Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Gloucestershire > Cheltenham > Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site > Reviews

Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site
Blacksmiths Barn
Great Rissington
Bourton On Water
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL54 2LH
Tel: 01451 820224
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 29/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 37 Reviews
                9/10 from 37 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ness14 1 review from this member

 We absolutely loved this site! So peaceful with all the essential amenities, the owner was incredibly friendly and very helpful. Great value for money.

The location is rural with views across the fields and plenty of wildlife; owl, red kite, pheasants and deer.

Close proximity to The Lamb Inn - amazing food even if the prices are a bit steep! We also walked to and from Bourton-on-the-Water which was lovely; on nice quiet roads. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Markb8 2 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site.

The owner couldnít have been more helpful, he even lent us a tv Ariel lead that plugged into the sites receiver. Asked how we were doing each day, and gave helpful advice on areas to visit.

Thanks Bill. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blinkie 65 reviews from this member

 Arrived in horrendous rain and Bill showed us to one hard standing pitch adjacent to the facilities block, possibly because I am blind and my wife has mobility issues or more likely he took sympathy on us in the rain. This was a bonus as I could fill the fresh water directly from the tap with a long hose.

We can't really comment on the views as the skies didn't really clear while we were there. The bathrooms are adequate and a good idea to have the showers coin operated although we used our own. The bathrooms were always spotless and cleaned regularly and consumables replenished.

As it was a weekend buses weren't too reliable and a taxi was £15 each way. Bourton on the Water was quiet early on but after 10. 00a. M. It suddenly filled up.

There is a CL on the site for 5 caravans but motorhomes go on the other part of the site.

It is so peaceful here and plenty of bird calls.

If we were to return it would be mid week to take advantage of the bus service. 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Markan 1 review from this member

 Excellent site in a great location, close to Bourton on Water, Burford & Stow.

Lovely rural setting and great to have toilets & showers.

Definitely need levelling blocks! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Morgue 1 review from this member

 Our stay couldn't have been more pleasant. I'm very glad I managed to find out about this site as it's not prominently featured on google.

I was looking for a site close to Bourton on the Water and I'm very glad the nearer ones were full, taking the (nearby and reliable) bus into town and back was very worth it.

Stated price was 22 a night incl. Electric (prices put up to reflect the extreme situation of utilities in the UK rn) but since we were backpackers in a small tent using minimal leccy, the owner offered us a discount unprompted. He was extremely personable and really couldn't have been more pleasant or accommodating for our stay.

There are two gender-neutral shower/toilet rooms, which are cleaned daily and stocked with hand-soap, toilet paper, and even sanitary bags and bins for disposing of things such as period products.

There was a separate women's toilet but I can't comment on what that was like for obvious reasons. There's a sink by the toilet block for washing up/handwashing/etc. No hot water taps there or in bathrooms though: only hot water is the electric showers which are on a paid meter. This meter accepts 20p or pound coins only, at a rate of 10p per minute. The time starts from the money being inserted and the meter is outside the block so be generous with your shower fund or get ready to rush. Aside from the meter I find the gender neutral combined shower/toilet room to be the best layout for convenience and privacy.

There was a stool in the bathroom too which was useful when getting dressed after a shower. I think the shower metering and lack of hot water at the sinks is perfect for keeping costs down and protecting the site owner from costs of inconsiderate people leaving taps on etc as I have witnessed at other sites. I prefer this slightly limited facilities as it is more inkeeping with the spirit of camping.

As we'd booked ahead and the site was only half full so there seemed to be a lot of flexibility with checking in/out times, which suited us fantastically. Clear signs explained the expectations for campers and dogs, and how to contact the owners if necessary.

The views are stupendous. Truly unmatched. As there were only 6-8 groups when we attended the ambience was especially peaceful. Finding a flat enough pitch for our tent was easy as there was such ample space but larger tents on more crowded days may struggle. There is a small room with information brochures and menus from local restaurants to help people plan their holiday. Bourton on the Water is easily accessible by buses which are infrequent but reliable (on weekdays at least).

We were able to get into town around midday and return just after 6 which was perfect to experience the many wonderful attractions of BotW. The bus stop is quite close to the site, but the nearest shop otherwise is over a mile so there was no opportunity to nip out for snacks etc once we were back.

If I have the opportunity, I would go out of my way to camp here again. Highly recommended. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rjthom 1 review from this member

 A very friendly welcoming site, set in quiet beautiful Cotswold countryside.

Very convenient for Bourton on the water, Burford, Bibury and Stow on the Wold. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackman- Pace 1 review from this member

 We come to this site probably 2 a year. It still keeps traditional rural farming.

The owner is v helpful and keeps the site at v high standard. Just park up put your camping gear around you.

There has been returning owls breeding pair, for years.

Fantastic place for old/new campers. Best place, we go. It's what camping is all about.

Lovely area. Pub walks dog friendly. A serious site for country strolls, from. 5 of a mile to endless miles easily accessible places literally few feet from site.

The old farming ways still visible, tenants plots in fields. So peaceful in famous country Costwolds. Actually loads of places to see within area of 10 miles.

I cannot say enough about this site. Lovely owners his horses and v high standards of care they put in. Ideal location for all the reasons camping started many years ago.

A must be for all bird and field wildlife, enthusiasts or just people watching nature around themselves. Sit back, quite site, watch the breeding owls sat looking at wonderful sunsets, maybe with glass of bubbly, and just let your mind take in fantastic views and feel what true relaxation campers enjoy.

Amazing places and famous villages on the doorstep. You'd want for nothing !

Fantastic getaway for all adults wanting to chill out, and relax without normal site rules. Pull up, within reason park anywhere without pegs and parking rules.

Just that hidaway from larger more moneymaking sites.

Showers and toilets on site, and see Bill the landowner/site owner every morning too ask for further info and any questions you may have.

No comparison to any other site we've been to. Campers paradise. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Posset1 3 reviews from this member

 What an absolute gem this site is! Bill was extremely kind and helpful and loves to chat with all the campers.

Facilities were basic, but totally adequate considering the reasonable price of £22 including EHU.

We found loads of lovely routes for cycling with some interesting places and local pubs for lunch en route.

As previously mentioned, Bourton on the Water is VERY crowded!

We will certainly re-visit! 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Joelewes 14 reviews from this member

 What a great little site! Bill and his wife are very friendly and helpful. The site is a little bumpy but plenty of home made levelling ramps are dotted around the site to help you level up. There are two unisex showers (60p should give you a good shower) and one female toilet. There is also an information room.

There are plenty of walks from the site - a map is a must though as there are so many finger posts dotted around that you may get lost (we did once!).

There is a pub in the village (The Lamb). We had a drink there on a couple of occasions but didnít eat (a bit on the expensive side). The gardens need a bit of TLC as the furniture is in need of a luck of paint and the detritus of the day needs clearing up occasionally. This may be a bit harsh as with most eateries nowadays they are under-staffed.

We walked into Bourton on the Water on a Saturday. If you value your sanity, donít bother as it was like walking into a massively busy theme park! I feel sorry for the locals. We lasted half an hour.

This part of the Cotswolds is wonderful however and the scenery and villages are stunning.

Would we visit the site again? Most certainly. Just be aware that itís a CL site and does not have the facilities of larger sites. But £20 a night is very good value. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Johnr3 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely four days at this beautiful well cared for peaceful site,

The site is spotlessly clean and the owner was friendly and very welcoming came to check everything was ok every day.

If you want a lazy few days doing nothing but going for nice walks from the site this is the place for you, and all for £20 a night,

There is a bus service just outside the gate going to Bourton on the water, only 2 a day,

There is a nice pub in the village of Great Rissington about 10 min walk may be less if you are young,

Overall lovely site, we will definitely be going back. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ashspring Caravanning & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheltenham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


54181 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement