Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Brockalee Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Hexham > Brockalee Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Brockalee Farm Certificated Site
Bardon Mill
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE47 7JT
Tel: 01434 344427  or  07580300303
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Members Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 25 Reviews
                10/10 from 25 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Big Frank 31 reviews from this member

Very difficult to add to what has already been said. This is one of the best CS Sites we have stayed on.

Big hardstanding pitches a very warm welcome from Jeff and an absolutely spotless little toilet block.

Brilliant and lots to do in the area
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 29 reviews from this member

This is a little gem of a site. Just off the A69 (which has a couple of issues, see below) and within walking distance (uphill!) of Vindolanda, probably the most significant Roman Fort in the UK.

The site is entered via locked gates so you need to phone for the code. The site is a grass shelf facing south looking out over the South Tyne valley towards the moors above Alston. Tents go at the west end next to the donkeys (who like the long seedy grass from the camping site edges). There are no specific facilities for children.

Facilties are new and excellent. One shower and one toilet plus an additonal wheelchair accessible toilet and shower room, thee sort where you can run the wheelchair right under the shower. There is a kitchen sink at the rear of the block, lots of local info and recycling into lots of different bins. A minor minor gripe would be the need for a mirror in the shower space and for shelves for wash bags. Everything was cleaned and kept spotless.

Friendly welcome from the owber who delivered fresh eggs to all the units on site, which was a nice bonus. Despite the two small tents we were charged as a single big tent so paid £12. 00 per might (we'd paid £15. 00 per night at Wylam for 1 loo and no shower, so excellent value for money. )

Bardon Mill is the nearest village with a good small shop and cafe (fab cakes) and the Bardon Mill pottery, where you can walk inside an industrial size kiln/museum. You can walk down to the river footbridge to watch the fish. The hotel in the village does evening meals Wednesday to Saturday plus Sunday lunch which was annoying as we arrived Sunday afternoon and left on Tuesday! However, up the hill near Hadrian's Wall is the Twice Brewed Inn which does good pub food and their own beers.

We chose the site as it is just off national cycle route 72 Hadrian's Cycleway and so as to visit Vindolanda and Housetead forts, a hard cycle ride/push up hill but 2 miles of no pedalling after dinner at Twice Brewed pub. Haltwhistle is a 10 min drive away and has takeway indian, chinese and fish and chips.

The only snag with the site is the proximity of the A69 (the main Carlisle - Newcastle trunk road) which is well screened with trees but can be heard, although we found you tend to block out the traffic noise as background and it didn't disturb our sleep (unlike the airplanes at Wylam and the sheep at Banks!) The other snag is that to get to the village you either walk the long way round approximately 1 mile to get under the road at a bridge or have to cross it on the flat, which is possible, but you are crossing a 60 mph 2 lane road so wait for gaps carefully. A real shame there's no footbridge. On the A69 if you cross is a Starbucks "Services" which we didn't use, but might be handy. The petrol station on the same side of the road as the campsite is being redeveloped, so if that gains a shop or cafe, then that would be easily accessed.

Don't let that last bit put you off. This was the best site of the four we stayed at on our cycling holiday and we would definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ChristopherH 2 reviews from this member

We could not fault this site. Jeff the owner is still working yet maintains the site very well.

The grass is neatly cut, and everything is clean. Jeff welcomed us with a box of eggs and told us everything we wanted to know.

He also came and said goodbye before we left.

A brilliant site

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BJzos 1 review from this member

We had the pleasure of staying here for 4 nights from 15th - 19th May.

Getting to the site is straight forward, put the postcode in the SatNav and it will take you directly to the site, (well it did for us). Come off the A69 where directed, take the next left after about 20 yards (I'm old school), and then directly left again after about 5 yards, this will bring you to the gate of the site. Jeff should have already given you the gate code to get in.

First impressions were good, recently cut grass nice and short with the 5 hard standing pitches laid out to your right. There are 3, then the amenities block, and then another 2 pitches. The pitches are perfectly level with good views out over the valley, they are also a good size, long enough to get your caravan in with your car parked across the front.

After setting up you phone Jeff or Sheila to say you've arrived and then it's a matter of kettle on and chairs out. The sun shone constantly the 4 days we were there. There is some road noise from the A69 during the day with the occasional train going past on the other side of the road, but this was not off putting at all for us in any way. You can still hear the birds tweeting in the trees around you. It is perfectly quiet during the night.

4G phone reception is good, as is the TV reception.

Jeff will turn up at some point to collect the site fees, which is currently £19 per night, this is inclusive of your EHU and awning. I was also grateful for the free half dozen eggs that were devoured the very next morning. Very nice touch.

Jeff is a very friendly guy, he is a mine of information about the local landscape and things to do. He gave us directions for a walk to Vindolanda roman fort about a mile across the fields. Jeff can talk the hind legs off a donkey, which is handy as he has 2 on site, also a Billie Goat, sheep and lambs, and a pony/miniature horse.

The amenities block is very compact but very well laid out, it comprises of a single toilet, a single shower, a family/disabled room with shower and toilet, and always perfectly clean. There is a dish washing area to the right with the fresh water tap. To the left of the building is the grey water and blue water disposal points and the recycling bins. Toilets are unisex.

The site is open 12 months of the year and is a good location for visiting the many attractions around you. I will happily stay here again. Thanks for a perfectly relaxing stay Jeff and Sheila.

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

Excellent little site, well located for Hadrianís Wall and Hexham.

Friendly welcome and free eggs provided!

Nice little shower block for campers.

There is some noise from the A69, but it didnít cause too much disturbance.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiznlil 36 reviews from this member

Excellent site for exploring Hadrian's Wall.

We visited Corbridge, Housesteads and Chesters all free to English Heritage members.

Vindolanda is also close by but we didn't visit because of really heavy rain.

Very easy to find, lovely views and really nothing else to add to earlier comments regarding good facilities and friendly welcome.

There isn't anything much for children to do actually on the campsite, but lots to keep them entertained in the surrounding area.

Yes, there is some road noise but that would not stop us from returning, especially at only £16 per night with EHU.

Site owner doesn't charge any extras for awnings etc which is refreshing!

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BertiesTravels 4 reviews from this member

Loved this site. Jeff welcomed us with eggs and lots of advice on where to walk and visit. We booked for three nights and stayed for four because the area was so lovely. The site itself is immaculate and very easy to get to off the A69, the pitches are beautifully kept and the facilities spotless. You can hear the main road but it certainly didn't bother us, and it quietened down at night.

We walked directly from the site to Hadrian's Wall up the valley (ask Jeff for directions) via Vindalanda then westwards along the wall so we passed Sycamore Gap, then back via The Sill and very quiet roads, just under 7 miles and a great walk.

Another walk direct from the site, was into Bardon Mill then to Allen Bank Valley (follow the footpath directly opposite the entrance to the site which takes you across fields to the A69, cross here and through a pottery into the village). The walk goes from the railway station platform (the national trust website has the walk if you just put in Bardon Mill Station to Allen Bank). It sounds like the walk to the valley would be a bit grotty but it's beautiful. Visit the yew trees at the church in Beltingham. Walk up the valley then cross the footbridge and back the other side, eventually retracing your steps from Beltingham. Again just under 7 miles but not strenuous at all.

Do visit the village shop in Bardon Mill. It has a lovely cafe with great cakes and snacks. Lots of locally produced crafts plus essential groceries. Everyone was really friendly, and our dog was welcomed too.

This is a top notch CS and a lovely area to visit. We would come back in a heartbeat.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gtf558 5 reviews from this member

Jeff the owner was a lovely man, he greeted us with fresh eggs and was very knowledgeable about the area and the numerous walks around there.

The site is small with well kept flat grassed and hardstanding areas.

Facilities are immaculate and very clean. Will definitely visit again, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brenno 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at this campsite for 1 week. Absolutely fantastic site. Geoff and Sheila were very welcoming and helpful with all the questions we had and for visiting the local area.

The toilet and shower block was always clean and never very busy due to the size of the site. We were on the grassed area at the end. Enough space for 3/4 good sized tents and with power at a very good price. Geoff was always about in the evenings and enjoyed a chat with him. Even met them down the local pub which was very friendly and welcoming

The site is situated near all major sites Hexham and Hayden bridge close buy for shopping etc.

There are goats sheep and two donkeys on the site which amused us numerous times.

The only comment we had was the road noise but don't think this will be a problem as Geoff has helped to reduce the speed limit.

We had a great time here and would fully recommend this site to all

Thank Geoff and Sheila

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cookit 1 review from this member

Left earth and went to heaven when we arrived on site. Immaculate everywhere. Could play tennis on the grass.

Owner Jeff is a lovely man. Only fault was we had to leave. As arne said we will be back. 10 stars. Thanks for everything enjoy your birthday in spain. You never know we might see you there

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4126 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019