Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kelham Hall And Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Newark > Kelham Hall And Country Park Reviews

Kelham Hall And Country Park
Kelham Hall
Newark
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG23 5QX
Tel: 01636 980000
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 200
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 47 Reviews
                7/10 from 47 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Anthon 1 review from this member

 Badly lit campsite, pot holes on roadway

Un helpful park staff

Unless your face fits

One rule for one person different rules for others

Positive was facilities 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Petengail 16 reviews from this member

 Had a great time here one big field for tourers and tents but not on top of each other.

Showers and toilet are a temporally set up but ok need to by checked on more often only seen cleaner once all weekend out of toilet rolls regular, showers no hot water one day but found them clean and useable but these are unisex but not a problem for us there was also a separate family shower block.

Nice walk around Kelham Hall grounds and Hall. Grandkids loved the woods and open space.

After reading reviews was a little put off but found Kelham Hall ok for what we needed just think if they checked things more and keep on top with things with toilets and showers then reviews would by better.

Wardens very helpful and shown to plot upon arrival always around and did there best to help

All in all would go again 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boston Spa 2 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful site, a fantastic building, but let down by the toilets and showers.

The staff do their best but they need pulling down and replacing.

It is a very quiet site ideal for a relaxing break. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kyliek 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Keelhaulers hall as we were attending a wedding there,

The site has lovely walks, plenty to keep the kids entertained,

The only down fall the toilets were disgusting, full of spiders and dirt 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adamrogers 1 review from this member

 The wife two children and I went to Kellham for the first time the last bank holiday weekend in May we have passed Kellham several times and seen tents and caravans in the field so we decided to give it a go,

Tell you what we absolutely loved it the staff are really helpful and friendly,

The grounds are beautiful I believe this park caters for all people and would almost say this park is one of the best we have stayed on, there is a beer tent and truck,

Plenty of food trucks we even had 2 evenings of entertainment under a large marquee, 2 great parks for the kids loads of open fields for the kids to play ball games, even the park warden Keeps everyone entertained with a tour of the grounds on a covered trailer and a fire engine,

Already looking at booking again in a fort nights time,

Do go you will love it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Struts45 3 reviews from this member

 We have been to kelham hall a couple of times now in a touring caravan once stayed on the event field and the other time on the front.

We have 2 children and 2 dogs so this is perfect for them to have adventures. The staff seen very nice how ever not incredible organised when it came to check in.

The plot sizes were more than enough in size to fit our caravan on and we were able to put our event shelter up too with no problems from the site staff or extra cost.

The site is rather expensive for what it is and probably priced so high in order to keep the hall running as it isn't spent on the facilities there is a porter cabin style toilet block that is totally gross and has been on both times dirty we have visited.

The showers aren't much better either hot is The only temperature which with 2 small kids isn't easy to wash them.

This all been said we still had a lovely time but the toilet block is such a big let down and would make me think twice about going back as it's not cheap. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kizzame2 1 review from this member

 I can actually say I loved this site, staff friendly fantastic music night in open field area with large tented area some seating with Beer bar next to it, everyone really enjoyed it even my little grandson got his groove on to all our surprise he is 2 this year lol,

It was very accommodating for my family of 9 adults and 6 grandchildren, they loved the Easter Egg hunt, face painting and colouring competition.

I heard a lot of reviews on how bad the toilets were, but to be fair yes the floors got muddy and sometimes no loo roll but didn't faze me I just took loo roll with me and not a lot you can do about muddy floor when it's rained on and off over the weekend, the showers I'm not sure of tbf as I only ever use my own anyways call me fussy,

I will definitely be here again I didn't get chance to go round the big house like I wanted as I had my girls with me (dogs) so when I come back that's on my list,

Lovely grounds and very historical, kids loved play areas, lovely walk round estate even adorable little cemetery and church on the grounds too, love it,

If you can look past the loos then this is fantastic place and would recommend it any day xx

A must is a little local pub just outside the grounds gate The Fox they serve fantastic food and very friendly couple,

In all fantastic Easter family break xxx 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chickenhouse 4 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 days on this site, our first visit and was guided to the event field as it was a Bank Holiday weekend. They were still connecting up the electrics right across the field and worked late into the evening before they finished.

The water supply taps were very few and quite a distance away. By Saturday night the field was packed with tents, caravans and motorhomes, hundreds, and the portaloo facilities just were not good enough for the amount of families there.

No washing up facilities for the campers to go to, unless they walked right back to the cabin were you booked in when you arrived. People queueing to get into the toilets first thing in the morning and the poor cleaner trying to get in to work and clean at the same time. It just wasn't good enough.

Also make sure you take everything you need to eat, don't run out while your there as the on site shop had nothing but tins of beans and drinks. No BREAD, No Milk, crisps, utensils ect and the nearest shop is a drive into Newark about 2miles away.

We walked across the road to Kelham Hall to have a look around to be told it was closed because of a wedding. One good thing was there's a nice Pub called the Fox across from the campsite which do very nice meals.

There was a few catering vans there, burgers, pizzas, popcorn sweets etc and a van selling alcohol.

Maybe it would be better going when it isn't a bank holiday but I'll be thinking twice before I'd go again. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: MYOBFGS 4 reviews from this member

 Tent & Touring Caravan

Beautiful surroundings but ODD camping!

On the plus side during special weekends (like bank holidays) free entertainment is provided - films, music etc but we did not go to anything the weekend we were there.

Many of the pitches are temporary (in a field to the right of the hall with electrics being laid in by contractors during busy times).

Originally a council owned property, now sold to an enterprise for development into a luxury hotel, wedding venue etc so I am puzzled as to how long camping will be allowed on the grounds directly in front of the house - I would not want to pay luxury hotel/wedding prices and have an encampment in my wedding photo's.

The facilities were definitely 'temporary' in looks and operation. The 'family' showers we used were in fact unuseable - either boiling hot or freezing cold. We did not try the ones on the ground floor of the hall itself because they looked grim although I have heard since they are a huge improvement on the more 'temporary' buildings in the grounds to the right of the hall itself.

Only two sinks for washing up at the back of the camping reception building - quite a walk from the further limits of the camping area.

The site and the facilities looked and felt very inpermanent to us and for that reason we will not return there. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Garmitage 3 reviews from this member

 Thank god we are home and can get cleaned up. In all our years we have been caravanning this is without doubt the dirtiest site with have ever ever been on.

I truly feel sorry for the people who work here, they must be so embarrassed. Looking back at old reviews it seems they make a habit of packing 'em in at the bank holiday.

If you fancy spending the bank holiday packed in a field a couple of feet away from each of your neighbours with no power for 5 hours when you arrive and the toilets from hell then this is the place for you.

I have never ever ever seen an Elson point like it - in clear view of the children playing there is a plastic tank with an open top that you have to lean over and pour in you slop-there is you know what all over the surface - it is disgusting.

The entrance to the site is very very dangerous being very a narrow gate shared by all vehicles on site as well as herds of toddlers etc wobbling around on their bikes.

While waiting to pass safely through this gate at least you are entertained by watching all the men lined up at the urinals taking a leek! Weird.

In short what there is at this site rarely works and when it does you do not want to use it because it is filthy.

Some nice trees and Newark is pleasant. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kelham Hall And Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kelham Hall And Country Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Kelham Hall And Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newark      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1892 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement