Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Colchester Woodpecker Meadow Camp Site Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Colchester > Colchester Woodpecker Meadow Camp Site Certificated Site Reviews

CLOSED: Colchester Woodpecker Meadow Camp Site Certificated Site
Kildegaard
Easthorpe
Colchester
Essex   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 14 Reviews
                10/10 from 14 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The highbury 24 reviews from this member

 We are so glad we found this site the lady that runs the site she was a real love so thanks Inger for the very nice site you run. When we arrived Inger came and greeted us with a big smile and a very warm welcome. She showed us to our pitch there was EHU plus your own water on your pitch there was a shower toilets a washing up room plus fridge freezer for the campers it was very clean and very tidy the site is very central to London and places to visit we would definitely stay again so thanks again Inger for your hospitality you was a real lovely lady 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Websi 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the campsite for 4 nights. 2 adults in a tent.

The facilities were excellent. Only downfall is there is one shower and we thought maybe if the campsite was full this would be a problem. When we stayed there was about 4 pitches used and all caravans so we were the only tent.

The camping field has both electric and non electric pitches. Loads of room.

There is a fridge and freezer free to use and a washing machine 3pund per usage.

You are able to ask and hire a fire pit and buy some logs which was excellent.

The area is lovely. Some local small flat walks. Colchester down the road and Chelmsford. We visited friends in Kent and visited Southwold.

Overall it was perfect for what we wanted.

Recommended to friends. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarkac1 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a couple of nights at the end of August. Good site in a rural setting, essentially flat (important to note for a tent). Friendly owner, good pitches, not crowded, with an electric hookup. Only problem was that there are 2 toilets, but only one of them has a usable sink plus a shower. So there's only one shower for everyone and if someone takes a long time there's likely to be a wait. Apart from that, it was good. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ad Cortie 1 review from this member

 We like the campsite for many reasons: It's not too far away from Harwich, so we spend the first few days of our holidays there.

Everything is OK, the pitches and all the facilities, Inger is lovely.

There are nice golf courses closeby, and the countryside is perfect for cycling. Colchester is near, and in the village is a nice pub with good food and drinks. We will be back next summer! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 9tiger9 15 reviews from this member

 What can I say to do this little ( in numbers ) site the review it deserves, brilliant, yes. Ideal touring location, yes. Owners superb, yes.

Local pub, nearest supermarket about 2 miles for everything else, also a retail park

Right down to the site.

Located just 2 miles down a country lane from the A12 6 miles outside Colchester but an amazingly quiet site. Best advice here is if you are approaching the site do so from the A12 South if you can.

The 16 amp hookup site is located in a sheltered part orchard with bamboo n trees so you can find that little hideaway pitch if that's what you want with plenty of space available between units, the grass is kept nicely trimmed. Take rock pegs as the ground is quite hard in places when pegging down the awning !

The shower and toilets and pot wash area are kept well stocked with essentials, are very clean in an annex of the actual house which I liked. Plenty of hot water and the door is left unlocked all night just in case ! Inga the owner is a bit like the butler in the Mr Deeds film as she just pops up from nowhere when you have a question !

All in all a lovely adult only site with caring owners that I will not hesitate to recommend on here, shame to leave after 6 nights.

Stephen n Patricia ( Notts ) 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kndpad 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed our few nights stay, such a peaceful tranquil place, the field itself was beautiful surrounded by trees and backing on to farm land. The facilities were more than adequate a big shower room and toilet and another toilet adjacent. There's a Fridge Freezer for campers to use with plenty of useful information leaflets. The owner Inia was really lovely. We had a really lovely time and will be back for another stay. Thank you. Mrs D 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helenl2212 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely well kept quiet adult only site, Toilet and shower block immaculate, very relaxing and peaceful. The site owner is very helpful and friendly. Electric and water at every pitch would definitely return again. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Julie Mercer 1 review from this member

 This is an oasis of tranquillity. If you are looking for a real get away from the stress and strains of the 'rat race' then look no more. The meadow has very good drainage with a good number of electric hook ups and taps. The pitches are very level and the facilities are excellent. There is a lovely hot shower and two toilets with a washing up area and a washing machine all kept spotless. The owner is lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The side is within easy access to the A12 and Colchester with plenty to do. The real joy of this site is the wildlife who keep you company.

We will definitely be back to just chill and enjoy the essex countryside at its best :) 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Freron06 1 review from this member

 A very delightful and peaceful site. Very quiet location at the edge of the small village of Easthorpe which we had a walk round. Just a church and pretty old cottages with big open agricultural fields and Essex skies surrounding.

We stayed for just two nights. The heavens opened up on the Sunday and the owner Inga said that we could stay as long as we wanted i. E not to pack everything away wet.

Visited the local pub The Alma. Again very peacful and busy on a sunny Friday evening.

Lovely hot water and a pleasure to be showering somewhere nice and warm! Toilet was spotless a pleasure to use these facilities.

14 per night with hook up for two adults.

Very tranquil.

Thank you

A & K 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2118 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement