Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Thirsk > The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park > Reviews

The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park
Sessay
Thirsk
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO7 3BJ
Tel: 01845 522989
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: WendyP233 1 review from this member

 Return visit to the Oaks. Very good value for money they have not increased there prices like many of our other regular sites.

The pitches are all well kept and grass picked up.

Toilets and showers are spotless.

They seem to attract nice visitors as every time we have visited we have made friends and everyone has been very pleasant and helpful. Canít wait to return next month. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Campsite147 7 reviews from this member

 Had hardstanding pitch (very rough ground) good size & 10amp electric hook up.

Quiet peaceful with lovely dawn chorus. Adult only and no dogs

2 female & 2 male showers/toilets didn't us them so can't comment. Deep wash up sinks, 1 with drainer, outside but under cover.

Approach road is very rough & potholed & very dusty when dry. Plenty of information re local requirements and places to visit in the shed.

Didn't find anywhere on site to recycle so brought ours home. Didn't see the owners at all during our 5 nights stay, only means of communication was via intercom at the entrance.

Would have been nice to meet them, thought this was bad customer relations never been on a site before where you don't see or speak directly to the owners. 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ALH1 34 reviews from this member

 This site was lovely and peaceful except on one night when there must have been a party locally which was extremely noisy with loud music until 3am. Assume itís the exception and the rest of our stay was restful and noise free.

The facilities (2 toilets and 2 showers each) were modern and kept lovely and clean.

There are walks and cycling from the door and a cafe on site which we didnít use, only because itís very busy on a morning with fishermen.

It was quite quiet when we visited but can imagine there could be an issue with the facilities if the site was full.

The nearest shops are in Thirsk which is around 5 miles.

Adult only and no dogs allowed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Parlourbarn 28 reviews from this member

 25 pitches for tents and caravans/motorhomes, with electric, over two areas, all hardstanding. One water tap and two very small waste bins (no re-cycling), per area.

You are allowed to pitch your awning on the grass which helps as the hardstanding has rough cut stones and is very hard. There is a light over the electric socket between each pitch, left on all night.

This is not a pristine site, the hedges need cutting, as does some of the grass. They are gradually growing hedges between the pitches so the edges are un-cut, this makes it look untidy and the hardstanding does have some weeds growing in it.

There is a toilet/shower block and two information booths with lots of pamphlets and info re Drís/dentists, restaurants locally etc. There is also a fishermanís cafť for breakfast, we did not use it so cannot make comment. There is also the potential to have rallies on a separate field in the future.

You can hear the nearby railway but it does not detract from the generally quiet site and is a great base to see the surrounding area of North Yorkshire. TV reception is very poor.

We were concerned that folks walked behind our caravan and the rear hedge, over our electrics, to get to the toilet block: it seems from those who had been here before, this was accepted as a path. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bevjoh 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet campsite,

Clean facilities, showers could be a lot warmer.

Nice walks around the lakes, ideal if you enjoy fishing.

About 6 miles to Thirsk road relatively flat for cycling. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Adenbo 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed just 1 night as part of cycling tour. Large pitch that was nice and flat. Facilities were excellent, looked very new and well cared for.

Nice and easy to find and everything is well sign posted on arrival. Cafe and tackle shop on site just a short walk away.

Well recommended 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Malcol 1 review from this member

 Peaceful. Tranquil. Lovely site. Pleasant owner Sarah. Didn't meet hubby but I'm sure he was just as pleasant.

Other campers were very considerate. Definitely plan on going back. Possibly for a week.

Toilet block maybe needs updating but was told its only temporary. However was suitable.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Tkeeg 1 review from this member

 Lovely, quiet site with plenty of space. I requested a placement next to my friend and near the facilities and got both.

Facilities were beautifully clean and with only 25 pitches were always quiet.

Great countryside for cycling with lots of flat routes to nearby towns and villages.

I don't fish but would be happy relaxing on the site if I had a partner who was fishing. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hmv4u 59 reviews from this member

 Booked and paid on line night before travel- the site is massive but is predominantly fishing lakes and a lot of them, so quite a few people staying on site were fishing-

Cant really comment on the motorhome facilities but there were quite a few MHs and filling up with water involved pulling into an empty space and connecting to the tap with a grey waste next to it,

The elsan point isn't hidden away like most but has a small screen so unless your walking past your ablutions cant be seen,

The bins are small and scattered round the site, these were emptied quite regularly -

While we arrived smack on the 1pm arrival time most seem to arrive from 12 onwards -

Toilet block seemed fine although the showers (2 each mens/women) were a bit hot & cold and small, you have to step back into the shower tray to open the door -

Hardstanding's are road surfacing rather than gravel but were fine-

All in all for the price of £116 for 6 nights (no awning) couldn't complain at all 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chamberlas 7 reviews from this member

 Nice clean site in a nice area of the country.

There appears not to be a reception at this site, we had to ring an intercom to be told directions and our name on the pitch. The intercom is at a low level, so I had to turn off my engine and get out of the cab so I could hear what the person was telling me. No map and no instructions to facilities.

FACILITIES (NOT FOR MOTORHOMES)

No layby for filling up on water, so basically block the lane where the tap is. No drive over waste water disposal, so basically take it with you. We couldn't see any bins, so I guess you are supposed to take it home with you. The elsen is a lift up trap, so not much privacy if you prefer it that way.

Apart from very short walks around the fishing lakes anything else requires you to take your van off of site or walk on the roads where there are no pavements.

Not a bad site, but no walking direct from site, no motorhome facilities and no reception/customer service.

I won't be going back. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Oaks Lakes Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thirsk      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3779 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement