Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hunters Lodge Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Dawlish > Hunters Lodge Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Hunters Lodge Caravan & Camping Site
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8FL
Tel: 07718 090345
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Vans + 10 Tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iain Stone 2 reviews from this member

Have just returned from 5 nights at Hunters Lodge. A lovely site that we will happily return to in the future.

We booked due to previous reviews, the good location of the site and to use the Exe cycle path as it runs very close to the site. The cycle path is an easy mostly traffic free route around the estuary to Exmouth with its myriad views and birdlife. The site location also offers easy walking access to rail and bus routes at Starcross. We caught the train to Exeter and were in the city centre within 20mins. A Sainsbury's supermarket is a few minutes drive away in Dawlish. Starcross has a Spar shop.

We were located on a large hardstanding pitch with ehu. The pitch was well maintained, of a very good size, divided into brick paving, gravel and grass. Being winter, we did not use the grass part of the pitch, nor did we need to. Toilet and shower facilities were clean and well maintained with 2 male and 2 female toilets and one unisex loo.

Some traffic noise can be heard from site, but was never intrusive.

The owner Paul is a nice chap, always beavering around the site keeping things just so and happy to stop and chat to a passing nosey grockle (me). When my car got a punctured tyre, he recommended a local business and even offered to give me a lift there himself. I didn't need to take him up on his offer, but thanks Paul.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mike634949 1 review from this member

Good access from the road to the south of the site (do not use Staplake Lane).

Very well maintained level hardstanding ehu pitches x5. Large grass awning area for each. Fenced. 1 male toilet/shower portakabin. 1 female similar. 1 unisex. Good clean standard throughout our stay.

Beautiful setting with large pond and running stream.

Well connected with route#2 bus stop at end of lane 300yds. Train station, Exe cycleway and Exe ferry all walkable. Three nice pubs also within walking distance.

Great base for caravan or motorhome break.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrwhippy1954 26 reviews from this member

Our stay was the first to the site for about 2 years. It was good to see that the bridge to the main terraced site had improved and there were 4 new hardstandings.

In many ways it is a lovely site, a good location, quiet, near to the village and the station, good pubs not too far away, good dog walks via the local lanes, a small fishing lake, but there are niggles I cannot overlook.

Firstly the new lovely hardstandings are just too narrow in width which means it's very difficult to get in or off them without going over grass/mud and even more difficult to get out of the van without having to walk on the very wet grass. Secondly on a site which in my mind is mid-priced I would expect hot water in the toilet and dishwashing area. Showers are £1 for 7 minutes. I am sure the owner is lovely but the only time he came to us was when as soon as we arrived late, in the dark and cold he came for his site fees. I think at the very least after going through a traumatic night of Storm Katie that he should have checked that we were fine. After all there was by then only 4 pitches being used after one lot of campers were blown away.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dawn C 4 reviews from this member

Camping at its best! Arrived in the dark and met straight away by the friendly owner who showed us to our level pitch and told us where everything was. We cycled to The Ship and had a fab pub meal with real ale in a wonderful atmosphere. When we awoke the next morning we were surrounded by lush land, a lake and hens. What more could you ask for! We didn't use any of the washing facilities but the chemical disposal point was excellent. Hate to praise this site too much in case we don't get in next time we want to go, but had to do it justice.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tockers 28 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights in june this is a farm with two areas for vans and tents there is a shower each for men and women and 3 loos. Fresh water and electric but no drain for motorhomes. All pitches are on grass. There is a small lake and lots of birds. Very peaceful and close to local shop and trains stop in village for access to surrounding towns and beaches. This site is lovely and we would love to return again. There are pubs local and nice countryside nothing for children but that's why we liked it.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart 988 11 reviews from this member

I really don't want to leave a review as I don't really want too many people to find this place. This is one of the nicest sites I have stayed in. The owner Paul was pleasant and helpful. We had a lovely pitch overlooking the lake and its wildlife. The toilet and shower facilities were spotless and you have a feeling of spaciousness. Free range eggs were supplied courtesy of the resident chickens and there were adequate water supplies and disposal areas. It was a short walk down a quiet lane and through a small housing estate into Starcross for the station and Exmouth ferry and a short walk the other way into Cockwood for its great pubs, the Anchor and the Ship, for good food and local ales. We can't wait to come back to enjoy the restful atmosphere and the beautiful surroundings. Our dog had a great time too. Thank you Hunters Lodge!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Henrick987 1 review from this member

This was our first time at this site. The owners could not of been more helpful. A great quiet site. The fresh free range eggs are lovely. Some reviews complained about a lack of toilets but it really wasn't a problem for us. We stayed for three nights and I think we may have queued once. A small shop selling milk etc would be a great addition. Also a freezer for ice packs would be helpful too. The food at the anchor pub (about a mile away) is excellent. A great site and we will be back next year. Mick & Jen

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jcastell 1 review from this member

Stayed at this campsite and really enjoyed the location, it has everything to offer a camper and their unit. Brilliant owners who are extremely friendly, with attention to detail and ensuring you are happy with your pitch and stay with them.

Highly recommended site, peaceful and a brilliant diverse nature, with their own local menagre.

Pitches are large and EHU and fresh water and waste disposal excellent.

Real cool site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lauriecarl 2 reviews from this member

Campsite in great location for cockwood where there are 2 pretty pubs with good food. Dawlish very near too. 2 mins in car. Would much rather stay here than squeeze into tiny pitches in dawlish static parks. Peaceful and safe for kids with geese and ropeswing on the lake plus little skate ramp for bikes/scooters. Basic toilets and showers which can be busy in the morning but always clean despite the rain causing grassy muddy floor. Pitches spacious although muddy in the rain but we are used to that in this country! Owners really friendly and always busy cleaning and maintaining site. Ideal quiet site for visiting dawlish and area. Really enjoyed.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oompsy-daisy 9 reviews from this member

A lovely place to stay. The gentleman that owns it is very welcoming. On the Sunday he went round everyone that was staying there making sure that they had and were enjoying their stay. It was a short walk from Starcross train station and foot ferry across to Exmouth which is £5. 00 per adult. Brilliant value but take a jumper as it get chilly even on the warmest of days.

There was one toilet and a shower for both female and male, a unisex toilet. They are a bit of a trek from the camping field. But always clean and well maintained.

The field that we were in was very slopey but we found a level-ish spot under a lovely oak tree.

The facilities are basic but it is a small friendly, clean and quiet campsite with a lovely lake/pond with a pair of Canadian geese and their baby gosling. Perfect place o stay.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4858 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019