Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kings Orchard Marina

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Site Reviews

Kings Orchard Marina
Broad Lane
Huddlesford
Lichfield
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
WS13 8SP
Tel: 01543 433608
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 10 plus CL
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 16 Reviews
                10/10 from 16 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CaravanGeorge 1 review from this member

The caretakers were very friendly and helpful. We picked our own hardstanding pitch which had electricity and water supply. It was only a short walk to the shower/toilet facilities. There was only two which did make me wonder if it might be a little inconvenient if a bit busier in summer. The toilet/shower rooms were very clean and warm. There was plentiful toilet rolls, paper hand towels and nice smelling handwash. In better weather you could walk along the canalside to the Plough Inn at Huddlesford which I would recommend. Although there is some noise from the nearby A38 and the mainline railway - it wasn't enough to disturb us. It was easy to find the site - but beware that the turn comes very quickly after the humpback bridge near to The Plough pub, we almost missed it and had to reverse up a little bit. I would definitely recommend this site, it is close to the lovely city of Lichfield and great for walks along the canal.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Just to confirm at Kings Orchard Marina there is a Caravan Club Certificated Location, which is open from April to October and restricted to Caravan Club members only.

In addition, there is a private all weather ten pitch caravan site with electric hook up at the marina in a separate location from the CL and utilising different shower and toilet facilities. This year round site is open to all.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kingsmead 1 review from this member

Just spent a week on this lovely peaceful, site. We booked the CL but had to use the small commercial site as CL pitches very wet. This was excellent, hard standing with water and hook up, on every pitch. Lovely location well looked after I and very welcoming. Wardens very friendly and helpful. Hope to visit again.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rimor25 6 reviews from this member

I really doubt if anywhere could match the facilities of this site or the friendliness of the wardens, Clearly the main users being narrow boats people pay huge annual mooring fees for these facities which I understand is only three years old and cost around 5 million to complete, with the amount of tree planting near the camping pitches would indicate that as the site matures it will become even better, the slight drawback possibly again down to newness is the clay like camping pitches in both CL and commercial pitch harstanding areas in the commercial site means that after heavy rain the CL is unusable and it was very boggy underneath our awning minor problems that I guess will be addressed in future. Toilet and showers are amazing so too the individual serviced hook ups saves lugging Aqua roll if you have a ball cock and hose adaption. Really, Really good an amazing place.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrgac 2 reviews from this member

What a great find. Arrived to find a lovely flat pitch with electric and water hook up. Wardens were friendly and helpful. Showers were modern and clean. They CL is at the end of the site so very little traffic. Use the post code for The Plough pub and then followed the Brown Signs to the Marina. Would recommend and will return.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart2054 3 reviews from this member

As already said, a great little find, really easy to find, good access and a secure and level site.

CL is in the corner of the Marina, very secluded, you can hear and smell the barges but not see them as they pass along the canal. All to be expected if you are booking a pitch at a canal side location.

The welcome and booking in could not have been better and the site facilities could not be any cleaner.

A great site which we will be returning to

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gitta 19 reviews from this member

As others have mentioned, this is an excellent little site run by lovely wardens Chris and Judith who make you immediately feel welcome. We had problems finding the site initially and more brown signposts on the main road would be helpful. The facilities are very modern and kept beautifully clean with free showers and plenty of hot water. However, I wonder if it would have been better to keep toilets and showers separate as you can't access the toilets when someone has a shower. Much appreciated was a water tap attached to the hookup post. The Plough at Huddlesford, easily reached on foot via the towpath, serves very good food and Lichfield shops and supermarkets cater for anything one might need. We would definitely stay there again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HUW BISHOP 1 review from this member

Found this site by accident because I was working in the area! Its a marina. What a find. You have to book in advance. I used the commercial site. Nice large hardstanding pitch, electricity and water tap. Central location - 5 minutes drive into Lichfield, 2 mins off the A38, 20 mins for Birmingham. So central. Very rural - slight noise from main train line, but got used to that quickly. Facilities were impeccably clean, warm and excellent quality. Good food pub 15 mins walk down the towpath. Couldn't really ask for more. But the greatest feature was the warm personal welcome from the wardens who made you feel so at home. They were so proud of their site and rightly so. They just wanted you to have a brilliant stay. They put some officious CC wardens I've met to shame. Will certainly use this one again - if I can get in!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 57 reviews from this member

Had 4 nights at the CL here in May 2015. One of the nicest sites we have stayed at - very impressed.

The wardens were incredibly helpful and friendly and were very welcoming. Very relaxed about how we pitched and the CL area was a very decent size. The facilities were excellent - with a block shared with clearly very discerning long boaters.

We used the site as a base to explore Litchfiled and the National Memorial Arboretum over the few days. There is a farm shop about 2/3 miles away - Packington Moor - which was excellent for provisions. Local pub is a short walk or cycle ride and the food is excellent.

Strongly recommend the site for facilities, location, friendliness and general presentation.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Maja Oving 1 review from this member

Excellent site. We received a warm welcome on arrival and were shown all the facilities: lovely warm showers and toilets, everything very well maintained. Interesting location: right next to King's Orchard Marina on Coventry canal. We stayed on the marina's own campsite (hard standing pitches) within reach of WiFi reception, but there is also a grassy CL site right next to the canal. There is a fast railway line just behind the pub (15 mins walk away along the canal) but it did not bother us in the campervan.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3464 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019