Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dornafield Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Newton Abbot > Dornafield Caravan Park Reviews

Dornafield Caravan Park
Two Mile Oak
Newton Abbot
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ12 6DD
Tel: 01803 812732
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 135
Open: 01/03/2021 to 07/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 136 Reviews
                9/10 from 136 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  136 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karene 1 review from this member

 This is such a beautiful site.

The facilities are immaculate as are the grounds.

We had such a lovely and friendly welcome on arrival.

We will definitely return in the near future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ghentjo 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Dornafield for 7 nights. The site is very well looked after with some lovely touches such as the herb garden and the very well tended pitches.

The welcome was warm and the instructions for pitching clear. Without doubt, it is the best fully serviced pitch we have ever had, with fresh water, electric hook up, TV hook up and gray waste adjacent to the pitch. Heaven!

The showering facilities are superb. As a base for the area we think it is hard to beat, with good access to many lovely places!

The only squeaky bum time is the access road itself. As a seasoned caravanner I just go with the flow, but it could be a bit daunting for a newbie. But to get the peace and quiet it's well worth the narrowish approach.

Overall a lovely place to be and great value. BTW the covid compliance is admirable. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Duddri 1 review from this member

 Dornafield is a fantastic campsite we stayed on Blackrock Copse on a fully serviced pitch with our own waste bin.

Chemical toilet disposal unit waste water and water hook up and a tv hook up.

The shower and toilet facilities are amazing and extremely clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

This is well worth a visit we are going back again in September. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikeanddeb 22 reviews from this member

 This was our first time to Devon, and everything about the area is beautiful. The site is absolutely stunning. Facilities were excellent, so clean. Very clear Covid 19 instructions to campers, numerous hand sanitisers throughout the site.

The wardens are so pleasant, really jolly, very helpful, giving advice where needed, their attention to the site is a credit to them.

We were booked on to Black Copse, booked on a fully serviced pitch, close to all amenities, including the dog field, which was perfect for our dog.

When we arrived at the pitch, we realised that the drain/ tap/ electricity was in the middle of the two caravans, our connections were on the opposite side of our caravan, our drain pipe was not long enough to connect up, and yes, we had left our waste master at home. It was suggested by other campers to park hitch in, but that would have meant we would have no view, other than looking at the privets. Thankfully our neighbour very kindly lent us their waste master for the week, due to not needing this themselves as they were on the correct side to hook up.

As expected the roads are very narrow, thankfully we didn't face problems when towing in or out of the site, although very nail biting.

The site shop had ample provisions including fresh bread etc, although there were supermarkets in close proximity.

There were numerous places to visit, Torquay, Plymouth, Stoke Gabriel to name a few. All definitely worth visiting! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Susieq88 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site - very well kept. Toilets and showers also excellent. We were on a fully serviced pitch. Pitch number 61. We shared a rubbish bin and chemical emptying point with one other pitch. We had our own fresh water supply and waste disposal drain. Nice little shop.

Fish and chips twice a week, morris dancing one evening and the staff organised a “wear pink” day to raise money for Breast cancer.

Very helpful staff. I asked about the site and it’s history and one of ladies printed out two sheet information for me. I even asked for a recipe for cheese straws that were being sold on the “wear pink” day and a day after we left, the manager emailed it to us!

Highly recommend this site - only slight draw back is that the narrow single lane road leading to the site is just over half a mile from the main road which was too far for me to walk (we have a motorhome). We hired a car from Enterprise for three days which worked out very well for us. We visited National Trust properties, Dartmouth, Teignmouth and Dartmoor. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 46 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site and it is just a s good as we remembered.

We stayed on Blackrock Copse so enjoyed a fully served pitch for 4 nights.

The facilities are always clean and the off lead dog walking areas are huge. All in all a very relaxing stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this site and probably our last.

Great facilities and all in lovely condition but as we have a motorhome there is little to see, we've done it all now.

Walks are roads only so hard work, nothing to see easily which isn't the sites fault.

Its best for Caravans then you have a Car to tour in, then come back to the peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hookupandgo 4 reviews from this member

 This was our VERY FIRST touring caravan holiday! It had to go smoothly, we had high expectations, we travelled 4 hours from the Caravan Sales office straight to Dornafield.

First impressions was a lovely warm welcome at reception, handed a map and directions to our pitch.

The touring park was very well maintained, the shower and toilet blocks are the cleanest I have ever seen and the radio playing in the background is a lovely touch!

My parents come here regularly and love it, excellent location and friendly staff.

The pitch was perfect for us, opposite the facilities and the children loved the climbing frames in the woods, a real adventure!

Games room we didn't use as our children are 2 and 4.

Its a bit nerve racking driving down the narrow lane but if we can do it as first timers then anyone can! :)

We would definitely come back, thank you for a lovely stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nikkilaurence 1 review from this member

 This is our second visit and I can't wait for the next.

Had a fab breasts cancer collection day with dress up raffles and much more the wardens are fab nothing is to much trouble.

Showers and looe class 1 standard 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Atizone 2 reviews from this member

 Just had a fantastic 2 week stay in our tent. Stayed on the Orchard Field (15 south facing). Just myself and my wif.

Can't comment on child friendliness in stars but after walking round there are two well maintained kids play areas with lots to do. What a beautiful site.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Shower and toilet block is the best and cleanest I have ever used in all my years camping. Hats off to the cleaning team.

Nice peaceful site with plenty to do around the area. Especially the Two Mile Oak just a 10 minute walk up the road!

Overall a great site and will definitely be visiting again. 


Previous     136 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dornafield Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dornafield Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Dornafield Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newton Abbot      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3860 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement