Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dornafield Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Newton Abbot > Dornafield Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Dornafield Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Two Mile Oak
Newton Abbot
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ12 6DD
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 10/03/2024 to 07/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pasopton 5 reviews from this member

 Used this site for the 1st time whilst making a rare visit to relative.

The site was very well occupied though I guess that quite a few caravans were seasonally pitched.

The pitches are well laid out and it extremely encouraging to find established hedges between ours & quite a number of other emplacements. This is one of the things that we appreciate from French sites.

The Shower & toilet blocks were well presented to the usal standard with solar panels on their roofs.

The staff very extremely friendly and helpful with enthusiastic greetings whenever encountered.

The approach lane from the main road junction is typically Devonian and quite narrow, so meeting a milk tanker when we were leaving meant quite a lucky negotiation of a farm entrance which he kindly revered to. 


Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Stickles123 2 reviews from this member

 This site recently changed from private ownership to the CMC. The wardens are still lovely, as is the site. Toilet block was very clean, facilities for walking the dog on the enclosed field is really good.

The shop did not appear to be fully stocked yet and not really up and running. In the past they have offered daily newspapers, bread, milk so I am not sure if this will still be offered. It is early days and the start of the year.

The later booking out time of midday was good, but the later booking in time of 1pm meant we had to have lunch on the way.

We went for a superpitch which was in Blackwood Copse, the quieter end of the site. It meant also that all services were next to the pitch which makes things a bit easier for grey waste etc.

We had a lovely day out in Torquay and previously have explored

Dartmoor from this site. I understand there is a bus stop at the end of the road so it may be worth researching this, although we had the car. The area really has a lot to offer. Plymouth is worth visiting as well.

We will be back! We came away reassured that the high standards that had been achieved by the previous owner were still something they were aiming for. 


Date of Visit: December 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note this site has now been purchased by the Caravan and Motorhome Club, and will reopen in March 2023 under their managament. 


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Susanl 1 review from this member

 Immaculate site, beautifully kept.

Shower and toilet blocks kept in pristine condition.

Cheerful and friendly staff.

Just can't find fault!

It took us over seven hours to get here but it was well worth the journey. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Wynnejmrd 2 reviews from this member

 5* campsite. Really lovely clean site.

I originally booked for the summer of 2020 but due to Covid we had to postpone and eventually made it in May 2022 - well worth the wait!

The staff at Dornafield are all very nice and friendly. On arrival we were told about the one way driving system which works really well. We were on pitch 43 on Butter Meadow.

All hardstanding pitches and fully serviced. It was a very quite part of the campsite with a amazing dog walk up to Rachels bench. The early morning views and wild Dear on the field behind the camp are lovely.

The Birds singing early morning, all very calm and relaxing.

The facilities are spotlessly clean and checked by the wardens throughout the day. The laundry room is well equipped with a wash for £5 which includes washing power and softner. Dish wash facilities and microwave also on site. Hairdryer in the ladies toilets at 20p, Showers very hot and very clean.

Childrens play areas are very well equipped for all ages. Tennis courts are £2 for an hour. Games room, information room and reading books available.

Lots of different food options, coffee hut, fish & chips etc on different days of the week.

Like other reviews, the lane to the site can be tricky but with care it was fine. Two Mile Oak pub at the end of the lane serve lovely food but also Court Farm in Abbotskerswell was amazing and very pretty on a sunny evening, lots to do in and around the area, lots of supermarkets close and a Co-op In Ipplepen village is well stocked.

We really enjoyed our 7 nights here, we booked 8 but left early as it was bank holiday and tried to avoid traffic the next day for our long journey home to Chester.

Highly recommend this site and would return again. Go on - book it! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stickles123 2 reviews from this member

 Really lovely site with fantastic clean facilities, the loos are award winning!

They are all fully serviced pitches which makes life easy.

It was torrential rain to start with but beautiful sunshine after.

Each pitch is very well maintained. Staff friendly and helpful, would thorough recommend.

Fabulously located to get up on the moors or you are within 8 mile drive to Torquay and the beach.

Many attractions including steam train and zoo. So much to see in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Inkred 1 review from this member

 Great site, clean facilities, good size pitches.

Just need some of the children to be more supervised by their parents. One child threw a stone and hit my car and left a lovely dent in the middle of the door and chipped the paint. Staff could not look a cctv to catch out the child.

Would I stay again, yes. Hopefully next time we don't get an unruly child near us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andyt2 1 review from this member

 Nothing to dislike about this site.

A well kept site where the wardens mow the grass, cut the hedges and rake the gravel as soon as you leave ready for the next visitors.

The shower blokes are modern and clean with good Covid 19 rules in place.

The approach road is tight but if you take it steady it is absolutely fine.

In a really good position to explore the Torbay area and beyond. Good play area's for the children (N/A for us as mine are 27 & 29) and two good dog walks 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 74 reviews from this member

 This is such a relaxing site - we stayed on Black Rock Copse where all the pitches are fully serviced, including chemical disposal points.

Facilities are always immaculate and a sensible approach to COVID precautions taken - the fact that the toilet and shower facilities are separate actually helps and avoids the queues we’ve found at some other sites.

Two very large dog walks are very welcome to be able to exercise the dogs without having to leave site down the narrow country lanes.

There is a pub in walking distance although we didn’t visit on this occasion. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sophda 1 review from this member

 Immaculately kept quiet site with easy access to all local beaches /towns /dartmoor.

Great areas to walk dog, lovely play area for the children and immaculate toilet block (showers not open yet due to covid restrictions).

My only negative was the price to do a wash. £5! Well worth the visit.

Make sure you follow the site's directions to get there as the lanes are too narrow for caravans coming in from the other direction. 
via mobile


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Dornafield Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dornafield Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Dornafield Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newton Abbot      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3721 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement