Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ditchling Camp

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Hassocks > Ditchling Camp Reviews

Ditchling Camp
Corner Of Lodge Lane
Underhill Lane
Hassocks
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN6 8XE
Tel: 07733 103309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 14
Open: 01/05/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 6 Reviews
                7/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hannahbeattie 1 review from this member

 Love this site! Yes itís basic but the welcome is always good. Itís a great site for letting the kids run around and play safely and adults to relax.

Ted manages the facilities and is always on hand to sell wood and have a chat.

We come back year after year, come rain or shine and will continue too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Benpearman 1 review from this member

 Lovely rural location and not too far from Brighton and nice local hikes. The actual facilities however are incredibly basic especially relative to the exorbitant price.

We paid £300 for a bell tent for 2 nights - we had to being our own bedding and the mattresses were simply blow up camping ones. No comfortable at all and no little touches at all to make it special. No hot water.

Fine for a rural camping experience, but not when you are paying that sort of money. You can get much better for far lower costs elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nfmf 1 review from this member

 We've just returned from a lovely weekend at this camp. It wasn't hugely easy to find but use the directions from the website and you should be fine. We were welcomed by a young lad who showed us to our very generous pitch and pointed out loos/shower, etc. He also sold logs/kindling and was able to point us towards local stuff (eg fish & chips). The campsite is basically a large meadow with pitches mown out of the longer grass. They are very spaced out and there is a firepit on each one which was very popular with the younger members of the group! There were several groups of families camping together across the site and you are able to pitch as close to your friends as you like (unlike in the New Forest!).

Facilities are basic as described on the site - there are 4 portaloos (which were fairly grotty by Sunday morning), a couple of cold water sinks for washing/tooth cleaning, an open-top shower (lovely hot water all day long) and a washing up area (cold water only but it's not that hard to boil a kettle and take it up with you!). I could imagine this would be less pleasant in the rain but was fine for us. My only suggestions would be maybe 2 showers, hot water at the washing up and maybe a large dumper for rubbish (you have to take all your rubbish away with you, which does make you careful about what you use).

The area is lovely - the site is about 3 minutes walk from a path up to the South Downs Way, Ditchling is a pretty town (the White Horse was a decent enough pub with grub and welcoming to kids). There was no ambient light apart from the moon, so do take a torch with you!

Overall, if you are looking for a fairly basic site with relaxed rules (that nobody took the mickey with while we were there - you're all fairly far apart anyway), then this is highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marzi92 1 review from this member

 Very welcoming and friendly Owners. Pitch management could have been a little better with regards to avoiding other children running through and past our pitch area to get to the small kids climbing frame in the center of the bottom field. It is a lovely location being spitting distance from lovely walks over the south downs but unfortunately 'rural' is a little spoilt as the B2112 straight road is very noisy! Shower and toilet were ok, but there was no hot water in the evening. Owners recommended the Greyhound pub up the road with 10% discount on food, but it wasn't all that impressive. Ditchling nearby had an excellent pub called the White Horse which was brilliant for vegetarians too. The best veg roast I've ever had! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smallpotatoes 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful weekend at this site. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and the site is very quiet and relaxed. The site owners were very welcoming and happy to accept (well behaved!) groups and (well behaved!) dogs. They were also excellent in communicating with me around the booking and answering any questions we had. The facilities are basic, (eg no electricity hook ups etc), but that is part of the charm- this is 'real' camping at its best. Logs were available to buy at the site to set your own fire, and the owners passed through the site daily to check we were ok and didn't want for anything. The campsite is effectively split into two areas; one for adults only and a family area, which worked really well. The site was spacious and we didn't feel at all cramped.

When we went to leave, one of the owners was keen to have any feedback that we could give as to making the experience better for future campers. We suggested that hot running water would be great for the washing up area (although the shower does have hot water, much to my friends delight!), and possibly the installation of a walkway to the toilets, as the loo area got a bit boggy after some rain we had. The portaloos were clean when we arrived on Saturday, and by the time we had left on Monday needed to be cleaned again, but were as to be expected and nowhere near as bad as some festival toilets I have used!

I would definitely recommend visiting this site- we will certainly be returning. I can also recommend the 'half moon' pub in Plumpton, which did an excellent Sunday roast! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Annette67 1 review from this member

 We found this site very hard to find as there was no signs, not even at the entrance so it would be very helpful if there was one to save time driving round in circles!

There was no shower as stated on the website and the toilets were clean during the day but by the evening they were pretty unpleasant.

There was no firepit for every pitch as stated as it was very busy and crowded with no space between tents, a little close for comfort with no privacy!we also witnessed dogs fouling with owners watching and not cleaning it up, not good with young children running around.

On a positive note the area is beautiful 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ditchling Camp child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ditchling Camp?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ditchling Camp dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hassocks      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4005 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement