Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cheltenham > Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site Reviews

Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site
Blacksmiths Barn
Great Rissington
Bourton On Water
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL54 2LH
Tel: 01451 820224
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Festgranny 1 review from this member

 My perfect site! With only 5 caravans in the caravan field (and no children) it's really peaceful. It's a lovely spot and very well kept, with nicely mown grass and flower features, and I really appreciated the low level of lighting so you can see the stars.

It's just outside the village, 10 minutes walk to The Lamb. A network of footpaths and a whole series of gorgeous Cotswold villages surround Great Rissington, with Bourton on the Water 2. 5 miles away and Stow on the Wold just a bit further.

Facilities are basic but they're clean and adequate and the showers are perfectly good. No hot water except in the actual shower cubicles and the basin in the one ladies' loo though.

Bill the owner is a lovely chap, very friendly, interested and helpful. He came by each morning to check everybody's happy and see if they needed any advice and I enjoyed chatting with him. He's also very laid-back and doesn't have rules about how you pitch and which direction you face. The pitches are just marked by a bit of tape around the wooden post and rail fence so you can do what you want between the markers, no regimentation here!

This gorgeous rural site beats the big fancy commercial ones hands down and I only wish I could arrange a small group meeting of Go-Pods here, but Bill quite rightly reckons it's too small a site for groups.

Lastly, it's extremely good value as well as a real find, and this is the first site I've visited that I really hope to come back to. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hessie 5 reviews from this member

 We had a wonderful 5 night stay at Ashspring Site and found it perfect for our needs. The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean and adequate for the size of the site, despite our visit including part of the busy Bank Holiday weekend.

We loved the miles of pretty, not too steep, almost deserted footpaths, accessible from the site. We walked each day, returning to the friendly site, to enjoy the quiet beauty of the surroundings each evening. The owners were lovely and had time to chat and recommend paths and walks, which we welcomed.

We didn't mind boiling water to wash up in or paying 20p for the shower, as the camping fees are low, at £16 for two of us with a large tent. It also ensured that hot water was not wasted and that has to be good for the environment!

We had a super meal at The Lamb Inn. We had beautifully cooked food which was served by friendly staff in a lovely atmosphere.

We would love to visit again to explore the area further.  


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: David Hogg 5 reviews from this member

 What an amazing find! We came here over the normally-hectic August Bank Holiday weekend and it was absolutely idyllic.

Being adults-only it was lovely and quiet the entire time we were here, and at night literally all you could hear were the owls (they have an owl box on the other side of an adjacent field, and the resident barn owl serenaded us each evening with his hissing call!).

The site is well located just a short drive from Bourton, although the village was swarming with so many tourists over the Bank Holiday weekend that we only visited to do some supplies shopping — otherwise it was just stressful walking around!

The facilities are basic but more than adequate. There are two coin-operated showers (20p gives 3 minutes, £1 gives 15 minutes) which are lovely and hot, and each cubicle also has a toilet and washbasin.

There is no hot water in the washbasins though which can make morning ablutions … refreshing! There is a single additional ladies toilet which has hot water from a water heater which is great … if you’re a lady! There is also a single pot-wash station … occasionally we had to wait until this was free so a second one would be quite useful.

The hookups are rated at 16A which was perfect as it allowed us to charge our electric car overnight. We just worked out how much electricity we used and added it to the bill when we paid on leaving the site.

The hosts, Bill and Lyn couldn’t have been more friendly. They visited the site each morning to clean the facilities and have a chat with all the campers to see how they’re doing.

They recommended a lovely local walk to The Fox Inn at Great Barrington and were always happy to advise on things to visit. We were particularly awkward guests as we needed to have an Amazon package of an electric hob delivered to their home after we ran out of camping gas and nowhere within an hours drive seemed to have stock of the type our cookers used!

The next day our car’s 12V battery had mysteriously drained overnight and Bill very kindly lent us a 12V battery charger which brought our car back to life! … none of this was too much trouble!

We’ll definitely be coming back to this site, it has everything we want in a campsite — peaceful and quiet, lovely hosts and good facilities. I would have given the facilities 10 but it would have been nice to have warm water in all the washrooms and also to have a second pot-wash station. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gwill5 1 review from this member

 We thought this campsite was wonderful.

The toilets and showers were pristine. The owners provided information on where to eat and food to take away.

The grass was mowed when the pitch was vacated and was also checked for any pegs left behind,

And last but not least the owners were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Waunwyllt 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived in village lost yesterday afternoon after a long journey and was spotted by Bill in his car and rescued 🤣.

Facilities kept clean. There is a separate ladies toilet and 2 unisex showers/toilets; showers operated by coins at a charge of 20p for 3 mins or £1. 00 for 6, the slot machine is sited above the dishwashing sink outside the shower room.

Plenty of room in the showers but a tiny hand basin with only cold water, no good for those gents who need to have a wet shave!

Outside the shower rooms is the washing up area again with only cold water.

Lovely peaceful site and grass kept nice and short.

It is an Adult only site which is great.

There is an owl box which is occupied and can be seen from the site.

We are in the field for motorhomes, a separate field for caravans, etc.

There is a pub within walking distance and plenty of places to visit too.

Would recommend this lovely find. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Davidmv6 2 reviews from this member

 Second time of visiting this site,

Bill the owner always takes time to chat to campers,

The site is very well kept and clean, really peaceful stay,

First visit was in two MGAs, this last visit on two motorcycles, there will definitely be a third visit but in two Messerschmitt bubble cars,

Looking forward to visiting again, I would highly recommend a stay if your looking for peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: 8923mo 1 review from this member

 Booked for weekend break.

What a fabulous site - attentive owners offering assistance as needed and took time to point out owl nest box and the owls and other wildlife didn’t disappoint each evening.

Clean facilities, well kept grass. Highly recommended 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dazmondo 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights in a tent,

Owner very helpful and welcoming,

Basic but spotlessly clean facilities,

Perfect location for exploring the Cotswolds.  


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Magmar 30 reviews from this member

 This is a delightful but quirky caravan and camping site which is in a wonderful location. The fees are fair and the site is very well kept.

There are 2 unisex WC & Shower rooms and 1 ladies WC. However there is no hot water for washing/shaving or washing up although there is a W/U Sink.

The showers cost 20p per 3 mins or multiples of 20p/£1. Unfortunately the coin meter is outside the shower room, so once money is inserted one has to get in the room, get undressed and then switch on and adjust the electric shower to suit the required temperature prior to actually getting in the shower.

This operation is further hampered by the fact that the electric shower units are situated outside the shower cubicle with the hose and shower head inside. This makes taking a shower a bit of an adventure plus the fact that all the time one is getting prepared to shower one's money is running out.

There is very good recycling and the grass is kept short. The "ridge & furrow" nature of the site does make getting pitched or motorhome level very challenging.

Good local pub with nice food. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Smade3 1 review from this member

 Really welcoming hosts with extensive local knowledge lovely, quiet and relaxing vacation.

We pitched close to the toilets so perfect spot, facilities cleaned everyday and didn't have any issues with access just remember a few 20p's for the shower.

Close to pub at Great Rissington though didn't use, within walking distance of Bourton on the water a popular village with variety of shops.

Would definitely visit again 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheltenham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4592 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement