Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Field View Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Field View Campsite
Green Lane
Yarm
Stockton On Tees
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
TS15 9EH
Tel: 01642 788554
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Skykop 1 review from this member

Wanted to get away overnight to test out our motorhome in the winter and this site seemed to fit the bill.

Good points - Itís a fairly small campsite but pitches are a good size and nice and level. Location is great as itís walking distance into Yarm and there is a dog friendly pub at the end of the road. The site is near to the railway station but there was no problem with noise.

Negatives - Itís as well we were only there for one night as the toilets/showers are dire! Rickety old portacabins, damp, cold and in need of a good clean. For this reason, we wonít be returning. Real shame as itís ideally located for a visit to Yarm.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Special01 42 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 4 nights. Looked good from pictures and write ups from other people.

It has 15 hard standings. Small play area for kids. Dog friendly.

Toilet facilities are in 2 small portacabins. 1 for ladies. 1 for gents. Both have very basic facilities. 1 shower each. 2 sinks only 1 with hot water. 1 toilet each.

It also has a pot washing area. Only enough hot water for 1 sink full. Then wait for it to heat up again.

In the time we were there they were never cleaned out at all. Bins full. And down to last toilet roll.

It was not busy when we were there. Would not like to be there when it is busy.

500yd walk to garage for paper. 30 mins walk to Yarm. Nice little village. Lots of nice shops.

£22 per night is poss going rate in May. But it needs to improve its very basic facilities to claim £22 a night.

Would only use as over night stop when going somewhere else

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pop57golf 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two night stay at field view, its a small neat site with the toilet block being the big let down. The play equipment for the children play area could also do with a few repairs but as we had no children with us it was not an issue. The site is 1. 1/4 mile out of the high street not such a short hop but worth the walk. A good site with need of a new toilet block

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Zzcharlie 12 reviews from this member

Had a two day very pleasant stop there & despite having a main road on one side & a rail line on another side it was really quiet, all hardstanding, the only tap is on the main house as you enter the site, but we were reminded of this so we could take some onboard before we set up, but would probably be a pain if staying any length of time. A very clean small site about 12 pitches, shower/ toilet block could probably do with updating but was clean very usable. A very big field backs onto the site where the dog can run free through the long grass. Not far from town shops but don't let wife guide you, from experience they take the long way round though one of the housing estates! but once you get there it's worth it.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ct955 39 reviews from this member

First time we have used a small site like this so nothing to compare with. Stayed 3 nights.

Check in was easy and we were given a choice of pitches and shown location of services.

Approx 10 gravel hardstanding pitches with 16 amp hook ups. One water tap, waste water and basic chemical toilet disposal.

The facilities block was small, basic but clean if a little chilly. Two toilets and a shower in ladies.

There is the option of ordering breakfast delivered to your unit.

The site is next to a busy road, opposite a school and near the train station. We didn't really notice the trains and the school was closed so didn't pose any problems. There was quite a bit of traffic noise however although this didn't bother us.

There is plenty of dog walking, either on the field or pavements along the road.

A short walk takes you to a petrol station, aldi and a pub. Another 20 minutes and you are on Yarm high street which is lovely.

There is a very small play area for under 12s

The site was a little untidy as they seem to be doing some work and installing a couple of camping pods.

We might use again as we visit the area quite a lot to see daughter but wouldn't use for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jojobo01 13 reviews from this member

Just returned after a two night break here. We booked because of the great reviews but in all honesty they must have been to a different site!.

On arrival the site is right next to a main road and directly across the road from a school, not that this matters too much on a Friday sat sun.

We had to park and find someone as no one was at reception. The gate is a little tight to turn onto pitches and we were shown to our pitch 8 which is 6 ft from the play area. The gentleman showing us around explained in detail the rules and was pointing out that quiet time is 10. 30pm and he has a card system that one yellow warning and one red your off. Maybe this was because we have 5 children and a dog we felt.

We pitched and said we would make best of it. The toilet is two portcabins that have been made together, ladies had one shower and two toilets. It was far from clean couldn't find a mop and bucket no cleaning fluid. The shower head with rail fell off three times while I tried it on first night. So second night we use our caravan shower. A group of three caravans turned up on Friday night and all were drinking heavily till 12. 40am! No one came to see if anyone was being noisy and their children were using play area well after 10pm. Rules are rules and should be for all.

The dog walking area is a farmers field that barbedwire had been lowered so you could gain access but was hard going and covered in thistles. Some stuff like building materials laying around site seem bit dangerous and the rotting mound of grass cuttings did smell bad.

Couldn't find a laundry area and just felt it wasn't very well set up.

We wouldn't return. Shame as its only half hour from our home.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cogsy1 2 reviews from this member

We've been here twice in May for 1 night both times. Its easy to find and access, the site is level and as others have said its next to Yarm railway station and a minor road. While you can hear the odd train and car this didn't disturb our stay, me and the missus both slept well. I've seen a report somewhere about safety re railway lines so I checked it out, there is a 6' steel fence then access walkway to the station and then a line of trees, then the platform so I couldn't see a problem.

The couple running the site were both sociable and helpful, pointing out the highlights of Yarm which is a nice v``illage 25 minutes walk to the town hall on High St.

Toilet block was clean and tidy with 1 shower in the gents, plenty of hot water.

There is a playground which I think was for under 12's and the kids on it looked to be enjoying themselves.

5 minutes walk to a Shell garage, Aldi and a pub that apparently sells good cheap beer (Sam Smiths) and decent food.

We will go back there for our next night out in Yarm

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thehugheses 1 review from this member

This was our first visit to Field View great site owners very pleasant and helpful good size pitches and quite level great location shops and pub within walking distance, clean and tidy shower and toilet block great little play area for kids, train station just a few hundred meters away if you fancy a day out. We will definitely be going back

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cheffy81 2 reviews from this member

This was my first outing in our trailer tent and first time towing,

The owners helped us from the phone call to book, guiding us in to even talking me into reversing with the trailer lol he said it was best to practise he did guide me back though,

Can't fault the service or the site there is a play park which we had to drag our daughter away from at closing time she would have played all night if she could have lol,

There is a toilet and shower block with a power shower and excellent facilities which are kept clean and tidy at all times.

There are toilet waste, waste water and fresh water facilities all clearly marked.

There are hard standing and grass pitches and there is electric hookup available.

And the owners offer breakfast delivered to your door as well.

The owners provide a guidance sheet which has the site rules on and also has a map to local facilities such as local bars, fuel stations and shops which helps if you don't know the area.

All in all an excellent site with excellent facilities and excellent service they couldn't do any more we will definitely be returning soon.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MkieChef 2 reviews from this member

I'm really pleased I visited this site! I travel by cycle, so arrival times can be a bit unpredictable. The owner was not only happy to be flexible about arrival and checking in, but made a point of coming out in the pouring rain to make sure I had everything I needed.

The site - even the allegedly 'boggy bit' - is level and well drained, with spacious pitches. The dedicated caravan pitches have purpose built gravel parking places. There are electricity hookups and an area for emptying your onboard toilets. I especially liked the kids' play area which was well signposted with sensible opening times.

The toilets, showers and washing up area are in a portakibin assembly reached by 'stepping stones'. The shower is hot and fast flowing. Everything was very clean and tidy although perhaps a little dated in appearance. Very well maintained.

The only potential downside of the site is the nearby rail station. It didn't bother me at all, but I'm not that sensitive to start with! Both rail and bus are within a two minute walk, while the middle of Yarm is maybe twenty minutes steady walk.

If you're not familiar with the area, the landlord has a well thought out information leaflet with directions to shops, petrol station, etc. Yarm is a smashing small town, on the edge of the much bigger Stockton / Middlesbrough urban areas. There is a big market place which has a regular farmer's market as well as a standard market. The Tees flows past the North end of town, where there are excellent scenic walks along the river banks.

By far the best aspect of this site is the customer service. The owners are friendly, approachable, flexible - happy to work with you to make sure your stay is the best it could possibly be.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


878 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019