Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ashspring House Caravanning & Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Ashspring House Caravanning & Camping Site
Great Rissington
Bourton On The Water
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL54 2LH
Tel: 01451 820224
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Darrenjp1 1 review from this member

I cannot recommend this campsite highly enough. On arrival we were met by the site owner who was carrying out duties. This person went above and beyond my expectations as he went out his way to ensure all campers had full use of on site facilities. He also pops around each camper for a quick chat as well making sure everything is in good order. The camp site is spotless and well maintained. The facilities are basic but perfectly adequate. The camp site is hilly but there are plenty of chocks available to help with the levelling of any unit. The location is perfect for visiting the Cotswolds as we found out. It is peaceful and quiet. We will be booking again. This site is a gem.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ivorcamp 1 review from this member

We normally stay on sites that cost twice the price of this site and in all honesty cannot see what we have been paying for! This is an absolutely beautiful site, stunning views, very friendly four legged 'neighbours and the site owner is very friendly and helpful. Such peaceful surroundings and the site facilities whilst basic were always kept clean and tidy. Would definitely recommend and will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CAG1 1 review from this member

A very peaceful scenic site. Yes it is on a slope with uneven ground, that's the beautify of the Cotswold Hills. There are plenty of chocks available on site to help with levelling and it's possible to get it near perfect. The owner will provide advice on how best to park to take advantage of the fantastic views. We've got a large twin axle, if we can manoeuvre anyone can, woman driver too! There's a good pub in the village and plenty of places nearby to cater for all interests. You can walk for miles from this site. The loo and shower block is basic but clean, some soap and a hand towel would be a bonus. Good to see the rubbish well screened and recycled. If only we could have a house right here we'd be forever happy.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SAMMEEE 3 reviews from this member

Having been a caravanner for over 30 years I have not come across a site as difficult as this for on getting on and off both pitch and site.

The site has a steep slope with steep ridge and furrow going down it. This make it very difficult to manouver without grounding the van, in fact our fellow caravanners did exactly that.

To make this worse the site was made damp by early morning dew making traction on the hillside very difficult - I can't imagine what it would be like if it had rained heavily.

A small motorhome had to have assistance each morning to get off the site whilst we were there.

Ours and our friends van are both 23ft long, and I would only recommend this site for smaller unit because of these issues.

There are two clean combined shower and toilet cubicles however the showers have no proper drain and so flood the cubicle.

Additionally the shower is coin operated with the coin box OUTSIDE the cubicle.

This means that if your money runs out mid shower you are in trouble - make sure you get undressed before you put your money in as the shower starts as soon as you do!

This site is ideal for location, tents, trailer tents but stuggles with all but the smallest motorhomes and caravans due to the inclines.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SheehanFamily 2 reviews from this member

Stunning Area and Very Friendly Campsite. The caravan field is on a fairly steep slope, and the tent field is very bumpy! its full of something called Ridge and Furrow (google it!) Limited EHU available.

Very quiet campsite, no play-area, hot on recycling everything incl food waste. A small shed area with 2 rooms, each one consisting of a loo, shower and sink. Showers are on a pay meter. Very basic 'cold water only' washing up available. ELSAN waste point.

Fab for a weekend, but wouldn't want to stay any longer in a tent with our kids! Might be easier in a c'van. Loads of walking and cycle routes on the doorstep and a lovely village pub within easy walking distance. Dog friendly site and ponies in the adjacent field.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Matt and Sally 2 reviews from this member

It was nice to be back for another short break at Ashspring House.

We stayed 2 nights at the end of June in a tent, and had a wonderful and relaxing stay.

It is such a quiet and peaceful location, and close to all the main places of interest in the Cotswolds.

We enjoyed another enjoyable couple of visits to 'The Lamb Inn' in the village, and received a lovely warm welcome from the owners.

Would highly recommend, and will return again soon, no doubt.

Matt and Sally (Cambridgeshire)

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LeamCH 1 review from this member

Just returned from a nights stay at this great campsite.

Highly recommended for anyone who is visiting the Cotswolds and enjoys a night in the great outdoors. The location is fantastic, easy place to find and really close to all the amenities of Bourton on the Water.

The site is not particularly big but there was more than enough space to play games/run around and not feel on top of one another.

There are only two shower and toilet rooms, however this was not a problem as it wasn't particularly busy despite it being a warm weekend in July. The facilities were clean and very well maintained!

The owner was extremely friendly and helpful and obviously works hard to maintain the site.

Overall, would definitely return and would recommend to anyone who has time to get away for the weekend.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 131 reviews from this member

Stopped at this site when we visited Bourton on the water.

The site was well kept and had nice views across the surrounding countryside. The grass on the pitches was lush and cut to a good length. Depending on where you pitched, it might be a little sloping, but we were given the choice so were quite happy with where we parked up.

There was a nice pub in the village which served very good food, not the cheapest but you get what you pay for. Also a bus stop just up the road from the site. It was about a 2. 5-3 mile walk in to Bourton, which was across fields and only had a small section of road to walk along.

The only downside of this site were the two showers, they were on a pay meter at 20p for 2 minutes, which is fine, however, you couldn't adjust the temperature, it was either scolding hot or cold. Apart from this, the facilities were kept clean. There was also a very useful information shed which had maps, info, games, books, etc.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debs398 33 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a fantastic week at this lovely idyllic little site.

First impressions, we were a bit worried as the ground is rather undulating but after a quick scout round we found an area flat enough to pitch our rather large tent and hooked up to the electric. However I think the campsite is quirky because of the non level ground and there were plenty of places to pitch and the views were absolutely amazing.

Most of the week there were only 4 units on site so there was no strain on the toilets/showers whatsoever. The toilets/showers are basic but kept very clean and the showers are lovely and hot and 20p for 3 minutes. There were more people arriving closer to the weekend and that meant there may be a little wait for the loo but nothing we couldn't manage.

Seeing the horses in the meadow and the kites flying above your head, no noise apart from wildlife, its just the perfect place to be

We would go so far as to say that this our favourite little site that we have stayed on, its in a great location, the owners are very friendly and laid back and the whole ambience of the site is relaxing and chilled out. We have had a fantastic week its so easy to get to all the places that we wanted to visit too, we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JJandA 1 review from this member

Just returned from two nights at Ashspring House. Bill and Lyn were very friendly and helpful and they have a beautifully kept site, which is great value for 14 including EHU. The pitches are on grass which is like a well-manicured lawn and there are flower baskets and bird feeders dotted around and three ponies in the next field. There are two shower rooms with WC and the electric showers are 20p for 3 minutes. With careful planning, my husband and I managed to shower adequately with 40p between us! There are plenty of public footpaths nearby and Bourton is a 30-40 minute walk (or there's a bus stop just up the road). There's a little hut (the TARDIS) which is full of leaflets, jigsaws, DVDs, dog poo bags, bottle openers and other useful bits and pieces. We forgot our dog's lead which could have been a disaster, but Bill came to the rescue and lent us two! Would definitely recommend this site.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1121 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019