Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hele Valley Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Ilfracombe > Hele Valley Holiday Park Reviews

Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Bay
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 9RD
Tel: 01271 862460
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dadad 3 reviews from this member

 Very good, large pitches; fully serviced too.

Site exit is steep; with our 6m twin axle van the only option was turn right on to A399. Turning left towards Barnstaple which we would have preferred is totally impossible because of the extreme gradient and limited space. A motorhome would probably be able to turn left.

Bear this in mind when planning your route when you leave. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Carlsenior 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one week with our Motor home towing a Smart Car on a trailer, booked a large fully serviced all weather pitch. The site in itself is lovely, immaculately clean and well kept with good facilities but this site does seem to be geared more to the Static Caravan side of things as opposed to the camping & touring. This is not an easy site to get into as it is set back from the main road up a narrow street with a couple of nasty corners (approach the site from the Coombe Martin direction otherwise you;ll have to turn around to enter the approach road) this wasn't helped by scaffolding erected on a house on the corner, only just made the bend with our outfit which is about 36' in total. The campsite is at the rear of the park (be careful as there are no pavements on the main road thro' the park and children seem to spend more time on the road with scooters & bikes than they do in the great play area) The pitches are neat and well kept the only slight issue was our pitch sloped slightly side to side and the gravel was so deep that our leveling ramps sunk so were of no use. The toilet block and facilities are spotlessly clean and well maintained. Summing up this a a great Park in a brilliant location don't believe the 10 minute walk to Ilfracombe it's 20-25 minutes at a fair pace to get to the harbour and longer on the cliff path. Hele itself is lovely with a good selection of places to eat and drink too. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flora Y 1 review from this member

 Stayed here with 2 teenage girls for approx 10 days in the summer holidays. Booking was very easy and my request for a corner / end of row pitch was honoured. Perhaps not as sheltered as some, but big, flat and well maintained. We were in a large-ish tent in the end field which may be worth requesting if you want to be further away from the zip wire and play area. My 2 realised they are getting a bit old for that now. Electric hook up all good although we had to bury our cable in the grass as it crossed a footpath. We encountered some strong winds during our stay but the valley position meant we were sheltered from some of the worst from Ilfracombe. Guess it always depends on which way the wind is blowing.

Key system for loos was a bit of a pain and took a few days for us to remember. One daughter left hers for no more than 5 mins in the washrooms and when she returned it had been taken - so we were £3 down. Perhaps a numbering system on keys would prevent this and help return lost ones via reception, if they are really necessary? Loos and showers exceptionally clean but some odd cleaning routines including washing out showers around 8. 30pm and one time someone sweeping the steps at 10pm in the dark! Road access is tight and lots of hills, but not dissimilar to Pennine roads at home. Site was quiet and our camping was away from the statics and lodges, so the only noise was from lively sheep about 4am. Reception staff always helpful and also used the service wash facilities which was really helpful when you want to maximise holiday activities.

Loads to do in the area. Tesco in Ilfracombe for main shops but remember it closes earlier on Sundays, (we forgot). I picked this site so we had the option of car free beach days and Hele beach is lovely, fab cafe and a locals feel to it. Car trips to Ilfracombe's tunnel beaches 3 times, Croyde, Lynton and Lynmouth. Barnstaple was good for a wet day and we even took a trip to the Eden Project (about 2 hours away) which killed time over a very wet 36 hours. My highlight was a trip to Lundy Island from Ilfracombe - wonderfully wild and beautiful. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: G.schofield 9 reviews from this member

 We arrived at this site early July and I would say it is lovely but more suited to camper vans and tents. The reason for this is the entrance to the site is extremely tight, being made even more difficult by the corner cottage having scaffolding around it. Not for the faint hearted. The entrance to the lane from the road is not accessible from the ilfracombe direction with a large unit (25ft) as it is like a hairpin bend, so you have to drive past and try to turn round the top of the hele beach road or the petrol station. Then as you drive down there is a sharp right (cottage with scaffolding) to negotiate. The staff are great and if your stuck they will come and help you get you unit round, fortunately we managed it with a few deep breaths. Once on the site it is lovely with statics at the entrance and the tourers and camping at the rear. We booked a 12metre pitch but were unable to go on it due to the caravan at the side pitching to the right, meaning it was a fire risk if we parked to the left and wouldn't be able to out our awning up if we pitched to the right. The site staff were brilliant and allowed us to pitch on a smaller motorhome pitch and use the next pitch to park the car. Fortunately the site wasn't full. The 12 metre pitches aren't very wide, so there isn't enough room for your awning and car, so I'm not sure where you should park your car when the site is full.

The toilet facilities are excellent and the staff are brilliant. Just for us with a tourer the pitches aren't big enough 😞

The area is great, lots of pubs, tea rooms and beaches within walking distance. I would certainly recommend this site for smaller units and campers. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oxonchris 1 review from this member

 Having read the reviews on this and a couple of other sites we decided to go for a 12m pitch for our Vango Icarus 500 & Awning. The facilities for a family of 4 (2 adults + 2 girls (11&14) were great, no real issue with the keys for the toilet block (£3 refundable per key) we had the added bonus of a electric hookup and water. The zip line and nature trail kept the kids entertained when we were on site and they loved listening for the Owl at night. We love to walk so the site is ideal for Hele Beach (good for rock pools) and walking over Hillsborough in to Ilfracombe. We also like to geocache so were able to tick off a number of finds on our days out.

Ilfracombe has plenty to keep people entertained and fed and for a small outlay of about £9 we set the kids up crabbing with a dropnet, bucket & bait and that kept them going for 3hrs in light rain. We will certainly be going back in the future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimmysrabbit 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a pleasant stay at Hele Valley.

We chose the site based entirely on their late availability (all the other sites we contacted were full on the Saturday night of our holiday). I was able to book our pitch the night before we arrived, in fact, it was so last minute I did not really investigate the site details before booking. I was a bit worried when we were driving to the site as to what I had actually booked (and why they had availability - what's wrong with them?).

I need not have worried. The site was very well organised and spotless. We booked a large pitch (which was very roomy). Water was available on our own pitch. Our pitch was very flat (in fact all the pitches looked pretty level). The only downsides for us were things that could well be upsides for others. Street lighting on the site is on all night (we prefer a 'dark' site). The noise from the zip wire was non-stop in daylight hours (it was right behind our tent), this was obviously the most popular piece of play equipment (we heard many, many arguments over whose turn it was). These problems were not problems at all really. Just nit picking.

We loved Ilfracombe (a 10 minute walk from the site) - we will definitely be back 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rob and his mob1 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, friendly staff, spotless facilities, and to top it all a lovely pub with great food (Hele Bay Inn) within a few minutes walk. Would heartily recommend this site to anyone. We visited before the school holidays so it was fairly quiet, but even if full, I feel the facilities could cope with the numbers. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tanji 7 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site - very quiet when we visited (school holidays yet to start). Lovely welcome at reception and good sized pitch. Toilet block best ever, immaculate - my only concern would be that due to the size of the site there may not be enough toilets/showers at peak times. Lovely kids play area. Dishwash area spotless - nice touch to have a freezer available for ice packs, etc. Short walk into Hele with 2 pubs, restaurant, beach café and garage/shop. Approx 20 min walk into Ilfracombe (partially up a steepish hill) but there is also a bus service if needed. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campingmeerkat 10 reviews from this member

 Arrived on Easter Sunday to friendly Reception staff. Left £6 returnable deposit for toilet block keys. Pitch was hardstanding gravel with a grass border so it might have been possible to use our small porch awning in retrospect. Stayed a week. Shower block always clean. Useful to have freezer for ice blocks in pot wash area. Lights on a timer so you have to move past sensor if washing up late. There is a sharp bend at entrance to valley so it is easier to approach from the direction of Combe martin. You go past cottages and then statics, and the children's playground before you reach the touring area. We were out every day but it was always peaceful on our return at midnight. On the main road there is a lovely viewpoint with carpark and picnic area overlooking the sea. There are shops in Ilfracombe town centre and a large Tesco supermarket. Barnstaple is easy to get to if you need more shops or hospital. Woolacombe is a lovely beach to visit as is Croyde Bay. Billy Budds in Croyde bay has pub garden with children's area. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

 Good site well situated to explore the area. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Good sized hard standing pitch, clean toilets etc, and what looked like a good play area for kids (guessing because we don't have kids but it looked fun!). Short walk to the village which has a couple of pubs, petrol station, convenience store and a small cove which the dog loved. 20 minute walk to ilfracombe.

Only a couple of minor grumbles, first we had a hard standing pitch which was made of pebble and was really hard to get the rock pegs into and when you did get the peg in it didn't hold on place very well. Secondly, although not a problem for us as the site was quiet there is a sign in the showers saying if you want a hot shower use them out of peak times, surely if there is a problem with the hot water supply it should be dealt with allowing paying guest to have a hot shower when they want.

Overall, would be happy to return though. 


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hele Valley Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hele Valley Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hele Valley Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ilfracombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3718 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement