Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ilton Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Ilton Farm Campsite
Malborough
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 3BZ
Tel: 01548 843635
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy75 45 reviews from this member

Views are the reason to come here!

The backdrop is stunning on a sunny day with a panoramic down to Kingsbridge and beyond. The site is set on an open field with a typical gradual Devon sloping hillside. I camped near the top which was much flatter ground. There was a healthy supply of ECU points for all units if specified and a central standpipe. Toilets were attached to the farmhouse back over the road from the field.

There was a selection of superb looking pods being installed for the summer during my visit, again with great views from the door.

Salcombe is best reached on foot along a path which follows the roadside and will take around 40 minutes where a great selection of pubs, cafes and gift shops can be found.

I found two slight downsides to this place, I felt the site was established enough to locate the facilities within the field mainly for the less abled person, possibly next the the new huts etc. The other being the showers which I could not fault apart from a 20p meter which I have always strongly opposed on sites and prefer it to be incorporated with the fee.

However there is much ongoing work here for a farm campsite, I feel exciting times lie ahead and wouldn't hesitate to return

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chopchop 15 reviews from this member

Having just returned from this site I wanted to leave a review of our stay.

We followed the alternative route from Modbury. We found this better than the other route.

You enter the site down a short narrow lane. Nothing to worry about.

The site is very relaxed. We stayed on the Caravan Club CL pitches which are at the top of the field with the best views.

There are 2 taps at either end of the field and the elsan is by the farmhouse.

The toilet block is attached to the farmhouse. There are 2 showers and 2 toilets with sinks. All unisex. The showers are operated by 20p coins. I timed it at 1 min 30 seconds for my 20p. A quick shower cost 80p. The showers are not that powerful either. This is the first time we have used our shower in the van everyday. If you are used to using your own facilities then you will be fine. Don't let this put you off. There is planning permission applied for to build a new toilet block.

The site is very well positioned with a bus stop at the end of the lane and a cycle/footpath leading to Malborough and Salcombe. Salcombe is a 40 min walk. We also did the walk to Hope Cove which was about an hour. There is a Co-op in Malborough with a petrol station and stocks all that you need.

We ate at a different place in Salcombe every day and all were very good. Sunday lunch in The Victoria, The Fortescue, The Crab Shack, The Kings Arms and the Wardroom on other days. If you like gin, then try the Salcombe Gin Distillery, it has a bar upstairs with views over the water.

There is a steady walk to South Beach and North Beach. We got the ferry back.

All in all a pleasant stay in Salcombe.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Delabane 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at Ilton Farm Campsite for 6 nights over the Easter weekend with our 3 young children. It' s a lovely location to explore South Devon. There is a Co-op petrol station about a mile away which was handy for basic food and fuel.

We did not spend too much time on the site as we were wanting to explore but when we were there it was a nice quiet site with some lovely views.

The facilities were basic not much for children to do but adequate and at 16 a night with electric hook-up for 5 of us in a big tent with awning, we can't complain.

Despite it been busy everywhere else we went, the campsite did not feel full (5 tents and about 8 caravans in use) and we only had to queue for the toilets/shows a couple of times.

I can see this being a possible issue in the summer when it's busier. Overall good value for money if you are after a quiet site to use as a base to explore the area.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 81 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a couple of nights while walking the SW Coast Path, had a pleasant stay and thought that the site was a good, decent campsite and the owners were very pleasant and happy to help.

The site is on a large slope, but we were able to find a reasonably flat spot to park the vans and there was plenty of space between us and the next few units. There were plenty of EHU points and a few water points.

The facilities are right at the bottom of the slope and were a long way to walk for us as we decided to pitch at the top. Only 3 cubicles and 3 showers and I did have to queue briefly for both on occasion, so it could be quite bad in the height of the season.

The surrounding area is very nice and the section of coast path from Bantham to Salcombe is one of the best in this part of South Devon. Salcombe itself is a picturesque little place, but you could sense that it may be too much when busy.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicky Hatherell 19 reviews from this member

Just returned from a great weekend at this site. The views were lovely, the grass kept short and tidy. There were 2 water taps in the field, one at the lower end and one at the top.

The best things about this site was the free wifi and the facility to refreeze ice packs at no extra charge.

The toilet block, as others have mentioned, is across a small road, not a problem unless you have small children. We were surprised given the quality of the site to only find 3 toilets (unisex) for the whole site. Of course many of those there had caravans or motor homes with their own facilities, but we still had to queue a few times even though there were not many tents in the field. Also the only wash hand basins were in the toilet cubicles which slowed up the whole process, especially in the mornings or at bedtime when someone just wanting the loo had to wait for those having a wash and cleaning their teeth.

The other thing was the lack of washing up facilities;there was one hut half way up the field with a sink and draining board, but only had cold water. Hot water was available for 20p to takeaway by the bucket from the toilet block. Not ideal. We were ok because we could wash up at our tent, made all the easier by the lovely weather we had, but in worse weather needing to wash up in the rain inside the tent would not have been much fun.

Chatting to the owner / farmer who was very friendly it seems there are plans to open all year around; my suggestion would be to improve on the toilet and washing up facilities. Would definitely improve the service and lead to more business.

Overall though, it was a nice site and we enjoyed our time there, especially with it being in easy walking distance to Salcombe.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coastwalker 37 reviews from this member

No arguments with previous reviews. A decent site for the price. It is signed from the main Kingsbridge to Salcombe road. I bagged a flattish piece of grass but most of the field for non club members is on a slope. 2 water taps in the field and the shower/toilet block is at the farmhouse. These are ok, but the entrance, in a corner by some bins, is not appealing. The owner was business like, rather than chatty.

Views of rolling country and a bit of the estuary are nice. Kingsbridge is the place for supplies.

The area is very picturesque and interesting. You can walk into Salcombe down some rather muddy and overgrown bridle paths, or carefully along the single track roads. If you are fit you can walk back again. Salcombe is, as is to be expected, very yachty, but well worth some time. The coastal path is excellent in this area. The best bit for me was a trip into Dartmouth. The weather helped, but you could spend days here just watching the harbours, ferries and steam train work. It is also a proper country town with real shops and a market.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pscylo 4 reviews from this member

OK for the money. Showers run on 20p - took me 40p to have a shower. 1 would give you a long time.

Sloping field - not all pitches will have a view of Salcombe. Long walk to the toilets/chem disposal if you're at the top of the field. Toilet facilities are indeed over a public road. It's not busy, but those with young 'uns watch out. Toilets, showers are adequate.

It might be an idea to pop some solar garden lights next t the steps down to the toilets just to make it a little safer. I found it to be a little precarious at night and a little light would make it a lot safer.

There are number of beaches nearby, Salcombe and Kingsbridge are quant places to have a wander around. There are two supermarkets at Kingsbridge, and some smaller more local shops nearer (garage at Malborough).

Entrance road is narrow. Keep your fingers crossed that you don't meet a caravan coming the other way. I would go back if I were in the area again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Redharrinor1 3 reviews from this member

I Love this site!

I have stayed here twice now this year, May & July and would highly recommend this site to anyone.

The owner is very helpful and accommodating, view of the estuary / Kingsbridge is Fantastic.

We are in a caravan so do not need to use the Loo's etc but my wife and 12yr old daughter did and also the shower for their hair and said after the refurb the are fine. The water has good flow and nice and hot. Cleaned everyday which is always a bonus.

Location is 10/10 for Salcombe and surrounding beaches.

My only negative from a Tourer's point of view is the Chemical waste are could be a bit more private with the added bonus of a splash back so you don't get splashed, not a major problem but would be nice to have.

I will be coming back and would recommend to anyone, lovely clean grassy pitches with great views and relaxed owners, what more could you want.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MBrooks 1 review from this member

I visited this site in July, I was a bit concerned as I had read singingcavys review.

The toilets and showers have now been refurbished as promised by the owners and I found them clean and comfortable. I discussed the showers with them and was told they had hoped to have them completed earlier but had been let down by their plumber.

The site has lovely views and spacious plots. The grass is well trimmed and the site clean and tidy.

We had a lovely stay in a relaxed friendly atmosphere

Corringdon

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hawcara 40 reviews from this member

The site is accessed via a very narrow road, one would not wish to meet a caravan coming the other way as reversing would be very difficult, even getting down the side of the van would be tight~unless you were thin.

We stayed in peak season and for 16 a night this was acceptable.

The toilets and showers are across the lane from the campsite, along which cars travel quite fast. (Young children should be accompanied).

The toilets 3, one outside and two showers, were part of the farm buildings and whilst fairly modern and clean, did not seem enough for the number of vans on site, although we did not have to queue.

Elec was included in the price and pitches were fairly big. Water point were situated throughout the site and rubbish points at the bottom.

The only downside to the site was that the pitch was sloping and you would have to provide your own levelling blocks, I would suggest quite a few.

Access to Salcombe is along the road and the path is adequate for most of the way. There is a garage about 0. 7 miles away which sells newspapers.

There did not seem to be any facilities for children though the site was a large field. Difficult for ball games as it was sloping.

There was a bus stop on the main road and a park and ride on the way into Salcombe, which would be a more sensible option if visiting the town.

We would probably go again

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5329 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019