Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hale Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Chiddingly > Hale Farm Campsite Reviews

Hale Farm Campsite
Scrapers Hill
Hale Green
Chiddingly
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN8 6HQ
Tel: 07711 695189  or  07702 499534
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30 Camping Pitches, Bell Tents and Shepherds Hut
Open: 30/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 18 Reviews
                10/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Lorett 1 review from this member

 Pitched our tents in a buttercup filled meadow. We bought food for the fire pit, and eggs and bacon from Scott that drives to the tents. We were able to text him to leave some if we weren't there.

Relaxing hearing the birds singing. Toilets, showers and washing up unit regularly cleaned.

Great base to cycle from around the country roads, kayak on the Cuckmere, short cut to The Gun.

Went with 3 friends, will be taking my grandchildren next time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sonjaw 1 review from this member

 A beautiful field surrounded by countryside and no road traffic noise, perfect for children to run around explore and play games. Tents are well spaced out and fire pits are available. You can buy wood for £2. 50 per bag and other produce which is very reasonable and the owners and young people managing the sales and camp site are very helpful and friendly.

There are only four eco toilets and two showers for the entire site which aren’t very pleasant due to the amount of usage. We also stayed at a weekend and the first night there were two very noisy families camping near us. We had to ask the people camping next to us to be quieter at 1. 30 am when they were still up drinking, playing music and arguing loudly. The second night they were quieter.

Overall a great time was had in a beautiful location, not far from the coast and if we could guarantee a quieter spot we would definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Geoff1 1 review from this member

 Pleasant and quiet site with simple facilities and lots of space for each tent.

Hale Farm had clearly given a lot of thought to making campsite safe during the covid pandemic.

Owner and staff friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Mossyi 1 review from this member

 Lovely place, good location, clean toilets, warming fire pits - all fantastic. Not sure if there are any negatives!

Well I have just been told I haven't written enough words for that to qualify as a review! Well let's see, the farm has some interesting animals and what looks to be a first class tractor. The sausages and eggs on sale were delicious.

The field had a gentle lope that seemed to accentuate the beauty of the surrounding trees in this bucolic paradise.

That should do it! Thank you Hale Farm! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Katealback 4 reviews from this member

 Really lovely site- we’ve been twice! Farm walk in the mornings is lovely - they have a little stand to sell animal feed and the kids an visit all the animals. They are in pens around the edge of a nice field so we sat in the middle for a long time while the kids were free to buy more and more food fir the goats.

We were able to use their fridge for our cold food and the walk to the pub took about 30 mins through the fields. Compost toilets were brill - we pitched right next to them and there wasn’t any concern with a smell- very clean.

Only slight drawback is that the field is on a slight hill. There are flat parts, but you may need to choose your pitch carefully.

Really lovely stay- fully recommend. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TenTonner 1 review from this member

 An incredible campsite run by a wonderful couple. Simple and it works splendidly.

Beautifully clean toilets and showers. A small farm to feed the piglets and the ponys in the morning and to buy eggs and sausages from. Each site has lots of space and centres around it's own fire pit.

Logs can be bought about 5pm when they are brought to each tent. So much space that the children can run and play together.

So hospitable and a short walk through fields takes you to the local pub with fantastic jazz music on Sundays and a legendary menu. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keeleyf2000 1 review from this member

 I came here with my 6 month old baby and my 5 year old Son and I could not have been more impressed with the place. The family that run it are just so kind and friendly.

The place is gorgeous and the meeting and greeting with the farm animals in the mornings is just amazing. My children were in their element here and we enjoyed it so much that we ended up staying an extra night.

This camp site has a lovely feel to it and the facilities are also brilliant and so clean! Prices are incredible and to buy bags of food to feed the animals for 20p is just brilliant.

We loved the place and will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yachtbeluga 1 review from this member

 What more could you want!

We just had a fabulous weekend. A group of us pitched around a fire pit for the night and had a fantastic evening in this wonderful spot. It was a bit chilly in the evening so having a camp fire was most welcome!

It's great to have the freedom to spread out and be far enough away from other campers to be able to relax and not worry too much about disturbing others with the loud laughs of some members of our group.

That's what I hope any way! When you're there listening to the sheep and birds (yes we did hear an owl) without a building in site, it's very hard to believe you're only half an hour from the city and it was a great escape from hectic life. It's another World.

You can't fault the facilities and we thoroughly enjoyed a big fry up in the morning consisting of the eggs, bacon and sausages from the farm.

Oh, and did I mention the local pub? The Six Bells is a 10 minute walk away across the fields and it's a proper pub, full of locals, great beer and has bands on every weekend.

And lastly the walking. Not that we did much walking this weekend, but there's great walking in the area too. At the moment the bluebell woods are amazing.

Will definitely be back!

Thanks! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave42 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a few days at hale farm. Wow what a wonderful place. Loads of space in 2 fields with a ready made fire pit at each plot. The toilets are eco friendly very new and very clean and kept clean. 2 showers, washing up area and fresh water.

Its a working farm and in the morning you can get to feed the animals which is a brilliant experience for the kids and adults alike. ( pigs. Ponies. Geese. Chickens. Goats. Donkeys. Sheep. )

There are footpaths all around and 2 pubs a small walk away through the fields. A local shop couple of mins drive and park and swings next door. There's also a lovely church close to walk around.

The owners cant help you enough and will come and see you at 5pm to make available fire wood sausages and eggs all from the farm. They are gorgus. A fantastic must visit place. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rainingfeet 1 review from this member

 Just simply lovely. Second visit this year, first was in the beautiful little Shepherds Hut, immaculately turned out and every detail thought of.

For the campsite there are eco-toilets that are easy to use and clean, as are the showers. The washing facilities have hot running water and over all the campsite is tidied/cleaned regularly by the lovely family that run it. The owners come by each evening to offer you the chance to buy their meat or wood, which you must buy from them if you want a fire in one of their generous pre-dug firepits.

The amount of visitors to the site are limited which leaves you feeling like you have a certain VIP status with lots of space around you. The icing on the cake is taking the kids to the visit the farm animals in the mornings between half 8 and half 9 - they can feed the animals for 20p per feed and also buy their free-range sausages, bacon and eggs. My kids went back each morning and they're 4, 8 and 12!

The two camping fields are enveloped by trees with a river running on the boundary which is signposted for safety. You can walk to two pubs each a mile away but in opposite directions along the Weald Way. We went to the Gun Inn which is child and dog friendly and has an outside play area, next to a field of delightful sheep.

There is a village shop near by which we didn't manage to get to in the end, you can honey from their neighbours and if you need to buy a dog collar in an emergency, the A22 pet store, 10 minutes away, is incredibly helpful and reasonable in price. Phone signal isn't great but personally I didn't really mind as it meant a break from the usual scanning of the phone every hour. If you take a short drive you can get a signal or go the local village café/shop to get WIFI.

One of the best, beautiful and relaxing campsites I have been to (it is very child friendly, so er. If you don't like kids. You might want to rethink, although there is plenty of space to be free of them!) and my kids had a brilliant time, playing pooh-sticks on the little bridge and playing in the nearby fields and small woodland area. A great sense of freedom was felt by all of us. Rebooking tonight (only just returned today) to go back in a few weeks. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hale Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hale Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hale Farm Campsite dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chiddingly      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4509 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement