Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Salcombe Regis Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Sidmouth > Salcombe Regis Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Salcombe Regis Camping & Caravan Park
Salcombe Regis
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0JH
Tel: 01395 514303
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100 + 10 Static Caravans
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 95 Reviews
                9/10 from 95 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bessy525 46 reviews from this member

Met with a cool reception from the lady in the office but the 2 guys who share the responsibility for taking you to your pitch were fantastic. They work tirelessly to maintain the site always cleaning refuse area's cutting grass when pitches were vacated. Had minor issue with our pitch, pitches 1-6 Have L shaped concrete pitch suitable for full awning size only. We had to pitch on grass to put up our smaller awning which meant our caravan was sloping for our stay. The concrete also slope from front to back and many of the low number pitches needed levelling blocks. Facilities are dated but spotless clean and yes the lighting timer is an issue when it's dark.

We had 16amp EHU, . Poor freeview reception and no EE mobile reception meaning I had to pay £15 for a week's WIFI. Nearest supermarket of any size is 5 min drive Waitrose. When we were there a pizza van visited on Sat and chippy van on Sun. The Hopper bus is a blessing we walked into Sidmouth regularly but only walked back once it's some climb. Did do coastal walk into Sidmouth not for the faint hearted over 2 hours up and down very steep hills but views were fantastic. During our stay everyone respected the noise curfew and by 10pm it was really quiet on site.

Beer definitely worth visiting and only a few minutes drive. Sidmouth is a typical seaside town with plenty of pubs shpos and places to eat. Access to site via lane with only 1 S bend being a possible issue when towing. Kids well catered for with badminton court table tennis football goal and putting green. Shop offers limited range of food but you can present order certain items in reception.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Estweyn 13 reviews from this member

Large but quiet and spacious site. Only a short distance is narrow on the road. Well kept and clean. Brilliant enclosed dog walk. Donkey sanctuary a short walk away. Nice walk into village with lovely little church goi g back to 10th century. Facilities good. Only critics and it is slight is that the extractor fans in the shower area could do with being a bit stronger. I think long term the owners will have a condensation problem, but clean, spacious and well thought out. The recycling area is kept clean, Elsan disposal point good. We had a hard standing on the Meadow and like the fact that the awning would be on grass. I personally donít like these huge gravelled hardstanding. Little shop on site, ordered fresh croissants twice during our stay and they were lush. Big bonus for motorhomes is the Salcombe Hopper bus that comes onto site, itís £1 per person and 50p a dog. Digs get a treat on the bus. We went into Sidmouth twice, lovely visit. Good shops and food places. The sea view is from one part of the site only. We had a lovely relaxing stay here. We never actually found the nearby beach in the footpaths as they run through farms and did not seem to encourage walkers, but thereís access to a beach from donkey sanctuary. Loads of walks round donkey sanctuary. Giving a 9 because it was hard to access beach from site and we did expect sea views and as stated there is a view from one part. Good site though.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Supersprinter 2 reviews from this member

We spent a lovely 5 nights at Salcombe Regis with friends. We were given a very warm welcome on arrival and taken to our hardstanding pitches which were together as requested. We had water and drainage on each pitch, which was great.

The site is large and open with lots of green space for children to run around without getting on people's nerves.

The main loo block is slightly dated, but immaculately clean and spacious. There is a brand new unisex block in the meadow, with individual shower and sink rooms and separate loos. Again these were spotless. A new reception building with additional facilities is being built.

The location is fantastic. Easy access to beaches and towns such as Beer, Sidmouth and Lyme Regis. I believe a hoppa bus service runs from the campsite into Sidmouth in the summer months. Lots of possibilities for ice creams and cream teas.

We will be back!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happydave 2 reviews from this member

A local site for us but we've never been before. Very impressed with the warm and friendly welcome. Loads of space for the boys to play football (with goals) but nice and quiet at night. One shower block very dated but the new block is lovely and is heated, I believe that a third new block is under construction. Large pitch sizes and they allow off the ground BBQs. All in all almost perfect for us. If it had a pool and maybe a small games room it would get 10 out of 10.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Veradee 1 review from this member

Just returned from a lovely 10 days touring Devon and Dorset, stayed at Salcombe Regis for 3 nights. This one of the loveliest sites we have seen and the location is fabulous. There is a coastal path or beach accessible by foot through the lovely tiny village of Salcombe Regis. Brilliant for dogs. The lady in reception seemed very cool and although polite, quite unfriendly. My wife visited the shower block one evening at about 5 pm, whist taking a shower, after only 5 mins, the lights timed out and she had to have the rest of her shower in the dark. Luckily it wasn't pitch black but pity whoever this happens to when it's really dark. I understand that the owners don't want the lights leaving on but this is an expensive site and a little longer than 5 mins should be expected. The showers and toilet are clean but basic. The pitch we were on was very sloping which made levelling very difficult.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juliebelper 14 reviews from this member

A great site!

A mixture of tourers and statics. Very well planned out, with lots of room to move around and for children to play.

A large tourer area, fairly well spaced pitches which are relatively flat, but there a few in the corner on more of a slope. Some non EHU are several minutes walk from the toilet block, but you are treated to a superb sea view on the way. The little shop was useful and fresh croissants in the morning were nice. It rapidly filled up for the Bank Holiday and with the delivery of portaloos. Time for us to move on!

There is only one toilet block, but we never had to queue. There are 2 sets of ladies loos, 8 or so showers with plenty of hot water and a couple of hairdryers for 20p a go. There is a family/disabled room, however it is a small bathroom and not terribly accessible. There is a half bath in the room which is ok for small children only. The staff said there are plans for better facilities, not sure when.

The site is in a stunning area with plenty of things to do, close to lovely Sidmouth.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brievans 6 reviews from this member

Stayed for a week, nice site quiet but with lots of space for kids to play. Pitch sizes are a little small but adequate in the park, slightly larger in the meadow I would say. There is one toilet block but this is adequate and although busy at times I never had to wait.

There is a free bus into Sidmouth several times a day(and return)

The local area is lovely and with lots to do with Sidmouth an excellent place to visit.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisSue 13 reviews from this member

Spent a week at this beautiful site and can't wait to go back later in the summer! As mentioned in other reviews, the owners and wardens are all lovely and very helpful.

The park is well set out with plenty of trees around which bring wonderful birdsong and a great feeling of tranquillity. It's peaceful and well located for Sidmouth, Beer, Budleigh Salterton etc.

We went to an interesting lecture at the Norman Lockyer Observatory just up the road on a rainy afternoon. If you've never been in a planetarium, it's a fascinating thing to do. They have occasional open days, so it may be worth googling if you are even vaguely interested in stargazing.

Back at the campsite, the amenity block is good with warm showers and toilets (I counted 8 loos and 8 showers for the ladies) They are kept very nicely and there are plenty of hooks and surfaces to put your things on to keep them dry.

The laundry area is good with a little spinner for hand washing stuff in addition to the machines and tumble driers. The dishwashing area is well kept, with 6 sinks and drainers.

Eating out locally, we can recommend the Blue Ball and the Bowd (this has a nice carvery, too). The Anchor over at Beer was fine, and the Pea Green Boat on the sea front at Sidmouth was good for a special meal.

The grandchildren weren't with us this time, but we feel it's a site they would enjoy with a pleasant playground in the middle of the caravan section. It seemed like a nice safe site to bring children to.

We were very comfortable here all week and found all the facilities to be very good indeed. We will definitely return as the campsite was great and the area has plenty more for us to explore.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Petesue 1 review from this member

Just returned from two nights at this site. It is a really lovely site - one of the nicest we have stayed at in many years of camping. Very well kept with good size pitches, most with electricity & water. Facilities quite simple but immaculate and more than adequate. Staff were very helpful in showing us to our pitch and in giving us details of walks from the site into Sidmouth & to the coast path. The walk into Sidmouth is beautiful but with a stiff climb especially coming back! Worth it though. All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and hope to return

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aruaux 9 reviews from this member

Even though we arrived earlier than expected. We were given a very warm welcome, booked in and shown to our pitch.

Plenty of space and services within a few metres of the pitch.

The showers and toilets, although a couple of hundred metres away, are clean and plenty of hot water in the showers and washing up areas. All free to use.

The shop carries the basic essentials (bread, milk eggs, butter, cheese bacon, sausages ) plus a small selection of tinned and other basic commodities. Plus a small selection of camping essentials. Tent pegs and such.

The Sidmouth hopper service stops by to take you to Sidmouth. Or the Donkey sanctuary ( well worth a visit) and is totally free!

A fish and chip van arrives on Wednesday and Sunday. Good value. There is a large supermarket around a ten minute drive away in Sidford.

The campsites policy of being family friendly and going quiet after a certain time of evening was observed by all who were then during our stay. So a peaceful nights! If anyone is into astronomy the site is a good spot as it's quite a dark sky area. I managed some good star field pictures. Just with a camera.

I could not get much of a mobile data signal. Or Internet. So a godsend for being undisturbed by the outside world. But the site does have its on wi fi service for a charge for those who want it.

To sum up. A great site, nice friendly staff. A great weeks camping!

To sum up. This is one of the best campsites I have stayed in.

Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1668 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019