Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Pepper Pot Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

The Pepper Pot Caravan Park
Lower Wick
Dursley
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL11 6DDCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AxleT 1 review from this member

A well maintained site with friendly, helpful staff. The pitch was spacious. The facilities were modern and very clean. The Pepper Pot (Hoggies) is a pleasant pub serving good beers and food.

The site is well situated for accessing the surrounding attractions, including Berkeley Castle, Cotswolds, Sharpness Canal, Slimbridge WWT, Cattle Ranch Country Park, etc,

The only down side is the proximity of the M5 which can be noisy at times.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sam+meg 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a weekend at this site. Lovely friendly welcome shown to our pitch, which was a hardstanding fully serviced pitch. The toilet block was spotless nice and warm.

The pub food was very good we ate there on the sat night and a lovely breakfast before we left this morning.

The noise from the M5 didn't affect our stay.

We will be returning for a longer stay next year.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Harryajh 10 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights in May. The site is very clean and well kept. Site + Pub were taken over earlier this year so Jan & hubby no longer there, Gary and his wife are very worthy replacements, very helpful and chatty.

The pub is now called Hoggies, we had 2 evening meals + breakfasts the food is really that good!

The only downside is the noise from the M5, we thought it was a lot louder than other reviewers, maybe the Rain increases the sound? - on saying that, it's funny how you don't even notice it after a while. This is definitely not enough to prevent us going again, looking forward to our next visit

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Richard19540 24 reviews from this member

Very well kept site. Everything was immaculate and reasonably priced but the noise from the motorway was horrendous. I could sleep through a war but it woke me at 4 in the morning and I could not get back to sleep. It was incessant. If this doesn't worry you then visit. If you think it may then give it a miss. I will not return purely because of the appalling din.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GingerFiFi 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here to break up a journey down to Devon, and we're so glad we did. A little gem of a site! Perfect location for a stopover, and no insistence on booking 2 nights at weekends, which I've seen elsewhere.

The pitches are level, and our hardstanding serviced pitch had a lovely private grassed area at the back, making it feel lovely and spacious. The landscaping is very nice, and the site is well maintained. The toilet block was kept very clean, although the shower was set too high for me - blasted in the face so I had to shower on tiptoes! A dog walking area would be a nice addition.

We didn't use the restaurant on site, but good to have it there as the site is quite isolated. The location makes for traffic noise, but didn't bother us at all - a hum in the background, really. We will definitely return - customer service from the wardens Peter and Jan was excellent, nothing was too much trouble.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tworty10 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night on the way to Cornwall after a long trip decided we needed to stay somewhere for the night. We called the site and had availability for us on the site.

19 a night was a good price, the site was really clean and tidy just off the M5 which was ideal.

The facilities were really clean and inclusive of the price. We would use this again for a stop off. The pub at the side looked really nice too but we were too tired to use it.

Only down side was the road noise from the M5.

The couple who run the site were really helpful too.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SueCrox 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this lovely site for 1 night on our way back to the Midlands from Somerset, to break up the journey.

The site is very close to the M5, so very easy and convenient to hop on/off the motorway. There is a hum of traffic noise, but this didn't bother us at all.

We were given a warm welcome by the very helpful wardens, Pete and Jan. The pitches are nice and flat and spacious, with very attractive grounds. The toilet and shower facilities were modern and very clean.

The site is within the grounds of a very nice country pub, which has a lovely safe children's play area and plenty of outdoor seating. As it was our daughter's 8th birthday on the day we stayed, we decided to eat at the pub. The food was nice; however, it is not what we'd usually expect from a campsite pub. The menu and drinks were rather expensive, children's meals definitely overpriced. After a weeks' holiday with 2 children, we'd already spent a small fortune, so a more basic and reasonably priced food menu would have been appreciated! That said, the service was excellent.

Another lovely gesture by the wardens. They had noticed my daughter wearing her birthday badge when we arrived, so they nipped out to buy her a surprise birthday cake, which was brought out, with candles alight and a card, by the waitress after our meal. A nice surprise for us all!

We would definitely return on future journeys down South.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sheffieldblue 1 review from this member

Used the site for a stop over travelling back from Devon and very pleased we did so. We were met by Peter who was very friendly and showed us a nice little short cut to the M5 which made it even more convenient as a stop over.

The site itself was nice and flat with both grass and hard standing pitches all plenty large enough for a caravan, awning and the car. The shower and toilets are new and extremely clean and well looked after. It is a 5 minute walk to the motorway services where there is a Waitrose and all the other usual motorway facilities.

The only downside is the noise from the motorway however it didn't effect our sleep and after a while we got used to it. We will definitely be returning as the location is a perfect stop over for South Wales and the West Country.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris ferguson 1 review from this member

Stayed over on the way to Cornwall. We got held up traffic and didn't arrive until late. Pete and Jan waited up until we arrived at 1030pm. Pete helped us set up, told us to settle up in the morning and get some sleep. The site was great. Clean tidy shower block seems new. The site is easy to get to via Michaelwood services. Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vdub69 1 review from this member

I stayed here for a nightly stop-over after a long day travelling and it was money well spent!

Pete and Jan were most helpful in opening up the site at a fairly unsociable hour and were keen to ensure that I had everything I needed.

The recently renovated toilet block was immaculate and its always handy to jump into a nice clean shower without the need for tokens.

Friendly, clean and very well maintained site that's definitely worth a visit!

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1029 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019