Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Old Manor Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Southport > Old Manor Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Old Manor Farm Certificated Site
Shore Road
Hesketh Bank
Southport
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR4 6XQ
Tel: 07932 277 025  or  01772 812530
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Vixans28230dno 1 review from this member

Old Manor Farm is small but has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Our children loved the play area and woodland area.

The shower room was lovely and clean and the shower was hot, nothing fancy but perfectly sufficient.

Everyone was friendly and we had a great weekend.

Close enough to southport to get a taxi for under 15.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davidf7905vzk 1 review from this member

Be aware only 1 hard standing here for motorhome, DO NOT GO ONTO GRASS AREA I GOT STUCK HERE AND TO BE WINCHED OFF THIS TIME OF YEAR.

The owner christine was helpful to get us pulled out, but we should have been told.

The owner allowed another motorhome to park next to us with only a car space between us, and a car tried to park between us late evening.

There should be a 6 metre rule for fire(health and saftey) it seems the owner is not adhering to 6 metre rule as we saw tents with young families with only 4feet between them.

Toilets/ showers are ok but need upgrade. You can use bus service to Southport or preston by flagging down bus

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Richie p 1 review from this member

The site was easy to find. Cheap. Showers toilets could do with refurb.

Woodland walk very small. Took five mins to complete. Not what you expect. We found they tried to cram to many on.

Its a small site and was very noisy a couple of nights. We know people are out to enjoy themselves. But there should be a shut off point noise after 12 midnight a bit much.

Great for getting about Southport about six miles tarleton a nice place. Good location.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sarrison 6 reviews from this member

We picked this site as we wanted somewhere close to home so my husband could nip to work on Saturday morning.

The site is easy to find and the instructions on the website were handy when our sat nav tried to take us down a non-caravan friendly route. When we arrived Christine very kidnly showed us any available pitches and explained where everything was.

The site itself is level and surrounded by tree's so very sheltered and looks very nice. There is a playground in one corner which is close enough to see from your pitch, this was particularly helpful when setting up and packing away as we could see our son playing without worrying, it was however quite run down and could do with a regular clean as it was covered in bird poo and dried tissue that some kids had obviously been throwing when wet during a previous holiday. There is also a woodland to one site which was good to take him on a little adventure.

The toilet block is basic, separate room for men and women with a toilet and shower in. The showers were 50p each with an honesty box to pay, personally I don't like having to pay extra for showers as I feel this cost should be included in the site fee's, more frustrating when I found you needed to be around 5'7" or below to enjoy the shower, I spent my time crouched down to be able to wash my hair which wasn't very comfortable.

There are a number of farm workers living around the site in various caravans and wooden huts, they all seemed very friendly and invited us round to a bonfire they were having on the Saturday night.

Overall it was a good site for a weekend not far from home but needs a few improvements to the shower block and playground in my opinion.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Winks wright 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic place, so quiet and peaceful and the staff that were there were amazing and helpful. Only downside is there's only 2 showers and toilets, but they are spotlessly clean and work perfectly. Will definitely be going back soon.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul Mc 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a bank holiday weekend found it to be perfect. If you want a nice clean and chilled out campsite then this is the place. Christine who runs the site is very friendly and chatty, couldn't find a fault with the place. A little hidden gem.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Velder 1 review from this member

Lots of good features but some downsides.

Nice small campsite with a small play area at the bottom of the fields, this was perfect for our three year old, she could play there and we could see her from our tent. Very cheap only 13 per night with EHU. The toilet and shower is in the same room which didn't bother us as it was quiet we didn't queue. The washing up area was a problem for us. It is a sink with drainer attached to the outside of the toilet / shower block, it has no hot water to it and it right next to the bins.

There are free roaming chickens on site which the kids loved.

I'd stay again but only in a caravan so we could wash up easily.

It's on a bus route although we didn't use it.

It was nice and peaceful as it's within the countryside.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J kabigat 4 reviews from this member

Just got back from a three night break at old Manor Farm and have mixed feelings really.

The site itself is really nice, just one field with a play area and woodland walk.

The play area is in real need of a overhaul or possibly renewing as it is in very poor condition. In fact the swings actually broke while we were there and had to be taken down.

This wasn't really to much of a problem as the kids loved the woodland area as they were able to play here safely as it is fenced off so they couldn't wander off.

All the kids on the sight loved it, especially at night when they were all in the woods with torches all trying to scare each other.

Curfew was at 11 so the kids, including ours, had a wail of a time upto about 10. 30 then it started to quieten down.

The toilet/shower block was disappointing to say the least.

One female shower and toilet and one male shower and toilet.

The toilet and shower were actually together so when some one had a shower the toilet could not be used.

This wasn't really too much of a problem until the second day when more and more people arrived.

Last count was 18 varying units.

One of the reasons we booked this sight was because it was a small sight.

Supposedly 5 pitches with room for a few tents.

Caravans and tents were packed in like sardines.

There was one washing up station that couldn't be used as the sink was blocked for the duration of our stay.

The sight is situated about 15 minutes from southport and a short drive from Hesketh Bank where there is a small supermarket.

There is plenty to do in southport and Martin mere wetlands centre is very close by which is a highly recommended day out for all ages.

I would really like to re visit this site in the future so hope some improvements are made to the facilities and a few less 'sardines'

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ally280 4 reviews from this member

A really nice little site, with basic but adequate facilities. There was only cold water available and a additional charge for the shower, which was disappointing given the rate charged for camping. We took young children who had a great time exploring and playing on the small ( and slightly dilapidated) play area. A generally nice couple of nights, but not for glampers.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: H9env 1 review from this member

My partner and I found the Old Manor Farm to be a lovely site. The toilet block was basic but clean and the showers are hot. We enjoyed the peacefulness of the site and the little woodland walk was a pleasant surprise. The small playground is adequate for small toddlers but could benefit from some TLC!. Ideally situated for Southport centre and its shops. My only criticisms would be the signage for the site entrance is very small, so it's easy to miss your turning and the entrance itself is a very tight, an almost 90 degree turn. Apart from that we would recommend this site if you're looking for peace and quiet and a no hassles stay!

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Southport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3695 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019