had my new solar charger to play with.

Staff were friendly and extremely helpful.

Bus runs up the main road so you don't have to use your car to get everywhere and the local pub was friendly and about 20mins walk.

Best of all was the view, overlooking the Salcombe estuary is beautiful and very relaxing.

Can't wait to go again. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Zoeclump 1 review from this member

 Iíve been reading reviews on Ilton Farm and whilst itís good to hear that most are excellent, itís a shame you canít respond to specific comments others make. In particular some about the noise.

Itís so refreshing to hear people enjoying themselves regardless of the time. Iíve got a young family and I didnít mind ! When people go on holiday you expect them to have a good time, laugh, joke and let their hair down. They donít want the fun police spoiling their holiday time! Their is far too much sadness in the world to worry about hearing some fun itís what you expect when your camping !

Iíve been to many and this by far is the best location you will find, excellent facilities, excellent location and love the new showers!  
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ChrisSue 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed the first May Bank Holiday weekend. Check in was easy without disturbing the farmer because pitch sites are clearly written on the chalkboard. Our pitch at the top of the field was nice and level and we had a lovely view of the rolling hills.

Some pitches (and the gorgeous shepherd's huts) had excellent views of the estuary. We were allowed to use a freezer for ice packs at no charge (our fridge broke years ago but it makes an excellent ice box).

We managed to get our bikes up to the main road with some pedalling, some pushing and lots of huffing and puffing. It's not far at all, we're just not very fit! It was worth it because directly opposite the little lane across the road is Bike Route 28, a gently undulating path towards Salcombe.

It makes a safe footpath for walkers and a pleasant bike ride. We decided to leave our bikes at the Park and Ride. From there, it's a 15-min steep walk down into Salcombe or a short bus ride. We tried both because the Crabfest was on and there were extra buses.

Salcombe is very yacht-orientated. We had a lovely meal at Bearz Bar and Restaurant (which has The Kidz & Co Soft Play Cafť above it). A great choice of Veggie, Vegan and Fish - really nice staff and tasty food. There's a good selection of shops and plenty of other pubs and restaurants to choose from. But parking in town is tricky.

The site facilities were hard to judge because the lovely new block was undergoing compulsory checking by S. W. Water. We felt for the poor farmer who would not have chosen Bank Holiday weekend to do this, but S. W. Water obviously don't care. So the old facilities attached to the farmhouse are not great, but they were kept clean. With the new facilities up and running (which they will be by the time you read this) this is definitely a site to recommend.

We also suffered from some folks who are new to camping and were apologetic in the morning. They were in an awning partying into the night. At 11. 45pm I got out of bed and begged them to be quiet, so they kindly moved into the caravan. This lovely site is advertised as quiet, and it genuinely is - we weren't disturbed by road noise, or farm sounds, just folks who don't realise that canvas doesn't attenuate raucous laughter.

Since there aren't loads of rules plastered everywhere (a good thing) you rely on your fellow campers to be considerate after 10. 30pm at the latest! Perhaps next time, we'll book one of the Shepherd's Huts as they look great. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy75 45 reviews from this member

 Views are the reason to come here!

The backdrop is stunning on a sunny day with a panoramic down to Kingsbridge and beyond. The site is set on an open field with a typical gradual Devon sloping hillside. I camped near the top which was much flatter ground. There was a healthy supply of ECU points for all units if specified and a central standpipe. Toilets were attached to the farmhouse back over the road from the field.

There was a selection of superb looking pods being installed for the summer during my visit, again with great views from the door.

Salcombe is best reached on foot along a path which follows the roadside and will take around 40 minutes where a great selection of pubs, cafes and gift shops can be found.

I found two slight downsides to this place, I felt the site was established enough to locate the facilities within the field mainly for the less abled person, possibly next the the new huts etc. The other being the showers which I could not fault apart from a 20p meter which I have always strongly opposed on sites and prefer it to be incorporated with the fee.

However there is much ongoing work here for a farm campsite, I feel exciting times lie ahead and wouldn't hesitate to return 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chopchop 15 reviews from this member

 Having just returned from this site I wanted to leave a review of our stay.

We followed the alternative route from Modbury. We found this better than the other route.

You enter the site down a short narrow lane. Nothing to worry about.

The site is very relaxed. We stayed on the Caravan Club CL pitches which are at the top of the field with the best views.

There are 2 taps at either end of the field and the elsan is by the farmhouse.

The toilet block is attached to the farmhouse. There are 2 showers and 2 toilets with sinks. All unisex. The showers are operated by 20p coins. I timed it at 1 min 30 seconds for my 20p. A quick shower cost 80p. The showers are not that powerful either. This is the first time we have used our shower in the van everyday. If you are used to using your own facilities then you will be fine. Don't let this put you off. There is planning permission applied for to build a new toilet block.

The site is very well positioned with a bus stop at the end of the lane and a cycle/footpath leading to Malborough and Salcombe. Salcombe is a 40 min walk. We also did the walk to Hope Cove which was about an hour. There is a Co-op in Malborough with a petrol station and stocks all that you need.

We ate at a different place in Salcombe every day and all were very good. Sunday lunch in The Victoria, The Fortescue, The Crab Shack, The Kings Arms and the Wardroom on other days. If you like gin, then try the Salcombe Gin Distillery, it has a bar upstairs with views over the water.

There is a steady walk to South Beach and North Beach. We got the ferry back.

All in all a pleasant stay in Salcombe. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Delabane 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Ilton Farm Campsite for 6 nights over the Easter weekend with our 3 young children. It' s a lovely location to explore South Devon. There is a Co-op petrol station about a mile away which was handy for basic food and fuel.

We did not spend too much time on the site as we were wanting to explore but when we were there it was a nice quiet site with some lovely views.

The facilities were basic Ė not much for children to do but adequate and at £16 a night with electric hook-up for 5 of us in a big tent with awning, we can't complain.

Despite it been busy everywhere else we went, the campsite did not feel full (5 tents and about 8 caravans in use) and we only had to queue for the toilets/shows a couple of times.

I can see this being a possible issue in the summer when it's busier. Overall good value for money if you are after a quiet site to use as a base to explore the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights while walking the SW Coast Path, had a pleasant stay and thought that the site was a good, decent campsite and the owners were very pleasant and happy to help.

The site is on a large slope, but we were able to find a reasonably flat spot to park the vans and there was plenty of space between us and the next few units. There were plenty of EHU points and a few water points.

The facilities are right at the bottom of the slope and were a long way to walk for us as we decided to pitch at the top. Only 3 cubicles and 3 showers and I did have to queue briefly for both on occasion, so it could be quite bad in the height of the season.

The surrounding area is very nice and the section of coast path from Bantham to Salcombe is one of the best in this part of South Devon. Salcombe itself is a picturesque little place, but you could sense that it may be too much when busy.  


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ilton Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ilton Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ilton Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kingsbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5813 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020