Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Abbotstone Wood A Camping Unplugged Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > New Alresford > Abbotstone Wood A Camping Unplugged Site > Reviews

Abbotstone Wood A Camping Unplugged Site
Basingstoke Road (b3046)
Northington
New Alresford
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO24 9TQ
Tel: 07720290229
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Steve2 2 reviews from this member

 The campsite is a large field and a camping area alongside the drive - all in woodland.

When we stayed there were only one or two other campers on the site.

It is an "eco" site with a number of convenient longdrop loos and only a few flush toilets/showers.

The lady receiving us was helpful. The overall impression was of the facilities being a bit run-down.

However it would give lots of scope for families wanting to experience "real" camping. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Pingram 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here a couple of times now as we love the private camping areas in the woods. There is a field too if you prefer but in the woods, if you pick well, you can end up in a lovely spot, where you can have a campfire and can't even see anyone else!

There are a number of basic rope swings around the site too, nothing much, but it keeps the kids occupied.

The washing facilities could do with hot water, but otherwise it has all we need and the staff are lovely.

Good walking from the site, although the new fences are a bit of a pain and could do with some gates/styles. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Liza C 1 review from this member

 We love this campsite and return every year as a large group of growing children and chilled adults and it satisfies allcomers.

Its for folk who like to camp freely with open roofed woodland showers and sawdusty long drop loos but who have friends who need some proper flushes and shower cubicles - this place has both.

Fabulous freedom for children to run and climb and explore safely, with great walks to pubs and easy access to Arlesford for shops. And more pubs.

We struggle to better this place in this area. Xxx 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Duffnut 31 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 nights here, and loved it. We pitched in the woods and spent the whole time cooking over an open fire.

The hosts were friendly and helpful. Wood is 10 a bag but the stuff we had was mostly fat wood so burnt well and lasted a while.

There is a small shop and a little coffee room, there is also a shower and toilet block and washing up station.

It's a great place to get any from it and I can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrewporter 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from an amazing first visit to Abbotstone Wood. On arrival we were greeted by Sid who was very welcoming. You can choose to camp either in the large field, or in the woods. We chose the woods, and Sid allocated an area for us that was big enough to accommodate our family tent. Camping in the woods was a fantastic experience - there were families either side of our spot, but not too close by (about 15 metres away) so although we were aware of them being there we still felt like we were in our own secluded woodland hideaway.

Open fires are permitted, but picking up wood from the ground is not so you must either bring your own or buy bags of logs on site.

My six year old loved the experience - being able to build fires and cook on them made this a really authentic camping experience. When we weren't busy making fires and toasting marshmallows we whiled away many an hour by exploring the woods, finding rope swings and hidden dens wherever we went.

The facilities are basic but adequate there are portacabins on site with showers and toilets, or you can use the 'long drop' toilets or outdoor showers if you are feeling brave! The outdoor washing up stations are really handy.

There is a small shop at Reception selling camping basics, essential toiletries, charcoal, toys etc. I was expecting it to be overpriced, but prices were actually very reasonable.

Despite being a sunny weekend in August, Abbotstone Wood didn't feel too busy - there were lots of people there, but the site is so big that you will never feel like you are crammed in.

The weekend was perfect in every way - a fantastic couple of nights camping in a magical woodland setting. Back to nature camping at its best! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zippy9 3 reviews from this member

 There's great potential at Abbotstone Wood campsite. It's a lovely quiet rural setting and you have the choice of whether to pitch in either the large open meadow or in the woods. The guy in charge is very welcoming and friendly. We stayed there in early May when the site was fairly quiet and had a very relaxing time.

Walking out of the campsite you can take a stroll around The Grange or to The Woolpack at Totford. For a choice of where to eat or somewhere more child friendly, you'll need to drive to Arlesford.

Facilities-wise there's a great set of portacabins with showers and loos at reception but apart from one new composting toilet the other loos and the outside showers have become a bit decrepit. Doors that don't close, missing toilet tops, nettles and rubbish could all be fixed pretty easily but the site manager was keener on having a chat and selling you his bags of wood at 10 a pop than looking after the place. Somewhere to wash your hands or some sanitiser at the composting toilets wouldn't go amiss either.

The campsite could be great but needs to do a bit of work on the basic facilities first. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deanosoar 1 review from this member

 We visited this site in the last weekend of June 2014. We went to Abbotstone wood to celebrate our sons 12th birthday. We found the site to be perfect for our basic camping needs. There was an organic toilet for the brave and toilets, showers and washing up facilities by the main office. The office sold a few main essentials like tea and coffee. Syd greeted us on arrival and was very friendly and welcoming and very conscientious in running the campsite. The campsite was very clean and Syd was always easy to find if you needed a question answered. It was great that we were able to camp in the woods and have our own campfire in the designated area where we pitched our tent. The children loved the bush craft and just being with nature. Syd made it a birthday our son will never forget arranging a birthday cake and card which he presented during a bush craft activity. Have nothing negative to say about this campsite, just a big thumbs up! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ursulamulledy 1 review from this member

 Best camp site I've ever been too. Very kid friendly and lots of fun things to get involved with ie fire making, den building, swing on tree rope swings, bug hunts and really just back to basics to teach children outdoor life. Sid was so helpful and always came to the rescue with any problem we had. We'll be back for sure! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markp1999 2 reviews from this member

 This is pretty much my ideal campsite. I stayed midweek in September having hiked out from Winchester and arrived to find I was the only person on the site. I pitched my tent in the main field and had a brilliant peaceful evening watching the sun set and the moon rise under the stars and listening to the owls.

Booking and paying online was easy and the welcome from Sid the site manager was warm and helpful.

The facilities as discussed by other campers are basic but functional with the woodland showers being a particular highlight. It's a great experience having a hot shower in the open air.

My only regret is that the Camping Unplugged sites close in mid-September. Now I've discovered them I'd like to have been able to stay in their site in the New Forest. I will certainly be looking to stay in more of these sites when they open in Spring next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Phuzzymap 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely weekend. The staff were very helpful to us newbies. The hire of the camp grill was a god send. The campsite was very roomy and full of little surprises for exploring. We felt very safe as the staff did their rounds at night checking everyone and everything was ok. The compost toilets were a surprise as they didn't smell. The toilets and showers were clean and functional. We will definitely go again. Thank you Paul. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Abbotstone Wood A Camping Unplugged Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Abbotstone Wood A Camping Unplugged Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Abbotstone Wood A Camping Unplugged Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near New Alresford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4224 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement