Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Diamond Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Oxford > Diamond Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Diamond Caravan & Camping Park
Bletchingdon
Kidlington
Oxford
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX5 3DR
Tel: 01869 350909
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 37
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 242 Reviews
                9/10 from 242 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  242 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: January 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Colin9 1 review from this member

 Very clean and quiet. You can hear a main road in the distance but it is not particularly disturbing.

The warden was very friendly and helpful.

Would happily return here. 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Alliow 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, excellent location, just off the A34.

We were travelling from Portsmouth Ferry Terminal up to Northumberland.

Ideal stop off, 90 miles from the port. Easy to find.

Great facilities, fair sized pitches.

Wardens very welcoming as a late arrival.

Will definitely use again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: FPPete 1 review from this member

 A lovely welcome to an excellent site.

All amenities were very clean, really enjoyed our stay.

Each pitch had plenty of room.

Would definitely stay there again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gavin193c 1 review from this member

 Friendly relaxed clean site not far from Oxford

Toilet block is immaculate and a good laundry area.

There is a small play area for kids. Pitches are relatively flat 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alanre 1 review from this member

 Extremely muddy pitch. toilets not cleaned, run out toilet paper

Hard standing pitches not very wide. Had to park car on muddy grass. Okay if you like fishing own lake on site. Good dog walking area around lake.

Maybe better in summer in dry weather. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: G4hrh4 9 reviews from this member

 Quiet site despite being located on a busy road.

No dedicated dog-walking area available.

I stopped here for one night on two occasions to break up a long journey and would do it again if I repeated the trip. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 107 reviews from this member

 For many years, we have used the caravan and motorhome club site at Bladon Chains for our stopovers on our way north and south, however that site was closed last year and therefore this year we have been trying other sites in the area to find the perfect stopover location.

Earlier in the summer we tried Greenhill Leisure (see my separate review on that) so this trip we decided to try Diamond Caravan Park.

Firstly the positives. The site is very well located, only a mile or so from the junction with the A34 which is the road that we use when heading up and down to the south coast.

This makes it a really good stopover location. The site is quite small compared to others and therefore when we were there it was quite peaceful. We had a large pitch enclosed on three sides by tall hedges, so if you like privacy this was a good pitch, however not all the pitches are enclosed by hedges.

The site is really convenient for visiting Oxford, we arrived at lunchtime, popped the caravan on a pitch, and headed straight for the park-and-ride a couple of miles down the road to spend the afternoon and evening in Oxford.

The toilet block was very clean and although there were only three shower cubicles, this seemed to be enough for the size of the site. There was also a small dishwashing room which was very handy which also contains a washing machine and tumble dryer for those who might need them.

The site has a swimming pool, however we didnít bother looking at it as we were only doing a one night stopover and wanted to visit Oxford for the afternoon.

Now for the things we werenít so keen on. Firstly, although from looking on Google Maps before we booked we knew that the site was close to the road, we assumed that as this road was a B road (B4027), it wouldnít be a problem.

However, it turns out that this road is a very busy road, particularly at rush-hour, and we were woken very early in the morning with an endless stream of cars passing by only a few metres from our pitch.

Some of the lorries thundering by even made the caravan shudder which was not a pleasant experience. There are pitches on the other side of the site where you probably wouldnít feel the vibrations from the traffic, however as I said, the site is so small I doubt there is anywhere on the site that you wouldnít hear the road noise. This wasnít a big problem as we were only there for the one night, but if we had been staying longer I wouldíve been upset.

Secondly, once you turn into the site from the road, you end up in a large courtyard, however, to get from that courtyard to the pitching areas you have to drive through a very narrow passageway between buildings.

Obviously itís possible to get the caravan through, however my husband was very nervous with our Caravan, even though itís only a standard width Caravan, not an extra wide one, and we had to take it very slowly manoeuvering through.

Another issue that we had was with the temperature of the water in the showers. The showers were of the pushbutton variety, therefore you couldn't adjust the water temperature, and it was far far too hot for me.

So, overall the site was fine for us for a one night stopover as it was so conveniently located not far from our route, however I donít think itís one that we will be rushing back to, mainly due to the road noise which the site canít really do anything about. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sinead 1 review from this member

 A lovely day and evening. This is our second visit.

We like the pool the best and spend hours in there swimming and having fun.

There is a shop, games room, kitchen and a place to wash and dry clothes.

It is near two supermarkets and Kidlington is nearby.

Showers and toilets are clean and the water is hot.

This is particularly good to keep warm after swimming or if is raining. 


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: ByTheSea 4 reviews from this member

 This site is a firm favourite with our family. The site feels cosy, safe and private thanks to the hedges.

Lovely clean toilets and the hottest showers we have ever had camping.

The staff were really helpful and were around to talk to, they also went out of their way to make the Platinum Jubilee fun for everyone.

The kids enjoyed the pool, rather chilly as it is solar heated, but better than not heated. The play area was fine and was well used.

The shop had all the bits we needed.

The 1030pm to 8pm peace and quite on the site was well kept. Useful to have a games room and washroom. A well organised site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tonyd5 2 reviews from this member

 We travelled from Ireland and stayed on this site during the heatwave in the UK so the swimming pool was a great welcome.

We thought the opening hours of the pool were too short - 10am to 6pm. I thought the owners may extend these due to the serious heat there at the time but alas not.

I believe there has been a recent change of owner and we found the present staff could do with some training in customer service and understand the concept of caravanning /camping which to me is communication.

The facilities were clean and tidy but we found the showers were unpredictable and extremely hot. Dangerous for children and an insurance claim nightmare.

As a caravanner I am not in favour of hedging on sites as it gives the message that I don't want to talk or mix with others and this to me is not what caravanning is about.

There is a main road next to it which is quite noisy and exiting the site can be quite dangerous. The entrance to the site is also extremely narrow for large caravans.

The site is well kept but it would not have been our favourite. The price for 2 persons we found quite dear at £29 per night. Our dearest site of our 3 week holiday. 


Previous     242 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Diamond Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Diamond Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Diamond Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oxford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


54541 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement