Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of River Dart Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Ashburton > River Dart Country Park > Reviews

River Dart Country Park
Holne Park
Ashburton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ13 7NP
Tel: 01364 652511
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 295
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kateandjames 66 reviews from this member

 I chose this site partly for nostalgic reasons, camped there some 35/40 years ago, and partly because it was handy for a couple of walks I wanted to do.

This site is expensive for the solo traveller, but I can see its attraction for families. The price included entrance to the adventure park, though plenty of additional money spinners seemed to be in place, equipment hire, tree climbing etc.

The on site shop was poor, sugar filled sweets, a bit of tinned food and plenty of cheap booze. There was a bar on site but most tables appeared booked out and the site was not even half full.

Toilets etc were OK, I didn't really use them, though the chemical waste area was dire. Pitches were quite large.

Customer service was very good on phone. Because of bad weather I rang 3 days before arrival to request a booking change to include electric, no problem. Then the day before I was due to arrive the site rang and asked if I minded being upgraded, because of weather, to hardstanding from grass at no extra charge.

On the plus side I managed to do a couple of good walks from the site, Newbridge and Buckfast. The Abbey at Buckast is worth a visit (free) and there's a good shop in the village with lots of local produce, food and homewares.

Overall I had a good stay, it's a great place for families, and although a lot has changed over the years the site holds some happy memories. 🤗 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Whegyn 1 review from this member

 The site is big and busy but because there are lots of different areas and camping fields, it never felt too crowded.

It was our first trip with our new 8 berth tent and I was worried about the tent size but the pitches are massive and it was no problem.

The surrounding area is great for walking the dog and there is a wier a short walk away where lots of kids went in with wetsuits and inflatables.

The pirate ship area was a bit 'young' for our teens but we did the high ropes which were surprisingly scary. We took bikes and I'm glad we did because being so big, it would have been a drag walking to the shop every day. And the kids loved being able to cycle off and have their independence.

We didn't try the takeaway service but there is one available and the little shop sold the basics (and quite a lot of tat!).

We also went mountain biking at nearby Haldon Forest which we thoroughly recommend. The trails are different levels of difficulty and all well marked.

Overall, we really enjoyed River Dart country park. Perfect if you want an 'easy' camping experience.

We were only there four days so didn't want to work too hard but if you were after a more adventurous experience you might find it a bit tame.

I would say it is perfect for families with young children as everything is on hand. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: SimonFromMK 1 review from this member

 Excellent facilities incl shower, laundry and dry room, driers, etc. They even have a bath in the family room in some facility areas.

Great for kids with adventurous hearts. There is a lake with a pirate ship in it that is straight out of Goonies so bring your kid's beach shoes and wetsuit shorties with you.

We are definitely going back which is saying something since this is in Dartmoor and a bit of a trek to get to, but there is something there for all ages and will be worth returning with the kids as they get older. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nikisn 1 review from this member

 Great set up. Loads for the kids to do, no time to get bored.

Everything we could possibly need, washing up facilities, toilets, showers, shop, pub.

We managed to get a last minute night away, the guy on the phone was so helpful and friendly staff when we arrived. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Gemgem 1 review from this member

 Amazingly large pitches. Appreciated not having to pay for gazebo like some sites.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Check in straight forward and organised considering Covid etc.

So much to do for family that you don't actually need to leave the site.

Feels very safe and secure with wardens around.

Great idea of hand sanitizer on most of the trees.

Cost a little steep.

Could do with a little more social distancing in the dish washing area. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Davidb 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely environment. Not crowded which is good in these times.

Every interaction with employees was very good.

Id happily go again and think it would be fantastic with family groups 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Katie9 1 review from this member

 We booked as a family of four, (3yrs and 7 yrs). We also met up with friends and their 7 yr old.

We had a great pitch near the facilities and opposite the toddler playground. Kids absolutely loved it. We had plenty to do and the facilities available despite covid restrictions were great. Very pleased and will definitely be booking again.

Only note was that there is quite a narrow stretch of road to access the park, but hair raising at times but we got through fine. You just need to be confident in the width of your vehicle and and extras you might be towing! 😂 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Derie1 1 review from this member

 Well at 50. 00 per night 2 adults and a child I was expecting great things but to be honest the prices and charging are just plain greedy.

If all the kids activities were inc in that price then yes great but everything was extra. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Robcore 3 reviews from this member

 We had three day with our two grandson. The pitches are big but some can be on a bit of a slope. The facilities can be a bit busy in the mornings, but that's the popularity of the place.

Plenty for the kids to do. They were never bored, on the go all the time.

From swimming and playing in the lake, the adventure park, the high wires, cycle riding I don't know who enjoyed it the most Granddad or the grand kids. I left feeling fitter and I'm sure I lost a few pounds too.

Would recommend for active kids, or to get the kids active. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Macarw 25 reviews from this member

 We booked for 3 nights with some friends. They were in a campervan and we were originally going to be in a tent but upgraded to a caravan between booking the pitch and staying. We had originally been allocated a grass pitch and a hard standing across the field from each other. When I rang to ask if we could take a caravan instead of a tent we were told it was fine but we'd be better swapping pitches so that the caravan had the hard standing, and it worked out well. However the ground was very muddy and slippery in places due to the weather, and when we took up the awning carpet it was very wet and muddy underneath. (however the hard standing areas had gravel 'driveways' big enough to lay the awning on to pack it up avoiding the wet grass. The pitches weren't cheap as you pay for park entry as well as your pitch. Our friends in the campervan were told they could pack up and park in the car park and spend their last day in the park, but with our caravan in tow we weren't offered that option.

We had an email a few days before we were due to arrive reminding us that we needed a 25m hook up lead (definitely needed as the electric posts were well spread out)and reminding us not to follow the Sat Nav but use the signs.

We came off the A38 following the signs (easy to find) but got a bit worried when we ended up on a very narrow road on a hill for just over half a mile - a bit of a nightmare as cars passing our outfit had very little room, and hubby was not impressed to have to do a hill start on the narrow hill with the caravan on the back. We did check and that is the only access road. There are passing places once in the boundary of the park, but it would be really awkward for 2 wide vehicles to pass each other on the approach road. With this in mind, I would advise people to not arrive early for their pitch, and to leave by the 11am check out (or even before 10am when the park opens to the public) to avoid meeting another outfit on that road - I don't know what we would have done had that happened!

The site was huge, and there didn't seem to be enough toilet blocks for the number of pitches, however although they were busy they were mostly clean, and I only had to wait once over our 3 nights to use the facilities. As well as soap and water anti bac hand gel was provided for hand washing. The family room was spacious and had a bath, toilet and sink in but no shower. There were plenty of dishwashing sinks. Water taps were dotted around (not easy to spot) and the toilet waste was at the amenity block, however the grey waste water disposal was a long walk away - as we were on the riverside pitches and hubby couldn't find a disposal point and was told he had to go to the amenity block on the meadows pitches past the shop. This might explain why some of the fresh water tap drains were blocked and overflowing.

The pitches were large, we easily fitted our car, caravan and awning on ours, with the car beside the van, but they seemed very close together - the outfit next to us had a bedroom annex which was no more than an arm's length from the back of our caravan which was sited on our hard standing area. The tent pitches seemed very close together too.

The shop had some camping gear in it, lots of gifts/toys and a small selection of groceries which were really expensive, e. G. 3 for a pack of ham, 2. 20 for an individual bottle of coke, 3. 50 for a pack of sandwiches. I'd definitely recommend stocking up before you go (the site doesn't accept grocery deliveries) as supermarkets are a bit of a drive away. The food in the Sawmill again was really pricey - 12 for a burger. We had a drink in the bar one evening, and our puppy had 'doggy ice cream' for a treat! We were able to sit outside with her.

The activities available on site were brilliant. Our children thoroughly enjoyed the 'free' activities - the water activities, the play parks, the low ropes and the pump track, climbing trees and scooting/cycling/exploring the grounds. We also paid for the canoeing for which they bought a card 8 for a canoe that seated 3 for 1/2 hour - which was refundable if they didn't end up using it which we thought was a really good touch. We packed up early enough on the Sunday for the children to have a short time playing in the lake, and they had it to themselves - whether it was because it was early, and day visitors hadn't arrived, or whether it was changeover day, or because the sun wasn't out I don't know but it was great! The children had a quick look in the games room, there were a couple of pool tables and some arcade machines including a 2p 'penny falls' type machine, some 30p grab machines and others that were 1 a go.

It was a very dog friendly place although dogs needed to be kept on a lead. There were lots of lovely walks, and many dog litter bins around the site.

There was so much to do for the children we'd definitely return, but maybe out of peak season when it wasn't so busy. 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is River Dart Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to River Dart Country Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is River Dart Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashburton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2562 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement