Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Elms Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > London > Loughton > The Elms Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

CLOSED: The Elms Caravan & Camping Park
Lippitts Hill
High Beech
Loughton
London   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Now Closed 2013

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 19 Reviews
                7/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

As of 2013 the Elms Caravan & Camping Park has now closed down, due to the Retirement of the owners, and it will no longer be used for caravan and camping holidays.

For alternative sites within 5 miles of this location please see this link http://www.ukcampsite.co.uk/sites/calcdist.asp?md=5&l=51.655364&lg=0.02168230

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emaa 3 reviews from this member

We have visited this site a few times now and have always found the owners to be helpful. The site is small but not cramped and the toilets and shower block are always clean and tidy. This is definitely a no frills site but does have a small shop with very limited supplies. The surrounding forest area is great for walks and the local pub (next door) does great food and is only a few minutes walk away.

The site is quiet and peaceful and although the policy helicopter base in next door this didn't affect our enjoyable stay at this site.

Would definitely return here.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peterpud 1 review from this member

Having visited this site previously ( 3 other times ) we have found the site to be run down this time. The standard of facilities was poor and the site unkempt. The shower and toilet block was in a poor state of repair and in need of a good clean. The shower heads were not on holders and did not work very well. The CDP and Waste water points are not marked and when found were at the back of a static caravan. The grass was uncut and hedges overgrown. The pitches were not clearly marked and were very close together. There was ample electricity points around the site but you had to be careful as the middles of the site was for tents and cables stretched across the road around the site. The area is ideal for visiting London and the surrounding Epping Forest is beautiful.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KarlCz 1 review from this member

We have just returned from The Elm’s and despite a number of negative reviews, we thought it was pretty okay.

No it isn’t a Caravan Club site, but try getting into to one of these on October half term!

A bit ramshackle but Pat & Terry make up for this by being great mine hosts.

This site is really handy for travelling into central London. Terry puts you right on the 5 min trip to Loughton tube station, but park at the station for £4.50 a day. The free street parking is a good walk away and after a day in the city…………well you’ll see.

Yes, there is a police helicopter station nearby, but this didn’t bother us. I guess it depends on how much a light sleeper you are. Myself, I really enjoyed watching all the airliners coming into Stanstead both night and day. As they are throttling down, they are no bother.

Great wildlife. We were treated to a fallow deer stag strutting right in front of us on a journey home – magnificent! The foxes are brazen – so too are the squirrels. You are in the forest and this is great.

So overall not a site I would wax lyrical about – but not one I would advise to avoid either.

If you expect Caravan Club standards everywhere – well you are limited to the network. Go “of piste” and you may find a bit of a gem like The Elms and Pat & Terry. Happy hunting.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Purplehat 30 reviews from this member

The owners are extremely helpful and friendly, but for us it ends there. We found them to be packing them in on an overgrown field. Largely continental visitors, mainly tents and the facilities were overstretched. It is getting very run down.

The toilets and showers were grubby and mildewy. Chemical disposal area is extremely cramped behind a static, overgrown and difficult to access. In wet weather, the wooden board path was just dangerously slippy.

Fresh water from a long hose which trails on the ground and wooden board and onto which people were disposing of their waste water, there are no signs advising where to dispose of waste water. One to avoid in our opinion.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kevsue1 19 reviews from this member

Just back from a weekend at this little gem!

Arrived to a wonderful greeting from the owners who gave us lots of info.

As we have a campervan we took a taxi into Loughton to catch the tube (the owner rang for us!)cost £5.50 The tube into London took about 30 mins on Saturday but there was chaos on Sunday as the Central line was closed and we had to take a bus part of the way- the trip took over an hour!

The campsite it in the middle of Epping Forest and at night you could hear the owls. Did hear the police helicopter but only a couple of times and certainly couldn't hear any noisy roads! In fact it was very peaceful. Good showers, clean loos, and we thought the gates and chains made it nice and secure, We wished we had stayed longer to explore the forest - no doubt we will go back!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alanuk44 3 reviews from this member

Me and my two son's had just spent the weekend at the Elms Campsite. The site in spite of being small was well kept. The toilet and shower area was clean, and there was plenty of hot water. The best part was when showering, there was music playing. I was met by Terry, he was a very charming bloke and is very helpful, gave us a few tips.

Fair dues as a small site, and no frills, we were lucky as we had a car and we visited Hobbs Farm which is not too far from the site. We all had a great time.

The only problem was the noise from the Police helicopter, as the Police Helicopter base is near by, not a real problem as you can easily get used to it. The best part is as we are from Leytonstone East London, when we woke in the morning, it was good to hear the birds singing.

Me and the boy's, were talking of booking again at Elms again sometime this year.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Delaney45 5 reviews from this member

Have stayed on this site loads of times over the years, terry & pat the owners are diamonds and will do anything for you. Yes its not huge, it doesn't have cabaret and a pool, but there is a lovely pub next door which does good food, a massive kids play area and lots of activities for the kids during the holidays.

The site toilets and showers are always spotless and terry has music piped into the sanitary blocks so you can sing in the shower!

I always stay here when I'm working in London as the town of loughton 5 mins away has all the high street supermarkets and shops, parking is £2.50 a day at the tube station and your half an hour from Oxford circus,

Another plus point is that because loughton is one of the further stations out you always get a seat on the tube, there is a police helicopter base (as seen on tv !) nearby but you soon get used to it.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RosieBlue 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights whilst on a touring holiday. Found it a lovely, cosy, sheltered site with reasonable showers/toilet facilities. Only downside for me was that there was no laundry facility as we had 5 sets of wet clothes from the previous rainy day's activity. As a base for visiting London this site is brilliant. The owner was able to tell us whereabouts in Loughton to leave the car without incurring parking charges and the Tube took you straight into the city. It was purely a night-time base for us, but we didn't notice any problems with noise whilst we were there. I would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tinker3 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this site today and waste no time in telling everyone how lovely it was. Plenty of space for our tent, excellently clean showers and toilets with music! But what made our weekend were the owners, who were not only warm and welcoming and couldnt do enough for us, but surprised everybody who had a pitch on easter sunday by going around and giving everybody a big, chocolate bunny rabbit, what a lovely touch! Would recommend this site to everybody.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in London

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3261 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019