Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cheltenham > Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site Reviews

Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site
Blacksmiths Barn
Great Rissington
Bourton On Water
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL54 2LH
Tel: 01451 820224
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Smade3 1 review from this member

 Really welcoming hosts with extensive local knowledge lovely, quiet and relaxing vacation.

We pitched close to the toilets so perfect spot, facilities cleaned everyday and didn't have any issues with access just remember a few 20p's for the shower.

Close to pub at Great Rissington though didn't use, within walking distance of Bourton on the water a popular village with variety of shops.

Would definitely visit again 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracey 1 review from this member

 Very peaceful setting, lovely sunny site,

Owners are very friendly,

Its a small site with basic but adequate facilities.

Very local to the amenities

Would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Davidmv6 1 review from this member

 Myself and a friend stayed for 2 nights and was meet by Bill the owner shortly after our arrival, he was a Gent, the site is a credit to his hard work at keeping the site pristine,

Toilets are cleaned every morning and sanitised, the facilities are just about right, only enough for 15 pitches in total,

At our time of staying a few caravans and motorhomes were already pitched but left plenty of room for our two tents and two cars,

I can highly recommend Bills site for a short stay or even just a stop off on your travels,

We will stay again when we travel to the area with our bubble cars. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sueho3 1 review from this member

 Very clean and tidy. Only 5 caravans and the facility was perfectly adequate.

Very friendly and helpful owners.

Will definitely be using this again.

Beautiful views down through the valley. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Lee1985 4 reviews from this member

 As we write this review we are sitting on the site enjoying the morning sun. We called the site yesterday needing a pitch for the night. We were told, obviously, there was availability for us and to find a pitch when we got there and the owner would see us later. The last thing he said on the telephone was to “look out for the giraffe in the tree”. The advice helped!

We didn’t miss the entrance and as we pulled in we found two fields, one for caravans and one for tents and camper vans. We pitched up and about an hour later the owner came, with Maisie, for a chat, and his money. £13 was the fee without electric.

I was expecting to pay £20 so this was a real bargain. The facilities didn’t disappoint either. With two toilets and two showers, they were clean and basic. The showers work off a meter with 20p lasting 3 minutes, or £1 for 15 minutes.

The site itself is a little hilly but the owner has plenty of chocs for levelling around the site. There is a washing up sink and CDP.

Overall, our night stay was very satisfactory at a good price and we would recommend it to anyone needing a couple of nights in the Cotswolds. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Darrenjp1 1 review from this member

 I cannot recommend this campsite highly enough. On arrival we were met by the site owner who was carrying out duties. This person went above and beyond my expectations as he went out his way to ensure all campers had full use of on site facilities. He also pops around each camper for a quick chat as well making sure everything is in good order. The camp site is spotless and well maintained. The facilities are basic but perfectly adequate. The camp site is hilly but there are plenty of chocks available to help with the levelling of any unit. The location is perfect for visiting the Cotswolds as we found out. It is peaceful and quiet. We will be booking again. This site is a gem. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ivorcamp 1 review from this member

 We normally stay on sites that cost twice the price of this site and in all honesty cannot see what we have been paying for! This is an absolutely beautiful site, stunning views, very friendly four legged 'neighbours and the site owner is very friendly and helpful. Such peaceful surroundings and the site facilities whilst basic were always kept clean and tidy. Would definitely recommend and will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CAG1 1 review from this member

 A very peaceful scenic site. Yes it is on a slope with uneven ground, that's the beautify of the Cotswold Hills. There are plenty of chocks available on site to help with levelling and it's possible to get it near perfect. The owner will provide advice on how best to park to take advantage of the fantastic views. We've got a large twin axle, if we can manoeuvre anyone can, woman driver too! There's a good pub in the village and plenty of places nearby to cater for all interests. You can walk for miles from this site. The loo and shower block is basic but clean, some soap and a hand towel would be a bonus. Good to see the rubbish well screened and recycled. If only we could have a house right here we'd be forever happy. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SAMMEEE 3 reviews from this member

 Having been a caravanner for over 30 years I have not come across a site as difficult as this for on getting on and off both pitch and site.

The site has a steep slope with steep ridge and furrow going down it. This make it very difficult to manouver without grounding the van, in fact our fellow caravanners did exactly that.

To make this worse the site was made damp by early morning dew making traction on the hillside very difficult - I can't imagine what it would be like if it had rained heavily.

A small motorhome had to have assistance each morning to get off the site whilst we were there.

Ours and our friends van are both 23ft long, and I would only recommend this site for smaller unit because of these issues.

There are two clean combined shower and toilet cubicles however the showers have no proper drain and so flood the cubicle.

Additionally the shower is coin operated with the coin box OUTSIDE the cubicle.

This means that if your money runs out mid shower you are in trouble - make sure you get undressed before you put your money in as the shower starts as soon as you do!

This site is ideal for location, tents, trailer tents but stuggles with all but the smallest motorhomes and caravans due to the inclines. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SheehanFamily 2 reviews from this member

 Stunning Area and Very Friendly Campsite. The caravan field is on a fairly steep slope, and the tent field is very bumpy! its full of something called Ridge and Furrow (google it!) Limited EHU available.

Very quiet campsite, no play-area, hot on recycling everything incl food waste. A small shed area with 2 rooms, each one consisting of a loo, shower and sink. Showers are on a pay meter. Very basic 'cold water only' washing up available. ELSAN waste point.

Fab for a weekend, but wouldn't want to stay any longer in a tent with our kids! Might be easier in a c'van. Loads of walking and cycle routes on the doorstep and a lovely village pub within easy walking distance. Dog friendly site and ponies in the adjacent field. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheltenham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3233 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement