Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hawkchurch Resort And Spa

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Axminster > Hawkchurch Resort And Spa > Reviews

Hawkchurch Resort And Spa
Hawkchurch
Axminster
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX13 5UL
Tel: 01745 858010
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Statics Only
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 33 Reviews
                7/10 from 33 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We have been advised that this cite is now closed to touring caravans, motorhomes and tents, and now offers holiday homes for sale only.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know.

Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Onionbargie 10 reviews from this member

 Very nice site, we where greeted with a friendly smile, The site has a barrier gate that is closed about 22. 00, after that time entry is by entering the code given on arrival, so very secure.

Lots of space for camping mostly level with some slight sloping but not enough to cause any bother.

The showers are probably the best I have seen, a mop and bucket is supplied so to wipe over after use, nice toilets. There is also a family room, and washing up area, The blocks are all cleaned regularly.

There is a small shop on site at reception selling all asentials.

A safe children's play area.

On site bar area with entertainment.

Hawkchurch caters for touring caravans and has statics but I can not comment too much on this as obviously did not experienced it.

Hawkchurch country park is very reasonable on price and in a perfect location to visit Lyme bay and surrounding coastal towns,

I would recommend Hawkchurch to couples or families, we are hoping to return before the children go back to school. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Xxxmariexxx 7 reviews from this member

 Booked late but got a pitch. Plenty of room, hardly anyone staying. No hot water or showers by the touring/tenting area. Had to walk to another unit nearer to the reception/shop to shower or to wash the pots/pans up, WHY? No activities during the day. Booked for 4 nights but stayed only 3. We were bored on the site. Tent used for sleeping only, we were out all day. Grass cut very short, ideal for tourers. No shady spots.

No we wouldn't be returning here.

Weather gorgeous.

Places to visit are ok, Charmouth, Lyme Regis, Sidmouth, Bridport etc some have hills to climb and steepish to descend. Portland Bill is as nice as its always been and is a great place to visit. Weymouth has a lovely seaside feel to it with many shops and takeaways. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moid 1 review from this member

 21st July to 29th

Site Location: was very good as it was within a 10 minute drive from Lyme and/or Axminster, easy to get on to the site itself (for caravans or trailers), the security barrier was not working on arrival and we were told it would be fixed the next day (it took 6 days in the end)on the whole a Very tidy, quiet and on the whole well maintained site with great scenery.

Site Facilities: Shower/toilet block by the reception were the best ive ever used; very clean and well maintained, with mop for showers and even heated towel rails and very spacious shower blocks and never a shortage of hot water.

The toilets near the tent were VERY basic and the showers were not in use at all and the lighting in the ladies did not work either. That said we only used it for the toilets/fresh water and showered in the decent block I mentioned earlier.

The Shop left a lot to be desired, for example, I was never able to get a loaf of white bread for the whole of the stay. The closing time was not great either being at 6pm, so if I decided to buy a couple of beers or anything else, after that time I was stuffed unless I went to the club or super market (in Axminster).

This brings me on to the club, this was well presented, clean with friendly staff and the meals were reasonable but basic pub grub type meals. So don't expect too much. The drinks were fairly priced and even had a take out carton for a couple of beers back at the pitch. The club has free broadband which was great until the club filled up, then everything crashed (probably down to peoples phones trying to connect regardless of them using it or not), this annoyed me in particularly as the one night I REALLY needed to use it, it was unavailable.

The site could really do with some more in the way of play area for the kids, as if we were not there with friends (and their kids) my daughter would of been very bored allot of the time.

Our pitch was very good, and almost flat as the field we were on was on a very gentle slope, however the other 2 camping fields were more sloped, so careful pitching would be required.

The broken light and the security barrier into the site did not work for most of the week until a Camping and caravan club rally turned up and then they were miraculously fixed!

Please note: The Camping and Caravan club bulk book the whole site from the last week of July for several weeks, so check with the staff before booking (this is not a bad thing I might add)

All this said, the pros far outweighed the cons and would like to visit the site again 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Darrens 4 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site and we were lucky enough to choose our pitch as the electrics were turned off at reception (maintenance work)when we arrived.

We chose pitch 322 if I recall correctly which was used as a seasonal pitch, which seems to be the norm for this site, but it was very quiet with not many touring caravans coming and going and was definitely quieter than last year.

Toilets and showers were fine and clean but the two I used were partially blocked by grass cuttings which is the fault of the campers rather than the site staff. The water in the Mop buckets was dirty and could be doing with being changed a few times a day.

The food in the bar was good although the menu was not as good as the year before (Bring back the Darwin Burger)

The Kids play area is very good too, my daughter loved it.

All in a nice site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sctait 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned froma 2 week break at Hunters Moon

The access to the site was very easy the site was well laid out mainly to hard standing, but we chose a grass pitch. I would recommend taking a walk around the site to select your pitch as we noticed a few people having difficulty turning there outfits around at the end of the grass pitches.

The 2 toilet blocks where kept immaculate & there was always plenty of hot water. I was never kept waiting for a shower or toilet. The fresh water, waste water & chemical toilet disposal points where also kept immaculate.

Although there was no 'view' at the site it is positioned in an area with so many attractions it never caused me any doubts about staying there again.

The kids found the play ground with in 2 mins of arriving & it must have been good as I was always despatched to round them up for meal times.

Sainsburys in Wearham 5 mins away took a bit of finding & parking could be limited. We found the fish & chips at Long Johns on west street to be far superior to the chip van that visited the site.

I would not hesitate to recommend this site to anyone wanting to visit Dorset or any of its attractions.

Corfe Castle, Swanage, Studland bay (shell beech actually nice sand & allows dogs on lead) all with in 1/2 drive.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Manokent 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed last year, in the same tent and had a good time, this is why we came back

No child entertainment this year at all, Games room has been closed, just a small play area with lots of older kids hanging around! If your tenting here, take lots of bat n ball games and board games as there is nothing else for the children to do on site. Restaurant, menu says all food locally sourced. Most things deep fried, tinned peas, items forgotten when ordered, ie sausages off mixed grill and new potatoes ordered but got chips instead. My wife ordered a Strawberry Cheesecake and it came out hot! When we went to complain was told by a lady at the bar ( not a member of staff ) that the cheesecakes are microwaved! It was horrible, not what you expect from a restaurant.

Three days into our holiday, we were told that there was somewhere to freeze our ice blocks, not told were freezer was on arrival, so assumed there was none, and it was on the other side of the camp! Took ages to walk there from the Camping to the freezer. Handy tip to owners, move it closer to the people most likely to use it! Toilets and shower block more often out of order than in use, Wife burnt her head in family shower room as water was so hot. Toilets and shower block were dirty, signs requesting that block be mopped out by last user, but very rarely was and anyway, mop bucket water was dirty and smelled horrible.

On a plus side, great location, park looks nice. This could be a fabulous park, in fact last year we had a really good time, but this year, no way would I recommend it and we won't be going back either! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kolaboss 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for the half term and jubilee celebrations we were camping with the temporary holiday site with the west midlands caravan and camping club.

The site was easy to fined we were pitched in one of the rally field's

The toilet block here was small and in need of some TLC also the showers were being fixed. However in the main toilet block these were clean, the showers were great always clean with mop and bucket to clean up after use.

There was another toilet block over other side of the site with a laundrette in which the wife said was expensive to use.

They had a small shop which was adequate.

The bar was tidy and clean bar meals were available they also had steak and curry night's. Entertainment was on at the weekends.

They had a very small play park for the kids not much else.

The dog walk was short but great through wooded area. The public foot path's continue on after the end of walk.

There was not much nearby unless you enjoyed walking plenty of footpath's.

Shopping could be done nearby in axeminster.

Good location for site seeing and exploring.

We stayed with the CCC so the pitch fees were cheaper also it never stopped raining for the whole time there and the worst storm we have ever been camping in. Never less we have a great time. If we had to pay full site fees we would probably be disappointed.

Tv reception was good 3G network came and went poor. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Homebird2003 19 reviews from this member

 Hawkchurch is a pleasant, clean, well laid out site suitable for touring in sectioned tree lined fields with an area containing static caravans with views over glorious countryside. Reception includes a shop with reasonable prices.

The bar/restaurant is bright & the staff welcoming although we only went in for take-away. There is a small games room with pool tables, arcade machines & table football. In the same building is a book swap & leaflets for local attractions.

Outside this is a small play area. The main toilet block contained large shower rooms with a useful alcove with a large mirror & hairdryer.

As we were in the rally field we had a smaller ablutions block which was adequate for the number of people using it. Mops & buckets were available which seemed to be well used. The toilet roll often ran out but I noticed that quite a lot of it ended up on the floor.

The dog walk is alongside the road but runs through a wooded area which leads to a footpath across fields which I think takes you into Hawkchurch village but as there were horses & sheep in the second field we didn't want to go further!

I noticed a few freezers which were available to campers for ice block freezing.

There doesn't seem to be much to see/do in walking distance (unless you are keen walkers) so we had to drive out every day. I would thoroughly recommend The Donkey Sanctuary, Sidmouth as a good free day out. The park is well placed for visiting, Somerset, Devon & Dorset. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kev+jo 5 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a ten day stay here and unless they sort the toilets out we would not be going back and speaking to a few people they will not be either!

The toilets and showers are not cleaned on a regular basis and the water in the mop buckets is filthy we had to change it ourselves in the family changing rooms.

Most days nearly all the toilets had run out of toilet paper and the mens toilet by the camping field had no soap from the Friday and it was still empty on the Tuesday when we left. We got a small paddling pool and chose to bath our two girls aged 3 years & 10 months in that rather than using the family shower room.

When I complained at reception I was told that many people had been complaining and then the lady just turned and started talking to someone else simply chose to ignore me.

It really is a shame that they let themselves down in this area as the site is in a lovely spot and close to a lot of places to visit, the children's play park is lovely and the shop has all the basics you need, the pitch sizes are reasonable as well. The bar and club is nice with good food and very clean.

All in all let down by basic cleaning standards but when camping this is vital. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hawkchurch Resort And Spa child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Hawkchurch Resort And Spa dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Axminster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2734 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement