Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stanford Park Adults Only

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Stanford Park Adults Only Reviews

CLOSED: Stanford Park Adults Only
Weirs Road
Burwell
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed from 2017

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 10 Reviews
                7/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BeniaminoGigli 10 reviews from this member

 Very nice and quiet Site, at least 3 different fields surrounded by trees. Facilities just about adequate and dated. Chemical disposal certainly needs updating. However, price is very reasonable.

Easy access to local shops. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Colmiayogi 3 reviews from this member

 An easy to find adult only site (even though there is a very old swing, slide, roundabout and see saw on site). Site loos were clean. Shower incurs a small cost. Chemical waste point is functional, not the best I have ever seen but it does the job! It has a dated feel. All 'fields' are level. So far we have been spoiled as we are the only campers in the field that we are in and the other 2 fields aren't full. The whole site is surrounded by well established fir trees. The grass is well cut yet deep and lush. Fantastic to walk the dog barefoot. 20 mins to walk around the hole site. Main road outside the site is not busy at all. A very quiet site that I look forward to visiting again 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Trance-Elbow 7 reviews from this member

 About us - Four adults, Mum, Dad, Son and Grandma.

Unit - Folding Camper/Trailer Tent.

Stay- 6 Nights

We chose this campsite as a base to visit Cambridge, Ely and surrounding areas. As our son is no longer considered a child, an adult only site made perfect sense.

The Good-

The site is well located and easy to find. Our camper fitted down the roads with no problem at all. It is very quiet & secluded and boasts a fair bit of wildlife, which includes Rabbits, Foxes, Wood Pigeons by the score and the odd Cockerel. In fact the huge Leylandii trees are absolutely teeming with Wood Pigeons, which do tend to moan about their sore toes endlessly during daylight hours.

The site is quite large and covers about five varying fields and two areas of hard standing, which were just gravel drives.

The grass in the various fields was mostly lush and perhaps a little long in places. The ground is beautifully level and probably the flattest we have ever found, which was very welcome indeed.

The Bad-

The office seems to only be open by prearrangement. They do not accept cards, only cheques and cash. A little odd in this day and age, but not unheard of.

The toilet block is described on their website as 'Modern'. This is a not true and they were generally dirty, poorly lit during the day and in need of a lot of basic maintenance. Many of the taps didn't work at all, some basins have plugs, several of the toilets are not fixed to the floor at all. There are two showers for which you require 20p coins that go into machines across the other side of the room. The temperature is not controllable, the water runs for about 2 minutes and just stops once your money runs out.

There is a washing up area which requires 20p coins for hot water, which isn't always hot at all and runs uncontrollably for about 4 large sinks full before it stops. Very wasteful.

The waste water/chemical toilet discharge point was a real pain to use. It needed three or four hands just to open the door. I had to lift my full 45 litre waste carrier up 12 inches onto a 2 inch wide ledge, balance it there while removing the lid and still holding the door with my third hand. Needless to say, the carrier fell off the ledge numerous times.

The electric hookup point was buried deep amongst the huge Leylandii trees I mentioned early and our allocated socket didn't work. We had to use another socket.

The furthest field away from the central toilet block seemed to be mostly a caravan graveyard. Some seemed to be been swallowed by the trees and a couple were just rotting corpses with missing doors and windows. Very sad.

During the whole of our visit we saw three staff members. The elderly lady who checked us in on arrival, a women who pretended to clean the loos once in the middle of the week and a chap cutting the grass as he whizzed passed on his mower. The rest of the time we saw no one.

In Conclusion-

The campsite has real potential if the owners could be do some minimal maintenance work, tidying up and cleaning. At present its a real shame and a waste as it wouldn't take much work. I could personally have it turned around in a fortnight. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fussypants69 4 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site hidden away from everyone! Had a great time here with friends this weekend, Adult only so no young children running around kicking balls at your cars/tents. A truly tranquil site which offers peace and quiet with the odd monk-jack roaming around. Glad I had a sat nav to find it as it is tucked away. We arrived on the Thursday afternoon, got set up listening to the birds singing and cooing in the trees. Added bonus, was on the friday evening, we could hear the Newmarket nights Kaiser Chiefs in the back ground. I believe some people camp here to visit the Newmarket Nights (being only a few miles away) Toilets and showers are ok, we have seen a lot worse, although not as nice as some caravan club site toilets but then you would be paying more than double what this is a night! In the evening we walked left along the river to find the rear of the Anchor Pub (1 mile)- lovely food, very helpful staff, then stumbled back, also along there is the Fox equally lovely food (near the Co-op) Ask John for directions :o) will definitely be going again. LOVED IT! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Luvi 1 review from this member

 My husband and I just spent two weeks at Stanford park and had an amazing time.

It was the first time we have been at this park and found the facilities perfect for our needs; it was clean and well maintained.

On arrival we were met by this lovely lady that took us to our pitch and explained the site facilities, later the Owner come and introduce himself making us feel very welcome informing us of local places to visit and explore. We never thought there was so much to do in this area.

We certainly will be revisiting the site and thoroughly recommend it to everyone that fancy a calm and relax environment at a very good value. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bruce g 1 review from this member

 Had a weeks stay, the site was excellent as was the wildlife, very quiet and tranquil, just what we needed, the owners were very polite and took us to our pitch. The toilets and showers were a bit dated but they were very clean and that's all that matters to us, but the chemical waste could do with a bit of attention. The shops/pubs were a short stroll through the forest, there are plenty of dog walks around the area. Will definitely revisit very soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suedotmills 1 review from this member

 We wanted a site near to home for our first caravan experience! Fortunately earlier reviews did not deter us visiting for two nights over the bank holiday. We were welcomed warmly and shown to our pitch, In a beautiful area of well cared for parkland, dotted with trees and the occasional bench.

The toilets were clean and adequate and the showers worked, but 20p doesn't last that long, there was little else beside the washing and ironing room, but that really didn't matter. We had everything we needed for a very pleasant stay. With Ely, Cambridge and Bury St Edmunds close by, and some lovely walking and cycling routes from the door, plus the wildlife entertaining us from our window, we had a lovely weekend thank you! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pavla 2 reviews from this member

 I was very disappointed with this campsite. The owner caused us problems when we called to say that we will be arriving late, even though I clarified that with him when booking. He told us we might have to move and that the campsite is busy. When we arrived the field was basically empty. The toilets didn't flush properly, we had to pay for hot water which you could not regulate so it ended up being very hot without the possibility of turning it down and whilst having a shower you had to be careful not to run out of money for hot water, because then the water stopped altogether. The money machine was outside of the shower in a toilet area so not really possible to top it up mid shower. There were no shelves in the shower and the light sensor for the bathroom was not placed in the shower so I spent having half of my shower in dark (slip& trip risk!). I do not recommend this campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MadAboutMotorhoming 18 reviews from this member

 This site has such potential to be an absolute corker. The park itself is in a hideaway setting with lovely meadow areas surrounded by 30 feet high trees which are home to a very vocal flock of wood pigeon who chatter and flit from tree to tree from dawn to dusk.

What let the whole site down for us was the lack of customer care and the poor toilet and shower facilities (a far cry from the 'modern heated toilet block' the owners advertise). The ladies loos were very poorly maintained most of the loos leaked or did not work - I won't go into detail but it wasn't pleasant. On the plus side the showers cost 20p were hot and lasted approx 5 mins but I found that out through trial and error as there were no instructions. There was little chance of keeping your clothes dry in either of the two shower cubicles as there was one hook in each and no curtain in one of them.

On arrival we were shown to our pitch but there was no 'welcome' or telling/showing us about the facilities on site. Neither was there any information about the surrounding area eg shops, pubs, doctors etc. I suppose we could have asked if we had seen the owners. The site had lots of notices but they weren't the sort to make visitors feel welcome. Without exception the notices were negative with one saying. 'don't spit' at the end of a notice about keeping the toilets clean! Not the kind of thing to make visitors feel welcome or give the feeling that the site is loved and well looked after.

The rubbish area was over flowing with black bin bags and in the exceptional July heat there were a lot of flies!

It would take a little to financial investment and some good old fashioned customer service to vastly improve this site and make it really attractive to visitors. I do hope the owners do so. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6545 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement