Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seddons Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Seddons Caravan Park > Reviews

Seddons Caravan Park
Widdrington Moor
Morpeth
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE61 5DR
Tel: 01670 760226
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 72 Reviews
                8/10 from 72 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bonnyrigg 40 reviews from this member

 This site has loads of potential but it's underutilised. The photos in the website doesn't show the true field. The areas around the seasonal caravans is unkempt, and the awnings in the main are very overused, scruffy, and ugly, adding to the unkempt feel.

The grass is cut to the best of their ability allowing for the weather we have had, but no attempt had been made to pick up the cut grass, therefore it went brown and walked into the awning.

The bin on the touring field was attacked by wildlife and the items were strewn over the area of the field the bin was on, this wasn't helped by them being over-utilised over the bank holiday and not being emptied. Then someone came along and cut the grass around the rubbish. The rubbish wasn't cleared until Thursday afternoon for the bins to be emptied by the council on Friday.

The toilets on the touring field were cleaned twice in eight days and not properly. There was excrement in one of the toilets on the Bank holiday Saturday and was still there six days later when we were leaving the site.

The electricity is very expensive. The first 5 is within your nightly payment, thereafter you have to purchase extra electricity. We purchased 7 worth and it lasted 24 hours.

Our caravan is all run on battery and gas except for the fridge, a kettle used five times in total, and the cold box. 7 is astronomical for the amount of time we got. 


Date of Visit: March 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karenr 1 review from this member

 Loved our stay.

Lovely and quiet and lots of walks to go along and explore.

The hosts go beyond and above to make you welcome that we have booked up again 👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Reecea 1 review from this member

 This is a nice big quiet site. Basic with a lot of permanent caravans.

The site is surrounded by woodland and seems to have a lot of wildlife.

The site is a bit out the way but that is probably a draw for the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: DieselFitter 1 review from this member

 Driving down from Edinburgh I was pleased to come across Seddons Caravan Park which served as the perfect halfway point to my final destination and home in Market Harborough, Leicestershire. From the start I was able to contact the site and book a pitch.

Seddons website gave me all the information I needed including sat nav advice. Payment was cash on an arrival and in my case was 25 per night for a hard standing pitch with EHU. There is no wi fi available.

The site facilities and locations were pointed out for me and I was taken to my pitch. Hard standing and level with EHU.

Facilities included chemical waste/grey water disposal point. The shower and toilet block on the touring field was closed for winter but I was able to use an alternative block on the neighboring residential area.

Being winter I found I was the only Motorhome on site and the area was very peaceful with no traffic noise. The road next to the campsite in only a lane and even at peak times is extremely quiet. I would imagine that during the height of the holiday season the site would still be free of noise.

There is a pub, the Widdrington Inn, a mile or two from the site. I walked there and had no concerns with any danger from vehicles as the road is straight and visibility is good. The drive to the pub is just five minutes.

The friendly Inn serves good ale and serves food from 12:00 to 3:00 and 8:00 to 10:00 and offers free wi fi. From Widdrington village another mile and a half will take you down to Druridge Bay with its sweeping golden beaches and panoramic views of the North Sea.

For the photographer there are bird hides behind the sand dunes overlooking the marshes. The ruins of a priory are accessible by public footpath and you can find evidence of the previous open cast mining industry. This area is a haven for photographers and wildlife, particularly birds. Life alike.

The nearest shop is the Co Op at Widdrington, Ulgham. Another drive of five minutes or so will take you there but for an interesting walk there is a public footpath that takes you across country for a mile and half.

You will pass through Stobswood and eventually encounter a railway line. You can either turn right and walk through some ancient woodland (watch out for deer) to a footbridge, or left where you can cross at a level crossing. The Co Op is next to Widdrington railway station.

An easy to book site, friendly and helpful owners and all necessary facilities made for a very restful couple of days before continuing my journey. If you have time Id recommend exploring the area where you will meet some very friendly people. Amenities include a petrol station, shop (Co Op), pub and interesting walks.

Would highly recommend Seddons Caravan Park. 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Danlebath 15 reviews from this member

 Back again for the fourth year running and another week of really enjoying our stay. Having 3 (well behaved (most of the time) Border Collies was not an issue. We always bring a garden fence so they don't disturb other campers.

Arriving just after the schools had gone back, the site was very quiet during the week, getting slightly busier as the weekend came closer. We chose a grass pitch with hookup which was very reasonably priced at 20 a night + 5 a day electric. (if you use more you can pay extra) I think they prefer cash (or bank transfer) as they don't have a card machine

The site owners are very pleasant. They come around each day setting up notices when the new arrivals arrive as to where they pitch. There are well defined dog walking paths around the bottom of the camping field, letting your dog off lead isn't an issue there.

There are also 2 walks into the woods towards the railway line. One with several "dens" for kids to play in and build. One constructive comment is this walk sadly ends in a dead end and you have to retrace your steps, It comes within feet for the next walk but it has become too overgrown to pass, maybe this could be reinstated?

The other walk is up a track wide enough for the site vehicles, however, it narrows to just a path. If you carry on in a straight line you will end up on an old disused and closed road which leads to the level crossing one way and the road the other. Plenty of wildlife to listen to and see and when we were there, loads of butterflies.

Further afield there is the excellent Widdrington Inn (booking is advised if you plan to dine) The nearest CO-OPs are at Widdrington Station and Hadston, with Morrisons at Amble and Asda, Lidl etc at Ashington. There's also the Drift Cafe at Cresswell bay and don't forget to get an Ice Cream from Cresswell Ices, All home made and very reasonably priced 1.80 for 1 scoop, 2.80 for 2. Many many yummy flavours.

Back to the site and the Toilet/Shower block is very clean, well maintained and with modern fittings, the male side has three basins, one shower and 2 stalls. I imagine the female side is the same. There's several places to get drinking water, as well an Elsan point in the main side of the site with organic toilet disposal and grey

Water in the camping field. There's (hot water) dog washing facilities as well as washing up. Laundry facilities are on the main side of the site. You can buy gas at reception.

This is a lovely, quiet site with most things you may need. What you don't pay for is a pool, shop, bar and entertainment because there aren't any. Long may it stay like that. We'll be back next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tmmatt 1 review from this member

 This was a Lovely site and it had excellent clean facilities.

The pitches were very spacious and overall it was a peaceful site.

Will definitely be visiting again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Djtw38 2 reviews from this member

 I booked the site in a hurry for two nights after reading some good reviews.

Drove onto the site did a circuit and drove out again.

Sadly we found it cramped with statics and vans too close together.

The site is run down from what it must have been once. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jules8 1 review from this member

 Liked that with young children we were near the play park and toilet facilities.

Great place to stay to visit surrounding area as we planned

Nice & quiet, very relaxing

Easy to book & nice owners 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Alan-172 2 reviews from this member

 Camped here for two nights mid week, the site was very quiet and peaceful just the sounds of local wildlife.

The pitch was flat and well drained, it was reasonably close to the shower block and washing facilities.

Two shower / toilet blocks on the site, both were very clean and well maintained.

The location of the site is ideal for visiting Druridge Bay and the coastal path.

Wildlife and nature parks are close to the site.

I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Spookt 7 reviews from this member

 A lovely quiet site in a great location for exploring the Northumberland coast.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the touring pitches generously sized and well kept and the shower block on the touring field was brand new and spotless.

My only reservation would be that if the site had been busier the facilities on the touring field may have struggled as they are quite small.

However there are more facilities throughout the site which we didnt need to use so cant comment on.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. Wed recommend the Widdrington Inn for food (5 mins away and dog friendly - its popular so best to book) and the Drift Cafe on the beach at Cresswell (10 mins and again dog friendly).

We enjoyed a visit to Amble too. 
via mobile


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Seddons Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seddons Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Seddons Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Morpeth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2916 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement