Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Willows Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > The Willows Caravan Park Reviews

The Willows Caravan Park
Bromholme Lane
Brampton
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE28 4NE
Tel: 01480 437566
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 70
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 67 Reviews
                8/10 from 67 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bananarama 7 reviews from this member

We were given a warm, friendly welcome to the campsite for a two night stay. Campsite well looked after, no problem entering through the barrier after calling the warden. Parked on wide gravel road instead of grass, would probably have been a bit soft on the grass. Warden ran through all the facilities on site and recommended the local pub restaurant, The Brampton Mill just a couple of minutes walk away (which was excellent).

Facilities were spotless. Easy walk into Huntingdon town centre. A quiet campsite, no noise from main road, a bit of traffic going to and from the pub but nothing to disturb us. Enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wizzyd 1 review from this member

Just come back from 2 glorious nights, what a gem of a campsite this is. The couple that run the campsite work hard to make the place look good although the weather has been against them, flooded out. They met us as we arrived and showed us to our pitch, although we were asked not to pitch on the grass because it was still very wet we set up on the gravel roadway which wasn't a problem. After telling us about the areas walk they left us to get set up. This is a quiet, pretty site with miles of walks and beautiful scenery, set only a short walk into Bramton or Huntingdon town with shops and pubs etc.

Regards Pat, Dave & Alfie

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SantaFe RMK 6 reviews from this member

Had a lovely but wet weekend here, have stayed before, And the new Wardens are great, the pub 10 minutes up the road is good. And the walking for dogs is great. We use our own shower etc. So cannot comment on facilities. Even though we had a storm the pitches were good. The road was waterlogged until 12 pm. But many other sites would have been worse. Lovely place all round, thanks again to the wardens. Coachman 560 with the two dogs.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freckles63 49 reviews from this member

Stayed 22-25th October half term holiday, easy to locate and easy access £20 with ehu. Pleasant wardens who helped with siting and made my husbands day by commenting on how well he reversed the caravan :)

A 20 minute walk through site, across golf course, through church and you arrive at edge of Brampton Village and The Black Bull pub which had good food, further into the village and you can find a chip shop and Co-Op.

Across the main road that you take for site, is Hitchinbrooke country park, great for cycles/walking etc.

Opposite the gates to site is another gate that if you walk will lead you to a meadow and across to Godmanchester and it's famous Chinese bridge.

We cycled into Huntingdon and the above places, very easy cycling with no problems.

St Ives is worth a visit, we met up with friends there and had a meal at Hartford Mill carvery which was fine. St Ives had a market on the Monday which was ok.

We enjoyed our stay here but if we returned would not pitch next to the road, leading to the Brampton Mill pub as it was quite busy with cars of an evening, the central camping area has a children's play area. The row of pitches to your right as you enter the site seemed to get late sunshine.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Magsie 38 reviews from this member

Our second visit to The Willows, a very pleasant grassy site near Huntingdon. The toilets, free showers and wash-up room were excellent. There is also a coin-operated washing machine, lines for clothes drying and a book swap corner.

A public footpath from Brampton to Godmanchester goes past the gate if you want a walk.

A 5-minute stroll leads to a pub/restaurant in the old water mill, with plenty of outdoor seating by the river.

Commercial WiFi is available (pay on-line), though we didn't try it.

The overnight price is quite reasonable.

My only criticism is about access to the site, even if you have booked ahead. On arrival in the afternoon we found the barrier closed with an instruction to phone a number and wait for someone to come and open it. As the wardens live on-site, surely a bell, intercom or camera could be monitored to let new arrivals in! It even hard to leave, as once again we had to find someone to let us out and were left waiting at the gate for 10 minutes. Most barriers open automatically for exit, but not this one!

Management response: We are glad that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. Its always nice to have repeat custom.

I would like to address your points about the barrier.

We do live on site and we are the only staff for the campsite. It is not possible for us to have a camera on our gate or intercom as I cannot remain in the office to monitor them which is why we use the telephone which I can carry with me. The reason it doesnít open up when you try to leave is because we also have a smaller entrance for cars. If it operated this way someone could drive on the other way, open it up and allow unauthorised units on. It would also allow someone stealing a caravan to have a very easy getaway.

Its a shame we have to think like this but this is the reality in todays world and all we are trying to do is look after every ones best interests.

I can only apologise if you have had to wait for us to come and let you through and we hope this hasnít put you off enjoying our lovely location.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hbaker 1 review from this member

Just got home what an amazing weekend. There was a group of four families we got a very warm welcome. Had an amazing area to pitch our tents so they could face one another. Facilities were great. Owners very friendly. Will definitely be coming back again next year.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clairey-lou39 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site which was easily accessible from the A14. We stayed over a long weekend at the beginning of September and found the site to be well maintained, with a clean toilet/ shower block and a lovely play area for little kids. The wardens gave us the choice of pitching our tent in the tent field or by the park as we had two little ones with us. The site is close to the water but the kids would have had to escape a long way to get anywhere near it. Lovely pub at the end of the lane beside the site, just happened to be having a beer festival the weekend we were there. There was no noticeable noise from the pub, though we could hear the A14 and the trains in the distance. We were able to visit Houghton Mill (NT) and Cambridge easily while we were there. Wardens were really friendly when we called to book at the last minute and when they greeted us on arrival.

Our only slight criticism was that the water in the shower block was incredibly hot, but there were signs warning of this and we shouldn't really complain about having hot water which is a luxury on some sites!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Conmor98 3 reviews from this member

Well the site is really good. The toilet block is more than adequate with 3 urinals and 3 toilets and 2 showers in the men's and similar albeit the urinals in the women's. Hot water on demand which is very handy and water access points dotted around the site. The wardens are very welcoming and polite and always there to help which made the experience very nice. All this been said the campsite has some problems which are. The entrance to the site is barrier controlled and you have to wait there blocking the road off to go and get a passcode from the wardens home situated in the middle of the site. The chemical waste area is just a drain cover you have to remove by hand use the water post next to it to clean everything down and have nothing to clean your hands with afterwards and this is right next to the shower block and kids play area and it's not concealed in anyway. There is no shop on site so you have to travel into Brampton of Huntingdon for the paper/ milk etc it's a coop in Brampton and a tesco and sainsbury in Huntingdon. These are a 5 minute drive away but at least 30 minutes walking at a quick pace. There are a lot of builders from out of town using the site and while we were there there were 2 caravans and a tent bring used and loads of work vans making the place look like a gypsy site which did bring the site down oh and before I forget if you don't like trains then please don't bother coming as every 5 - 10 minutes trains go by and they are the long distance ones at that very noisy very off putting at 1am. Last but not least the Brampton mill restaurant situated around the side of the caravan park is over rated and very over priced. We were just about to sit down and order when 2 sets of couples got fed up of waiting and left and the food was not upto scratch either. All this said the caravan park is cheap for a reason.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gazza50 6 reviews from this member

Site quite pleasant though a bit muddy in places. It looks though like there are permanent residents here, which isn't to my cup of tea. When using the facilities there were laundry dryers full of nurses uniforms. I understand people have got to live somewhere. There are nice walks in the area and Hinchingbrooke Country Park is pretty much over the road. Shower facilities good and clean, as were the washing up areas ect. The two ladies running the site very pleasant and knowledgeable of the area. Very nice food pub just a bit further down the lane.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nedra1 15 reviews from this member

Little Staughton is a handy local camp site and we had booked a weekend. Unfortunately the site was waterlogged so we booked THe Willows at short notice. We were the only tent there and the caravan owners were friendly. The facilities are excellent and the owhers helpful.

Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4486 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019