Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hale Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Hale Farm Campsite
Scrapers Hill
Hale Green
Chiddingly
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN8 6HQ
Tel: 07711 695189  or  07702 499534
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20 Camping Pitches, Bell Tents and Shepherds Hut
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 13 Reviews
                10/10 from 13 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TenTonner 1 review from this member

An incredible campsite run by a wonderful couple. Simple and it works splendidly. Beautifully clean toilets and showers. A small farm to feed the piglets and the ponys in the morning and to buy eggs and sausages from. Each site has lots of space and centres around it's own fire pit. Logs can be bought about 5pm when they are brought to each tent. So much space that the children can run and play together. So hospitable and a short walk through fields takes you to the local pub with fantastic jazz music on Sundays and a legendary menu.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keeleyf2000 1 review from this member

I came here with my 6 month old baby and my 5 year old Son and I could not have been more impressed with the place. The family that run it are just so kind and friendly. The place is gorgeous and the meeting and greeting with the farm animals in the mornings is just amazing. My children were in their element here and we enjoyed it so much that we ended up staying an extra night. This camp site has a lovely feel to it and the facilities are also brilliant and so clean! Prices are incredible and to buy bags of food to feed the animals for 20p is just brilliant. We loved the place and will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yachtbeluga 1 review from this member

What more could you want!

We just had a fabulous weekend. A group of us pitched around a fire pit for the night and had a fantastic evening in this wonderful spot. It was a bit chilly in the evening so having a camp fire was most welcome! It's great to have the freedom to spread out and be far enough away from other campers to be able to relax and not worry too much about disturbing others with the loud laughs of some members of our group. That's what I hope any way! When you're there listening to the sheep and birds (yes we did hear an owl) without a building in site, it's very hard to believe you're only half an hour from the city and it was a great escape from hectic life. It's another World.

You can't fault the facilities and we thoroughly enjoyed a big fry up in the morning consisting of the eggs, bacon and sausages from the farm.

Oh, and did I mention the local pub? The Six Bells is a 10 minute walk away across the fields and it's a proper pub, full of locals, great beer and has bands on every weekend.

And lastly the walking. Not that we did much walking this weekend, but there's great walking in the area too. At the moment the bluebell woods are amazing.

Will definitely be back!

Thanks!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dave42 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a few days at hale farm. Wow what a wonderful place. Loads of space in 2 fields with a ready made fire pit at each plot. The toilets are eco friendly very new and very clean and kept clean. 2 showers, washing up area and fresh water.

Its a working farm and in the morning you can get to feed the animals which is a brilliant experience for the kids and adults alike. ( pigs. Ponies. Geese. Chickens. Goats. Donkeys. Sheep. ) There are footpaths all around and 2 pubs a small walk away through the fields. A local shop couple of mins drive and park and swings next door. There's also a lovely church close to walk around.

The owners cant help you enough and will come and see you at 5pm to make available fire wood sausages and eggs all from the farm. They are gorgus. A fantastic must visit place.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rainingfeet 1 review from this member

Just simply lovely. Second visit this year, first was in the beautiful little Shepherds Hut, immaculately turned out and every detail thought of.

For the campsite there are eco-toilets that are easy to use and clean, as are the showers. The washing facilities have hot running water and over all the campsite is tidied/cleaned regularly by the lovely family that run it. The owners come by each evening to offer you the chance to buy their meat or wood, which you must buy from them if you want a fire in one of their generous pre-dug firepits.

The amount of visitors to the site are limited which leaves you feeling like you have a certain VIP status with lots of space around you. The icing on the cake is taking the kids to the visit the farm animals in the mornings between half 8 and half 9 - they can feed the animals for 20p per feed and also buy their free-range sausages, bacon and eggs. My kids went back each morning and they're 4, 8 and 12!

The two camping fields are enveloped by trees with a river running on the boundary which is signposted for safety. You can walk to two pubs each a mile away but in opposite directions along the Weald Way. We went to the Gun Inn which is child and dog friendly and has an outside play area, next to a field of delightful sheep.

There is a village shop near by which we didn't manage to get to in the end, you can honey from their neighbours and if you need to buy a dog collar in an emergency, the A22 pet store, 10 minutes away, is incredibly helpful and reasonable in price. Phone signal isn't great but personally I didn't really mind as it meant a break from the usual scanning of the phone every hour. If you take a short drive you can get a signal or go the local village café/shop to get WIFI.

One of the best, beautiful and relaxing campsites I have been to (it is very child friendly, so er. If you don't like kids. You might want to rethink, although there is plenty of space to be free of them!) and my kids had a brilliant time, playing pooh-sticks on the little bridge and playing in the nearby fields and small woodland area. A great sense of freedom was felt by all of us. Rebooking tonight (only just returned today) to go back in a few weeks.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisScott 1 review from this member

We just returned from a 2 night stay and we had a nice time. It is very quiet, and apparently full although there was only a handful of people on the site and the field is huge, so that's a nice bonus. Our kids loved the huge open space and visiting the farm animals each morning.

We loved the fire pit and had a lovely open fire on both the evenings we were there.

The owners seemed very friendly and happy to help. The prices of the fire wood, sausages and eggs was very reasonable and for just £10 per adult per night and kids for free you can't grumble!

My gripe is with the state of the grass. It was far too long which made it difficult to walk through during wet weather and hard for the kids to play football. I really think they should cut it more often at this time of year.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Catharine E 1 review from this member

Just returned from our first camping trip of 2016. We had been looking forward to our stay at Hale Farm and weren't disappointed.

Beautiful setting, little traffic noise. So much space for the children to explore. The older ones went off on their own into the surrounding countryside and to look at the river & stream.

Easy to find the campsite by the postcode. Well signposted from the road.

We arrived & pitched and the owners came around at 5pm to say hello, we bought firewood from him which came with kindling and a firefighter & matches.

The farm is open between 08. 30 & 09. 30. They have goats, donkeys, lots of pigs, & sheep. The children enjoyed meeting & feeding the animals. Ruth was very friendly and showed the children some chicks that had recently hatched. We also purchased eggs & sausages from her.

We walked to the 6 bells pub, easy 20 minute walk off road. Family friendly, reasonable food.

The compost toilets were fine. They were regularly cleaned. A couple of times they were blocked but this was due to being incorrectly used despite clear instructions! Possibly kids who should be supervised or have it explained to them by their parents. There were two showers. They were small but the water was warm. There was one sink for washing up. The facilities were fine for this weekend however in the peak period may be stretched.

We really liked Hale Farm, so much so that I've just looked at booking it again for the next bank holiday and it's already fully booked.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bron2015 1 review from this member

Gorgeous, spacious setting in the beautiful Sussex countryside, with thoughtfully provided fire pits, and clean, attractively rustic compost loos and showers! Logs, kindling, firelighters and matches are supplied for a very reasonable five pounds, and eggs and sausages are also available, produced on the farm itself.

Our children loved looking around the farm, and absolutely adored feeding the animals - pigs, donkeys, sheep, hens, even Pygmy goats. This was our first family camping trip, and it was everything we'd hoped for!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leighandfella 1 review from this member

Just had a wonderful anniversary weekend with my wife at Hale Farm Campsite.

The site is only available for 1 month a year and we were one of only two people camping on the weekend of the 5th September.

The owners Ruth could not be more helpful and when we arrived just after sundown at 7:30pm, we were given a welcome pack and two large bags of wood & kindling which were kindly delivered to our tent as our car was fully laden with stuff.

The field is large and houses 3 clean portaloos, a water tap and brand new single shower hut which was excellent. Around the field there is several fire pits dug out with log seating and we wereted no time in getting our fire stoked up!

After a very peaceful nights sleep, unfortunately my car battery went flat as I had foolishly left my lights on whilst we pitched up in the dark. However a quick text to Ruth and her husband Scott came to the rescue to jump start it. They really can't do enough for you!

On Saturday afternoon we took our patterdale terrier Alfie for a stroll up to the local pub in Chiddingly, The Six Bells Inn. Its only a few minutes walk across the public footpaths and a really charming walk, just head for the church spire! The service was warm and friendly with a large beer garden and we stayed for a few drinks, chatting with the locals before heading back to cook our evening meal.

We had such a relaxing weekend and they are both very relaxed on check out times. We therefore took our time to enjoy some more of the fine weather that afternoon, before heading back to London via a stop over in Eastbourne which is just 30 mins drive and has great coastline to let the dog have a paddle!

We will definitely be booking again and the facilities will continue to improve even further next year, as Scott told me he will be building a permanent toilet block in the future.

A great quality and good value campsite, just a shame they are not open longer in the year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Treesgreen25 1 review from this member

We've just returned from a 6 night stay and it was great. The owners were very friendly and available every day. Each morning the kids get to go and help feed the farm animals. They even got to hold baby chicks. There was plenty of space for pitches and campfires and the £5 for 2 black bags of wood is a fantastic price. The location is great with quick access to the a22 and local tourist attractions.

We will be returning.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in East Sussex   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2605 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019