Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rushbanks Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Colchester > Rushbanks Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Rushbanks Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Wissington
Nayland
Colchester
Suffolk   (Browse area)
CO6 4NA
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 4 acres (including riverside)
Open: 01/05/2024 to 16/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Stuart 1 review from this member

 Another great stay at Rushbanks. Easy access to pitches, clean toilets and showers.

It's a great location, managed well and caters for families and groups well also.

There is a temporary restriction on river swimming at present (2023) due to national issues with our waterways, but this did not stop us Kayaking and paddle boarding along the on site river and beyond.

Remember there are no electric hook ups here and its a quiet site after 11 when all fires must be extinguished and vehicles should not be moved. May try and fit another few days in before summer close.

Look out for the Colin the Cow (ask the management) 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Stephanie Tent 5 reviews from this member

 This is a really mixed review.

The site is lovely and in a fantastic location on the river but unfortunately the weekend that we stayed it was far far too full. If they’d have halved the numbers staying it still would have felt busy.

The facilities were totally overwhelmed often with a queue 8 people long for the ladies toilets.

We still had a good weekend as the surrounding area was beautiful and the 11pm curfew was stuck to but we prefer sites that are more practical about numbers of campers in relation to the facilities.

It’s probably really nice midweek in School term time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hingy 3 reviews from this member

 Really good site, nicely set upon a river bank with ready access for canoes / kayaks and the like.

The site is well maintained and the staff are rigid on quietness rules. 11pm fires out and no noise. This in my books is a big positive.

There are 4 shower cubicles which generally give good hot showers (one was on the blink and when I mentioned it to one of the staff, he reacted like it was a personal insult and went weird)

It's all grass and all the pitches are fairly level.

Great place, we've been a few times. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Joancl 1 review from this member

 This is a very well maintained campsite with a fishing lake. The area around the fishing lake is quite beautiful (we are not fishing people but it was lovely to see).

The staff are helpful and friendly. We had a problem with our electric hook up and Andy came to help, sorted the problem and even lent us an electric cable.

The shop is small but adequate with set opening hours. The shower block was closed (COVID) but the Elsan point was the cleanest I have ever seen.

It is quiet and the nearest town is 3 miles away but there is a bus service. Lovely visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Higgygv 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location. We rowed our new inflatable canoe up and down the river. It was alive with damselflies and thick with bullrushes and wild watercress.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The toilets were clean. The showers were a bit of a surprise, being housed in plastic cubicles, the sort normally used for toilets. They looked a bit weary, but were very hot and did what they were intended to do.

The walk through the woods was by badger sets and fields full of wheat and potatoes. Long trousers or a stick advised for the nettles.

We would definitely visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Eborian 1 review from this member

 Wonderful location. I stayed 3 nights and wish I could have stayed longer. I had a riverside pitch and it was great waking up to the ducks and swans just outside my tent each morning.

The facilities were exactly what I needed. There were very clean showers, toilets, washroom and washing up area. It's off-grid and so no mains electric or wifi, but that was a plus to me.

I was there on a quietish weekend between the two bank holidays. The other guests were quiet and considerate and the owners were helpful.

The location was within easy reach of Colchester and other places I wanted to visit. I didn't really have time to hire a canoe, but would definitely do so on a return visit.

Stay here if you get the chance - it's great! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Keronite 3 reviews from this member

 Visited 1st August weekend. Site full to the gunnels. Tents on top of each other.

Really noisy with crying kids at 6am.

Bugger all facilities - need to queue for 15 minutes to wash dishes. Nice place if fewer people - but overcrowded for this school holiday weekend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Caligula 4 reviews from this member

 A lot has been said about this site, and it is exquisitely beautiful riverside. That is it's USP.

It is not set up to be an all resources/facilities type of site, and thank goodness say I.

It does have effective hot showers, alas too small for me to change inside, and there is no lighting in them or the loos or washrooms. That in itself is no problem really, but I would prefer to be able to change in a shower cubicle if someone was around. But, when I was there, there was only one other tent, absolutely serene. The birdsong for the dawn chorus was stunning, as was the pike lying by my canoe in the morning.

At weekends, it is very busy, I went and had a look on the motorbike one w/e prior to staying there; so I would suggest if you want quiet, choose weekdays and term time.

The site operates on a pick your spot if free principle, and doesn't regulate with specific size pitches, which is great and relies on good will and common sense and courtesy, when busy. When quiet, it's all yours.

At the risk of seeming curmudgeonly, I did feel it was a little expensive at £22 night. I can take a 29 foot boat into a marina for less. BUT. It is very beautiful, the site was very clean and litter free, and the river inviting for a swim.

Just perfect for a quiet canoe/camp trip on the Stour.

My scoring reflects my personal priorities. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RDuffey 4 reviews from this member

 We went to Rushbanks Farm as three adults and two children. We arrived on the Friday afternoon and as it was already busy we pitched our tent in the second field. As it turns out this was actually preferable for us. It gave us peace of mind over the children/river and also meant it was slightly quieter in the evening. I say slightly, because Friday night was very noisy, with music and singing from one group of campers going on until very late at night and certainly past 11pm.

Facilities were basic but sufficient. Toilets were clean and there was always plenty of toilet paper. There was only cold water for washing up and the showers were in plastic portaloo type cubicles There was no temperature control and the water ran hot and cold, but the pressure was good.

I thought it a little pricey for what was there. Our pitch was unserviced and we only had one tent, but with three adults there we paid £26 per night. That said we all had a great time here, and I'd say it's highly likely we'll be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MummaP 6 reviews from this member

 We arrived midweek & the site was blissfully quiet (probably due to the continual wet weather). We like sites that don't have marked out pitches and let you choose where to pitch, so we were happy. The whole place had a very relaxed atmosphere. Camping by the river was lovely.

Yes, the site does get pretty muddy in places despite sterling efforts by the owners. It's not Glasto, but don't expect to pad round in your sneakers!

The site is very well maintained yet retains a 'natural' look. The toilet block was the best kept one we have encountered. There are basins and mirrors, a shelf for your washbag & hooks for your clothes plus plenty of loo roll and soap in each cubicle! As there is no electric there's no freezer for icepacks, but the block is lit at night by solar powered fairy lights.

It's good to be able to take rowboats or canoes out at weekends. There are nice walks nearby too; the local church is well worth a visit if you're interested. It's a good site for dogs too - oh & how many other sites provide dog bags as well as dog bins?

The people running the site are very friendly & helpful but never intrusive. They work very hard to make this a nice place to stay. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Rushbanks Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rushbanks Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Rushbanks Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Colchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46535 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement