Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Balranald Hebridean Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of North Uist > Balranald Hebridean Holidays Reviews

Balranald Hebridean Holidays
Hogha Gearraidh
Isle Of North Uist
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS6 5DL
Tel: 01876 510304  or  07748 267996
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 66 Reviews
                9/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Anderson24 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights as a single traveller with car and small tent. As has been stated in previous reviews, the facilities at this site are modern, good quality, and spotlessly clean, and there is also free wifi (best to get a pitch near to one of the two blocks for good connection).

A beautiful beach is only a few yards from the campsite, and the RSPB reserve is next door.

The nearest shop, a Coop, is 10 miles away at Solas, and has most of the essentials you may need.

If your mobile provider is BT or EE, there is a good 4g signal on the site, good enough to watch online video/tv etc.

All in all, I highly recommend this site, and will surely return myself when I next visit North Uist.

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BGgirl 8 reviews from this member

An excellent site in all respects. Facilities modern, spotlessly clean and very helpful staff.

The site is situated across a farm road from a magnificent sheltered bay with a white sand beach, ideal for walking and our dogs loved the freedom to run.

An RSPB reserve is next to the site for keen bird watchers and on the road in there is a small Co-Op for any supplies. There's no pub or other shop/entertainment facilities nearby but that was fine by us.

A peaceful retreat which we most definitely return to.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: S1lverfox 2 reviews from this member

This is a great site based on a RSPB reserve and only 40mtrs from a beatiful safe beach.

The staff are all very friendly and keep the facilities spotlessly clean.

There is also the Dune Cabin on site which serves Homemade soup, crab rolls and bacon rolls to take away, all delicious.

We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carllindley 4 reviews from this member

On the edge of the RSPB sanctuary the views and scenery are very good.

You can walk straight from the camp site into the reserve and see lots of wildlife. The beach over the burm is wide with very good views of the sun set.

There is a shop a couple of miles from the camp site on the way there or the larger supermarket is at Benbecula which is about 30 minutes drive.

Well maintained facilities, clean and empty even at busy times with friendly staff. There is a cafe wagon on site during the day if required.

The ability to book online was very good as we where travelling and had not booked passed the first night. Good price at £15 per night for a two man tent.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: FREEDOM 1 7 reviews from this member

Spent 6 nights on site, wish it could have been longer. The site is run very professionally by Anne and staff, as stated before the facilities are spotless,

Many thanks to John (real diamond geezer)and the Danish cycling couple for their assistance in erecting my tent in a Hebridean breeze.

The produce on sale at the Dunes catering cabinlooked delicious, had bacon and cheese rolls very nice.

Looking forward to visit number 7 next year.

Many thanks staff.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JMurphy 7 reviews from this member

Excellent site in a wonderful location next to the nature reserve. Ideal for walking along the coast, cycling, nature watching etc.

Great modern toilet blocks, everything just works!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robert2510 5 reviews from this member

One of the very best campsites I have ever stayed at. Very professionally run. Facilities are immaculate, probably the cleanest campsite I have stayed at.

Local wildlife is amazing; concrakes calling all night, lapwing chicks running by tent, drumming snipe! Perfect campsite.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carr999 1 review from this member

£17 for motorhome with 2 adults. Fairly level pitches, some hardstand, most with electric. 20 pitches plus tents and possibly more without electric.

2 modern new toilet blocks, £1 for 7. 5 mins shower, very clean.

Full recycling. Free WiFi covering a lot of the site, slow as expected, as it is in the middle of nowhere.

Very friendly lady owner. Food wagon was closed when we were there.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jujofred 4 reviews from this member

What a beautiful spot, right across the dunes from the most fantastic beach and the informative nature reserve just round the corner.

There is ample space for all whether you are in a tent, motorhome or caravan. EHU is available for those that require it.

We were blessed with glorious weather, but the ground is sandy and so I donít imagine it ever gets too waterlogged.

The facilities are spotlessly clean and really handy as there were many taking advantage of the lovely sunshine and heading off to the beach and into the water so it was great to have somewhere warm and toasty to shower afterward.

The ladies who run this site are so friendly and never seem to stop!

The little food van is a great asset too and serves a mean bacon butty! I would highly recommend the walk along the headland as advertised at the RSPB reserve.

The walk is beautiful and, certainly in July, was full of the colour and fragrance of all the wild flowers and is a bird watchers dream with the variety of birds nesting in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tinwheeler 6 reviews from this member

We arrived on a very wet evening during the aftermath of Storm Hector. Reception was closed when we arrived but our pitch was marked with our name. It was just unfortunate that we had to tramp around the site in the rain to find it!

The facilities are first class and the laundry machines worked well. There is a superb drive over drain for motorhome grey water disposal and, with EHU and Wi-fi, had everything we could need.

The Co-op shop at Sollas is well stocked, as are most of the island shops, and met our needs well.

The area around Balranald is spectacular with glorious beaches and the Machair. Itís particularly good if youíre a walker.

We would certainly use this site again.

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Isle Of North Uist      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3792 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019